DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 8, 10, 15, 16 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 is the same as claim 8 it is suggested to amend the claim or cancel the claim.
Claim 8 is the same as claim 7 it is suggested to amend the claim or cancel the claim.
Claim 10, line 1 “A zipper pull accessory” should be - - The zipper pull accessory - -.
Claim 10, line 2 “a planar elongated body having an upper end” should be - - the elongated body is planar having the upper end - -.
Claim 10, line 3 “an opening” should be - - the opening - -.
Claim 10, line 6 “a label disposed on a front” should be - - the label disposed on the front - -.
Claim 15 is the same as claim 16 it is suggested to amend the claim or cancel the claim.
Claim 16 is the same as claim 15 it is suggested to amend the claim or cancel the claim.
Claim 18, line 1 “A zipper pull accessory” should be - - The zipper pull accessory - -.
Claim 18, line 2 “a planar rectangular elongated body having an upper end” should be - - the elongated body is planar and rectangular having the upper end - -.
Claim 18, line 3 “an opening” should be - - the opening - -.
Claim 18, line 10 “a label disposed on a front” should be - - the label disposed on the front - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-11 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moser (US Patent No. 3,225,405).
Regarding claim 1, Moser discloses a zipper pull accessory, comprising:
an elongated body having an upper end (see annotated Figs. 3 and 4);
an opening disposed on the upper end of the elongated body (see annotated Fig. 3); and
a label disposed on a front facing of the elongated body (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Moser discloses, wherein the elongated body is rectangular (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Moser discloses, wherein the elongated body is planar (see annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Moser discloses, wherein the opening includes a strip of material that extends upwardly from one edge of the elongated body and curves around back to connect to a smaller leg on an opposing edge of an upper part of the elongated body (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Moser discloses, wherein the strip of material is bent to access the opening, allowing the elongated body adapted to attach the zipper pull accessory to a zipper (see annotated Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 7, Moser discloses, wherein the label includes an indicia disposed on the label (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Moser discloses, wherein the label includes an indicia disposed on the label (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Moser discloses, wherein the indicia includes one or more pictures, one or more logos, one or more letters, one or more words, one or more numbers, or any other decorative indicia (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Moser further discloses a zipper pull accessory, comprising:
a planar elongated body having an upper end (see annotated Figs. 3 and 4);
an opening disposed on the upper end of the elongated body, the opening includes a strip of material that extends upwardly from one edge of the elongated body and curves around back to connect to a smaller leg on an opposing edge of an upper part of the elongated body (see annotated Fig. 3); and
a label disposed on a front facing of the elongated body, the label includes an indicia disposed on the label (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Moser discloses, wherein the elongated body is rectangular (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Moser discloses, wherein the strip of material is bent to access the opening, allowing the elongated body adapted to attach the zipper pull accessory to a zipper (see annotated Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 15, Moser discloses, wherein the indicia includes one or more pictures, one or more logos, one or more letters, one or more words, one or more numbers, or any other decorative indicia (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Moser discloses, wherein the indicia includes one or more pictures, one or more logos, one or more letters, one or more words, one or more numbers, or any other functional indicia (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Moser discloses, wherein the zipper pull accessory is adapted to replace another traditional zipper pull accessory that customizes a user’s zipper and clothing as desired (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 18, Moser further discloses a zipper pull accessory, comprising:
a planar rectangular elongated body having an upper end (see annotated Figs. 3 and 4);
an opening disposed on the upper end of the elongated body, the opening includes a strip of material that extends upwardly from one edge of the elongated body and curves around back to connect to a smaller leg on an opposing edge of an upper part of the elongated body, the strip of material is bent to access the opening, allowing the elongated body adapted to attach the zipper pull accessory to a zipper, and the strip of material is resilient such that it is biased toward a closed position, preventing the zipper pull accessory from accidentally adapted to releasing from the zipper (see annotated Fig. 3); and
a label disposed on a front facing of the elongated body, the label includes an indicia disposed on the label, the indicia includes one or more pictures, one or more logos, one or more letters, one or more words, one or more numbers, or any other decorative indicia or functional indicia (see annotated Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moser (US Patent No. 3,225,405).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Moser discloses the claimed invention except for the elongated body is made of metal. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the elongated body is made of metal, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. It is obvious to have pull tab made of metal.
Regarding claim 13, Moser discloses the claimed invention except for the elongated body is made of plastic. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the elongated body is made of plastic, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. It is obvious to have pull tab made of plastic.
Conclusion
/LOUIS A. MERCADO/
Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677