DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This action is responsive to the amendment dated 8/19/2026. Claims 1-3, 5-17, 19 and 20 remain pending. Claims 1, 5, 6, and 10 have been amended. The applicant’s amendment has necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection below. This action is Final.
Response to Remarks
Applicant's amendment to recite an induction heating compatible material (IHCM) comprising a distinct layer has overcome the rejection of record. However, a new ground(s) of rejection is applied to the claims below. As such, applicant's arguments with respect to the 102 rejection over Dyksterhouse (US 2014/0238977) have not been found persuasive. Rocher et al. (US 2012/0048455) as stated below in the 102 rejection teaches each and every limitation including an induction heating compatible material (IHCM) comprising a distinct layer.
Applicant argues that the amendments to claim 10 overcome the current interpretation of Dyksterhouse because the presence of a conductive material in a thermoplastic pipe differs from “supplying the IHCM in at least one of a sufficient quantity or specified form such that the pipe is electrically conductive” as recited in claim 10. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Para. [0022] – [0023] discusses including additives such as carbon fiber or iron which are known to be electrically conductive. These “additives” would necessarily need to be supplied and are not naturally found in the IHCM. For at least this reason, the 102 rejection is maintained.
Applicant's amendments to the claims have necessitated further search and/or consideration and/or revision of the rejection, and accordingly, this action must be made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation of “further comprising an IHCM…” is indefinite. This claim is dependent on claim 1 which already introduces an IHCM. It is not clear if Applicant is intending to introduce a second IHCM or reference the same IHCM introduced in claim 1. Please amend the claim accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rocher et al. (US 2012/0048455, hereafter “Rocher”).
Regarding claim 1, Rocher discloses a pipe (50) comprising: an inner thermoplastic pipe (21); an outer layer of thermoplastic material (40) wrapped around the inner thermoplastic pipe (Fig. 1), wherein the outer layer of thermoplastic material is fused with the inner thermoplastic pipe (as disclosed in para. [0050], the layers are fused together); and an induction heating compatible material (IHCM) (30; para. [0035] – [0042]) comprising a distinct layer (para. [0043] mentions a woven fabric can be a distinct layer) between of the inner thermoplastic pipe and the outer layer of thermoplastic material. (Fig. 2; para. [0035] – [0043])
Regarding claim 2, Rocher further discloses the pipe of claim 1, wherein the IHCM is configured to provide heat through induction heating for fusing the inner thermoplastic pipe and the outer layer of thermoplastic material. (Fig. 2; para. [0035] – [0043])
Regarding claim 3, Rocher further discloses the pipe of claim 1, wherein the outer layer of thermoplastic material includes at least one of a strand, tape, or sheet. (para. [0044] – [0048])
Regarding claim 5, Rocher further discloses the pipe of claim 1, wherein the IHCM is permeable to allow at least one of the inner thermoplastic pipe or the outer layer of thermoplastic material to seep through the IHCM and fuse with at least one of the inner thermoplastic pipe or the outer layer of thermoplastic material. (Fig. 2; para. [0035] – [0043])
Regarding claim 6, Rocher further discloses the pipe of claim 1, further comprising an IHCM within the outer layer of thermoplastic material. (Fig. 2; para. [0035] – [0043])
Regarding claim 7, Rocher further discloses the pipe of claim 1, wherein the IHCM includes carbon fiber. (Fig. 2; para. [0035] – [0043])
Regarding claim 8, Rocher further discloses the pipe of claim 1, wherein the pipe is electrically conductive. (iron and carbon fiber are conductive)
Regarding claim 9, Rocher further discloses the pipe of claim 1, wherein the pipe is reinforced with fiberglass. (Fig. 2; para. [0028] and [0035])
Claim(s) 10-17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dyksterhouse (US 2014/0238977).
Regarding claim 10, Dyksterhouse further discloses a method of manufacturing a pipe (250), the method comprising: wrapping an inner thermoplastic pipe (254) with an outer layer of thermoplastic material (202b-c), wherein at least one of the inner thermoplastic pipe, the outer layer of thermoplastic material, or a separate layer provides an induction heating compatible material (IHCM) (para. [0038] – [0039]), including supplying the IHCM in at least one of a sufficient quantity or specified form such that the pipe is electrically conductive (para. [0022] – [0023] discusses including additives such as carbon fiber or iron which are known to be electrically conductive); and using an induction heater, heating the IHCM to fuse the inner thermoplastic pipe with the outer layer of thermoplastic material (Figs. 5 and 6; para. [0035]).
Regarding claim 11, Dyksterhouse further discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising applying a material including an IHCM as a distinct layer (228a) between the inner thermoplastic pipe and an outer layer of thermoplastic material. (Figs. 4-6; para. [0035])
Regarding claim 12, Dyksterhouse further discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising applying the IHCM as at least one of a tape, strand, sheet, or distributed particle. (para. [0035])
Regarding claim 13, Dyksterhouse further discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the IHCM is permeable to allow at least one of the inner thermoplastic pipe or the outer layer of thermoplastic material to seep through the IHCM and fuse with at least one of the inner thermoplastic pipe or the outer layer of thermoplastic material. (para. [0033])
Regarding claim 14, Dyksterhouse further discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the IHCM is infused in the outer layer of thermoplastic material before the wrapping the inner thermoplastic pipe with the outer layer of thermoplastic material. (Figs. 4-6; para. [0035])
Regarding claim 15, Dyksterhouse further discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the outer layer of thermoplastic material is manufactured by impregnating an IHCM with a thermoplastic material. (Figs. 4-6; para. [0035])
Regarding claim 16, Dyksterhouse further discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising applying the IHCM to a face of the outer layer of thermoplastic material before the wrapping the inner thermoplastic pipe with the outer layer of thermoplastic material. (Figs. 4-6; para. [0035])
Regarding claim 17, Dyksterhouse further discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the wrapping the inner thermoplastic pipe with the outer layer of thermoplastic material includes wrapping the inner thermoplastic pipe with at least one of a strand, tape, or sheet. (Figs. 4-6; para. [0035])
Regarding claim 19, Dyksterhouse further discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the IHCM is located at or near a seam between the inner thermoplastic pipe and the outer layer of thermoplastic material. (Figs. 4-6; para. [0035])
Regarding claim 20, Dyksterhouse further discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising continuously moving the pipe through the induction heater longitudinally to create a continuous production process. (para. [0025] – [0027])
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL J GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753