DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,17,18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fathollahi et al. (US 2020/0288833) in view of Hong (US 2014/0066144) and DAUSCHEK (DE 202014006025 U), newly recited reference and Hulet (US 2012/0257346), newly recited reference.
Regarding claim 1, Fathollahi et al. discloses a phone case system (abstract and fig. 34), comprising: an (soft or flexible sleeve) (fig. 34 number 240 and P:0070) configured to receive a mobile phone (fig. 34 number 10), the inner case comprising a flexible material (soft or flexible sleeve) (fig. 34 number 240 and P:0070) configured to substantially surround a perimeter and a back surface of the mobile phone (P:0070); and an outer case (shell)(fig. 34 number 250 and P:0070) configured to receive the mobile phone and the inner case (fig. 34 number 250), the outer case (shell) comprising a rigid material, wherein the outer case defines (i.e. rigid or hard panel component 270 formed of PC or the like that defines the internal side of the back face component 257 and the side walls 258a-258d) (P:0077 and P:0079): a first sidewall (fig. 23 i.e. side wall of casing 250 and fig. 26); a second sidewall(fig. 23 opposite side wall of casing 250 and fig. 27 number 258b and P:0077, P:0079) located opposite the first sidewall (fig. 23 opposite side wall of casing 250 and fig. 27 number 258b and P:0077, P:0079) ; a bottom sidewall (fig. 23, bottom wall of casing 250 and fig. 28 number 258d) extending between the first sidewall and the second sidewall (fig. 23); and a top sidewall (fig. 23, i.e. top wall of casing 250 and fig. 28 number 258c) located opposite the bottom sidewall and extending between the first sidewall and the second sidewall (fig. 23), the top sidewall comprising a first end and a second end located opposite the first end (fig. 23, i.e. top wall above number 397). Fathollahi et al. differs from claim 1 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose the second end of the top sidewall is hingedly coupled to the second sidewall and wherein the first end of the top sidewall is configured to move between an open position and a closed position to receive and retain the mobile phone within the outer case and a thumb screw coupling the first end of the top sidewall to a first end of the first
sidewall. Hong teaches a waterproof phone case (abstract and fig. 2 number 10), the frame 16 includes an opening 18 defined within a bottom side of the frame 16. The opening 18 is to allow the insertion of an electronic device (not shown) into the case 10. A pivoting sidewall 20 is attached by a hinge 22 to the frame 16 and is configured to seal against the periphery of opening 18. The sidewall 20 is capable of pivoting between an open position (i.e., the frame opening is uncovered) and a closed position (i.e., the frame opening is covered) (fig. 9 and P:0033). Hong does not teach the top sidewall is hingedly coupled to the second sidewall, however, one of ordinary skill in the art could provide the teaching of Hong hingedly coupled to the bottom sidewall into Fathollahi et al. top sidewall since this is merely a design choice to insert the mobile phone into the top of phone casing and by placing an opening of Hong into the top of wall of the phone case would actually do the same for inserting the phone into the top of the phone case. DAUSCHEK teaches a protective device for electronic devices (abstract), comprising a screw coupling the first end of the top sidewall to a first end of the first sidewall (i.e. Preferably, the profile pieces are at least in a corner, preferably fixed in both diametrically opposite corners with a fastening means such as a screw releasably to each other)( page 2, lines 26-28, fig. 2 number 15, Fig. 3 numbers 11 and 12), the comparison between 1 and the exploded view after 3 reveals that in the flanges 11 and the central flange 12 that is different in each profile piece 2 located at the opposite ends of the same profile piece, existing recesses 15 , z. B. in the form of through holes or holes with threads, not completely formed. Thus, for example, designed as a screw fastener in the present embodiment of the in the 2 shown back in the then upper flange 11 introduced, passes through the central flange 12 of the adjacent profile piece 2 then in the in the 3 lower flange 11 and its thread to be screwed (fig. 2 number 15. Fig. 3 numbers 11 and 12, page 5, lines 8-15). DAUSCHEK does not explicit disclose a thumb screw. Hulet teaches a holder comprising a thumb screw (abstract and fig. 1 number 103). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Fathollahi et al. with the second end of the top sidewall is hingedly coupled to the second sidewall and wherein the first end of the top sidewall is configured to move between an open position and a closed position to receive and retain the mobile phone within the outer case and a thumb screw coupling the first end of the top sidewall to a first end of the first sidewall in order to provide an opening in the top of the phone case to allow the user to easily insert the mobile device, allow removal of the mobile device from the revolving top casing via a thumb screw and provide protection to the mobile device from breakage in case of accidently dropped, as taught by Hong, DAUSCHEK and Hulet .
Regarding claim 17, Fathollahi et al. discloses the inner case comprises a polymer material (i.e. soft or flexible sleeve) (fig. 34 number 240 and P:0070).
Regarding claim 18, Fathollahi et al. discloses the outer case comprises a combination of metal and plastic materials (i.e. a first steel mold is provided that has the shape of the back face panel 150, and polycarbonate or another suitable material is injected into the mold and allowed to cool for a suitable period of time) (P:0069).
Regarding claim 19, Fathollahi et al. discloses a method (P:0011) of using a phone case system (P:0005), the method comprising: coupling a mobile phone to an inner case (soft or flexible sleeve) (fig. 34 number 240 and P:0070) comprising the inner case comprising a flexible material (soft or flexible sleeve) (fig. 34 number 240 and P:0070) configured to substantially surround a perimeter and a back surface of the mobile phone (P:0070); and an outer case (shell)(fig. 34 number 250 and P:0070) configured to receive the mobile phone and the inner case (fig. 34 number 250), the outer case (shell) comprising a rigid material, wherein the outer case defines (i.e. rigid or hard panel component 270 formed of PC or the like that defines the internal side of the back face component 257 and the side walls 258a-258d) (P:0077 and P:0079): a first sidewall (fig. 23 i.e. side wall of casing 250 and fig. 26); a second sidewall(fig. 23 opposite side wall of casing 250 and fig. 27 number 258b and P:0077, P:0079) located opposite the first sidewall (fig. 23 opposite side wall of casing 250 and fig. 27 number 258b and P:0077, P:0079) ; a bottom sidewall (fig. 23, bottom wall of casing 250 and fig. 28 number 258d) extending between the first sidewall and the second sidewall (fig. 23); and a top sidewall (fig. 23, i.e. top wall of casing 250 and fig. 28 number 258c) located opposite the bottom sidewall and extending between the first sidewall and the second sidewall (fig. 23), the top sidewall comprising a first end and a second end located opposite the first end (fig. 23, i.e. top wall above number 397). Fathollahi et al. differs from claim 19 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose the second end of the top sidewall is hingedly coupled to the second sidewall and wherein the first end of the top sidewall is configured to move between an open position and a closed position to receive and retain the mobile phone within the outer case and a thumb screw coupling the first end of the top sidewall to a first end of the first
sidewall. Hong teaches a waterproof phone case (abstract and fig. 2 number 10), the frame 16 includes an opening 18 defined within a bottom side of the frame 16. The opening 18 is to allow the insertion of an electronic device (not shown) into the case 10. A pivoting sidewall 20 is attached by a hinge 22 to the frame 16 and is configured to seal against the periphery of opening 18. The sidewall 20 is capable of pivoting between an open position (i.e., the frame opening is uncovered) and a closed position (i.e., the frame opening is covered) (fig. 9 and P:0033). Hong does not teach the top sidewall is hingedly coupled to the second sidewall, however, one of ordinary skill in the art could provide the teaching of Hong hingedly coupled to the bottom sidewall into Fathollahi et al. top sidewall since this is merely a design choice to insert the mobile phone into the top of phone casing and by placing an opening of Hong into the top of wall of the phone case would actually do the same for inserting the phone into the top of the phone case. DAUSCHEK teaches a protective device for electronic devices (abstract), comprising a screw coupling the first end of the top sidewall to a first end of the first sidewall (i.e. Preferably, the profile pieces are at least in a corner, preferably fixed in both diametrically opposite corners with a fastening means such as a screw releasably to each other)( page 2, lines 26-28, fig. 2 number 15, Fig. 3 numbers 11 and 12), the comparison between 1 and the exploded view after 3 reveals that in the flanges 11 and the central flange 12 that is different in each profile piece 2 located at the opposite ends of the same profile piece, existing recesses 15 , z. B. in the form of through holes or holes with threads, not completely formed. Thus, for example, designed as a screw fastener in the present embodiment of the in the 2 shown back in the then upper flange 11 introduced, passes through the central flange 12 of the adjacent profile piece 2 then in the in the 3 lower flange 11 and its thread to be screwed (fig. 2 number 15. Fig. 3 numbers 11 and 12, page 5, lines 8-15). DAUSCHEK does not explicit disclose a thumb screw. Hulet teaches a holder comprising a thumb screw (abstract and fig. 1 number 103). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Fathollahi et al. with the second end of the top sidewall is hingedly coupled to the second sidewall and wherein the first end of the top sidewall is configured to move between an open position and a closed position to receive and retain the mobile phone within the outer case and a thumb screw coupling the first end of the top sidewall to a first end of the first sidewall in order to provide an opening in the top of the phone case to allow the user to easily insert the mobile device, allow removal of the mobile device from the revolving top casing via a thumb screw and provide protection to the mobile device from breakage in case of accidently dropped, as taught by Hong, DAUSCHEK and Hulet .
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fathollahi et al. (US 2020/0288833) in view of Hong (US 2014/0066144), DAUSCHEK (DE 202014006025 U), newly recited reference and Hulet (US 2012/0257346), newly recited reference as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Wu (US 2014/0175961).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, the combination of Fathollahi et al., Hong, DAUSCHEK and Hulet differs from claims 2 and 3 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose a thumb screw configured to detachably couple the first end of the top sidewall to a first end of the first sidewall, a plurality of mechanical fasteners configured to: couple the second end of the top sidewall to a first end of the second sidewall, couple a second end of the second sidewall to a first end of the bottom sidewall, and couple a second end of the bottom sidewall to a second end of the first sidewall. Wu teaches a casing for portable electronic device (title, abstract), a screw with a head configured to detachably couple the first end of the top sidewall to a first end of the first sidewall (i.e. screw in the right top corner) (fig. 2 and P:0009), a plurality of mechanical fasteners (screws) (fig. 2 and P:0009) configured to: couple the second end of the top sidewall to a first end of the second sidewall(i.e. screw in the left top corner) (fig. 2 and P:0009), couple a second end of the second sidewall to a first end of the bottom sidewall (i.e. screw in the left bottom corner) (fig. 2 and P:0009) , and couple a second end of the bottom sidewall to a second end of the first sidewall (i.e. screw in the right bottom corner) (fig. 2 and P:0009). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of the combination of Fathollahi et al., Hong, DAUSCHEK and Hulet with a thumb screw configured to detachably couple the first end of the top sidewall to a first end of the first sidewall, a plurality of mechanical fasteners configured to: couple the second end of the top sidewall to a first end of the second sidewall, couple a second end of the second sidewall to a first end of the bottom sidewall, and couple a second end of the bottom sidewall to a second end of the first sidewall in order to fasten each corner of the phone case together by turning the screws by using the users finger or thumb, as taught by Wu.
6. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fathollahi et al. (US 2020/0288833) in view of Hong (US 2014/0066144) DAUSCHEK (DE 202014006025 U), newly recited reference, Hulet (US 2012/0257346), newly recited reference and Wu as applied to claims 1-3 above and in further view of Wilson et al. (US 2015/0257285).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Fathollahi et al., Hong, DAUSCHEK, Hulet and Wu differs from claim 4 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose the plurality of mechanical fasteners comprise a plurality of hinge pins. Wilson et al. teaches a protective case (abstract) comprising a plurality of mechanical fasteners comprise a plurality of hinge pins (fig. 18 numbers 461, 462 and P:0090). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Fathollahi et al., Hong, DAUSCHEK, Hulet and Wu with the plurality of mechanical fasteners comprise a plurality of hinge pins in order to secure the left side and right side of the outer casing while allowing the bottom casing wall to rotate in case of removing the mobile phone from the bottom of the phone casing, as taught by Wilson et al..
7. Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fathollahi et al. (US 2020/0288833) in view of Hong (US 2014/0066144), DAUSCHEK (DE 202014006025 U), newly recited and Hulet (US 2012/0257346), newly recited reference as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Altscul et al. (US 2021/0028809).
Regarding to claims 5 and 6, the combination of Fathollahi et al., Hong , DAUSCHEK and Hulet differs from clams 5 and 6 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose the first sidewall includes a ridged portion configured to allow a user to hold the outer case, wherein the first sidewall includes a plurality of ridges configured to allow a user to hold the outer case. Altscul et al. teaches a first sidewall includes a ridged portion configured to allow a user to hold the outer case (fig. 2 number 132), wherein the first sidewall includes a plurality of ridges (fig. 2 number 140) configured to allow a user to hold the outer case (fig. 2 and P:0022).Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Fathollahi et al., Hong , DAUSCHEK and Hulet with the first sidewall includes a ridged portion configured to allow a user to hold the outer case, wherein the first sidewall includes a plurality of ridges configured to allow a user to hold the outer case in order to allow the user to secure grip the phone case using their fingers, as taught by Altscul et al..
8. Claim(s) 7 -9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fathollahi et al. (US 2020/0288833) in view of Hong (US 2014/0066144), DAUSCHEK (DE 202014006025 U), newly recited and Hulet (US 2012/0257346), newly recited reference as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Mody et al. (US 2019/0013832).
Regarding to claims 7-9, the combination of Fathollahi et al., Hong, DAUSCHEK and Hulet differs from clams 7-9 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose a first opening located on a first portion of the inner case; a second opening located on a second portion of the inner case, wherein the second portion is located opposite the first portion; and a third opening located on a bottom portion of the inner case, wherein the first opening and the second opening are configured to enable a user to access a plurality of buttons of the mobile phone, and wherein the third opening is configured to enable the user to access a charging port of the mobile phone, wherein the outer case comprises: a first opening located on the first sidewall of the outer case; a second opening located on the second sidewall of the outer case; and a third opening located on the bottom sidewall of the outer case, wherein the first opening and the second opening are configured to enable the user to access the plurality of buttons of the mobile phone, and wherein the third opening is configured to enable the user to access the charging port of the mobile phone, wherein the first opening of the inner case is substantially aligned with the first opening of the outer case, wherein the second opening of the inner case is substantially aligned with the second opening of the outer case, and wherein the third opening of the inner case is substantially aligned with the third opening of the outer case. Mody et al. teaches a first opening (cutout) located on a first portion of the inner case (i.e. in front of button 370)(fig. 10 number 340 and P:0042) ; a second opening (right side single cutout for a button) located on a second portion of the inner case (fig. 10 number 340 and P:0042), wherein the second portion is located opposite the first portion (fig. 10); and a third opening (cut out in the bottom, i.e. inherent, to receive a power and/or charging cord) located on a bottom portion of the inner case (fig. 10), wherein the first opening and the second opening are configured to enable a user to access a plurality of buttons of the mobile phone (P:0042), and wherein the third opening is configured to enable the user to access a charging port of the mobile phone (fig. 3), wherein the outer case (fig. 3 number 320) comprises: a first opening (cutout section) located on the first sidewall of the outer case (fig. 10); a second opening (cutout section) located on the second sidewall of the outer case (fig. 10); and a third opening (cutout section) located on the bottom sidewall of the outer case (fig. 10 number 320), wherein the first opening and the second opening are configured to enable the user to access the plurality of buttons of the mobile phone (fig. 10 and P:0042), and wherein the third opening is configured to enable the user to access the charging port of the mobile phone (inherent, since it covers number 340) (fig. 10), wherein the first opening of the inner case is substantially aligned with the first opening of the outer case (fig. 10), wherein the second opening of the inner case is substantially aligned with the second opening of the outer case (fig. 10), and wherein the third opening of the inner case is substantially aligned with the third opening of the outer case (fig. 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Fathollahi et al., Hong, DAUSCHEK and Hulet with a first opening located on a first portion of the inner case; a second opening located on a second portion of the inner case, wherein the second portion is located opposite the first portion; and a third opening located on a bottom portion of the inner case, wherein the first opening and the second opening are configured to enable a user to access a plurality of buttons of the mobile phone, and wherein the third opening is configured to enable the user to access a charging port of the mobile phone, wherein the outer case comprises: a first opening located on the first sidewall of the outer case; a second opening located on the second sidewall of the outer case; and a third opening located on the bottom sidewall of the outer case, wherein the first opening and the second opening are configured to enable the user to access the plurality of buttons of the mobile phone, and wherein the third opening is configured to enable the user to access the charging port of the mobile phone, wherein the first opening of the inner case is substantially aligned with the first opening of the outer case, wherein the second opening of the inner case is substantially aligned with the second opening of the outer case, and wherein the third opening of the inner case is substantially aligned with the third opening of the outer case in order to protect the phone case while allowing the user to charge the mobile device and allow the user to access the buttons on the mobile device while the protective cover is attached, as taught by Mody et al..
Regarding to claims 11 and 12, Fathollahi et al. discloses when the mobile phone (fig. 34 number 10 and fig. 34) is coupled to the inner case (240) and the inner case is coupled to the outer case (250), the outer case is configured to substantially enclose at least the first portion, the second portion, the bottom portion, and a top portion of the inner case (fig. 34 and P:0046).
Regarding to claim 13, Fathollahi et al. discloses the outer case defines an open face (i.e. storage section for the mobile device)(fig. 34 number 250), thereby allowing the user to contact a front surface of the mobile phone (fig. 34).
9. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fathollahi et al. (US 2020/0288833) in view of Hong (US 2014/0066144), DAUSCHEK (DE 202014006025 U), newly recited, Hulet (US 2012/0257346) newly recited and Mody et al. (US 2019/0013832) as applied to claims 1,7-9 above and in further view of McHatet (US 9,913,388).
Regarding to claim 10, the combination of Fathollahi et al., Hong, DAUSCHEK, Hulet and Mody et al. differs from clam 10 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose a fourth opening located along the top sidewall of the outer case. McHatet teaches a phone case having an opening (fig. 2 number 30) located along the top sidewall of the outer case (fig. 2 number 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of McHatet of a fourth opening located along the top sidewall of the outer case in order for the mobile phone to slide into the top side of the phone case to secure and protected the mobile phone from being accidently dropped, as taught by McHatet.
10. Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fathollahi et al. (US 2020/0288833) in view of Hong (US 2014/0066144), DAUSCHEK (DE 202014006025 U), newly recited, Hulet (US 2012/0257346) newly recited and Mody et al. (US 2019/0013832) as applied to claim 1, 7 and 11 above and in further view of Hu et al. (US 2014/0024418).
Regarding to claim 14, the combination of Fathollahi et al., Hong, DAUSCHEK,Hulet and Mody et al. differs from claim 14 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose the outer case defines an open back, thereby allowing the user to contact a back surface of the inner case. Hu et al. teaches mobile phone outer case frame defines an opening and/or recessed (fig. 5 number 411 and P:0028). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hu et al. of the outer case defines an open back, thereby allowing the user to contact a back surface of the inner case in order to help secure the users hand on the mobile phone case from slippage by pressing on the rubber inner case along with the outer hard case of the mobile phone case, as taught by Hu et al..
11. Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fathollahi et al. (US 2020/0288833) in view of Hong (US 2014/0066144), DAUSCHEK (DE 202014006025 U), newly recited, and Hulet (US 2012/0257346) newly recited as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Hodge (9,806,754).
Regarding to claims 15 and 16, the combination of Fathollahi et al., Hong, DAUSCHEK and Hulet differs from clams 15 and 16 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose a first loop hole located along the second sidewall adjacent the top sidewall and a second loop hole located along the bottom sidewall adjacent the first sidewall and wherein the first loop hole and the second loop hole are each configured to receive an object selected from the group consisting of a keyring, a lanyard, a tether, and combinations thereo. Zhang teaches a first loop hole located (top right loop hole)(fig. 1 number 20) along the second sidewall adjacent the top sidewall and a second loop hole (fig. 1 number 20) located along the bottom sidewall adjacent the first sidewall (fig. 1 and col. 5 lines 28-33), wherein the first loop hole and the second loop hole are each configured to receive an object selected from the group consisting a lanyard, keychain, etc. (fig. 40 and col. 5 number 36-38). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Fathollahi et al., Hong, DAUSCHEK and Hulet with a first loop hole located along the second sidewall adjacent the top sidewall and a second loop hole located along the bottom sidewall adjacent the first sidewall and wherein the first loop hole and the second loop hole are each configured to receive an object selected from the group consisting of a keyring, a lanyard, a tether, and combinations thereof in order for the user to carry the phone case safely using one's finger, about their wrist, or on their neck, as taught by Hodge.
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
13. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 20, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest alone, or in combination coupling the inner case and the mobile phone to the outer case comprises: moving the top sidewall to the open position; slideably coupling the inner case and the mobile phone to the outer case through the top sidewall such that the inner case and the mobile phone are substantially encased by the first sidewall, the second sidewall, and the bottom sidewall; and moving the top sidewall to the closed position, wherein moving the top sidewall from the open position to the closed position comprises using a thumb screw to detachably couple the first end of the top sidewall to a first end of the first sidewall, and wherein moving the top sidewall from the closed position to the open position comprises removing the thumb screw from the first end of the top sidewall and the first end of the first sidewall.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEITH FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648