DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramirez et al. (EP 2633006 B1)
In regards to claim 1, Ramirez teaches production of renewable distillate comprising separating a bio-distillate fraction from bio-oil [0001]. The oil is prepared by converting lignocellulosic biomass in a pyrolysis reaction in the presence of a catalyst at temperature of from 200 to 1000℃ at a reaction residence time of less than 10 seconds (i.e., fast pyrolysis), separating the solids from the vapor products wherein the solids include char, spent catalyst etc., condensing the vapor products to provide the bio-oil, separating a bio-distillate using fractional distillation, membrane separation etc. [0008].
The biomass lignocellulosic material can be wood chips, saw dust, pulping waste etc. [0013]. The biomass can be pretreated with steam explosion, i.e., which is known to comprise a steam cooking phase that would be expected to saturate the wood [0014]. The process can be fast pyrolysis, slow pyrolysis etc. [0017]. Fast pyrolysis can be less than 10 seconds [0019]. The renewable distillate product can comprise petroleum derived distillate such as middle distillates, gas oil etc. [0031, 0033]. Saw dust and wood biomass are typically dry and would have the water content of the claim. The slow pyrolysis process would be expected to take much more than 10 seconds residence time.
In regards to claims 2 – 4, Ramirez teaches the process comprising woody biomass such as saw dust which having the dimensions in microns.
In regards to claims 5 – 8, Ramirez teaches the process comprising addition of steam and reacting at the claimed temperatures and reaction times. While the system pressure is not particularly recited, reaction conditions such as reaction pressure, reaction rate, residence time, reaction temperatures etc., are conditions that would be routinely optimized by persons of ordinary skill in the art, thus making the claimed limitations obvious.
In regards to claim 9, Ramirez teaches the process comprising a pre-treatment of the biomass with steam explosion (i.e., steam saturation) prior to pyrolysis.
In regards to claim 10, Ramirez teaches the process having the claimed limitations as previously discussed.
In regards to claim 11, Ramirez teaches the process of preparing middle distillates such as gas oil and thus other middle distillates such as kerosene are obvious.
In regards to claim 12, Ramirez teaches the process. The type of reactor used in the process does not carry patentable weight so long as the claimed process is taught.
In regards to claims 13 – 16, Ramirez teaches the process having the claimed limitations as previously discussed.
In regards to claim 17, Ramirez teaches the process which provides gaseous hydrocarbon products such as gasoline but does not particularly recite the step of cooling them after pyrolysis as claimed. Freel et al. (WO 91/11499) similarly teaches pyrolysis oil from wood wherein the gaseous product is quenched and cooled to provide the hydrocarbon liquid products by using recycled products previously cooled and thus provides the counter-current flow as claimed (page 23 lines 23 – 25). Thus, persons of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claim was filed would have found it obvious to have used the cooling means of Freel in the process of Ramirez, as Freel provides suitable method of cooling the gaseous products after pyrolysis.
In regards to claims 18 – 23, Ramirez teaches the process of preparing pyrolysis oils such as the middle distillates of the claims and having similar process conditions as claimed. The devices used for performing the process do not carry patentable weight so long as the process of the claims are taught.
Conclusion
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771