DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(u)(2) which requires that brackets are not associated with drawing view numbers because the drawing view numbers are enclosed in brackets. (e.g., drawing view numbers should be shown as “FIG. 1” and not “[FIG. 1]”… etc.)
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: See FIG 9, 1842, 1842a, 1842b.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US20230337737A1) in view of Van Lancker (US20210259311A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Wu (US20230337737A1) teaches an aerosol-generating device (100, see [0078] comprising: a body (6, see FIG 9, which contains 11 shown in FIG 2 in the hole illustrated in FIG 9) comprising an insertion space (111, see FIG 2) to allow a stick to be inserted into the insertion space, see [0048] and FIG 2; and
a heater (1) disposed in the body (6) and comprising a heat generating portion (11) configured to heat the insertion space (see [0078]-[0079], see insertion space hole illustrated in FIG 9, see also FIG 2 and [0048] which illustrates and discusses the heat generataing portion base 11 which lines the insertion space hole 111 which is disposed in the body 6),
the heat generating portion comprises: a heat generating layer (13, see [0052]) surrounding the insertion space (111), e.g., applied to the surface of the base 11, which on the inside surface is the surface surrounding the insertion space [0052]; and
a wiring layer stacked on the heat generating layer and configured to supply a current (wiring electrode film 14 is stacked on the heating layer sequentially on the heat generating layer and is configured to supply power/current [0052]-[0054]), and
Wu fails to explicitly disclose the heat generating portion has a thickness varying in a depth direction of the insertion space.
However, Van Lanker teaches the heat generating portion has a thickness varying in a depth direction of the insertion space which is useful to heat different sections of the aerosol generating substrate to different preferred suitable temperature allowing the coating to be operable as a single layer. [0049].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heat generating portion of Wu with the heat generating film 16 of Van Lanker which has a thickness varying in a depth direction which allows modified Wu’s heat generating portion to heat different sections of the aerosol generating substrate to different preferred suitable temperatures allowing the coating to be operable as a single coating layer [0049] which controlled heating allows for selective placement of heating and reduction in the contamination of aerosols and other residues [0047].
Regarding Claim 2, modified Wu teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Wu teaches the stick comprises: a first substance portion disposed in the insertion space (e.g., the insertion space is intended to accommodated the aerosol generating stick, [0048]), The Courts have held that if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP § 2114. and
a second substance portion extending from the first substance portion and disposed in the insertion space (e.g., an axial length that extends from the top of the lower axial length of the first substance portion of the rod shaped portion of the article to be inserted into the insertion space 111),
the heat generating portion comprises: a first heat generating portion disposed at a position corresponding to a position of the first substance portion (the portion of the film heater of modified Wu that heats the axial length of the first substance portion of the aerosol generating material to be inserted into the insertion space 111); and
a second heat generating portion disposed at a position corresponding to a position of the second substance portion and extending from the first heat generating portion (e.g., an upper second portion referred to hereinafter as a second heat generating portion of the film heater of modified Wu that heats the axial length of the second substance portion of the aerosol generating material to be inserted into the insertion space 111) , and
the second heat generating portion has a thickness greater than a thickness of the first heat generating portion (e.g., as set forth above, Van Lancker [0049] teaches a film heater than can have portions of varying thicknesses that are configured with varying resistances that result in different heating portions of different thicknesses and heating temperatures suitable for heating the portions of aerosol generating material configured to be inserted into the insertion space 111).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Wu teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally Van Lancker discloses a second heat generating layer (thicker selected section of coating 16, see [0049]) of the second heat generating portion has a thickness greater than a thickness of a first heat generating layer of the first heat generating portion ([0049], a selected portion of second heat generating portion has a thickness that is greater than a thickness of the first heat generating layer of the first heat generating portion).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Wu teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Van Lancker teaches a first heat generating layer portion with a thinner thickness of the layer and a second heat generating portion with a thicker layer as set forth above (e.g., that some areas are thicker than other areas [0049]). Although Van Lancker does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the second heat generating layer gradually decreases in a direction approaching the first heat generating portion, Van Lancker discloses a coating layer and discloses different thicknesses, therefore it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that this film with different thicknesses must transition between a thicker thickness to a thinner thickness, it would be obvious to modify the size of the thickness such that the thickness of the second heat generating layer gradually decreases in a direction approaching the first heat generating portion in order to accomplish the design and as a result of obvious engineering design choice. A change in size or proportion is generally recognized as being within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art absent evidence that the change in size results in a difference in performance. See MPEP § 2144.04 IV A.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Wu teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Van Lancker discloses the thickness of the resistive coating 16 of the second heat generating layer (see [0049]) can be single coating layer and that the single coating 16 has different thicknesses, e.g., that some areas of the heat generating layer are thicker than others.
Although Van Lancker does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the second heat generating layer gradually decreases in a direction away from a center of the second heat generating layer, it would be obvious to modify the size of the thickness of the second heat generating layer such that it gradually decreases in a direction away from a center (non end) of the second heat generating layer providing a graded axial change in resistance and heating profile within the region [0049]. A change in size or proportion is generally recognized as being within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art absent evidence that the change in size results in a difference in performance. See MPEP § 2144.04 IV A.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Wu teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Wu teaches the wiring layer comprises: a first wiring layer (12) stacked on one surface of the heat generating layer (13), e.g., the first electrode 12 adjoining the inner face of the heating film 13 [0052] and [0062], see also FIG 3; and
a second wiring layer (14) stacked on an opposite surface of the heat generating layer (13), see [0052], and [0062], see also FIG 3.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Wu teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Wu teaches the wiring layer comprises: a pair of power supply portions (121 and 141) connected to a power supply [0053], electrical connection portions 121 and 141 connect to the positive and negative electrodes which connect to the battery [0080]; and
a pair of terminal portions (electrode 12 and 14) respectively extending from the pair of power supply portions and spaced apart from each other (electrode 12 and 14 extending from power supply portions (121 and 141) [0058], and
the pair of terminal portions is stacked on the heat generating layer and surrounds the insertion space. (cylindrical electrode films 12 and 14 adjoining film 13 surrounding the insertion space, see FIG 3, and [0052] and [0062].
Regarding Claim 9, modified Wu teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally Wu teaches the stick comprises: a first substance portion disposed in the insertion space (e.g., the first substance portion is a first axial region of the aerosol forming product and is intended on, and capable of, being inserted into chamber 111 [0048]. The Courts have held that if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP § 2114.);
a second substance portion extending from the first substance portion and disposed in the insertion space (a second axial region of the aerosol forming product is intended on, and capable of, being inserted into chamber 111, axially adjacent and following the first axial region of the aerosol forming product [0048], The Courts have held that if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP § 2114.,
the heat generating portion comprises: a first heat generating portion disposed at a position corresponding to a position of the first substance portion and comprising a first wiring layer (e.g., see FIG 3, the first substance portion has a corresponding heat generating portion and wiring portion that corresponds to the first substance portion axially in proximity thereto); and
a second heat generating portion disposed at a position corresponding to a position of the second substance portion and comprising a second wiring layer (e.g., see FIG 3, the second substance portion has a corresponding second heat generating portion and wiring portion that corresponds to the second portion in axially in proximity thereto).
Although Wu does not explicitly disclose an interval between the pair of terminal portions located on the second wiring layer is shorter than an interval between the pair of terminal portions located on the first wiring layer, in would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the size of the interval between the pair of terminal portions located on the second wiring layer to be shorter than an interval between the pair of terminal portions located on the first wiring layer, thereby shortening the current path through the heat generating layer and predicably reducing its local resistance to adjust regional heat generating. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art absent evidence that the change in size results in a difference in performance. See MPEP § 2144.04 IV A.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Wu teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally Wu teaches the pair of power supply portions comprises: a first power supply portion (one of the connection power polarity portions of Wu [0053], e.g., connection portion 121); and
a second power supply portion (e.g., connection portion 141, [0053]) spaced apart from the first power supply portion (spaced apart is interpreted to include having a special separation, see FIG 3, separated by film 13),
the pair of terminal portions comprises: a first terminal portion (12) extending from the first power supply portion (e.g., the remaining electrode film portion 12 extending from 121, [0058] and [0062], see also FIG 3); and
a second terminal portion (14) extending from the second power supply portion and spaced apart from the first terminal portion (remaining electrode film 14 extending from 141 [0058] and [0062], spaced apart as required in claim 8, see also FIG 3, separated by film 13),
the first terminal portion comprises: a first main terminal (122) connected to the first power supply portion (121); and
a plurality of first sub-terminals (123) branching from the first main terminal (see FIG 4 and [0063]), and
Wu fails to explicitly disclose the second terminal portion comprises: a second main terminal connected to the second power supply portion; and a plurality of second sub-terminals branching from the second main terminal,
However it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Wu that are taught for the first terminal portion and duplicate them to apply them to the second terminal portion, such that the second terminal portion 14 includes a second main terminal (142, e.g., analogous to 122 in FIG 4) connected to the second power supply portion (141) and a plurality of second sub-terminals (duplicate and analogous to 123 in FIG 4) branching from the second main terminal (essentially that electrode film 14 is the same duplicated structurally as electrode film 12 as shown in FIG 4). The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04 VI B.
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US20230337737A1) and Van Lancker (US20210259311A1), and further in view of Hu (US20180213606A1).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Wu teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Wu teaches the sub terminals are on opposite faces of heating film 13 but does not explicitly teach or suggest whether the sub terminal fingers should be alternatively arranged, and therefore modified Wu does not explicitly disclose the plurality of first sub-terminals and the plurality of second sub-terminals are alternately arranged and spaced apart from each other.
However, Hu teaches thin (thinner than a sheet of paper [0011]) layer heating elements that can be films [0012] with interdigitated electrode suitable for heating in heating elements (See abstract) and teaches interlocking fingers 14 of electrodes 12P/12N [0010], [0014] teaches separation between those fingers, [0016]-[0017] teaches current passes through intervening carbon allotrope regions creating parallel resistive paths suitable for such heaters.
It would have been obvious to further modify the electrode arrangement of modified Wu by placing the two branched electrodes on a common surface of heating film 13 with the sub terminal fingers alternately arranged and separated as taught by Hu including the carbon allotrope of Hu ([0010], [0014, and FIG 1A) to establish distributed parallel current paths through the intervening heating material to select the heaters effective resistance with parallel resistive paths suitable for heating.
Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US20230337737A1) and Van Lancker (US20210259311A1), and further in view of Bulgajewski (US20020079311A1).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Wu teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. However Wu fails to explicitly disclose the interval between the pair of terminal portions located on the second wiring layer gradually increases in a direction approaching the first wiring layer.
However, Bulgajewski teaches heater arrangements of electrodes and teaches the electrodes should be interlocking and can include variable spacing that gradually increases in a directed approaching a first wiring layer. (see FIG 4 below).
In [0050] Bulgajewski teaches the spacing between the electrodes 40 and 50 and 52 varies along the length thereof and this allows the material between the electrodes to generate heat when voltage is applied to the electrodes. Bulgajewski also teaches that by varying the spacing between adjacent portions of the electrodes on the substrate permits controlling the amount of heat on the substrate based on the spacing between the electrodes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode fingers of Wu to include the two sets of interlocking sets of electrodes as taught by modified Wu to arrange the sets extending and interlocking from top and bottom as taught by Bulgajewski (See FIG 4) such that a top set is interlocking with the bottom set and the interval between the pair of terminal portions located on the second wiring layer gradually increases in a direction approaching the first wiring layer in order to control and gradually increase the amount of heat generated between the electrodes when voltage is applied to the electrodes.
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US20230337737A1) and Van Lancker (US20210259311A1), and further in view of Qi (US20230380498A1).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Wu teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Wu teaches the heat generating layer comprises graphene or carbon nanotubes [0072], and
the wiring layer is a metallic plate stacked on the heat generating layer (e.g., Wu teaches the wiring layer is a metallic layer such as gold, silver, aluminum, or titanium [0056], however Wu fails to explicitly disclose the thickness of the the metallic layer or whether the layer can be described as a plate.
Qi teaches a smoking device with a metal electrode that can be silver, gold, palladium, platinum, copper, nickel, etc [0041] and teaches the electrode can be a metal sheet and that the metal sheet can provide a low resistivity conductive path supplying current to the heating film. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the metal electrode film of Wu with the metal electrode sheet/plate of Qi so that the metal electrode can provide a low resistivity conductive path supplying current to the heating film.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 6, modified Wu (US20230337737A1) teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Wu teaches the first heat generating portion comprises: a first heat generating layer (e.g., a first region of the infrared film 13, see [0052]); and
a first wiring layer (14) stacked on the first heat generating layer and configured to allow a current to flow therethrough (e.g., electrode 14 powers heater film 13 through connection 141 [0053]-[0054]),
the second heat generating portion comprises: a second heat generating layer (e.g., a second portion of the infrared film 13 [0052]); and
a second wiring layer stacked on the second heat generating layer and electrically connected to the first wiring layer (e.g., corresponding portion of electrode 14 that is stacked on the second portion of the infrared film 13 both portions being connected via connection 141 [0052]-[0054], and
Wu teaches the device and layered heater as set forth above but fails to teach or suggest variable thickness in the wiring layer.
Van Lancker (US20210259311A1) teaches an aerosol generating device in the same field of endeavor and teaches variable thickness in the resistive heating layer as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose variable thickness in the wiring electrode and therefore fails to teach or suggest the second wiring layer has a greater thickness than a thickness of the first wiring layer.
Qi (US20230380498A1) teaches an aerosol generating device in the same field of endeavor with conductive coatings/wiring layers (1231/1232) for supplying power to the heating film (121), [0040]-[0041], but fails to teach or suggest the second wiring layer has a greater thickness of the first wiring layer (see FIG 4).
Lim (US20200345076A1) teaches an aerosol generating device in the same field of endeavor (See FIG 1) with power connections 61/62 that may be thicker than heating elements 51/52. However, Lim also fails to teach or suggest the second wiring layer (62) has a greater thickness of the first wiring layer (61).
Thus the prior art fails to teach or suggest the second wiring layer has a greater thickness than a thickness of the first wiring layer.
Regarding Claim 12 modified Wu (US20230337737A1) teaches the claim limitations as set forth above.
Additionally, Wu teaches the first main terminal (122) extends from the first power supply portion (121) in a first direction (see FIG 3 and FIG 4, and [0063], the direction along collector 122 in FIG 4 is the first direction),
the plurality of first sub-terminals extends in a second direction intersecting the first direction (the sub terminals 123 extend away from subcollector 122 in a second direction, see FIG 4),
the plurality of second sub-terminals extends in a direction opposite the second direction (e.g., duplication as set forth above meets a plurality of second sub terminals extending (121) in a first direction (see FIG 3 and FIG 4, and [0063], the direction along collector 122 in FIG 4 is the first direction), the plurality of second sub-terminals in the duplication extends in a second direction intersecting the first direction (the sub terminals 123 extend away from subcollector 122 in a second direction, see FIG 4),
However, Wu fails to teach or suggest the plurality of first sub-terminals extends in the first direction, extends in a direction opposite the second direction, extends in a direction opposite the first direction, and then extends in the second direction,
Wu fails to teach or suggest the plurality of second sub-terminals, extends in the first direction, extends in the second direction, extends in a direction opposite the first direction, and then extends in a direction opposite the second direction, and wherein the plurality of second sub-terminals is located between the plurality of first sub-terminals.
Lee (US20080134792) teaches an interdigitated electrode (IDE) for an electronic device (See FIG 7B below) that enhances the performance and efficiency of sensors (abstract).
Lee geometrically teaches the IDE track and that the plurality of first sub-terminals extends in the first direction, extends in a direction opposite the second direction, extends in a direction opposite the first direction, and then extends in the second direction, and teaches the plurality of second sub-terminals, extends in the first direction, extends in the second direction, extends in a direction opposite the first direction, and then extends in a direction opposite the second direction, and wherein the plurality of second sub-terminals is located between the plurality of first sub-terminals. (See FIG 7b and [0040]-[0041]).
However, Lee fails to teach or suggest the usage of the IDE pathway wire geometry for usage as heater electrode paths. Lee teaches the IDE can be employed as acoustic sensors, pressure sensors, micro speakers, acceleration sensors, etc [0047]. There is no reasonable motivation to modify the electrode pathway of Wu with the sensor electrode pathway of Lee.
Hu (US20180213606A1) teaches a heater coil with interdigitated electrodes for heating airplane wings (See FIG 4 below)
However Hu fails to teach or suggest the usage of the heating coil in an aerosol generating device. Additionally Hu fails to teach or suggest that the plurality of first sub-terminals extends in the first direction, extends in a direction opposite the second direction, extends in a direction opposite the first direction, and then extends in the second direction, and teaches the plurality of second sub-terminals, extends in the first direction, extends in the second direction, extends in a direction opposite the first direction, and then extends in a direction opposite the second direction, and wherein the plurality of second sub-terminals is located between the plurality of first sub-terminals.
Claim 13 is allowable by virtue of its dependence on claim 12.
Conclusion
/M.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/RUSSELL E SPARKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1755