DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 6, the recitation of “the electronic control circuit” in line 3 lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Colarossi et al. (US 2019/0190250 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Colarossi et al. teach a method for detecting a short to ground circuit (method of operating squib driver circuit 200; Figs 8-10; the role of the high side short to ground protection circuit 286 can be to allow the squib drivers to attempt deployment with a lower than expected or allowed SFx pin voltage; [0050]), comprising:
connecting to a detection current source that is linked to a high-side lead terminal of two lead terminals of an electronic control circuit (the high side driver circuit 221 may be connected between the input terminal 242 and the high side feed terminal 244; [0038]; Figs 8-10; the high side driver circuit 221 supplies a current to the high side feed terminal 244);
disconnecting a low-side switch of a ground terminal of the electronic control circuit (a low side driver circuit 231 may be connected between the low side return terminal 246 and an electrical ground; the gate driver circuit 232 may utilize the current signal to control activation of the power transistor 134 in response to the amount of current flow; [0039]; Figs 8-10);
measuring voltage of the two lead terminals of the electronic control circuit separately (the comparator 260 may be configured to compare the voltage at the high side feed terminal 244 to a reference voltage 262; [0047]; the comparator 270 may be configured to compare the voltage at the low side return terminal 246 to a reference voltage 272; [0051]; Figs 8-10); and
determining whether the high-side lead terminal or the low-side lead terminal of the two lead terminals has a short to ground circuit by comparing voltages of the two lead terminals (a high side short to ground protection circuit 286 may include a comparator 260; the comparator 260 may determine if the voltage at the high side feed terminal 244 is below a reference voltage and generate a voltage limit signal that indicates the voltage at the terminal 244 is less than the reference voltage; [0047]; FIG. 9; one fault condition may include a short of the SRx pin, low side return terminal 246, to ground; [0059]; comparator 270 may determine if the voltage of the low side feed terminal 246 is below a reference voltage; FIG. 10).
Regarding claim 2, Colarossi et al. teach wherein the step of disconnecting the low-side switch of the ground terminal of the electronic control circuit further comprises:
disconnecting a high-side switch of a power terminal of the electronic control circuit (the gate driver circuit 222 may utilize the current signal to control activation of the power transistor 224 in response to the amount of current flow; [0038]; Figs 8-10).
Regarding claim 5, Colarossi et al. teach wherein the detection current source is disposed inside or outside the electronic control circuit (the high side driver circuit 221 is inside the squib driver circuit 200; Figs 8-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colarossi et al. (US 2019/0190250 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Colarossi et al. do not teach wherein determining whether the high-side lead terminal or the low-side lead terminal of the two lead terminals has a short to ground circuit comprises:
determining that the low-side lead terminal has a short to ground circuit when voltage at the high-side lead terminal is greater than voltage at the low-side lead terminal.
However, further regarding claim 3, Colarossi et al. further teach the reference voltage may be 5 volts or above ([0051]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Colarossi et al. to incorporate both the reference voltage for the high-side lead terminal and the reference voltage for the low-side lead terminal to be 5 volts for the purpose of having a common reference voltage to consistently determine a shorted-to-ground fault. In the determination that the low-side lead terminal has a short to ground circuit but the high-side lead terminal does not have a short to ground circuit, the voltage at the low-side lead terminal is below 5 volts while the voltage at the high-side lead terminal is above 5 volts, the voltage at the high-side lead terminal being greater than the voltage at the low-side lead terminal.
Regarding claim 4, Colarossi et al. do not teach wherein determining whether the high-side lead terminal or the low-side lead terminal of the two lead terminals has a short to ground circuit comprises:
determining that the high-side lead terminal has a short to ground circuit when voltage at the high-side lead terminal is equal than voltage at the low-side lead terminal.
However, further regarding claim 4, Colarossi et al. further teach the reference voltage may be 5 volts or above ([0051]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Colarossi et al. to incorporate both the reference voltage for the high-side lead terminal and the reference voltage for the low-side lead terminal to be 5 volts for the purpose of having a common reference voltage to consistently determine a shorted-to-ground fault. In the determination that the low-side lead terminal has a short to ground circuit and the high-side lead terminal also has a short to ground circuit, the voltage at the low-side lead terminal and the voltage at the high-side lead terminal both are below 5 volts and could be equal to one another, for example 0 volt.
Regarding claim 6, Colarossi et al. teach a device for detecting a short to ground circuit (squib driver circuit 200; Figs 8-10; the role of the high side short to ground protection circuit 286 can be to allow the squib drivers to attempt deployment with a lower than expected or allowed SFx pin voltage; [0050]), comprising:
a detection current source that is linked to a high-side lead terminal of two lead terminals of the electronic control circuit (the high side driver circuit 221 may be connected between the input terminal 242 and the high side feed terminal 244; [0038]; Figs 8-10; the high side driver circuit 221 supplies a current to the high side feed terminal 244);
a low-side switch configured to control connection or disconnection of a ground terminal of the electronic control circuit (a low side driver circuit 231 may be connected between the low side return terminal 246 and an electrical ground; the gate driver circuit 232 may utilize the current signal to control activation of the power transistor 134 in response to the amount of current flow; [0039]; Figs 8-10);
a measurement module configured to measure voltage of the two lead terminals of the electronic control circuit separately (the comparator 260 may be configured to compare the voltage at the high side feed terminal 244 to a reference voltage 262; [0047]; the comparator 270 may be configured to compare the voltage at the low side return terminal 246 to a reference voltage 272; [0051]; Figs 8-10); and
a comparing module configured to determine whether the high-side lead terminal or the low-side lead terminal of the two lead terminals has a short to ground circuit by comparing voltages of the two lead terminals (a high side short to ground protection circuit 286 may include a comparator 260; the comparator 260 may determine if the voltage at the high side feed terminal 244 is below a reference voltage and generate a voltage limit signal that indicates the voltage at the terminal 244 is less than the reference voltage; [0047]; FIG. 9; one fault condition may include a short of the SRx pin, low side return terminal 246, to ground; [0059]; comparator 270 may determine if the voltage of the low side feed terminal 246 is below a reference voltage; FIG. 10).
Further regarding claim 6, Colarossi et al. do not teach the measurement module is configured to measure voltage of the two lead terminals when the detection current source is connected and the low-side switch is disconnected.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Colarossi et al. to incorporate the measurement module configured to measure voltage of the two lead terminals when the detection current source is connected and the low-side switch is disconnected for the purpose of supplying a detection current to the terminals while preventing any current through the low-side switch from interfering with the voltage measurement at the high-side lead terminal and the low-side lead terminal.
Regarding claim 8, Colarossi et al. do not teach the comparison module is configured to determine whether the low-side lead terminal has a short to ground circuit when voltage at the high-side lead terminal is greater than voltage at the low-side lead terminal.
However, further regarding claim 8, Colarossi et al. further teach the reference voltage may be 5 volts or above ([0051]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Colarossi et al. to incorporate both the reference voltage for the high-side lead terminal and the reference voltage for the low-side lead terminal to be 5 volts for the purpose of having a common reference voltage to consistently determine a shorted-to-ground fault. In the determination that the low-side lead terminal has a short to ground circuit but the high-side lead terminal does not have a short to ground circuit, the voltage at the low-side lead terminal is below 5 volts while the voltage at the high-side lead terminal is above 5 volts, the voltage at the high-side lead terminal being greater than the voltage at the low-side lead terminal.
Regarding claim 9, Colarossi et al. do not teach wherein the comparison module is configured to determine whether the high-side lead terminal has a short to ground circuit when voltage at the high-side lead terminal is equal than voltage at the low-side lead terminal.
However, further regarding claim 9, Colarossi et al. further teach the reference voltage may be 5 volts or above ([0051]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Colarossi et al. to incorporate both the reference voltage for the high-side lead terminal and the reference voltage for the low-side lead terminal to be 5 volts for the purpose of having a common reference voltage to consistently determine a shorted-to-ground fault. In the determination that the low-side lead terminal has a short to ground circuit and the high-side lead terminal also has a short to ground circuit, the voltage at the low-side lead terminal and the voltage at the high-side lead terminal both are below 5 volts and could be equal to one another, for example 0 volt.
Regarding claim 10, Colarossi et al. teach wherein the detection current source is disposed inside or outside the electronic control circuit (the high side driver circuit 221 is inside the squib driver circuit 200; Figs 8-10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for allowance of claim(s) 7 is the inclusion of “a high-side switch configured to control connection or disconnection of a power supply of the electronic control circuit, wherein: the measurement module is configured to measure voltage of the two lead terminals of the electronic control circuit separately when the detection current source is connected and both the low-side switch and the high-side switch are disconnected”. These limitations, as they are claimed in the combination, have not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, making claim(s) 7 allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
20 December 2025
/KENDRICK X LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853