Response to Amendment
The amendment filed January 22, 2026 has been entered. The Applicant amended claims 1-5, 8-13, and 16-19, and cancelled claims 7, 15, and 20. Claims 1-6, 8-14, and 16-19 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed November 5, 2025. The examiner withdraws the Claims objections in light of the amendments to the Claims.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6 to page 8, filed January 22, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 9, and 16 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a different interpretation of the previously applied reference. The new grounds of rejection is detailed below.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
In claim 1, there is no antecedent basis in the specification for “wherein the flexible grounding cable is configured to maintain the consistent level of impedance at the folded monopole radiator at substantially a pre-determined impedance when the metallic mounting end is affixed to a metallic mounting surface remote from a location of the folded monopole radiator, irrespective of the location of the folded monopole radiator relative to the metallic mounting surface, and irrespective of the folded monopole radiator being concealed behind a non-conductive component”
In claim 9, there is no antecedent basis in the specification for “wherein the flexible grounding cable is configured to maintain the consistent level of impedance at the folded monopole radiator when the metallic mounting end is affixed to a metallic mounting surface within the vehicle that is remote from a location of the folded monopole radiator within the vehicle, irrespective of the location of the folded monopole radiator within the vehicle relative to the metallic mounting surface, and irrespective of the folded monopole radiator being concealed behind anon-conductive body component of the vehicle”
In claim 16, there is no antecedent basis in the specification for “wherein the flexible grounding cable is configured to maintain the consistent level of impedance at the folded monopole radiator when the metallic mounting end is affixed to a metallic mounting surface within the vehicle that is remote from a location of the folded monopole radiator within the vehicle, irrespective of the location of the folded monopole radiator within the vehicle relative to the metallic mounting surface, and irrespective of the folded monopole radiator being concealed behind anon-conductive body component of the vehicle”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the flexible grounding cable is configured to maintain the consistent level of impedance at the folded monopole radiator at substantially a pre-determined impedance when the metallic mounting end is affixed to a metallic mounting surface remote from a location of the folded monopole radiator, irrespective of the location of the folded monopole radiator relative to the metallic mounting surface, and irrespective of the folded monopole radiator being concealed behind a non-conductive component”. However, the disclosure does not include descriptions of the flexible grounding cable maintaining a consistent level of impedance irrespective of the location of the folded monopole radiator relative to the metallic mounting surface or irrespective of the folded monopole radiator being concealed behind a non-conductive component.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “wherein the flexible grounding cable is configured to maintain the consistent level of impedance at the folded monopole radiator when the metallic mounting end is affixed to a metallic mounting surface within the vehicle that is remote from a location of the folded monopole radiator within the vehicle, irrespective of the location of the folded monopole radiator within the vehicle relative to the metallic mounting surface, and irrespective of the folded monopole radiator being concealed behind anon-conductive body component of the vehicle”. However, the disclosure does not include descriptions of the flexible grounding cable maintaining a consistent level of impedance irrespective of the location of the folded monopole radiator relative to the metallic mounting surface or irrespective of the folded monopole radiator being concealed behind a non-conductive component.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “wherein the flexible grounding cable is configured to maintain the consistent level of impedance at the folded monopole radiator when the metallic mounting end is affixed to a metallic mounting surface within the vehicle that is remote from a location of the folded monopole radiator within the vehicle, irrespective of the location of the folded monopole radiator within the vehicle relative to the metallic mounting surface, and irrespective of the folded monopole radiator being concealed behind anon-conductive body component of the vehicle”. However, the disclosure does not include descriptions of the flexible grounding cable maintaining a consistent level of impedance irrespective of the location of the folded monopole radiator relative to the metallic mounting surface or irrespective of the folded monopole radiator being concealed behind a non-conductive component.
Claims 2-6 and 8 inherit the deficiencies of claim 1.
Claims 10-14 inherit the deficiencies of claim 9.
Claims 17-19 inherit the deficiencies of claim 16.
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term modifies the limitation “a pre-determined impedance” and renders it indefinite.
Claims 2-6 and 8 inherit the deficiencies of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McMahon et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0127506 A1), hereinafter known as McMahon, in view of Ito (US PGPUB 2015/0357705 A1).
Regarding claim 1, McMahon teaches (Fig. 4-6) A radio antenna (Fig. 6) comprising: a folded monopole radiator (603); a high impedance buffer amplifier (Fig. 5) comprising: an input side (side electrically connected to 32) electrically connected to the folded monopole radiator (32, 603) and configured to maintain a consistent level of impedance, an output side (56) electrically connected to a power source and configured to maintain the consistent level of impedance, a two-pole filter that attenuates frequencies ([0052]), and a voltage regulator (+5V, [0051]) configured to supply the high impedance buffer amplifier with a fixed direct current (DC) bias voltage when power is received from the power source ([0051]); and a grounding cable (ground symbol) directly wired to the high impedance buffer amplifier (Fig. 5), wherein the grounding line is configured to maintain the consistent level of impedance at the folded monopole radiator ([0051]-[0052])
but does not specifically teach a flexible grounding cable including a metallic mounting end, wherein the flexible grounding cable is configured to maintain the consistent level of impedance at the folded monopole radiator at substantially a pre-determined impedance when the metallic mounting end is affixed to a metallic mounting surface remote from a location of the folded monopole radiator, irrespective of the location of the folded monopole radiator relative to the metallic mounting surface, and irrespective of the folded monopole radiator being concealed behind anon-conductive component.
However, Ito teaches (Fig. 6) a flexible grounding cable (33) including a metallic mounting end (vehicle body), wherein the flexible grounding cable is configured to maintain the consistent level of impedance at the folded monopole radiator at substantially a pre-determined impedance when the metallic mounting end is affixed to a metallic mounting surface remote from a location of the folded monopole radiator ([0031]), irrespective of the location of the folded monopole radiator relative to the metallic mounting surface ([0028]), and irrespective of the folded monopole radiator being concealed behind a non-conductive component ([0028]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the radio antenna of McMahon with Ito to include “a flexible grounding cable including a metallic mounting end, wherein the flexible grounding cable is configured to maintain the consistent level of impedance at the folded monopole radiator at substantially a pre-determined impedance when the metallic mounting end is affixed to a metallic mounting surface remote from a location of the folded monopole radiator, irrespective of the location of the folded monopole radiator relative to the metallic mounting surface, and irrespective of the folded monopole radiator being concealed behind anon-conductive component,” as taught by Ito, for the purpose of reducing size and enabling additional frequency bands and improving flexibility in placement (see also [0009], [0028], and [0040]).
Regarding claim 2, McMahon further teaches (Fig. 5) wherein the high impedance buffer amplifier (Fig. 5) and the grounding cable (ground symbol) are configured to maintain an output impedance at 50 ohms ([0049]), the output impedance received by the folded monopole radiator (32) but does not specifically teach a flexible grounding cable.
However, Ito teaches (Fig. 6) a flexible grounding cable (33).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the radio antenna of McMahon with Ito to include “a flexible grounding cable,” as taught by Ito, for the purpose of reducing size and enabling additional frequency bands (see also [0009] and [0040]).
Regarding claim 3, McMahon further teaches (Fig. 6) wherein the folded monopole radiator comprises a metallic material ([0057]), and wherein the folded monopole radiator comprises a horizontal portion (horizontal portion of 603) and a vertical portion (vertical portions of 603).
Regarding claim 4, McMahon further teaches (Fig. 5-6) wherein the vertical portion (vertical portions of 603, 32) comprises a lower end fixed to the high impedance buffer amplifier (Fig. 5), and an upper end fixed to the horizontal portion (horizontal portion of 603).
Regarding claim 5, McMahon further teaches wherein the folded monopole radiator is configured to capture signals in an FM radio band ([0051]).
Regarding claim 6, McMahon further teaches wherein the radio antenna is disposed at a vehicle ([0054]).
Regarding claim 8, McMahon does not specifically teach wherein the non-conductive component comprises a body component of the vehicle.
However, Ito teaches wherein the non-conductive component comprises a body component of the vehicle ([0028]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the radio antenna of McMahon with Ito to include “wherein the non-conductive component comprises a body component of the vehicle,” as taught by Ito, for the purpose of improving flexibility in placement (see also [0028]).
Regarding claim 9, McMahon teaches (Fig. 4-6) A body component for a vehicle ([0054]), the body component comprising: a radio antenna disposed at the body component, the radio antenna (Fig. 6) comprising: a folded monopole radiator (603); a high impedance buffer amplifier (Fig. 5) comprising: an input side (side electrically connected to 32) electrically connected to the folded monopole radiator (32, 603) and configured to maintain a consistent level of impedance, an output side (56) electrically connected to a power source and configured to maintain the consistent level of impedance, a two-pole filter that attenuates frequencies ([0052]), and a voltage regulator (+5V, [0051]) configured to supply the high impedance buffer amplifier with a fixed DC bias voltage when power is received from the power source ([0051]); and a grounding cable (ground symbol) directly wired to the high impedance buffer amplifier (Fig. 5), the grounding cable is configured to maintain the consistent level of impedance at the folded monopole radiator ([0051]-[0052])
but does not specifically teach a flexible grounding cable including a metallic mounting end, wherein the flexible grounding cable is configured to maintain the consistent level of impedance at the folded monopole radiator when the metallic mounting end is affixed to a metallic mounting surface within the vehicle that is remote from a location of the folded monopole radiator within the vehicle, irrespective of the location of the folded monopole radiator within the vehicle relative to the metallic mounting surface, and irrespective of the folded monopole radiator being concealed behind a non-conductive body component of the vehicle.
However, Ito teaches (Fig. 6) a flexible grounding cable (33) including a metallic mounting end (vehicle body), wherein the flexible grounding cable is configured to maintain the consistent level of impedance at the folded monopole radiator when the metallic mounting end is affixed to a metallic mounting surface remote from a location of the folded monopole radiator within the vehicle ([0031]), irrespective of the location of the folded monopole radiator within the vehicle relative to the metallic mounting surface ([0028]), and irrespective of the folded monopole radiator being concealed behind a non-conductive body component of the vehicle ([0028]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the body component of McMahon with Ito to include “a flexible grounding cable including a metallic mounting end, wherein the flexible grounding cable is configured to maintain the consistent level of impedance at the folded monopole radiator when the metallic mounting end is affixed to a metallic mounting surface within the vehicle that is remote from a location of the folded monopole radiator within the vehicle, irrespective of the location of the folded monopole radiator within the vehicle relative to the metallic mounting surface, and irrespective of the folded monopole radiator being concealed behind a non-conductive body component of the vehicle,” as taught by Ito, for the purpose of reducing size and enabling additional frequency bands and improving flexibility in placement (see also [0009], [0028], and [0040]).
Regarding claim 10, McMahon further teaches (Fig. 5) wherein the high impedance buffer amplifier (Fig. 5) and the grounding cable (ground symbol) are configured to maintain an output impedance at 50 ohms ([0049]), the output impedance received by the folded monopole radiator (32) but does not specifically teach a flexible grounding cable.
However, Ito teaches (Fig. 6) a flexible grounding cable (33).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the body component of McMahon with Ito to include “a flexible grounding cable,” as taught by Ito, for the purpose of reducing size and enabling additional frequency bands (see also [0009] and [0040]).
Regarding claim 11, McMahon further teaches (Fig. 6) wherein the folded monopole radiator comprises a metallic material ([0057]), and wherein the folded monopole radiator comprises a horizontal portion (horizontal portion of 603) and a vertical portion (vertical portions of 603).
Regarding claim 12, McMahon further teaches (Fig. 5-6) wherein the vertical portion (vertical portions of 603, 32) comprises a lower end fixed to the high impedance buffer amplifier (Fig. 5), and an upper end fixed to the horizontal portion (horizontal portion of 603).
Regarding claim 13, McMahon further teaches wherein the monopole radiator is configured to capture signals in an FM radio band ([0051]).
Regarding claim 14, McMahon further teaches wherein the body component is installed at the vehicle ([0054]).
Regarding claim 16, McMahon teaches (Fig. 4-6) A vehicle ([0054]) comprising: a body component ([0054]), and a radio antenna disposed behind the body component ([0054]), the radio antenna (Fig. 6) comprising: a folded monopole radiator (603); a high impedance buffer amplifier (Fig. 5) comprising: an input side (side electrically connected to 32) electrically connected to the folded monopole radiator (32, 603) and configured to maintain a consistent level of impedance, an output side (56) electrically connected to a power source and configured to maintain the consistent level of impedance, a two-pole filter that attenuates frequencies ([0052]), and a voltage regulator (+5V, [0051]) configured to supply the high impedance buffer amplifier with a fixed DC bias voltage when power is received from the power source ([0051]); and a grounding cable (ground symbol) directly wired to the high impedance buffer amplifier (Fig. 5), the grounding cable is configured to maintain the consistent level of impedance at the folded monopole radiator ([0051]-[0052])
but does not specifically teach a flexible grounding cable including a metallic mounting end, wherein the flexible grounding cable is configured to maintain the consistent level of impedance at the folded monopole radiator when the metallic mounting end is affixed to a metallic mounting surface within the vehicle that is remote from a location of the folded monopole radiator within the vehicle, irrespective of the location of the folded monopole radiator within the vehicle relative to the metallic mounting surface, and irrespective of the folded monopole radiator being concealed behind a non-conductive body component of the vehicle.
However, Ito teaches (Fig. 6) a flexible grounding cable (33) including a metallic mounting end (vehicle body), wherein the flexible grounding cable is configured to maintain the consistent level of impedance at the folded monopole radiator when the metallic mounting end is affixed to a metallic mounting surface remote from a location of the folded monopole radiator within the vehicle ([0031]), irrespective of the location of the folded monopole radiator within the vehicle relative to the metallic mounting surface ([0028]), and irrespective of the folded monopole radiator being concealed behind a non-conductive body component of the vehicle ([0028]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the vehicle of McMahon with Ito to include “a flexible grounding cable including a metallic mounting end, wherein the flexible grounding cable is configured to maintain the consistent level of impedance at the folded monopole radiator when the metallic mounting end is affixed to a metallic mounting surface within the vehicle that is remote from a location of the folded monopole radiator within the vehicle, irrespective of the location of the folded monopole radiator within the vehicle relative to the metallic mounting surface, and irrespective of the folded monopole radiator being concealed behind a non-conductive body component of the vehicle,” as taught by Ito, for the purpose of reducing size and enabling additional frequency bands and improving flexibility in placement (see also [0009], [0028], and [0040]).
Regarding claim 17, McMahon further teaches (Fig. 5) wherein the high impedance buffer amplifier (Fig. 5) and the flexible grounding cable (ground symbol) are configured to maintain an output impedance at 50 ohms ([0049]), the output impedance received by the folded monopole radiator (32) but does not specifically teach a flexible grounding cable.
However, Ito teaches (Fig. 6) a flexible grounding cable (33).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the vehicle of McMahon with Ito to include “a flexible grounding cable,” as taught by Ito, for the purpose of reducing size and enabling additional frequency bands (see also [0009] and [0040]).
Regarding claim 18, McMahon further teaches (Fig. 6) wherein the folded monopole radiator comprises a metallic material ([0057]), and wherein the folded monopole radiator comprises a horizontal portion (horizontal portion of 603) and a vertical portion (vertical portions of 603), the vertical portion (vertical portions of 603, 32) comprising a lower end fixed to the high impedance buffer amplifier (Fig. 5), and an upper end fixed to the horizontal portion (horizontal portion of 603).
Regarding claim 19, McMahon further teaches wherein the folded monopole radiator is configured to capture signals in an FM radio band ([0051]).
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
YONCHAN J KIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2845