DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final communication in response to communication filed 5/17/24.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12028054. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they cover the same subject matter with slightly different language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 5, the recitation “two different parameter floating-gate transistors” is indefinite because it unclear if the parameter floating-gate transistors are part of the plurality of parameter floating-gate transistors of claim 1 or in addition to them.
With respect to claim 6, the recitation “and at least some of the plurality of analog parameter non-volatile memory cells with programmed, compensated biases” is indefinite because it lacks antecedent basis.
Claims 7 and 8 contain deficiencies of claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Barkley 20100157672.
With respect to claim 1, figure 6 of Barkley discloses a system, comprising:
re-programmable and/or reconfigurable analog circuitry [630,670,220, 240,250,260]; and
a plurality of analog parameter non-volatile memory cells [612,614,616] each connected to a plurality of global reference control lines [VREF1/2/3] of the re-programmable and/or reconfigurable analog circuitry to facilitate temperature compensation, wherein different global reference control lines each cover a different range within several orders of parameter magnitude.
With respect to claim 2, figure 6 of Barkley discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of analog parameter non-volatile memory cells are associated with a plurality of parameter floating-gate transistors [612,614,616].
With respect to claim 3, figure 6 of Barkley discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the plurality of parameter floating-gate transistors are each programmed to different amounts of charge. [0063-0072]
With respect to claim 4, figure 6 of Barkley discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the plurality of global reference control lines comprise a control-gate voltage (VCG) biasing block [figs 4 and 5: ] that includes a plurality of reference floating-gate transistors [412,420,516] each having a gate and drain that are connected in run-time mode to switchable current sinks [446,546] such that they can be biased at different values.
With respect to claim 5, figure 6 of Barkley discloses the system of claim 4, wherein two different parameter floating-gate transistors can be connected to the same VCG . [all connect to 618]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12 are allowable with Terminal Disclainer.
Conclusion
/RYAN JAGER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2842
1/29/26