Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-14 and 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu, U.S. Patent #10,671,068, issued June 2, 2020
in view of Kim, U.S. PG Pub #2020/0004257 published January 2, 2020 further in view of Drayna, U.S. PG Publication #2019/0191424, filed December 23, 2019
With regard to Independent Claim 1,
Xu teaches a method comprising obtaining first information comprising environment information of a terminal in which a first apparatus is located. See e.g., Col. 5:29-33 (“Next, the specification describes a control system that may receive sensor data from different sensors and share sensor data across processing pipelines. An example control system, providing autonomous navigation for a vehicle is then described.”) See also Col. 7:30-32 (“External sensors may be sensors that can monitor one or more aspects of an external environment relative to vehicle…”). The examiner notes that a “vehicle” is a “terminal” and a “sensor” is a “first apparatus” located in the terminal under BRI consistent with the specification.
Xu further teaches receiving second information indicating at least one of region information or time information of the terminal. See e.g., Col. 7:32-39, (discussing various types of sensors, including GPS devices which provide “region information” of the terminal.)
Xu further teaches inputting the first and second information to [a] predefined algorithm to obtain first sensed information for the terminal and outputting the first sensed information. See e.g., Fig. 1 (showing raw sensor data from various sensors – which as explained above can include the claimed “first information” and “second sensors” being passed into processing pipelines (which include various algorithms). At step 182, the processed sensor data from one sensor’s pipeline can be shared with others. Thus, as the pipeline progresses along, the data that is ultimately output is based on both the claimed “first information” and “second information.”
Xu does not explicitly disclose “selecting, from among multiple predefined algorithms in a predefined algorithm set, a predefined algorithm based on the second information, wherein each of the multiple predefined algorithms corresponds to a different region or a different time.”
Kim teaches selecting, from among multiple predefined algorithms in a predefined algorithm set, a predefined algorithm based on the second information, wherein each of the multiple predefined algorithms corresponds to a different region or a different time. See e.g., [0011], (discussing acquiring location information (meta info) and then receive an object detection algorithm selected based on the meta info.) See also [0021], (algorithms can be selected based on time as well.) See also [0332], (specific example of algorithm selected based on region and time.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having Xu and Kim before them to modify the fusion system and neural networks of Xu with the ability to select algorithms based on region and time as taught by Kim. One would be motivated to do so in order to provide specialized custom resources to improve object detection.
Xu-Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the multiple predefined algorithms is trained using datasets having unique traffic scenario features corresponding to the different region or the different time, and wherein the unique traffic scenario features comprise region-specific traffic facilities, region-specific traffic police garments or gestures, or region-specific transport vehicles.
Drayna teaches wherein each of the multiple predefined algorithms is trained using datasets having unique traffic scenario features corresponding to the different region or the different time, and wherein the unique traffic scenario features comprise region-specific traffic facilities, region-specific traffic police garments or gestures, or region-specific transport vehicles. See e.g., [0019], [0020], (discussing different training a neural network on different datasets for different locations that are trained separately for each location. The examiner notes that the claim requires nothing more than that the datasets themselves (i.e., the collected data) include region specific features such as region-specific transport vehicles. The examiner finds this to be an inherent aspect of collecting data at different locations – naturally different locations will have different “region-specific” features such as what is being claimed.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fusion system and neural networks of Xu with the ability to be trained specifically on region and time information as discussed by Drayna. One would be motivated to do so to better allow determination and recognition of operational surfaces on which the vehicles are operated. See generally Drayna, [0020].
With regard to Dependent Claim 2,
As discussed above, Xu-Kim-Drayna teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Xu-Kim-Drayna further teaches wherein obtaining the first information comprises detecting the environment information of the terminal or receiving the first information. See e.g., Xu, Col. 5:29-33 (“Next, the specification describes a control system that may receive sensor data from different sensors and share sensor data across processing pipelines. An example control system, providing autonomous navigation for a vehicle is then described.”) See also Col. 7:30-32 (“External sensors may be sensors that can monitor one or more aspects of an external environment relative to vehicle…”). The examiner notes that even though this claim is written in the alternative Xu teaches both alternatives as shown above.
With respect to Dependent Claim 4,
As discussed above, Xu-Kim-Drayna teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Xu-Kim-Drayna further teaches wherein each of the multiple predefined algorithms is a neural network model. See e.g., Xu, Fig. 4, Col. 9:49-55, (discussing using a neural network in the processing pipelines, thus the information output would be based on a neural network model.)
With respect to Dependent Claim 5,
As discussed above, Xu-Kim-Drayna teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Xu-Kim-Drayna further teaches wherein outputting the first sensed information comprises sending the first sensed information to a fusion unit. See e.g., Xu, Fig. 1, (first sensed information is sent to “final decision processing 170” which is a fusion unit.)
With regard to Independent Claim 6,
Claim 6 is similar in scope to Claim 1 and is rejection under a similar rationale.
With respect to Dependent Claim 8,
As discussed above, Xu-Kim teaches all the limitations of Claim 6. Xu-Kim-Drayna further teaches wherein each of the multiple predefined algorithms in the predefined algorithm set further correspond to different sensors. See Xu, Fig. 1, showing various sensors with separate processing pipelines, see also Zhang [0088], discussing that the algorithms can be used on different data sets.
With regard to Dependent Claims 9 and 16,
These claims are similar in scope to Claim 4 and are rejected under a similar rationale.
With regard to Dependent Claim 10,
As discussed above, Xu-Kim teaches all the limitations of Claim 6. Xu-Kim-Drayna further teaches wherein the first information is from a sensor. See e.g., Xu, Col. 5:29-33 (“Next, the specification describes a control system that may receive sensor data from different sensors and share sensor data across processing pipelines. An example control system, providing autonomous navigation for a vehicle is then described.”) See also Col. 7:30-32 (“External sensors may be sensors that can monitor one or more aspects of an external environment relative to vehicle…”).
With regard to Dependent Claim 11,
As discussed above, Xu-Kim-Drayna teaches all the limitations of Claim 6. Xu-Kim-Drayna further teaches wherein the region information comprises one or more of … a region. See e.g., Xu, Col. 4:25-32, (discussing image data being buffered into regions.) See also Xu, Col. 8:48-65, (discussing similar.) Also note the various citations to GPS and similar navigational systems which provide position information which naturally is a “region.”
With regard to Dependent Claim 12,
As discussed above, Xu-Kim-Drayna eaches all the limitations of Claim 6. Xu-Kim-Drayna further teaches wherein the first apparatus comprises a camera apparatus, a lidar…. See Xu, Col. 7:26-46 (describing several sensor types including cameras, lidar,
With regard to Independent Claim 13,
Claim 13 is similar in scope to Claim 1 and is rejected under a similar rationale.
With regard to Dependent Claim 14,
As discussed above, Xu-Kim teaches all the limitations of Claim 13. Xu-Kim-Drayna further teaches wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to detect the environment information of the terminal. See also Xu, Col. 7:30-32 (“External sensors may be sensors that can monitor one or more aspects of an external environment relative to vehicle…”). The examiner notes that a “vehicle” is a “terminal” and a “sensor” is a “first apparatus” located in the terminal under BRI consistent with the specification.
With regard to Dependent Claim 17,
Claim 17 is similar in scope to Claim 5 and is rejected under a similar rationale.
With regard to Dependent Claim 18,
As discussed above, Xu-Kim-Drayna teaches all the limitations of Claim 13. Xu-Kim-Drayna further teaches wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to receive the first information. See also Xu, Col. 7:30-32 (“External sensors may be sensors that can monitor one or more aspects of an external environment relative to vehicle…”). The examiner notes that a “vehicle” is a “terminal” and a “sensor” is a “first apparatus” located in the terminal under BRI consistent with the specification.
With regard to Dependent Claim 19,
As discussed above, Xu-Kim-Drayna teaches all the limitations of Claim 13. Xu-Kim-Drayna further teaches wherein the second information indicates the region information and the time information. See e.g., Kim, [0011, 0012] (information can include location and time.)
With regard to Dependent Claim 20,
As discussed above, Xu-Kim-Drayna teaches all the limitations of Claim 13. Xu-Kim-Drayna further teaches construct a neural network model …. output the sensed information based on the neural network model. See e.g., Xu, Fig. 4, Col. 9:49-55, (discussing using a neural network in the processing pipelines, thus the information output would be based on a neural network model.)
Xu-Kim-Drayna further teaches construct a neural network model using the region information and the time information. See e.g., Drayna, [0020], input data for neural network can be based on movement data along travel route, time of day, season, etc. See also Drayna, [0067], (discussing training data may be generated using GNSS – global navigation satellite system, which see [0030] includes a GPS ).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fusion system and neural networks of Xu with the ability to be trained (“based on”) specifically on region and time information as discussed by Drayna. One would be motivated to do so to better allow determination and recognition of operational surfaces on which the vehicles are operated. See generally Drayna, [0020].
With regard to Dependent Claim 21,
As discussed above, Xu-Kim teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Xu-Kim-Drayna further teaches wherein selecting the predefined algorithm comprises comparing the at least one of region information or time information to the corresponding region or time of each of the multiple predefined algorithms and selecting the predefined algorithm based on a match between the at least one of region information or time information and the corresponding region or time of each of the multiple predefined algorithms. See e.g., Kim, [0011], (discussing acquiring location information (meta info) and then receive an object detection algorithm selected based on the meta info.) See also Kim, [0021], (algorithms can be selected based on time as well.) See also Kim, [0332], (specific example of algorithm selected based on region and time, note specifically the matching which also requires a comparing step.)
With regard to Dependent Claims 22 and 23,
These claims are similar in scope to Claim 21 and are rejected under a similar rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 USC 103 rejection are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW ELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2141