DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 3, 5, 6, 8 and 9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/26/26. Applicant states claims 1-16 read on the elected claims, but the listed withdrawn claims clearly read on non-elected species. Species J does not include a metalized pattern, spot facing regions, rough surface regions or position controller located on the optical element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 10, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ooba et al (US 9,201,194 B2). Ooba teaches:
1. An optical module (Fig. 6) comprising:
a substrate (51); and
an optical element (53) having a mount face (bottom) opposed to the substrate (51), the optical element (53) configured to subject input light to a predetermined action and output the light (C7 L52 – C8 L3), wherein
the optical element (53) is joined to the substrate (51) by the mount face (bottom) with a plurality of joint materials (58, 62) mutually separated from each other (Fig. 6).
2. The optical module according to claim 1, wherein the substrate (51) is provided with a position controller (52a, 61) configured to position the plurality of joint materials (58, 62) at mutually separated positions (Fig. 6).
4. The optical module according to claim 2, wherein the position controller (52a, 61) includes protrusions (the shape of 52a, 61) extending longer than the plurality of joint materials (58, 62) in a lateral direction (see Fig. 6 showing a portion of 61 extending behind and past 62 in a lateral direction).
7. The optical module according to claim 2, wherein the position controller (52a, 61) is located on the substrate (51).
10. The optical module according to claim 2, wherein the position controller (52a, 61) is formed in strip shapes (the blocks 52, 61 can be considered “strip shapes”).
11. The optical module according to claim 2, wherein the position controller (52a, 61) is formed in polygonal shapes (blocks, Fig. 6).
16. The optical module according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of joint materials includes an epoxy resin (C8 L12-16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ooba as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of what would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Ooba teaches the optical element being an optical functional circuit including one with combining/splitting functions (C7 L58 – C9 L3) in a planar lightwave circuit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to try polarized-wave combining/splitting or ring resonator or an etalon filter for the optical element, since it has been held that “it is obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success” is a rationale for arriving at a conclusion of obviousness. In re KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. As discussed, Ooba already teaches combining/splitting in the element, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that polarization combining/splitting is one kind of combining and splitting that can be done in the optical functional circuit of Ooba. Further, one of ordinary skill the art would recognize that ring resonators and etalon filter structures are optical elements that can be implemented in the planar lightwave circuit of Ooba since these are known identified optical components and the kind of element in the lightwave circuit is not important to the substrate mount that is the important element in both Ooba and applicant’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill the art would expect known optical element would succeed in the planar lightwave circuit, including ring resonators, etalon filters and polarized-wave combiner/splitters, since there is nothing about the lightwave circuit of Ooba that would negate the appearance of these known optical elements.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ooba as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Saito et al (US 6,377,723 B1).
Ooba teaches the optical module previously discussed.
Ooba does not teach expressly wherein the substrate is one of two substrates of a thermoelectric cooling element, the thermoelectric cooling element including the two substrates and a semiconductor which is disposed between the two substrates, and the optical element is thermally controlled by the thermoelectric cooling element.
Saito teaches an optical module (Fig. 18) comprising a substrate (1, 12, 10) is one of two substrates (1, 12, 10, 16) of a thermoelectric cooling element (1, 12, 10, 16, 17), the thermoelectric cooling element including the two substrates and a semiconductor(part of the Peltier module) which is disposed between the two substrates (1, 12, 10 and 16), and the optical element (part of 1) is thermally controlled by the thermoelectric cooling element (C5 L50 – C6 L36).
Ooba and Saito are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical elements.
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the substrate of Ooba to include a Peltier module as taught by Saito.
The motivation for doing so would have been to be able to accurately control the temperature of the optical element (Saito, C5 L50 – C6 L2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references teach optical modules with various substrate mounting variations similar to applicants’: US 6470118, US 2008/0056638, US 9116317, US 9470855, US 9817197.
/RYAN A LEPISTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874