DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species V in the reply filed on 08/20/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Species VII –Figure 4—may be implemented into each of the other defined species. This portion of the argument is found persuasive in light of instant application Paragraph 0023.
Applicant continues to argue Species II –Figure 2—shows a substantial difference between the outer diameter of the guidewire 100 and the inner diameter of the catheter 112, which is also shown in Species V & VI. This portion of the argument is also found persuasive. As such, Figure 2 will be considered to be generic to Species V & VI.
Applicant continues to argue Species I & II may be implemented in each of the other species –Species III-VI. This is not found persuasive because Species I only shows a single outer tube 108, whereas Species III-VI shows multiple tube layers 116/118/120. Additionally, the inner surface of 108 in Figure 1 closes at the distal end. Whereas the inner surface of 116/118/120 in Figures 3A-3D is open at the distal end. As such, Species I is distinct and mutually exclusive from Species III-VI
In light of the above, and Applicant’s election of Species V, Examiner will examine claims which read on Figures 2 & 3C.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 10 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/20/2026.
Claim 8 was withdrawn by Applicant. However, Claim 8 broadly reads on elected Species V, so is rejoined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Examiner notes that the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submissions (see attachments) are extremely long, citing almost 100 references for consideration. The Examiner has considered all of the references submitted as part of the Information Disclosure Statements, but has not found any to be particular relevance. If Applicant is aware of pertinent material in the references, it should be stated in a response to this Office action. Applicant is reminded of MPEP § 2004, paragraph 13:
It is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. Eliminate clearly irrelevant and marginally pertinent cumulative information. If a long list is submitted, highlight those documents which have been specifically brought to applicant’s attention and/or are known to be of most significance. See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948, 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972), aff ’d, 479 F.2d 1338, 178 USPQ 577 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 874 (1974). But cf. Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 48 F.3d 1172, 33 USPQ2d 1823 (Fed. Cir. 1995).
Moreover, an IDS should comply with 37 CFR 1.56 (b) which states that "information is material to patentability which is not cumulative to information already of record or being made of record in the application …" [emphasis added]. The cited references, in addition to being extensive in volume, also appear to be largely cumulative, therefore, based upon the large number of references cited, the initialed references have been considered in a cumulative manner. Examiner further notes that numerous cited references appear to have little or no relevance at all to the disclosed/claimed invention, many of which do not even mention nested hypotubes.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) and/or PCT Article 7, Paragraph (1). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims, when they are necessary for the understanding of the invention. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
the proximal and distal sections of each of the plurality of hypotubes
No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under PCT Rule 11.13(a).
each of Figures 3A-4 have poor resolution, are highly pixelated, and are not “executed in durable, black, sufficiently dense and dark, uniformly thick and well-defined, lines and strokes without colorings” making it difficult to clearly determine the structure within the figures
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-9 & 11-20 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Claim 1 should read --An intravascular device comprising:
an inner member including a proximal end and a distal end; and
a plurality of hypotubes , each hypotube of the plurality of hypotubes comprising a proximal section and a distal section,
wherein at least a portion of the inner member passes into and is encompassed by the plurality of hypotubes, and
wherein the plurality of hypotubes are arranged in a nested configuration such that, except for an outermost hypotube of the plurality of hypotubes, a portion of each of the plurality of hypotube passes into and is encompassed by at least one other hypotube of the plurality of hypotubes.
Claim 4 should read --The intravascular device of claim 1, wherein, except for the outermost hypotube, a proximal end of each hypotube of the plurality of hypotubes is encompassed by at least one other hypotube of the plurality of hypotubes.—
Claim 5 should read –The intravascular device of claim 1, wherein, starting at a distal end of the device, an outer diameter of the device increases along a proximal direction at discrete points coinciding with transitions from one hypotube of the plurality of hypotubes to another hypotube of the plurality of hypotubes.—
Claim 6 should read --The intravascular device of claim 5, wherein the outer diameter of the device increases by 0.005 inches to 0.020 inches at each transition of the transitions from the one hypotube of the plurality of hypotubes to the another hypotube of the plurality of hypotubes.—
Claim 7 should read --The intravascular device of claim 1, wherein the proximal end of the inner member is encompassed by at least one hypotube of the plurality of hypotubes.—
Claim 17 should read -- The intravascular device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of hypotubes defines a hypotube coverage length, and wherein an outermost hypotube of the plurality of hypotubes has a length that is more than 50% of the hypotube coverage length.—
Claim 18 should read -- an intravascular device comprising:
an inner member including a proximal end and a distal end; and
a plurality of hypotubes comprising at least three hypotubes, each hypotube of the plurality of hypotubes comprising a proximal section and a distal section,
wherein one or more hypotubes of the plurality of hypotubes include a plurality of fenestrations,
wherein at least a portion of the inner member passes into and is encompassed by the plurality of hypotubes,
wherein the plurality of hypotubes are arranged in a nested configuration such that, except for an outermost hypotube of the plurality of hypotubes, a portion of each hypotube of the plurality of hypotubes passes into and is encompassed by at least one other hypotube of the plurality of hypotubes,
wherein, starting at a distal end of the device, an outer diameter of the device increases along a proximal direction at discrete points coinciding with transitions from one hypotube of the plurality of hypotubes to another hypotube of the plurality of hypotubes, and
wherein the plurality of hypotubes defines a hypotube coverage length, and wherein an outermost hypotube of the plurality of hypotubes has a length that is more than 50% of the hypotube coverage length.—
Claim 19 should read --The intravascular device of claim 18, wherein the outer diameter of the device increases by 0.005 inches to 0.020 inches at each transition of the transitions from the one hypotube of the plurality of hypotubes to the another hypotube of the plurality of hypotubes.—
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 9 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 4, the phrase “a proximal end of each hypotube” should read –a proximal end of each hypotube of the plurality of hypotubes.
The term “at least one other hypotube” is indefinite. The same term was used in Claim 1, Lines 8-9. As such, it is not clear if the at least one other hypotube in Claim 4 is the same structure as the at least one other hypotube of Claim 1, rendering the claim indefinite. For the purpose of examination, the at least one other hypotube will be interpreted as the same structure in Claim 4 and in Claim 1.
As to Claim 9, the phrase “a proximal end of the inner member” is indefinite. Claim 1 previously defined a proximal end of the inner member. As such, it is not clear if the proximal end of the inner member of Claim 9 is the same proximal end of the inner member or if the respective structures are different, rendering the claim indefinite. For the purpose of examination, the respective structures will be interpreted as the same structure.
The phrase “one or more hypotubes” is indefinite. It is not clear if the one or more hypotubes are part of the plurality of hypotubes defined in Claim 1, or if additional hypotubes are being defined. For the purpose of examination, the one or more hypotubes will be interpreted as one or more hypotubes of the plurality of hypotubes.
As to Claim 11, the limitation “comprising a hydrophilic coating” is indefinite. The limitations is incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: which structure of the claimed device has the hydrophilic coating.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 13 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Derbin (U.S. Patent 6,562,021).
As to Claim 1, Derbin teaches an intravascular (Column 1, Lines 13-20) device (10) comprising:
an inner member (12) including a proximal end (14) and a distal end (16); and
a plurality of hypotubes (18/20/24), each hypotube (18/20/24) of the plurality of hypotubes (18/20/24) comprising a proximal section (the left half of each of 18/20/24, as viewed in Figure 3A) and a distal section (the right half of each of 18/20/24, as viewed in Figure 3A),
wherein at least a portion (the portion of 12 within 18/20/24, as viewed in Figure 3A) of the inner member (12) passes into and is encompassed by (as shown in Figure 3A) the plurality of hypotubes (18/20/24), and
wherein the hypotubes (18/20/24) are arranged in a nested configuration (as shown in Figure 3A) such that, except for (as shown in Figure 3A) an outermost hypotube (24), a portion of each hypotube (18/20) passes into and is encompassed by (as shown in Figure 3A) at least one other hypotube (20/24).
As to Claim 2, Derbin teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, and continues to teach the plurality of hypotubes (18/20/24) comprises at least two hypotubes (18/20/24).
As to Claim 3, Derbin teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, and continues to teach the plurality of hypotubes (18/20/24) comprises at least three hypotubes (18/20/24).
As to Claim 4, Derbin teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, and continues to teach except for (as shown in Figure 3A) the outermost hypotube (24), a proximal end (the left end of 18/20, as viewed in Figure 3A) of each hypotube (18/20) is encompassed by (as shown in Figure 3A) at least one other hypotube (20/24).
As to Claim 5, Derbin teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, and continues to teach starting at a distal end (16) of the device (10), an outer diameter (the outer diameter of each of 18/20/24, as viewed in Figure 3A) of the device (10) increases along (as shown in Figure 3A) a proximal direction (from right to left, as viewed in Figure 3A) at discrete points (22/26) coinciding with (as shown in Figure 3A) transitions (22/26) from one hypotube (18/20) to another (20/24).
As to Claim 7, Derbin teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, and continues to teach the proximal end (14) of the inner member (12) is encompassed by (as shown in Figure 3A) at least one hypotube (18/20/24). The term “proximal end” is broadly interpreted to include the portion of 12 to the left of 26, as viewed in Figure 3A.
As to Claim 8, Derbin teaches all the limitations of Claims 1 & 7, and continues to teach the proximal end (14) of the inner member (12) is encompassed by (as shown in Figure 3A) each (18/20/24) of the plurality of hypotubes (18/20/24). The term “proximal end” is broadly interpreted to include the portion of 12 to the left of 26, as viewed in Figure 3A.
As to Claim 9, Derbin teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, and continues to teach a proximal end (14) of the inner member (12) and proximal ends (the left ends of each of 18/20/24, as viewed in Figure 3A) of one or more hypotubes (18/20/24) are coincident at (as shown in Figure 3A) a proximal end (the left end 10, as viewed in Figure 3A) of the intravascular device (10). The terms “proximal ends” of the hypotubes and “proximal end” of the device are broadly interpreted to include the portion of 10/12/18/20/24 to the left of 26, as viewed in Figure 3A.
As to Claim 13, Derbin teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, and continues to teach the inner member (12) is a solid core wire (as shown in Figure 3A).
As to Claim 17, Derbin teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, and continues to teach the plurality of hypotubes (18/20/24) defines a hypotube coverage length (175 cm), and wherein an outermost hypotube (24) has a length (100cm) that is more than 50% of (Column 7, Lines 12-33) the hypotube coverage length (175 cm). Column 7, Lines 12-33 describes the third coaxial layer 24 as being 100 cm long, which is over 50% of 175 cm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derbin, in view of Ramanathan (U.S. PGPub 2023/0201531).
As to Claim 6, Derbin teaches all the limitations of Claims 1 & 5, but does not teach the outer diameter of the device increases by 0.005 inches to 0.020 inches at each transition from one hypotube to another.
Ramanathan describes a similar device, and teaches the wall thickness (Paragraph 0146) of each hypotube (603/511) is “in the range of about 0.004 in to about 0.006 in.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the wall thickness, as taught by Ramanathan, on the hypotubes, as taught by Derbin, since different procedures require different dimensions (Paragraph 0146).
Modifying Ramanathan into Derbin results in the outer diameter (the outer diameter of each of Derbin 18/20/24, as viewed in Derbin Figure 3A) of the device (Derbin 10) increases by 0.005 inches to 0.020 inches (about 0.004 in to about 0.006, as taught by Ramanathan, since each of the wall thicknesses of Derbin 18/20/24 are about 0.004 in to about 0.006) at each transition (Derbin 22/26) from one hypotube (Derbin 18/20, as modified) to another (Derbin 20/24, as modified).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derbin, in view of Jimenez (U.S. PGPub 2003/0135195).
As to Claim 11, Derbin teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, but does not teach further comprising a hydrophilic coating.
Jimenez describes a coating for a similar device (Paragraph 0002), and teaches further comprising a hydrophilic coating (Paragraph 0002; Figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a hydrophilic coating, as taught by Jimenez, on the outer surface of the hypotubes, as taught by Derbin, “to reduce the coefficient of friction of the catheter (Paragraph 0004).”
Claims 12 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derbin, in view of Fischell (U.S. PGPub 2019/0076187).
As to Claim 12, Derbin teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, but does not teach one or more hypotubes of the plurality of hypotubes are formed from nitinol.
Fischell describes a similar device (100), and teaches one or more hypotubes of the plurality of hypotubes (116/119) are formed from nitinol (Paragraph 0056).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use nitinol, as taught by Fischell, to make the hypotubes, as taught by Derbin, “so they do not elongate during deployment through a guiding catheter (Paragraph 0056).”
As to Claim 14, Derbin teaches all the limitations of Claims 1 & 13, and continues to teach the core wire (12) is formed from metals or alloys (Column 6, Line 48, to Column 7, Line 12).
Derbin continues to provide examples of metals and alloys, but does not explicitly describe the core wire as being made from stainless steel.
Fischell describes a core wire for a similar device (100), and teaches the core wire (111) as being made from stainless steel (Paragraph 0346).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to make the core wire, as taught by Derbin, from stainless steel, as taught by Fischell, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. (1960)
Claims 15-16 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derbin, in view of Parodi (U.S. PGPub 2009/0143769).
As to Claim 15, Derbin teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, but does not teach one or more hypotubes of the plurality of hypotubes include a plurality of fenestrations.
Parodi describes a similar telescoping/nested device (210), and teaches one or more hypotubes (230) of the plurality of hypotubes (220/230) include (as shown in Figure 17) a plurality of fenestrations (234).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use fenestrations, as taught by Parodi, in the hypotubes, as taught by Derbin, “to increase the flexibility of the tube (Paragraph 0094).”
As to Claim 16, Derbin, as modified, teaches all the limitations of Claims 1 & 15, and continues to teach, the fenestrations (Parodi 234) form an arrangement (as shown in Parodi Figure 17) of circumferentially extending rings (Parodi 235b) connected by axially extending beams (Parodi 237b).
As to Claim 18, Derbin teaches an intravascular (Column 1, Lines 13-20) device (10) comprising:
an inner member (12) including a proximal end (14) and a distal end (16); and
a plurality of hypotubes (18/20/24) comprising at least three hypotubes (18/20/24), each hypotube (18/20/24)of the plurality of hypotubes (18/20/24) comprising a proximal section (the left half of each of 18/20/24, as viewed in Figure 3A) and a distal section (the right half of each of 18/20/24, as viewed in Figure 3A),
wherein at least a portion (the portion of 12 within 18/20/24, as viewed in Figure 3A) of the inner member (12) passes into and is encompassed by (as shown in Figure 3A) the plurality of hypotubes (18/20/24),
wherein the hypotubes (18/20/24) are arranged in a nested configuration (as shown in Figure 3A) such that, except for an outermost hypotube (as shown in Figure 3A), a portion of each hypotube (18/20) passes into and is encompassed by (as shown in Figure 3A) at least one other hypotube (20/24),
wherein, starting at a distal end (16) of the device (10), an outer diameter (the outer diameter of each of 18/20/24, as viewed in Figure 3A) of the device (10) increases along (as shown in Figure 3A) a proximal direction (from right to left, as viewed in Figure 3A) at discrete points (22/26) coinciding with (as shown in Figure 3A) transitions (22/26) from one hypotube (18/20) to another (20/24), and
wherein the plurality of hypotubes (18/20/24) defines a hypotube coverage length (175 cm), and wherein an outermost hypotube (24) has a length (100cm) that is more than 50% of (Column 7, Lines 12-33) the hypotube coverage length (175 cm).
Derbin does not teach one or more hypotubes of the plurality of hypotubes include a plurality of fenestrations.
Parodi describes a similar telescoping/nested device (210), and teaches one or more hypotubes (230) of the plurality of hypotubes (220/230) include (as shown in Figure 17) a plurality of fenestrations (234).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use fenestrations, as taught by Parodi, in the hypotubes, as taught by Derbin, “to increase the flexibility of the tube (Paragraph 0094).”
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derbin, in view of Parodi, further in view of Ramanathan.
As to Claim 19, Derbin, as modified, teaches all the limitations of Claim 18, but does not teach the outer diameter of the device increases by 0.005 inches to 0.020 inches at each transition from one hypotube to another.
Ramanathan describes a similar device, and teaches the wall thickness (Paragraph 0146) of each hypotube (603/511) is “in the range of about 0.004 in to about 0.006 in.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the wall thickness, as taught by Ramanathan, on the hypotubes, as taught by Derbin, since different procedures require different dimensions (Paragraph 0146).
Modifying Ramanathan into Derbin results in the outer diameter (the outer diameter of each of Derbin 18/20/24, as viewed in Derbin Figure 3A) of the device (Derbin 10) increases by 0.005 inches to 0.020 inches (about 0.004 in to about 0.006, as taught by Ramanathan, since each of the wall thicknesses of Derbin 18/20/24 are about 0.004 in to about 0.006) at each transition (Derbin 22/26) from one hypotube (Derbin 18/20, as modified) to another (Derbin 20/24, as modified).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derbin, in view of Parodi, further in view of Fischell.
As to Claim 20, Derbin, as modified, teaches all the limitations of Claim 18, and continues to teach the inner member (Derbin 12) is a solid core wire (as shown in Derbin Figure 3A) formed from metals or alloys (Derbin Column 6, Line 48, to Column 7, Line 12).
Derbin continues to provide examples of metals and alloys, but does not explicitly describe the core wire as being made from stainless steel.
Derbin, as modified, also does not teach one or more hypotubes of the plurality of hypotubes are formed from nitinol.
Fischell describes a core wire for a similar device (100), and teaches the core wire (111) as being made from stainless steel (Paragraph 0346).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to make the core wire, as taught by Derbin, from stainless steel, as taught by Fischell, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. (1960)
Fischell describes a similar device (100), and teaches one or more hypotubes of the plurality of hypotubes (116/119) are formed from nitinol (Paragraph 0056).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use nitinol, as taught by Fischell, to make the hypotubes, as taught by Derbin, “so they do not elongate during deployment through a guiding catheter (Paragraph 0056).”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cottenceau (5,484,424 – Figure 5) and McKenna (2023/0201484 – Figure 13E) describe similar devices.
/DAVID N BRANDT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783