Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed June 24, 2026 has been entered. The amendment to the claims overcomes the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) previously set forth in the Non-Final rejection mailed May 26, 2026. Claims 1-23 remain pending in the application, claims 18-23 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0335117 (Ochi et al.) as evidenced by ALLNEX, “Crylcoat 4890-0 Technical Data Sheet”, of record, and “Lumiflon 710 Data Sheet”.
Regarding claim 1, Ochi discloses a hybrid powder composition for forming a stratified (layered) monocoat layer (see paragraph 0011), said composition comprising:
A functionalized fluorinated polymer comprising hydroxy and/or carboxylic acid functional groups (see paragraph 0025, “Lumiflon 710 Data Sheet”); and
A non-fluorinated polymer (see paragraphs 0145 and 0147),
Wherein a weight ratio of the functionalized polymer is present from 10 to 50 parts by mass, and the non-fluorinated polymer is present 10 to 90 parts by mass (see paragraph 0010), which overlaps the claimed ratio of 60/40 to 30/70. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Ochi does not state the complex viscosities for the fluorinated polymer or the non-fluorinated polymer; however, the reference discloses that the fluorinated polymer may be Lumiflon 710 (see paragraph 0137) and the non-fluorinated polymer may be Crylcoat 4890-0 or Uralac 1680 (see paragraph 0156). In the instant disclosure at paragraph 0092, it is stated that the functionalized fluorinated polymer is also Lumiflon 710. Since the same fluorinated polymer is used it would inherently have a viscosity within the claimed range. If the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (see MPEP 2112.01). For the non-fluorinated polymer, “Crylcoat 4890-0 Technical Data Sheet” teaches that it has a viscosity is from 4-6 Pa.s (4000-6000 mPa.s) at 200 degrees C, which is within the claimed range of 0.1 to 35 Pa.s at 200 degrees C. The Examiner acknowledges that Brookfield viscosity and complex viscosity are determined using different rheological measurement techniques; however, the reference’s disclosure of a Brookfield viscosity in the same general viscosity range provides evidence that the Ochi reference possesses rheological characteristics consistent with those required by the claim. Further, Ochi discloses that Crylcoat 4890-0 is an equivalent for Uralac 1680, which is described at paragraph 0054 of the instant specification as being particularly suitable for the subject hybrid powder composition.
Regarding claim 2, while Ochi does not state the difference between the complex viscosity of the functionalized fluorinated polymer and the complex viscosity of the non-fluorinated polymer, utilizing Lumiflon 710 and Crylcoat 4890-0 or Uralac 1680 as explained above, would inherently result in a difference between the viscosities that is within the claimed range of at least 20 Pa.s at 200 degrees C.
Regarding claim 3, Ochi also discloses that the functionalized fluorinated polymer has a preferred OH value of 10 to 80 mg KOH/g (see paragraph 0114), which is within the claimed range of 10 to 100 mg KOH/g; and since it is disclosed that the non-fluorinated polymer may be Crylcoat 4890-0 (see paragraph 0156), “Crylcoat 4890-0 Technical Data Sheet” teaches that it has an OH value of 25-35 mg KOH/g, which is within the claimed range of 5 to 200 mg KOH/g.
Regarding claim 4, Ochi also discloses that the functionalized fluorinated polymer has a glass transition temperature of particularly preferably of 50 to 100 degrees C (see paragraph 0131), which overlaps the claimed range of 10 to 90 degrees C; and the non-fluorinated polymer being Crylcoat 4890-0, as discussed above, has a glass transition temperature of approximately 58 degrees C (see “Crylcoat 4890-0 Technical Data Sheet”), which is within the claimed range of 30 to 90 degrees C. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 5, Ochi does not state the complex viscosities for the fluorinated polymer or the non-fluorinated polymer; however, the reference discloses that the fluorinated polymer may be Lumiflon 710 (see paragraph 0137) and the non-fluorinated polymer may be Crylcoat 4890-0 or Urulac 1680 (see paragraph 0156). In the instant disclosure at paragraph 0092, it is stated that the Functionalized Fluorinated Polymer is also Lumiflon 710. Since it is the same fluorinated polymer it would have a viscosity within the claimed range. For the non-fluorinated polymer, “Crylcoat 4890-0 Technical Data Sheet” teaches that it has a viscosity is from 4-6 Pa.s (4000-6000 mPa.s) at 200 degrees C, which is within the claimed range of 0.3 to 20 Pa.s at 200 degrees C. Ochi also discloses that the functionalized fluorinated polymer has preferred OH value of 10 to 80 mg KOH/g (see paragraph 0114), which overlaps the claimed range of 30 to 80 mg KOH/g; and since it is disclosed that the non-fluorinated polymer may be Crylcoat 4890-0 (see paragraph 0156), “Crylcoat 4890-0 Technical Data Sheet” teaches that it has an OH value of 25-35 mg KOH/g, which is within the claimed range of 10 to 180 mg KOH/g. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 6, Ochi also discloses that the functionalized fluorinate polymer is a tetrafluoroethylene or a fluoroethylene vinyl ether (see paragraphs 0069, 0074, 0089 and 0278).
Regarding claim 7, Ochi also discloses that the functionalized fluorinated polymer may comprise Lumiflon 710, which is a FEVE polymer comprising hydroxy functional groups (see Lumiflon Data Sheet, paragraph 0085).
Regarding claim 8, Ochi also discloses that the FEVE has an OH value of 46 mg KOH/g (see “Lumiflon 710 Data Sheet”), which is within the claimed range of 40 to 50 mg KOH/g. While Ochi does not state the complex viscosities for the fluorinated polymer, the reference discloses that the fluorinated polymer may be Lumiflon 710 (see paragraph 0137). In the instant disclosure at paragraph 0092, it is stated that the functionalized fluorinated polymer is also Lumiflon 710. Since the same fluorinated polymer is used it would inherently have a viscosity within the claimed range. If the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (see MPEP 2112.01).
Regarding claim 9, Ochi also discloses that the functionalized polymer comprises a FEVE polymer comprising carboxylic acid functional groups (see paragraphs 0116-0119).
Regarding claim 10, Ochi also discloses that the non-fluorinated polymer comprises a functionalized thermoset polymer comprising functional groups including hydroxy functional groups or carboxylic acid functional groups (see paragraph 0149).
Regarding claim 11, Ochi also discloses that the functionalized thermoset polymer is a polyester, acrylic or epoxy (see paragraph 0147).
Regarding claim 12, Ochi also discloses that the functionalized thermoset polymer is a polyester comprising hydroxy functional groups (see paragraph 0149).
Regarding claim 13, Ochi does not state the complex viscosity or the OH value for the polyester; however, the reference discloses that the polyester may be Crylcoat 4890-0 (see paragraph 0156). The “Crylcoat 4890-0 Technical Data Sheet” teaches that it has a viscosity is from 4-6 Pa.s (4000-6000 mPa.s) at 200 degrees C, which is within the claimed range of 0.5 to 10 Pa.s at 200 degrees C, and an OH value of 25-35 mg KOH/g, which is within the claimed range of 20 to 140 mg KOH/g.
Regarding claim 14, Ochi also discloses that the functionalized thermoset polymer is a polyester comprising hydroxy functional groups (see paragraph 0149).
Regarding claim 15, Ochi discloses that the weight ratio of the functionalized polymer is present from 10 to 50 parts by mass, and the non-fluorinated polymer is present 10 to 90 parts by mass (see paragraph 0010), which overlaps the claimed ratio of 60/40 to 40/60. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 16, Ochi also discloses that the hybrid powder composition further comprises titanium dioxide (see paragraphs 0201-0202).
Regarding claim 17, Ochi also discloses that the hybrid powder composition further comprises a curing agent reactive with at least one of the functionalized fluorinated polymer and the non-fluorinated polymer, and the curing agent which may be a blocked isocyanate, triglycidyl isocyanate, or hydroxyalkyl amide (see paragraphs 0183-0186).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the data sheet for Crylcoat 4890-0 includes only a Brookfield viscometer reading rather than a complex viscometer reading. The Examiner acknowledges that Brookfield viscosity and complex viscosity are determined using different rheological measurement techniques; however, the reference’s disclosure of a Brookfield viscosity in the same general viscosity range provides evidence that the Ochi reference possesses rheological characteristics consistent with those required by the claim. Further, because the composition disclosed by Ochi is identical or substantially identical to the presently claimed, the reference provides a reasonable basis for concluding that the prior-art composition would inherently possess the recited complex viscosities when measured according to the method specified in the present application. Applicant’s assertion that Brookfield viscosity and complex viscosity are different measurement techniques are insufficient to overcome the rejection, absent comparative evidence demonstrating that the reference’s composition falls outside the claimed complex viscosity range. Additionally, Ochi discloses that the polyester resin may be Uralac 1680 rather than Crylcoat 4890-0 (see paragraph 0156), which is described at paragraph 0054 of the instant specification as being particularly suitable for the subject hybrid powder composition. The reference therefore teaches all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. Moreover, the original specification does not identify a feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed components in the claimed amounts. Thus, the claimed effects and physical properties would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (see MPEP 2112.01).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WENDY L BOSS/Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781