DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Application
Claims 1-120 are pending. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
1. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities.
In claim 1, Ln 6, ”a terminal assembled to the cap cover through the cap cover” is suggested to read as “a terminal assembled to the cap cover passing through the cap cover” for clarity purpose and according to the instant disclosure para [0013] and FIG. 5 etc.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20120156548 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a battery cell 100 comprising: one or more electrode assemblies 110, each comprising a positive electrode and a negative electrode (first and second electrode 111 and 112, [0033-0034] FIGs. 1-2); a case 140 in which the one or more electrode assemblies are arranged; a cap cover (cape assembly 150, [0033]) configured to cover an opening of the case ([0049] and FIGs. 1-2); a terminal (a first electrode terminal 122, a second electrode terminal 123, and a third electrode terminal 124, [0039]) assembled to the cap cover through the cap cover (FIG. 2). Kim further discloses the lower end of the second electrode terminal 123 coupled to the first collecting plate 121 by laser welding ([0043] and FIG.2), which anticipates the claimed “a tab welding portion configured to weld a lower portion of the terminal and an electrode tab arranged on the electrode assembly”, because the lower end of the second electrode terminal 123 corresponds to a lower portion of the terminal, and the first collecting plate 121 corresponds to an electrode tab in the claim.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Kim further discloses the cap cover 150 comprises: a cap plate 151 configured to cover the case; a cap hole 151c extending through the cap plate such that the terminal 123 is configured to pass therethrough ([0043-0044] and FIG. 3); and a cap protrusion (157 with protrusion 157a, [0055]) formed on the cap plate and protruding around the cap hole 150c (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Kim further discloses the terminal comprises: a terminal body (122 and 123, FIG. 3) passing through the cap cover; a lower nut (connection member 152, [0049]) coupled to a lower portion of the terminal body and welded to the electrode tab 121 ([0051]); an upper nut (211, [0064]) coupled to an upper portion of the terminal body (first electrode terminal 122, [0064] and FIG. 5).
Kim further discloses upper/lower insulating member 155/156 and upper/lower seal member 157/158 of rubber or silicon, ([0055-0056]), which reads on a terminal insertion portion made of an insulating material. Further, since the adjoining portion of 157 and 158 appears being arranged between the cap cover 151 and the terminal body 123 (FIG.3), the claim limitation is met.
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Kim discloses the terminal body (122 and 123, FIG. 3) comprises: a body boss (upper portion of 123 and 122) passing through the cap cover 151 (FIG. 3); a boss lower section below the body boss (lower portion of 123), arranged below the cap cover 151, and screw-coupled to the lower nut 152 (FIG. 3); and a boss upper section on the body boss (122), arranged above the cap cover, and screw-coupled to the upper nut (211, FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Kim further discloses the terminal body further comprises a body stopper (third electrode terminal 124, FIG. 3) on the body boss; the body stopper (124) disposed between the first electrode terminal 122 and the second electrode terminal 123 and may be wider than each of the first electrode terminal 122 and the second electrode terminal 123 to reinforce an attachment of 122 and cap plate 151 preventing detachment of these two; and it may be shaped to avoid being rotated ([0044-0045]), which inherently discloses the body stopper 124 is configured to restrict movement of the lower nut and the upper nut in light of 124’s larger size in width and a shape configured to restrict rotation, because the movement of the lower nut 152 and the upper nut 211 would not be able to go further across the body stopper 124.
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Kim further discloses the terminal insertion portion comprises: a lower insertion portion (156) between the lower nut 152 and the cap cover 151 (FIG. 3); a middle insertion portion (157 and 158) between the cap cover 151 and the terminal body 123; and an upper insertion portion (155) connected to the middle insertion portion and located between the upper nut 211 and the cap cover 151 (FIGs. 3 and 5).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Kim further discloses the lower insertion portion and the middle insertion portion comprise a stacked portion in which portions of the lower insertion portion (horizontal portion of 156) and the middle insertion portion (horizontal portion of 158) vertically overlap (FIG. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20120156548 A1), as applied to claim 6, in view of Kim2 (US 20130071726 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Kim further discloses a vertically bent part 124a formed on the outside of the third terminal 124 and inserted into the upper insulation member 155 ([0046]), which teaches a protrusion-groove connection, namely, a protrusion 124a formed on the boss stopper (third electrode terminal 124, FIG. 3) and inserted in the upper groove formed in the upper insertion portion 155.
While Kim does not specifically disclose the upper nut 211 comprising an upper nut protrusion that is inserted in an upper groove formed in the upper insertion portion, this feature is considered as an obvious design choice which is selective based on actual demands, similar to the protrusion-groove connection of 124-155 as forgoing discussed.
Assuming, arguendo, that Kim, for some reason, is not considered to render obvious the claim as set forth above, the following obviousness rejections are also presented.
Kim 2, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the positive electrode terminal 42 includes a plate terminal 422, a rivet terminal 421 and a bolt terminal 423 ([0032] and FIG. 3); the bolt terminal 423 includes a second bolt 232 and a first bolt 231 ([0041]) and the second bolt 232 may protrude outside the plate terminal 422 and may be coupled with a nut (not shown) and a bus bar ( not shown) ([0043]); the plate terminal 422 includes a raised spot 426 protruding from an outmost side of the screw portion (S) and , and the raised spot 426 may be deformed when the first bolt 231 is coupled with the screw portion (S) of the plate terminal 422 ([0044]); and the plate terminal 422 includes a protrusion 425 extending from a center portion of the screw portion (S) towards a top surface of the plate terminal 422, and a space (c) between the protrusion 425 and the side wall of the screw portion (S) to facilitate contact between the bolt terminal 423 and the protrusion 425 once the first bolt 231 is screwed in the screw portion (S) ([0038-0039] and FIG. 3). Therefore, Kim2 teaches a screwed on terminal can have a protrusion-groove connection in between the contact surfaces to facilitate the screwing contact between the terminal and the object being screwed on with the terminal.
Since Kim’s upper nut 211 is a screwed on component connected to the terminal body portion 122 as shown in FIG. 5, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to include a protrusion on the upper nut 122, similar to the raised spot 426 on the plate terminal 422 protruding from an outmost side of the screw portion taught by Kim2 in order to facilitate the screwing contact between the terminal 122 and the upper insertion portion 155 screwed with the terminal according to actual design demand without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
8. Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20120156548 A1), as applied to claim 1, in view of Byun (US 20110294001 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. As set forth in claim 1, Kim has included a terminal comprising a first electrode terminal 122, a second electrode terminal 123, and a third electrode terminal 124, [0039]) assembled to the cap cover through the cap cover (FIGs. 2 and 3). In Kim, the first terminal 122 corresponds to a first terminal in the claim and it is above the cap cover plate 151; the upper portion of the second terminal 123 corresponds to a second terminal in the claim, and it is extending downward from the first terminal and passing through the cap cover plate 151; the lower portion of the third terminal 123 corresponds to a third terminal in the claim, and it is below the cap cover and configured to allow the second terminal to pass therethrough to be coupled to the electrode tab (collecting plate 121, FIG. 3). Kim further discloses an upper insulating member 155 ([0055] and FIG. 3) corresponding to a fifth terminal in the claim, which is made of an insulating material and arranged between the cap cover and the first terminal, the second terminal and the third terminal.
While Kim has his third terminal 124, (FIG. 3) coupled to the lower end of the first terminal 122 to restrain the second terminal and the third terminal (whole terminal 123, FIG. 3), not coupled to a lower end of the second terminal to restrain the third terminal. Therefore, Kim is short of the claimed fourth terminal coupled to the lower end of the second terminal.
Byun, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a terminal 200 includes 210, 220 and 230 ([0051]), with the lower end of 230 corresponds to a third terminal in the claim, which is below the cap cover 510 and configured to allow the second terminal (220, FIG. 3) to pass through the cap cover 510 to be coupled to the electron tab 240. The terminal 210 of Byun corresponds to a fourth terminal in the claim, which is coupled to the lower end of the second terminal to restrain the third terminal.
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to shift the location of terminal 124 in Kim to a lower position as the position of the terminal 210 taught by Byun in FIG. 3, for the same purpose of restraining the third terminal, but with a lower location coupled to the lower end of the second terminal, as an alternative choice of design, absent evidence to the contrary for secondary consideration.
Regarding claim 10, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Modified Kim has included the electrode tab (collecting plate 121, FIG. 3) being welded ([0043]) to at least the third terminal (the lower portion of the third terminal 123, FIG. 3).
9. Claims 11-16 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20120156548 A1) in view of Zhou (US 20240154218 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a battery cell 100 comprising: one or more electrode assemblies 110, each comprising a positive electrode and a negative electrode (first and second electrode 111 and 112, [0033-0034] FIGs. 1-2); a case 140 in which the one or more electrode assemblies are arranged; a cap cover (cape assembly 150, [0033]) configured to cover an opening of the case ([0049] and FIGs. 1-2); a terminal (a first electrode terminal 122, a second electrode terminal 123, and a third electrode terminal 124, [0039]) assembled to the cap cover through the cap cover (FIG. 2). Kim further discloses the lower end of the second electrode terminal 123 coupled to the first collecting plate 121 by laser welding ([0043] and FIG.2), which anticipates the claimed “a tab welding portion configured to weld a lower portion of the terminal and an electrode tab arranged on the electrode assembly”, because the lower end of the second electrode terminal 123 corresponds to a lower portion of the terminal, and the first collecting plate 121 corresponds to an electrode tab in the claim.
Kim further discloses a bus bar (210, [0064]) configured to connect the terminals (FIG. 5).
While Kim discloses a plurality of battery cells 100 and each battery cell 100 with a case 140 (FIG. 5) connected in series and/or in parallel ([0064] and FIG. 5), Kim does not explicitly disclose a housing accommodating the cases 140.
Zhou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches similar battery cell 7 arranged in a case 20, a battery set 6 made of battery cell 7 ([0101] [0106]) accommodated in a housing (box body 5 [0097]) FIGs. 2 and 14) with parallel-series connection of battery cells and improved airtightness ([0099]). It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have included a housing as taught by Zhou in order to better accommodate parallel-series connections of battery cells and with an improved airtightness.
Regarding claim 12, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Modified Kim further discloses the cap cover 150 comprises: a cap plate 151 configured to cover the case; a cap hole 151c extending through the cap plate such that the terminal 123 is configured to pass therethrough ([0043-0044] and FIG. 3); and a cap protrusion (157 with protrusion 157a, [0055]) formed on the cap plate and protruding around the cap hole 150c (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 13, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Modified Kim further discloses the terminal comprises: a terminal body (122 and 123, FIG. 3) passing through the cap cover; a lower nut (connection member 152, [0049]) coupled to a lower portion of the terminal body and welded to the electrode tab 121 ([0051]); an upper nut (211, [0064]) coupled to an upper portion of the terminal body (first electrode terminal 122, [0064] and FIG. 5).
Modified Kim further discloses upper/lower insulating member 155/156 and upper/lower seal member 157/158 of rubber or silicon, ([0055-0056]), which reads on a terminal insertion portion made of an insulating material. Further, since the adjoining portion of 157 and 158 appears being arranged between the cap cover 151 and the terminal body 123 (FIG.3), the claim limitation is met.
Regarding claim 14, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Modified Kim further discloses the terminal body (122 and 123, FIG. 3) comprises: a body boss (upper portion of 123 and 122) passing through the cap cover 151 (FIG. 3); a boss lower section below the body boss (lower portion of 123), arranged below the cap cover 151, and screw-coupled to the lower nut 152 (FIG. 3); and a boss upper section on the body boss (122), arranged above the cap cover, and screw-coupled to the upper nut (211, FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 15, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Modified Kim further discloses the terminal body further comprises a body stopper (third electrode terminal 124, FIG. 3) on the body boss; the body stopper (124) disposed between the first electrode terminal 122 and the second electrode terminal 123 and may be wider than each of the first electrode terminal 122 and the second electrode terminal 123 to reinforce an attachment of 122 and cap plate 151 preventing detachment of these two; and it may be shaped to avoid being rotated ([0044-0045]), which inherently discloses the body stopper 124 is configured to restrict movement of the lower nut and the upper nut in light of 124’s larger size in width and a shape configured to restrict rotation, because the movement of the lower nut 152 and the upper nut 211 would not be able to go further across the body stopper 124.
Regarding claim 16, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Modified Kim further discloses the terminal insertion portion comprises: a lower insertion portion (156) between the lower nut 152 and the cap cover 151 (FIG. 3); a middle insertion portion (157 and 158) between the cap cover 151 and the terminal body 123; and an upper insertion portion (155) connected to the middle insertion portion and located between the upper nut 211 and the cap cover 151 (FIGs. 3 and 5).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Kim further discloses the lower insertion portion and the middle insertion portion comprise a stacked portion in which portions of the lower insertion portion (horizontal portion of 156) and the middle insertion portion (horizontal portion of 158) vertically overlap (FIG. 3).
10. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20120156548 A1) in view of Zhou (US 20240154218 A1), as applied to claim 16, further in view of Kim2 (US 20130071726 A1).
Regarding claim 17, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Modified Kim further discloses a vertically bent part 124a formed on the outside of the third terminal 124 and inserted into the upper insulation member 155 ([0046]), which teaches which teaches a protrusion-groove connection, namely, a protrusion 124a formed on the boss stopper (third electrode terminal 124, FIG. 3) and inserted in an upper groove formed in the upper insertion portion 155.
While modified Kim does not specifically disclose the upper nut 211 comprising an upper nut protrusion that is inserted in an upper groove formed in the upper insertion portion, this feature is considered as an obvious design choice which is selective based on actual demands, similar to the protrusion-groove connection of 124-155 as forgoing discussed.
Assuming, arguendo, that Kim, for some reason, is not considered to render obvious the claim as set forth above, the following obviousness rejections are also presented.
Kim 2, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the positive electrode terminal 42 includes a plate terminal 422, a rivet terminal 421 and a bolt terminal 423 ([0032] and FIG. 3); the bolt terminal 423 includes a second bolt 232 and a first bolt 231 ([0041]) and the second bolt 232 may protrude outside the plate terminal 422 and may be coupled with a nut (not shown) and a bus bar ( not shown) ([0043]); the plate terminal 422 includes a raised spot 426 protruding from an outmost side of the screw portion (S) and , and the raised spot 426 may be deformed when the first bolt 231 is coupled with the screw portion (S) of the plate terminal 422 ([0044]); and the plate terminal 422 includes a protrusion 425 extending from a center portion of the screw portion (S) towards a top surface of the plate terminal 422, and a space (c) between the protrusion 425 and the side wall of the screw portion (S) to facilitate contact between the bolt terminal 423 and the protrusion 425 once the first bolt 231 is screwed in the screw portion (S) ([0038-0039] and FIG. 3). Therefore, Kim2 teaches a screwed on terminal can have a protrusion-groove connection in between the contact surfaces to facilitate the screwing contact between the terminal and the object being screwed on with the terminal.
Since modified Kim’s upper nut 211 is a screwed on component connected to the terminal body portion 122 as shown in FIG. 5, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to include a protrusion on the upper nut 122, similar to the raised spot 426 on the plate terminal 422 protruding from an outmost side of the screw portion taught by Kim2 in order to facilitate the screwing contact between the terminal 122 and the upper insertion portion 155 screwed with the terminal according to actual design demand without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
11. Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20120156548 A1) in view of Zhou (US 20240154218 A1), as applied to claim 1, further in view of Byun (US 20110294001 A1).
Regarding claim 19, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. As set forth in claim 1, modified Kim has included a terminal comprising a first electrode terminal 122, a second electrode terminal 123, and a third electrode terminal 124, [0039]) assembled to the cap cover through the cap cover (FIGs. 2 and 3). In modified Kim, the first terminal 122 corresponds to a first terminal in the claim and it is above the cap cover plate 151; the upper portion of the second terminal 123 corresponds to a second terminal in the claim, and it is extending downward from the first terminal and passing through the cap cover plate 151; the lower portion of the third terminal 123 corresponds to a third terminal in the claim, and it is below the cap cover and configured to allow the second terminal to pass therethrough to be coupled to the electrode tab (collecting plate 121, FIG. 3). Modified Kim further discloses an upper insulating member 155 ([0055] and FIG. 3) corresponding to a fifth terminal in the claim, which is made of an insulating material and arranged between the cap cover and the first terminal, the second terminal and the third terminal.
While modified Kim has his third terminal 124, (FIG. 3) coupled to the lower end of the first terminal 122 to restrain the second terminal and the third terminal (whole terminal 123, FIG. 3), not coupled to a lower end of the second terminal to restrain the third terminal. Therefore, modified Kim is short of the claimed fourth terminal coupled to the lower end of the second terminal.
Byun, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a terminal 200 includes 210, 220 and 230 ([0051]), with the lower end of 230 corresponds to a third terminal in the claim, which is below the cap cover 510 and configured to allow the second terminal (220, FIG. 3) to pass through the cap cover 510 to be coupled to the electron tab 240. The terminal 210 of Byun corresponds to a fourth terminal in the claim, which is coupled to the lower end of the second terminal to restrain the third terminal.
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to shift the location of terminal 124 in modified Kim to a lower position as the position of the terminal 210 taught by Byun in FIG. 3, for the same purpose of restraining the third terminal, but with a lower location coupled to the lower end of the second terminal, as an alternative choice of design, absent evidence to the contrary for secondary consideration.
Regarding claim 20, modified Kim discloses all limitations set forth above. Modified Kim has included the electrode tab (collecting plate 121, FIG. 3) being welded ([0043]) to at least the third terminal (the lower portion of the third terminal 123, FIG. 3).
Conclusion
/K. L./Examiner, Art Unit 1751 9/14/2026
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 9/18/2026