DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-11, 21, 22 and 25-28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, and 15-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,990,026. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the same inventive scope has been claimed as shown in the table listed below:
Application #18/667577
1. (Currently Amended) A method, comprising: detecting, at a first device associated with a transmitting entity, an indication to create a customized haptic communication; displaying via the first device, a field for entering sentiment information based at least in part on the detecting the indication; displaying, via the first device, a plurality of haptic indicators for selection, the plurality of haptic indicators associated with the sentiment information; obtaining one or more selected haptic indicators from the plurality of haptic indicators; generating the customized haptic communication as an association between the sentiment information and the one or more selected haptic indicators and wherein the customized haptic communication comprises a haptic indication of the transmitting entity; and transmitting, to a second device associated with a receiving entity, the generated customized haptic communication that is configured to haptically indicate, to the receiving entity via the second device, the one or more selected haptic indicators and the haptic indication of the transmitting entity.
2. (New) The method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying, by the receiving entity, the transmitting entity from the customized haptic communication.
US Patent # 11,990,026
1. A method, comprising: detecting, at a first device associated with a transmitting entity, an indication to create a haptic message; displaying via the first device, a field for entering sentiment information based at least in part on the detecting the indication; displaying, via the first device, a plurality of haptic indicators for selection, the plurality of haptic indicators associated with the sentiment information; obtaining one or more selected haptic indicators from the plurality of haptic indicators; generating the haptic message as an association between the sentiment information and the one or more selected haptic indicators and wherein the haptic message comprises a haptic indication of the transmitting entity; and transmitting, to a second device associated with a receiving entity, the generated haptic message that is configured to haptically indicate, to the receiving entity via the second device, the one or more selected haptic indicators and the haptic indication of the transmitting entity.
5. (New) The method of claim 1, further comprising: displaying a plurality of timing indicators for selection, the plurality of timing indicators associated with the sentiment information; obtaining one or more selected timing indicators from the plurality of timing indicators; and generating the customized haptic communication as an association between the sentiment information and any combination of one or more selected timing and haptic indicators.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: displaying a plurality of timing indicators for selection, the plurality of timing indicators associated with the sentiment information; obtaining one or more selected timing indicators from the plurality of timing indicators; and generating the haptic message as an association between the sentiment information and any combination of one or more selected timing and haptic indicators.
6. (New) The method of claim 1, further comprising: obtaining, via the field, textual information or an image corresponding to the sentiment information.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising: obtaining, via the field, textual information corresponding to the sentiment information.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising: obtaining, via the field, an image corresponding to the sentiment information.
7. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more selected haptic indicators comprises at least one of a haptic rudiment or a configured haptic communication.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more selected haptic indicators comprises at least one of a haptic rudiment or a configured haptic message.
8. (New) The method of claim 1, further comprising: displaying the customized haptic communication for selecting to send to one or more contact indicators.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising: displaying the haptic message for selecting to send to one or more contact indicators.
9. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein the haptic communication is configured to haptically and concurrently indicate, to the receiving entity via the second device, the one or more selected haptic indicators and the haptic indication of the transmitting entity.
20. The method of claim 1, wherein the haptic message is configured to haptically and concurrently indicate, to the receiving entity via the second device, the one or more selected haptic indicators and the haptic indication of the transmitting entity.
10. (New) A method for communication by a first device, comprising: obtaining customized sentiment information to be communicated to a second device associated with a receiving entity; determining first haptic information corresponding to a transmitting entity and second haptic information corresponding to the customized sentiment information; formatting a digital communication for transmission to the second device to include the first haptic information and the second haptic information; transmitting the digital communication to the second device associated with the receiving entity, wherein the digital communication is configured to haptically indicate, to the receiving entity via the second device, the first haptic information and the second haptic information; and determining, by the receiving entity, the identification of the transmitting entity responsive to transmitting the digital communication.
7. A method for communication by a first device, comprising: obtaining sentiment information to be communicated to a second device associated with a receiving entity; determining first haptic information corresponding to a transmitting entity and second haptic information corresponding to the sentiment information; formatting a digital message for transmission to the second device to include the first haptic information and the second haptic information; and transmitting the digital message to the second device associated with the receiving entity, wherein the digital message is configured to haptically indicate, to the receiving entity via the second device, the first haptic information and the second haptic information.
11. (New) The method of claim 10, wherein the digital communication is configured to haptically and concurrently indicate, to the receiving entity via the second device, the first haptic information and the second haptic information.
21. The method of claim 7, wherein the digital message is configured to haptically and concurrently indicate, to the receiving entity via the second device, the first haptic information and the second haptic information.
21. (New) The method of claim 20, wherein the conditional indication comprises at least one of an activity status associated with the second device, a location attribute associated with the second device, or a power status associated with the second device.
15. The method of claim 14, wherein the conditional indication comprises at least one of an activity status associated with the second device, a location attribute associated with the second device, or a power status associated with the second device
22. (New) A method for communication by a server, comprising: receiving, from a plurality of first devices associated with a plurality of transmitting entities, a plurality of digital communications, wherein each of the plurality of digital communications comprises customized sentiment information to be communicated to a second device associated with a receiving entity; determining, for each of the plurality of digital communications, a first haptic information corresponding to a transmitting entity of the plurality of transmitting entities and second haptic information corresponding to the customized sentiment information; identifying a pattern associated with aggregated customized sentiment information from the plurality of digital communications; formatting a second digital communication for transmission to the second device to include third haptic information corresponding to the aggregated customized sentiment information; and transmitting the second digital communication to the second device associated with the receiving entity, wherein the second digital communication is configured to haptically indicate, to the receiving entity via the second device, the aggregated customized sentiment information; and determining, by the receiving entity, the identification of the transmitting entity responsive to transmitting the aggregated customized sentiment information.
16. A method for communication by a server, comprising: receiving, from a plurality of first devices associated with a plurality of transmitting entities, a plurality of digital messages, wherein each of the plurality of digital messages comprises sentiment information to be communicated to a second device associated with a receiving entity; determining, for each of the plurality of digital messages, a first haptic information corresponding to a transmitting entity of the plurality of transmitting entities and second haptic information corresponding to the sentiment information; identifying a pattern associated with aggregated sentiment information from the plurality of digital messages; formatting a second digital message for transmission to the second device to include third haptic information corresponding to the aggregated sentiment information; and transmitting the second digital message to the second device associated with the receiving entity, wherein the second digital message is configured to haptically indicate, to the receiving entity via the second device, the aggregated sentiment information.
25. (New) The method of claim 22, further comprising: performing an aggregation algorithm corresponding one or more characteristics of the plurality of digital communications.
17. The method of claim 16, further comprising: performing an aggregation algorithm corresponding one or more characteristics of the plurality of digital messages.
26. (New) The method of claim 25, wherein the identifying the pattern further comprises: identifying the pattern associated with aggregated sentiment information based at least in part on corresponding second haptic information from the plurality of digital communications.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the identifying the pattern further comprises: identifying the pattern associated with aggregated sentiment information based at least in part on corresponding second haptic information from the plurality of digital messages.
27. (New) The method of claim 26, wherein each first device of the plurality of first devices is associated with a respective user and wherein each digital communication of the plurality of digital communications is triggered by the respective user.
22. The method of claim 18, wherein each first device of the plurality of first devices is associate with a respective user and wherein each digital message of the plurality of digital messages is triggered by the respective user.
28. (New) The method of claim 26, wherein the identifying the pattern further comprises: identifying the pattern associated with aggregated sentiment information based at least in part on corresponding metadata from the plurality of digital communications.
19. The method of claim 18, wherein the identifying the pattern further comprises: identifying the pattern associated with aggregated sentiment information based at least in part on corresponding metadata from the plurality of digital messages.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant et al. (Pub # US 2008/0287147 A1), and further in view of Phillips et al. (US Patent #10,346,541 B1).
Consider claim 1, Grant et al. teaches a method, comprising: detecting, at a first device associated with a transmitting entity, an indication to create a customized haptic communication message (Fig. 3); displaying via the first device, a field for entering sentiment information based at least in part on the detecting the indication [0019]; displaying, via the first device, a plurality of haptic indicators for selection, the plurality of haptic indicators associated with the sentiment information [0017-0018].
Grant et al. does not teach obtaining one or more selected haptic indicators from the plurality of haptic indicators; and generating the customized haptic communication messages an association between the sentiment information and the one or more selected haptic indicators and wherein the customized haptic communication comprises a haptic indication of the transmitting entity; and transmitting, to a second device associated with a receiving entity, the generated customized haptic communication that is configured to haptically indicate, to the receiving entity via the second device, the one or more selected haptic indicators and the haptic indication of the transmitting entity.
In the same field of endeavor, Phillips et al. teaches obtaining one or more selected haptic indicators from the plurality of haptic indicators; and generating the customized haptic communication messages an association between the sentiment information and the one or more selected haptic indicators and wherein the customized haptic communication comprises a haptic indication of the transmitting entity (Column 2 lines 31-40); and transmitting, to a second device associated with a receiving entity, the generated customized haptic communication that is configured to haptically indicate, to the receiving entity via the second device, the one or more selected haptic indicators and the haptic indication of the transmitting entity (Column 4 lines 22-43) for the benefit of express the emotional mood of the user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include obtaining one or more selected haptic indicators from the plurality of haptic indicators; and generating the customized haptic communication messages an association between the sentiment information and the one or more selected haptic indicators and wherein the customized haptic communication comprises a haptic indication of the transmitting entity and transmitting, to a second device associated with a receiving entity, the generated customized haptic communication that is configured to haptically indicate, to the receiving entity via the second device, the one or more selected haptic indicators and the haptic indication of the transmitting entity as shown in Phillips et al., in Grant et al. method for the benefit of express the emotional mood of the user.
Consider claim 2, Grant et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, further comprising: identifying, by the receiving entity, the transmitting entity from the customized haptic communication [0025].
Consider claim 3, Grant et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, wherein the customized haptic communication includes at least one of vibration, temperature (heat), thermal conductivity, and texture [0002].
Consider claim 4, Grant et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, wherein the sentiment information includes at least one of any communicable linguistic word, phrase, idiom, saying, exclamation, allegory, feeling, metaphor, inference, inuendo, intent, spirit of intent, meaning, expression, statement, announcement, slang, joke, witticism, quote, abbreviation, acronym, hyperbole, any form of figurative language, logogram in the form of a Hanzi, Kanji, Han, or Hangul character, image or text in the form of an emoji, meme, pictogram, or facial expressions, linguistic phonemes, and commands [0005, 0019, and 0020].
Consider claim 5, Grant et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, further comprising: displaying a plurality of timing indicators for selection, the plurality of timing indicators associated with the sentiment information; obtaining one or more selected timing indicators from the plurality of timing indicators; and generating the customized haptic communication as an association between the sentiment information and any combination of one or more selected timing and haptic indicators [0032-0033 and Claim 1].
Consider claim 6, Grant et al. teaches similar invention.
Grant et al. does not teach the method, further comprising: obtaining, via the field, textual information or an image corresponding to the sentiment information.
In the same field of endeavor, Phillips et al. teaches the method, further comprising: obtaining, via the field, textual information or an image corresponding to the sentiment information (Column 6 lines 39-61) for the benefit of capture the sentiment of the user at the particular moment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the method, further comprising: obtaining, via the field, textual information or an image corresponding to the sentiment information as shown in Phillips et al., in Gant et al. method for the benefit of capture the sentiment of the user at the particular moment.
Consider claim 7, Grant et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, wherein the one or more selected haptic indicators comprises at least one of a haptic rudiment or a configured haptic communication [0014].
Consider claim 8, Grant et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, further comprising: displaying the customized haptic communication for selecting to send to one or more contact indicators [0018].
Consider claim 9, Grant et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, wherein the haptic communication is configured to haptically and concurrently indicate, to the receiving entity via the second device, the one or more selected haptic indicators and the haptic indication of the transmitting entity [0025].
Consider claim 10, Grant er al. teaches a method for communication by a first device, comprising: obtaining customized sentiment information to be communicated to a second device associated with a receiving entity [0025]; determining first haptic information corresponding to a transmitting entity and second haptic information corresponding to the customized sentiment information [0019]; formatting a digital communication for transmission to the second device to include the first haptic information and the second haptic information [0014].
Grant et al. does not teach transmitting the digital communication to the second device associated with the receiving entity, wherein the digital communication is configured to haptically indicate, to the receiving entity via the second device, the first haptic information and the second haptic information; and determining, by the receiving entity, the identification of the transmitting entity responsive to transmitting the digital communication.
In the same field of endeavor, Phillips et al. teaches transmitting the digital communication to the second device associated with the receiving entity, wherein the digital communication is configured to haptically indicate, to the receiving entity via the second device(Column 2 lines 31-40), the first haptic information and the second haptic information; and determining, by the receiving entity, the identification of the transmitting entity responsive to transmitting the digital communication (Column 9 lines 28-47) for the benefit of identifying the transmitting user.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include transmitting the digital communication to the second device associated with the receiving entity, wherein the digital communication is configured to haptically indicate, to the receiving entity via the second device, the first haptic information and the second haptic information; and determining, by the receiving entity, the identification of the transmitting entity responsive to transmitting the digital communication as shown in Phillips et al., in Grant et al. method for the benefit of identifying the transmitting user.
Consider claim 11, Grant et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, wherein the digital communication is configured to haptically and concurrently indicate, to the receiving entity via the second device, the first haptic information and the second haptic information [0025].
Consider claim 12, Grant et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, wherein the customized haptic communication includes at least one of vibration, temperature (heat), thermal conductivity, and texture [0002].
Consider claim 13, Grant et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, wherein the customized sentiment information includes at least one of any communicable linguistic word, phrase, idiom, saying, exclamation, allegory, feeling, metaphor, inference, inuendo, intent, spirit of intent, meaning, expression, statement, announcement, slang, joke, witticism, quote, abbreviation, acronym, hyperbole, any form of figurative language, logogram in the form of a Hanzi, Kanji, Han, or Hangul character, image or text in the form of an emoji, meme, pictogram, or facial expressions, linguistic phonemes, and commands [0005, 0019, and 0020].
Consider claim 14, Grant et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, wherein the first haptic information corresponds to a haptic handle associated with the transmitting entity [0016].
Consider claim 15, Grant et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, wherein the second haptic information corresponds to a haptic communication created by the transmitting metaentity [0019].
Consider claim 16, Grant et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, wherein the formatting the digital communication for transmission comprises: formatting the digital communication for transmission to the second device to include the first haptic information in a first field and the second haptic information in a second field different from the first field (Fig. 2).
Consider claim 17, Grant et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, further comprising: formatting the digital communication for transmission to the second device to include metadata corresponding to at least one of the customized sentiment information, the first device, or the second device [0019].
Consider claim 19, Grant et al. teaches similar invention.
Grant et al. does not teach the method, further comprising: detecting, based at least on a sensor associated with the first device, a trigger for transmitting the digital communication to the second device.
In the same field of endeavor, Phillips et al. teaches the method, further comprising: detecting, based at least on a sensor associated with the first device, a trigger for transmitting the digital communication to the second device (Column 3 lines 58 to Column 4 lines 3) for the benefit of capture the environmental condition.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the method, further comprising: detecting, based at least on a sensor associated with the first device, a trigger for transmitting the digital communication to the second device as shown in Phillips et al., in Grant et al. method for the benefit of capture the environmental condition.
Claims 22-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips et al. (US Patent #10,346,541 B1), and further in view of Moskowitz (Pub # US 2008/0287147 A1).
Consider claim 22, Phillips et al. teaches a method for communication by a server, comprising: receiving, from a plurality of first devices associated with a plurality of transmitting entities, a plurality of digital communications, wherein each of the plurality of digital communications comprises customized sentiment information to be communicated to a second device associated with a receiving entity (Fig. 2) (Column 2 lines 31-40); determining, for each of the plurality of digital communications, a first haptic information corresponding to a transmitting entity of the plurality of transmitting entities and second haptic information corresponding to the customized sentiment information (Column 7 lines 34-46); formatting a second digital communication for transmission to the second device to include third haptic information corresponding to the aggregated customized sentiment information; and transmitting the second digital communication to the second device associated with the receiving entity, wherein the second digital communication is configured to haptically indicate, to the receiving entity via the second device, the aggregated customized sentiment information; and determining, by the receiving entity, the identification of the transmitting entity responsive to transmitting the aggregated customized sentiment information (Fig. 8 and Fig. 9).
Phillips et al. does not teach identifying a pattern associated with aggregated customized sentiment information from the plurality of digital communications.
In the same field of endeavor, Moskowitz teaches identifying a pattern associated with aggregated customized sentiment information from the plurality of digital communications [0074] for the benefit of identifying trends in order to improve performance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include identifying a pattern associated with aggregated customized sentiment information from the plurality of digital communications as shown in Moskowitz, in Phillips et al. method for the benefit of identifying trends in order to improve performance.
Consider claim 23, Phillips et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, wherein the plurality of digital communications include at least one of vibration, pressure, temperature, sheer, thermal conductivity, texture, shape, stiffness, and pain (Column 6 lines 39-60).
Consider claim 24, Phillips et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, wherein the customized sentiment information includes at least one of any communicable linguistic word, phrase, idiom, saying, exclamation, allegory, feeling, metaphor, inference, inuendo, intent, spirit of intent, meaning, expression, statement, announcement, slang, joke, witticism, quote, abbreviation, acronym, hyperbole, any form of figurative language, logogram in the form of a Hanzi, Kanji, Han, or Hangul character, image or text in the form of an emoji, meme, pictogram, or facial expressions, linguistic phonemes, and commands (Fig. 8-10).
Consider claim 25, Phillips et al. clearly show and disclose the method, further comprising: performing an aggregation algorithm corresponding one or more characteristics of the plurality of digital communications (Column 9 lines 15-27).
Consider claim 26, Phillips et al. teaches similar invention.
Phillips et al. does not teach the method, wherein the identifying the pattern further comprises: identifying the pattern associated with aggregated sentiment information based at least in part on corresponding second haptic information from the plurality of digital communications.
In the same field of endeavor, Moskowitz teaches wherein the identifying the pattern further comprises: identifying the pattern associated with aggregated sentiment information based at least in part on corresponding second haptic information from the plurality of digital communications [0014] for the benefit of predict the trend for future improvement.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the identifying the pattern further comprises: identifying the pattern associated with aggregated sentiment information based at least in part on corresponding second haptic information from the plurality of digital communications as shown in Moskowitz, in Phillips et al. method for the benefit of predict the trend for future improvement.
Consider claim 27, Phillips et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, wherein each first device of the plurality of first devices is associated with a respective user and wherein each digital communication of the plurality of digital communications is triggered by the respective user (Column 3 lines 3-14).
Consider claim 28, Phillips et al. teaches similar invention.
Phillips et al. does not teach the method, wherein the identifying the pattern further comprises: identifying the pattern associated with aggregated sentiment information based at least in part on corresponding metadata from the plurality of digital communications.
In the same field of endeavor, Moskowitz teaches wherein the identifying the pattern further comprises: identifying the pattern associated with aggregated sentiment information based at least in part on corresponding metadata from the plurality of digital communications [0066] for the benefit of identifying trends for the future improvement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18, 20, 21, objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JACK K WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2687