The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
This office action is in response to the application filed on 05/17/2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims 1-12 are pending and have been examined.
Objection to the Drawings
The drawings filed on 05/17/2024 are not acceptable. New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application, because:-
1, the “fuel cell system (8)” claimed in claims 1, 9 and 12 is not shown in the drawings.
2, U1_IN and U2_IN in the specification are indicated as U1_EIN and U2_EIN on figures 1, 2 and 6.
3, U1_OUT and U2_OUT in the specification are indicated as U1_AUS and U2_AUS on figures 1, 2 and 6.
The drawings must show every feature of the invention claimed in the claims or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepare new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Objection to the Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed to.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS/s) submitted on 08/14/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97. Accordingly, the IDSs have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 1-6, 8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saeki et al. (US 2010/0332063 A1), hereinafter ‘Saeki in view of Chou et al. (US 2016/0264006 A1), hereinafter ‘Chou.
In re to claim 1, Saeki disclose a device for converting voltage for a fuel cell electric drive (i.e. 10, fig. 11, see par. [0026]), wherein the device comprises a first unit (i.e. 40) with a first DC voltage converter (i.e. 50, see par. [0036]) for converting a first input voltage (i.e. the input to 50) provided by a fuel cell system (i.e. 40, see par. [0036]) of the drive into a first output voltage (i.e. the output of 40) to be provided to a battery (i.e. 60, see par. [0028]) of the drive (i.e. 20, see par. [0027]) and wherein the device has a second unit with a second DC voltage converter (i.e. 72, see par. [0039]) for converting a second input voltage (i.e. the input to 72) provided by the battery (i.e. 60) of the drive into a second output voltage to be provided for operating at least one element of the drive (i.e. 20), wherein, the first DC voltage converter (i.e. 50) is designed such that it can be set and operated as an inverse converter or as a boost converter depending on the level of the first output voltage to be provided to the battery of the drive (i.e. see the Abstract and pars. [0026-0041]). Except, Saeki fail to explicitly disclose a drive for a forklift truck. Whereas Chou teaches that a drive for a forklift truck. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Saeki by incorporating the drive for a forklift truck of Chou to enable or facilitate the device a drive for a forklift truck.
In re to claim 2, Saeki disclose the device (i.e. 10, fig. 11, see par. [0026]), according to claim 1, wherein, the device (i.e. 10) is designed for the drive (i.e. 20, see par. [0027]) with the battery (i.e. 60, see par. [0028]) with a nominal voltage equal to 48-96V (i.e. predetermined voltage range, see par. [0051]), and/or in that the device (i.e. 10) is designed for the drive (i.e. 20) with the batteries (i.e. 60) each having a nominal voltage equal to 96V and 80V and 48V (i.e. predetermined target voltage, see par. [0051]), and/or in that the first DC voltage converter (i.e. 50) is designed to convert the first input voltage (i.e. the input to 50) equal to 40-80V into the first output voltage (i.e. determined voltage range, see par. [0051]) equal to 35-100V (i.e. predetermined voltage range, see par. [0051]), and/or the second DC voltage converter (i.e. 72) is designed to convert the first input voltage (i.e. input to 50)) equal to 35-100V into the second output voltage (i.e. input to 72) equal to 24V (i.e. step down or buck converter [0037]).
In re to claim 3, Saeki disclose the device (i.e. 10, fig. 11, see par. [0026]) according to claim 1, wherein, the first DC voltage converter (i.e. 50, see par. [0036]) is designed to convert the first input voltage (i.e. input to 50) equal to 40-80V (i.e. predetermined voltage range, see par. [0051]) into the first output voltage (i.e. output of 50), and/or the device (i.e. 10) is designed for the drive (i.e. see par. [0027]) with the battery (i.e. see 60, par. [0028]) with a nominal voltage equal to 96V (i.e. predetermined target voltage, see par. [0051]) and the first DC voltage converter (i.e. 50) is set as a step-up converter (i.e. is boosting operation, see the Abstract) for converting the first input voltage (i.e. input voltage to 50) into the first output voltage (i.e. output of 50) equal to 90-100V (i.e. predetermined voltage range, see par. [0051]), and/or in that the device (i.e. 10) is designed for the drive (i.e. 20) with the battery (i.e. 60)) with a nominal voltage equal to 80V and the first DC voltage converter (4a) is set as a step-up converter for converting the first input voltage (U1_IN) into the first output voltage (U1_OUT) equal to 70-100V, and/or the device (1) is designed for the drive (i.e. 20) with the battery (i.e. 60) with a nominal voltage equal to 48V (i.e. predetermined target voltage, see par. [0051]) and the first DC voltage converter (i.e. 50) is set as an inverse converter (i.e. is as buck-boost converter) for converting the first input voltage (i.e. input to 50) into the first output voltage (i.e. output of 50) equal to 35-60V (i.e. is step-up output, see par. [0037).
In re to claim 4, Saeki disclose the device (i.e. 10, fig. 11, see par. [0026]) according to claim 1, wherein, the second DC voltage converter (i.e. 72) is designed to convert the second input voltage (i.e. input to 72) into the second output voltage (i.e. output of 72) equal to 24V (i.e. predetermined target voltage, see par. [0051]), and/or in that the device (i.e. 10) is designed for the drive (i.e. 20) with the battery (i.e. 60) with a nominal voltage equal to 96V (i.e. predetermined target voltage, see par. [0051]), and the second DC voltage converter (i.e. 72) is designed as a step-down (i.e. operate as a buck converter) for converting the second input voltage (i.e. the input to 72) equal to 90-100V (i.e. predetermined target voltage, see par. [0051]), into the second output voltage (i.e. output of 72) equal to 24V (i.e. predetermined target voltage, see par. [0051]), and/or the device (i.e. 10) is designed for the drive (i.e. 20) with the battery (i.e. 60) with a nominal voltage equal to 80V (i.e. predetermined target voltage, see par. [0051]), and the second DC voltage converter (i.e. 72) is designed as a step-down (i.e. buck converter) converter for converting the second input voltage (i.e. input of 72) equal to 70-100V (i.e. predetermined voltage range, see par. [0051]), into the second output voltage (i.e. output of 72) equal to 24V (i.e. predetermined target voltage, see par. [0051]), and/or the device (i.e. 10) is designed for the drive (i.e. 20) with the battery (i.e. 60) with a nominal voltage equal to 48V (i.e. predetermined target voltage, see par. [0051]), and the second DC voltage converter (i.e. 72) is designed as a step-down converter (i.e. buck converter) for converting the second input voltage (i.e. the input to 72) equal to 35-60V 100V (i.e. predetermined voltage range, see par. [0051]) into the second output voltage (i.e. output of 72) equal to 24V (i.e. predetermined target voltage, see par. [0051]).
In re to claim 5, Saeki disclose the device (i.e. 10, fig. 11, see par. [0026]) according to claim 1, wherein, the first unit (i.e. 40) comprises a first controller (i.e. 52), preferably a microcontroller, for controlling the first DC voltage converter (i.e. 50), and the first DC voltage converter (i.e. 50) can be set and operated as an inverse converter or as a boost converter (i.e. boosting operation, see the Abstract, pars. [0006, 0069] see by means of the first controller (i.e. 52), and/or the first unit (i.e. 40) comprises a first controller (i.e. 52), preferably a microcontroller, for controlling the first DC voltage converter (i.e. 50), and the first DC voltage converter (i.e. 50) can be operated in a constant-current mode or in a constant-voltage mode by means of the first controller (i.e. 52, see pars. [0042, 0059-0060]), and/or the second unit (i.e. 60) comprises a second controller (i.e. 74), preferably a microcontroller, for controlling the second DC voltage converter (i.e. 72), and/or in that the second unit (i.e. 60) comprises a second controller (i.e. 74), preferably a microcontroller, for controlling the second DC voltage converter (i.e. 72) and the second DC voltage converter (i.e. 72) can be controlled by means of the second controller (i.e. 74) in such a way that, when the second input voltage (i.e. input to 72) is applied, it immediately starts converting the second input voltage (i.e. input to 72) into the second output voltage (i.e. output of 72).
In re to claim 6, Saeki disclose the device (i.e. 10, fig. 11, see par. [0026]) according to claim 1, wherein, the device comprises a housing and the first unit and the second unit and/or the first DC voltage converter and the second DC voltage converter are arranged together in the housing, and/or the first unit and the second unit and/or the first DC voltage converter and the second DC voltage converter are mapped on a common printed circuit board, and/or the first unit and the second unit and/or the first DC voltage converter (4a) and the second DC voltage converter are galvanically isolated from each other. Saeki discloses all the limitations above as has been indicated on claims 1-5. Except, Saeki fail to explicitly disclose a housing. However, Saeki discloses the claimed invention except for the housing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the device in a housing since it was known in the art that housing electrical devices provides some advantages, such as protection from theft, vandalization, environmental/weather related destruction and providing protection/safety to the public from harm that might be caused by the device.
In re to claim 8, Saeki disclose the device (i.e. 10, fig. 11, see par. [0026]) according to claim 1, wherein, the device (i.e. 10) comprises a first circuit breaker and the first circuit breaker (i.e. see pars. [0045-0045]) is connected directly downstream of the first DC voltage converter (i.e. 50, see par. [0036]), and/or the first unit (i.e. 40), the first circuit breaker being closed during normal operation of the device (i.e. 10) and being open during exceptional operation of the device (i.e. 10), and/or the device (i.e. 10) comprises a second circuit breaker and the second circuit breaker (i.e. see pars. [0045-0045]) is connected directly upstream of the second DC voltage converter (i.e. 50) and/or the second unit (i.e. 60), the second circuit breaker being closed during normal operation of the device (i.e. 10) and open during exceptional operation of the device (i.e. 10, see parts. [0045-0045]).
In re to claim 10, Saeki disclose the device (i.e. 10, fig. 11, see par. [0026]) according to claim 1, wherein, the device (i.e. 10) comprises a fuse unit (i.e. virous switches, see pars (i.e. see pars. [0042-0044]) for monitoring the operation of the first unit (i.e. 40) and/or the second unit (i.e. 60) with a unit for temperature monitoring and/or with a unit for power monitoring and/or with a unit for short-circuit monitoring and/or with a unit for overvoltage and undervoltage monitoring and/or with a unit for limit current monitoring and/or with a unit (i.e. the controllers 52 and 74, fig. 1) for interlock monitoring between the fuse unit and the first unit (i.e. 40) and/or the second unit (i.e. 60, see pars. [0042-0044 and 0058-0060]). Except, Saeki fail to explicitly disclose a drive for a forklift truck.
In re to claim 11, Saeki disclose the device (i.e. 10, fig. 11, see par. [0026]) according to claim 1, wherein the device (i.e. 10) comprises and/or to a fuse unit for monitoring the operation of the first unit (i.e. 40) and/or the second unit (i.e. 60) heat-transferring (i.e. see pars. [0042-0044 and 0058-0060]). Except, Saeki fail to explicitly disclose a cooling plate through which a cooling fluid can flow, and the cooling plate is connected to the first unit and/or to the second unit. However, Saeki discloses the claimed invention except for a cooling plate through which a cooling fluid can flow. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a cooling plate through which a cooling fluid can flow in the device since it was known in the art that cooling plates in which a cooling fluid can flow have been utilized in electrical devices to provide protection against damage of elements of the device due to overheating.
In re to claim 11, Saeki disclose a fuel cell electric drive (i.e. 10, fig. 11, see par. [0026]), wherein the drive (i.e. 20) comprises a fuel cell system (i.e. 10), a battery (i.e. 60), at least one electrical element (i.e. 48) and the device (i.e. 10) according claim 1, wherein the fuel cell system (i.e. 10), the battery (i.e. 60), the respective electrical element and the device are electrically interconnected (i.e. see fig. 1) in such a way that
1. the first input voltage (i.e. input to 50) for the first DC voltage converter (i.e. 50) of the device (i.e. 10) can be provided by the fuel cell system (i.e. 10),
2. the first output voltage (i.e. output of 50) of the first DC voltage converter (i.e. 50) of the device (i.e. 10) can be provided for charging the battery (i.e. 60),
3. the second input voltage (i.e. input to 72) for the second DC voltage converter (i.e. 72) of the device (i.e. 10) can be provided by the battery (i.e. 60), and
4. the second output voltage (i.e. Is output of 72) of the second DC voltage converter (i.e. 72) of the device (i.e. 10) can be provided for operating the respective electrical elements (i.e. electrical elements of 10, see fig. 1). Except, Saeki fail to explicitly disclose a drive for a forklift truck. Whereas Chou teaches that a drive for a forklift truck. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Saeki by incorporating the drive for a forklift truck of Chou to enable or facilitate the drive for a forklift truck.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claims but would
be allowabIf it is rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In re to claim 7, None of the cited prior art alone or in combination disclose or teach the claimed inventions in which “first DC voltage converter comprises a pre-charging circuit and/or an input filter circuit and/or a multiphase converter circuit which can be controlled by a first controller by means of a PWM signal and/or an output filter circuit , and/or the second DC voltage converter comprises a pre-charging circuit and/or an input filter circuit and/or a buck converter circuit and/or an output filter circuit”.
In re to claim 9, None of the cited prior art alone or in combination disclose or teach the claimed inventions in which “a third circuit breaker for switching on and off at least one safety-relevant element of the drive , preferably a safety-relevant valve of the fuel cell system , in that the third circuit breaker is designed in such a way that in normal operation, when a signal-transmitting connection is present between a controller controlling the fuel cell system of the drive and the second unit, the third circuit breaker is closed and the respective element is switched on, and the third circuit breaker is designed such that, in exceptional operation, if there is no signal-transmitting connection between the controller controlling the fuel cell system of the drive and the second unit , the third circuit breaker is opened and the respective element is switched off”.
The art of record does not disclose the above limitations, nor would it be obvious to modify the art of record to include either of the above limitations.
Remarks
The examiner has cited columns, line numbers, paragraph numbers, references, or
figures in the references applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested by the applicant in preparing responses to fully consider the reference in entirety, as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2141.02 and § 2123.
Contact Information
/YEMANE MEHARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838