DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I as represented by Figs. 1A – 2E in the reply filed on 9/9/25 is acknowledged; see also interview summary dated 8/29/25.
Claims 6 – 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/9/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “to allow a pet to easily access the pet seat at the user’s desire.” The term is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “pet-friendly materials.” The term is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: securing mechanism in claim 1.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 5/17/24 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed (emphasis added above). It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered except as indicated on the form. The non-patent literature is struck through and has not been considered as no copy was provided; see above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Chappell (US PG Pub. No. US 20200298897 A1).
Re Claim 1
Chappell discloses:
A standalone pet seating apparatus (see all figs, title, abstract) comprising:
a frame having a front, a back, and two sides (see fig. 3; front 36, back 34, and two sides 38 and 40);
a pet seat attached to the frame (69);
an elevation piece (20) attached to the front of the frame (fig. 1) and designed to be positioned in an engaged position and a disengaged position by a user to allow a pet to easily access the pet seat at the user’s desire (see figs. 1-4; see [0043] as well for example), and the elevation piece including a walking surface for the pet to traverse (see fig. 1; see [0028] and/or [0034] for example);
a securing mechanism to secure the elevation piece in at least one of the engaged position and disengaged position (110 and 112); and
the standalone pet seating apparatus being constructed for the elevation piece to be stored under the pet seat when in the disengaged position (see figs. 1-4; see [0043] as well for example).
Re Claim 3
Chappell discloses:
further comprising a seat support structure (59 and 58) aligned with the sides of the frame (figs. 1-2) and a backpiece (42) aligned with the back of the frame (figs. 1-2).
Re Claim 4
Chappell discloses:
wherein the pet seat, seat support structure, and backpiece are made of pet-friendly materials (the entire apparatus is designed for pets / animals and therefore is made of pet-friendly materials; see also [0029] and [0039]).
Re Claim 5
Chappell discloses:
wherein the elevation piece is made to swivel about at least one axis (it is made to swivel, see fig 6; additionally or alternatively, swiveling about one axis is rotating / pivoting in relation to the one axis, which the elevation piece does – see figs. 1-4 and 6-7; see [0010] and [0034] and [0043]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chappell (US PG Pub. No. US 20200298897 A1) in view of Lane et al. (US Patent No. US 12158006 B1 and hereinafter “Lane”) or Sloan et al. (US Patent No. US 5213060 A and hereinafter “Sloan”).
Re Claim 2
Chappell discloses all claim limitations, see above, except:
further comprising at least one stability piece attached to the end of a bottom of the elevation piece.
Lane teaches a ramp which uses at least one stability piece attached to the end of a bottom of the elevation piece (see resilient feet 50 which are non-skid) and Sloan teaches the same at the end of a ramp (see feet 36), with both references teaching the above for the purpose of increasing friction, improving stability, and/or improving safety. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Chappell to include at least one stability piece attached to the end of a bottom of the elevation piece as taught by either Lane or Sloan for the purpose articulated above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional pet beds / seats and ramp structures are provided. Some of the ramp structures are linked with the pet beds / seats, whereas others are included as separately attachable structures.
/DAVID E. SOSNOWSKI/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3673
/David E Sosnowski/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673