DETAILED ACTION
Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1,6,7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Greyshock et al. PGPub 2019/0102965.
Greyshock discloses, regarding claim 1, A medication assistance device comprising:
a storing member (212) configured to store medicine packs;
a medicine dispenser (202) configured to arrange a predetermined medicine pack among the medicine packs in a predetermined position;
a discharge and transport mechanism (204,206,208) configured to discharge the predetermined medicine pack from the storing member to transport to a predetermined position of the medicine dispenser;
a pack information reader (¶0102) disposed in the discharge and transport mechanism, and configured to read medication associated information attached to at least one of the storing member or the medicine pack, the medication associated information including a name of an individual taking medication and administration timing (¶0070-0092);
a pack information management system (230) configured to manage the medication associated information of the medicine pack;
a storing detector configured to detect attachment or detachment of the storing member to a device main body (¶0096); and
a controller configured to inform the pack information management system and cause the pack information reader to read the medication associated information of the storing member to be updated based on a detection signal from the storing detector at a time when the storing member is mounted in the device main body (see at least ¶0090-0092).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the discharge and transport mechanism includes a discharger (208) configured to take the predetermined medicine pack out from the storing member, and a transporting mechanism (206) configured to transport the predetermined medicine pack, which is taken out from the storing member, to the predetermined position of the medicine dispenser (see at least ¶0089).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the storing member is configured to store the medicine packs in a stacked state, and the medicine packs include unit-dose medicine packs in each of which a single dose of one or more medicines is packaged, and a unit-dose medicine pack bundle in which a plurality of unit-dose medicine packs are stacked and bundled in a stacking direction (it is noted that the claim further limits that article handled by the apparatus and not the apparatus itself, however, Greyshock is fully capable of providing the packs in a stacked state. See MPEP 2114,2115).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greyshock et al. PGPub 2019/0102965 in view of Misra PGPub 2022/0270734.
Greyshock discloses substantially all the limitations of the claims (see ¶4 above), but does not expressly disclose the limitations of claims 2-4.
Misra teaches [regarding claim 2] wherein the storing detector (602) includes an optical sensor, a distance sensor, a weight sensor, or a push button switch (¶0060), [regarding claim 3] wherein the medication assistance device includes a plurality of storing members (603) as the storing member and a plurality of storing detectors (602) as the storing detector, and each of the storing detectors is arranged for a corresponding storing member (see fig.4,6), [regarding claim 4] wherein the medication assistance device includes a plurality of storing members (603) as the storing member, where the plurality of the storing members form a storing member assembly that is an integrated structure of the plurality of storing members, and where the storing member assembly is detachably mounted to the device main body, and wherein the storing detector is configured to detect an attachment or detachment state of the storing member assembly (see ¶0060, fig.4,6).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the storing detector with an optical sensor, a distance sensor, a weight sensor, or a push button switch, wherein the medication assistance device includes a plurality of storing members as the storing member and a plurality of storing detectors as the storing detector, and each of the storing detectors is arranged for a corresponding storing member, wherein the medication assistance device includes a plurality of storing members as the storing member, where the plurality of the storing members form a storing member assembly that is an integrated structure of the plurality of storing members, and where the storing member assembly is detachably mounted to the device main body, and wherein the storing detector is configured to detect an attachment or detachment state of the storing member assembly
As taught by Misra, in the device of Greyshock, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of monitoring medication usage for user safety.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 5,8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
McDonald et al. (USP 5,468,110) discloses a medication support device comprising a container (12) configured to store medicine packs (14), a picking means (38), a conveyor (34), and a medication reader (26) associated with the picking means.
/LESLIE A NICHOLSON III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 2/9/2026