DETAILED ACTION
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments, filed 06/14/26, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
The Applicant, on pages 9-11 of the remark, argues that Xu et al. do not disclose the base station of the NTN includes information of a plurality of frequencies of a terrestrial network (TN) and prioritizing the plurality of frequencies of the TN. However, the Examiner now relies on a new reference, Tao et al. (U.S. 20260222056), for teaching the above limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tao et al. (U.S. 20260222056).
For claim 1, Tao et al. disclose a method of wireless communication of a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a broadcast from a base station of a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN), which the broadcast from the base station of the NTN includes information of a plurality of frequencies of a terrestrial network (TN) (at least Fig. 1, [0010], [0044], [0064], [0069] and [0085]-[0102]. The base station of the NTN cell 125 broadcasts information relevant to the inter-frequency measurement in SIB4, which contains the information the UEs require to conduct the inter-frequency measurement on the carrier frequency b, including the Absolute Radio-Frequency Channel Number (ARFCN) value of the carrier frequency b, an SSB Measurement Timing Configuration (SMTC), the cell reselection priority of the carrier frequency b, and a neighbor cell list listing the physical cell identities of the neighboring TN cells using carrier frequency b.); and
prioritizing the plurality of frequencies of the TN (at least Fig. 1, [0010], [0044], [0064], [0069] and [0085]-[0102]. The UE selects one of the at least one TN frequency. Then the UE searches for TN cell(s) on the picked TN frequency once every first time period. The UE determines whether the UE finds a TN cell on the picked TN frequency. If the UE determines that the UE fines a TN cell on the picked carrier frequency, the UE measures the TN cell N times every second time period. The UE determines whether the TN cell qualifies for cell reselection. If the UE determines that the TN cell qualifies for cell reselection, where the UE reselects the TN cell qualified for cell reselection.)
For claim 2, Tao et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein prioritizing the plurality of frequencies of the TN comprises: detecting a plurality of base stations according to the plurality of frequencies of the TN in a search; and determining a subset of the plurality of frequencies of the TN corresponding to a detected subset of the plurality of base stations in the search as high priority (at least Fig. 1, [0010], [0044], [0064], [0069]-[0070] and [0085]-[0102]. The base station of the NTN cell 125 broadcasts information relevant to the inter-frequency measurement in SIB4, which contains the information the UEs require to conduct the inter-frequency measurement on the carrier frequency b, including the Absolute Radio-Frequency Channel Number (ARFCN) value of the carrier frequency b, an SSB Measurement Timing Configuration (SMTC), the cell reselection priority of the carrier frequency b, and a neighbor cell list listing the physical cell identities of the neighboring TN cells using carrier frequency b. Each TN carrier frequency (e.g., carrier frequency j) configuration listed in SIB4 includes a 4-bit long TNAreaBimap, associated with that carrier frequency. The 4-bit TNAreaBitmap indicates whether there is any TN cell deployed in the four equal-size areas into which the base station and the UE divide the NTN cell using the reference location, which the base station can provide in SIB19. The four areas are labeled as Area I, II, III, and IV, and are mapped to the 1.sup.st bit, 2.sup.nd bit, 3.sup.rd bit, and 4.sup.th bit in the TNAreaBitmap, respectively. In the example illustrated in FIG. 6A, as there are two TN cells deployed in Area I, and one TN cell deployed in Area III, the values within the TNAreaBitmap are {1, 0, 1, 0}. The UE determines whether the UE is within one of the areas having the value ‘1’ in the TNAreaBitmap associated to the picked TN frequency.)
For claims 15-16, the claims have features similar to claims 1-2. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reasons in claims 1-2.
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tao et al. (U.S. 20260222056) in view Lee et al. (U.S. 20220104103).
For claim 3, Tao et al. do not disclose the method of claim 1, wherein prioritizing the plurality of frequencies of the TN comprises: matching connected mode measurement frequencies configured in the UE to the plurality of frequencies of the TN; and determining a subset of the plurality of frequencies of the TN matching the connected mode measurement frequencies configured in the UE as high priority.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee et al. disclose matching connected mode measurement frequencies configured in the UE to the plurality of frequencies of the TN; and determining a subset of the plurality of frequencies of the TN matching the connected mode measurement frequencies configured in the UE as high priority (at least [0153]. The electronic device 101 may perform a search on the frequency corresponding to at least one second RF path among the frequencies included in the pre-stored information 850 prior to other frequency. For example, the electronic device 101 may identify frequency f5 and frequency f4 as frequencies corresponding to the second RF path. In this case, the electronic device 101 may perform a search on the f5 frequency and the f4 frequency prior to other frequencies (e.g., the f3 frequency and the f6 frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Tao et al. as taught by Lee et al. for purpose of camping on a prefer cell.
For claim 17, the claim has features which are similar to claim 3. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reasons in claim 3.
Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tao et al. (U.S. 20260222056) in view Kumar et al. (U.S. 20110159880).
For claim 4, Xu et al. do not disclose the method of claim 1, wherein prioritizing the plurality of frequencies of the TN comprises: determining a subset of the plurality of frequencies of the TN corresponding to frequencies of stations last visited by UE, of the TN as high priority.
In the same field of endeavor, Kumar et al. disclose prioritizing the plurality of frequencies of the TN comprises: determining a subset of the plurality of frequencies of the TN corresponding to frequencies of stations last visited by UE, of the TN as high priority (at least [0142]. If neither approach is successful, the AT may prioritize the frequencies/bands corresponding to the collective neighbors in the first and second optimization data. Such information (i.e., neighbor information from the last two visited cells) may also be used for future cell selection process(es).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Tao et al. as taught by Kumar et al. for purpose of using the neighbor information and/or dedicated information for cell selection, in response to the radio link failure.
For claim 18, the claim has features which are similar to claim 4. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reasons in claim 4.
Claims 5-6 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tao et al. (U.S. 20260222056) in view Cho et al. (U.S. 20240357460).
For claim 5, Tao et al. do not disclose a method of wireless communication of a base station of a NTN, comprising: receiving a message from the base station of the NTN, wherein the message includes a list of the plurality of frequencies of the TN corresponding to a location of UE obtained by the base station of the NTN; and determining the list of the plurality of frequencies of the TN in the message as high priority.
In the same field of endeavor, Cho et al. disclose receiving a message from the base station of the NTN, wherein the message includes a list of the plurality of frequencies of the TN corresponding to a location of UE obtained by the base station of the NTN; and determining the list of the plurality of frequencies of the TN in the message as high priority (at least [0209]-[0220]. The NTN base station may receive from the terminal the request signal for TN neighboring cells to be measured. In response to the request in step S1220, in step S1230, the base station may transmit to the terminal information on TN neighboring cells that the terminal can reselect based on the location of the terminal that transmitted in the request signal. In this case, the location of the terminal may be indicated by the location information of the terminal included in the request signal. The information on reselectable TN neighboring cells, transmitted by the base station to the terminal in response to the terminal's request, may include carrier frequency, absolute reselection priority for each carrier frequency or frequency band, and priority correction parameter that allows the terminal to adjust a priority when reselecting each carrier frequency or frequency band.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Tao et al. as taught by Cho et al. for purpose of performing the measurement initiation procedure for TN cell reselection.
For claim 6, Tao et al. do not disclose the method of claim 1, wherein prioritizing the plurality of frequencies of the TN comprises: receiving a message from the base station of the NTN, wherein the message includes a mask for the information of the plurality of frequencies of the TN in the broadcast from the base station of the NTN, wherein the mask is based on a subset of the plurality of frequencies of the TN in the broadcast in a location of UE obtained by the base station of the NTN; and determining the subset of the plurality of frequencies of the TN as high priority according to the mask.
In the same field of endeavor, Cho et al. disclose prioritizing the plurality of frequencies of the TN comprises: receiving a message from the base station of the NTN, wherein the message includes a mask for the information of the plurality of frequencies of the TN in the broadcast from the base station of the NTN, wherein the mask is based on a subset of the plurality of frequencies of the TN in the broadcast in a location of UE obtained by the base station of the NTN; and determining the subset of the plurality of frequencies of the TN as high priority according to the mask (at least 0209]-[0220]. The NTN base station may receive from the terminal the request signal for TN neighboring cells to be measured. In response to the request in step S1220, in step S1230, the base station may transmit to the terminal information on TN neighboring cells that the terminal can reselect based on the location of the terminal that transmitted in the request signal. In this case, the location of the terminal may be indicated by the location information of the terminal included in the request signal. The information on reselectable TN neighboring cells, transmitted by the base station to the terminal in response to the terminal's request, may include carrier frequency, absolute reselection priority for each carrier frequency or frequency band, and priority correction parameter that allows the terminal to adjust a priority when reselecting each carrier frequency or frequency band.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Tao et al. as taught by Cho et al. for purpose of performing the measurement initiation procedure for TN cell reselection.
For claim 10, Tao et al. disclose a method of wireless communication of a base station of a NTN, comprising:
sending a broadcast to a UE, which the broadcast from the base station of the NTN includes information of a plurality of frequencies of a TN (at least Fig. 1, [0010], [0044], [0064], [0069] and [0085]-[0102]. The base station of the NTN cell 125 broadcasts information relevant to the inter-frequency measurement in SIB4, which contains the information the UEs require to conduct the inter-frequency measurement on the carrier frequency b, including the Absolute Radio-Frequency Channel Number (ARFCN) value of the carrier frequency b, an SSB Measurement Timing Configuration (SMTC), the cell reselection priority of the carrier frequency b, and a neighbor cell list listing the physical cell identities of the neighboring TN cells using carrier frequency b.) However, Tao et al. do not disclose obtaining a location of the UE; and sending a message to the UE, wherein the message indicates a priority of the plurality of frequencies of the TN for the UE, based on the location of the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Cho et al. disclose obtaining a location of the UE; and sending a message to the UE, wherein the message indicates a priority of the plurality of frequencies of the TN for the UE, based on the location of the UE (at least [0209]-[0220]. The NTN base station may receive from the terminal the request signal for TN neighboring cells to be measured. In response to the request in step S1220, in step S1230, the base station may transmit to the terminal information on TN neighboring cells that the terminal can reselect based on the location of the terminal that transmitted in the request signal. In this case, the location of the terminal may be indicated by the location information of the terminal included in the request signal. The information on reselectable TN neighboring cells, transmitted by the base station to the terminal in response to the terminal's request, may include carrier frequency, absolute reselection priority for each carrier frequency or frequency band, and priority correction parameter that allows the terminal to adjust a priority when reselecting each carrier frequency or frequency band.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Tao et al. as taught by Cho et al. for purpose of performing the measurement initiation procedure for TN cell reselection.
For claim 11, the combination of Tao et al. and Cho et al. disclose the method of claim 10. Cho et al. disclose wherein the message indicating the priority of the plurality of frequencies of the TN for the UE comprises a prioritized list of the plurality of frequencies of the TN corresponding to the location of UE obtained by the base station of the NTN (at least [0171]-[0173]. The TN coverage information that the terminal receives from the NTN base station may be some or all of the following information: A distance to a boundary of the nearest TN coverage based on a location of the terminal entering the RRC_IDLE mode A frequency associated with the nearest TN coverage based on the location of the terminal entering the RRC_IDLE mode.)
For claim 12, the combination of Tao et al. and Cho et al. disclose the method of claim 10. Cho et al. disclose the message indicating the priority of the plurality of frequencies of the TN for the UE comprises a mask for the information of the plurality of frequencies of the TN in the broadcast, wherein the mask is based on a subset of the plurality of frequencies of the TN in the broadcast in the location of UE obtained by the base station of the NTN. (at least 0209]-[0220]. The NTN base station may receive from the terminal the request signal for TN neighboring cells to be measured. In response to the request in step S1220, in step S1230, the base station may transmit to the terminal information on TN neighboring cells that the terminal can reselect based on the location of the terminal that transmitted in the request signal. In this case, the location of the terminal may be indicated by the location information of the terminal included in the request signal. The information on reselectable TN neighboring cells, transmitted by the base station to the terminal in response to the terminal's request, may include carrier frequency, absolute reselection priority for each carrier frequency or frequency band, and priority correction parameter that allows the terminal to adjust a priority when reselecting each carrier frequency or frequency band.)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tao et al. (U.S. 20260222056) in view Liu et al. (U.S. 20190132817).
For claim 9, Tao et al. do not disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the broadcast from the base station of the NTN includes a list frequencies of the TN (at least Fig. 1, [0010], [0044], [0064], [0069] and [0085]-[0102]. The base station of the NTN cell 125 broadcasts information relevant to the inter-frequency measurement in SIB4, which contains the information the UEs require to conduct the inter-frequency measurement on the carrier frequency b, including the Absolute Radio-Frequency Channel Number (ARFCN) value of the carrier frequency b, an SSB Measurement Timing Configuration (SMTC), the cell reselection priority of the carrier frequency b, and a neighbor cell list listing the physical cell identities of the neighboring TN cells using carrier frequency b.) However, Xu et al. do not disclose at least 64 frequencies of the TN.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu et al. disclose at least 64 frequencies of the TN (at least [0066]. Communications between the base station and the UE may occur on a predetermined number of the narrowband channels (e.g., 15 of the 100 NB channels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Tao et al. as taught by Liu et al. for purpose of enhancing frequency diversity for transmissions involving a large number of subframes.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tao et al. (U.S. 20260222056) in view Cho et al. (U.S. 20240357460) and further in view Owal et al. (U.S. 20210112461).
For claim 13, the combination of Tao et al. do not disclose the message indicating the priority of the plurality of frequencies of the TN for the UE comprises prioritized frequencies in the location of UE, and deprioritized frequencies not in the location of UE
In the same field of endeavor, Owal et al. disclose the message indicating the priority of the plurality of frequencies of the TN for the UE comprises prioritized frequencies in the location of UE, and deprioritized frequencies not in the location of UE (at least [0025]. The serving Node B 104 then prunes (216) a list of frequencies associated with the list of current neighboring Node Bs to remove any frequencies associated with neighboring Node Bs that are not within a threshold proximity of the updated location of the UE 102. Then, the serving Node B 104 sends the pruned list of frequencies to the UE 102 to scan. The UE 102 then scans (220) and determines which neighboring Node B has the strongest signal and connects (222) to a receiving Node B.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Tao et al. as taught by Owal et al. for purpose of knowing which frequency it should scan.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tao et al. (U.S. 20260222056) in view Cho et al. (U.S. 20240357460) and further in view Liu et al. (U.S. 20190132817).
For claim 14, the combination of Tao et al. do not disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the broadcast includes at least 64 frequencies of the TN.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu et al. disclose at least 64 frequencies of the TN (at least [0066]. Communications between the base station and the UE may occur on a predetermined number of the narrowband channels (e.g., 15 of the 100 NB channels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Tao et al. as taught by Liu et al. for purpose of enhancing frequency diversity for transmissions involving a large number of subframes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DAI PHUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644