DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 12, 13, 16-25 have been considered but are moot for the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 13, 16-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narita (US 2016/0205281 A1 in view of Sawayanagi et al. (Sawayanagi) (US 2014/0218765 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Narita discloses an image forming apparatus (e.g., image forming apparatus, figure 1) comprising:
at least one memory that stores a set of instructions and at least one processor (e.g., ROM 107, Storage Unit 108, figure 1) that executes the instructions to:
register, as a registered sheet type, any of a plurality of sheet types that are selectable for the image forming apparatus (e.g., FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example of sheet type registration using sheet type detection method. FIG. 3 illustrates the operation of, in the state where sheet setting information (the sheet type) of a cassette of the image forming apparatus 101 is unregistered, detecting a sheet type while performing a print job and registering the detected sheet type, paragraph 29);
perform control to emit light via the at least one light-emitter in a first manner in a case in which a print instruction, which uses a sheet type that is different from the registered sheet type and is any of the plurality of sheet types, is received (e.g., The sheet type detection sensor 709 is a sensor for detecting the thickness (basis weight) of a sheet and the roughness (surface property) of a sheet. When sheet type detection is performed, a sheet is fed from one of the sheet cassettes 703. Then, the sheet is temporarily stopped at the position of the sheet type detection sensor 709, and a sheet type is detected, paragraph 28); and
perform control to emit light via the at least one light-emitter in a second manner that is visually different from the first manner in a case in which a print instruction, which uses a sheet type that is different from the registered sheet type and is other than the plurality of sheet types, is received, wherein, in a case in which a sheet type specified to be used for printing by the received print instruction is a sheet type that is different from the registered sheet type, the at least one light-emitter is controlled differently to emit light in the first manner or in the second manner, depending on whether the sheet type specified to be used for printing is included in the plurality of sheet types that are selectable for the image forming apparatus (e.g., the sheet type detection sensor 709 includes an optical detection unit and an ultrasonic wave detection unit. The sheet type detection sensor 709 emits light on the front side of the sheet to determine the surface property from a signal of the reflected light, and applies ultrasonic waves from the front side of the sheet to determine the basis weight from a signal received on the back side of the sheet, paragraph 28).
Narita does not specifically disclose at least one light-emitter that notifies a user of a status of the image forming apparatus by lighting or blinking.
Sawayanagi discloses at least one light-emitter that notifies a user of a status of the image forming apparatus by lighting or blinking (e.g., The image forming apparatus includes a visible light output unit outputting information stored in the image forming apparatus through visible light communication using the light emitter, and an output control unit controlling operation of the visible light output unit. The information terminal includes a light receiver, and an information acquisition unit acquiring visible light communication information based on information obtained by receiving visible light with the light receiver. When the information acquisition unit is operative in the information terminal, the information acquisition unit gives a light emission communication start request to the output control unit by communicating with the image forming apparatus through the normal communication. When the light emission communication start request is received from the information acquisition unit and the visible light output unit is stopping output of information using the light emitter, the output control unit allows execution of output of information using the light emitter, paragraph 19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Narita to include at least one light-emitter that notifies a user of a status of the image forming apparatus by lighting or blinking as taught by Sawayanagi. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Narita by the teaching of Sawayanagi to provide an image forming system with low power consumption and with high convenience.
Regarding claim 13, Narita discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of sheet types is changeable based on a user operation received by an external device that communicates with the image forming apparatus (e.g., FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example of sheet type registration using sheet type detection method. FIG. 3 illustrates the operation of, in the state where sheet setting information (the sheet type) of a cassette of the image forming apparatus 101 is unregistered, detecting a sheet type while performing a print job and registering the detected sheet type, paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 16, Narita discloses wherein the first manner is a manner in which the at least one light emitter blinks at a first cycle (e.g., The sheet type detection sensor 709 includes an optical detection unit (which is at a first cycle, paragraph 28), and the second manner is a manner in which the at least one light emitter blinks at a second cycle different from the first cycle (e.g., the sheet type detection sensor 709 includes an ultrasonic wave detection unit (which is a second cycle different from the first cycle), paragraph 28).
Regarding claim 17, Narita discloses wherein the at least one processor executes the instructions to: change a sheet type registered as the registered sheet type upon receiving a predetermined operation from a user in a case in which the at least one light-emitter is controlled to emit light in the first manner (e.g., Pieces of sheet setting information 202, 203, and 204 indicate the states of sheet setting information set for the cassettes in respective states. In the sheet setting information 202, A4 is registered as the sheet size of a cassette 1, and the result of automatic detection is set as the sheet type of the cassette 1. In this case, plain paper, which is the previous detection result, has been registered. Then, after the cassette 1 is opened and closed to replace the sheet, the sheet setting information changes to the sheet setting information 203, paragraph 29), and
not change the sheet type registered as the registered sheet type upon receiving the predetermined operation from a user in a case in which the at least one light-emitter is controlled to emit light in the second manner (e.g., FIG. 3 illustrates the operation of, in the state where sheet setting information (the sheet type) of a cassette of the image forming apparatus 101 is unregistered, detecting a sheet type while performing a print job and registering the detected sheet type, paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 18, Narita discloses wherein the plurality of sheet types are sheet sizes different from each other (e.g., each of the sheet presence/absence sensors 701 is a sensor for detecting the presence or absence of a sheet placed in the sheet cassette 703. Each of the sheet size detection sensors 710 is a sensor for detecting the size of a sheet placed in the sheet cassette 703, paragraph 27).
Regarding claim 19, Narita discloses wherein the at least one processor executes the instructions to register, as the registered sheet type, a sheet type selected from among the plurality of sheet types by a user operation (e.g., The sheet type detection sensor 709 is a sensor for detecting the thickness (basis weight) of a sheet and the roughness (surface property) of a sheet. When sheet type detection is performed, a sheet is fed from one of the sheet cassettes 703. Then, the sheet is temporarily stopped at the position of the sheet type detection sensor 709, and a sheet type is detected, paragraph 28).
Regarding claim 20, Narita discloses wherein the at least one processor executes the instructions to register any of the plurality of sheet types as the registered sheet type in association with a sheet feeder in which sheets to be fed are loaded (e.g., the manual registration method refers to a method in which die user selects a sheet size and a sheet type from a list of setting items in a sheet setting screen displayed on an operation unit 105 (described below) illustrated in FIG. 1, and sets and registers the sheet size and the sheet type. The automatic registration method refers to a method in which the image forming apparatus automatically detects a sheet size and a sheet type using a sheet size detection sensor 710 and a sheet type detection sensor 709 (each described below) illustrated in FIG. 2 and registers the sheet size and the sheet type, paragraph 18).
Regarding claim 21, Narita discloses wherein the at least one processor executes the instructions to register any of the plurality of sheet types as the registered sheet type in association with each of a plurality of sheet feeders in which sheets to be fed are loaded (e.g., The automatic registration method refers to a method in which the image forming apparatus automatically detects a sheet size and a sheet type using a sheet size detection sensor 710 and a sheet type detection sensor 709 (each described below) illustrated in FIG. 2 and registers the sheet size and the sheet type, paragraph 18).
Regarding claim 22, Narita discloses wherein a detector for automatically detecting a size of sheets loaded in a sheet feeder is not provided (e.g., The setting value of each of the sheet size and the sheet type is registered by a manual registration method, in which a registration is performed by a user, paragraph 18).
Regarding claim 23, Narita discloses wherein the at least one light-emitter includes a plurality of light-emitters, wherein the plurality of light-emitters correspond to the plurality of sheet types, respectively (e.g., The sheet type detection sensor 709 includes an optical detection unit and an ultrasonic wave detection unit, paragraph 28), and
wherein the at least one processor executes the instructions, in the case in which a print instruction, which uses a sheet type that is different from the registered sheet type and is any of the plurality of sheet types (e.g., The printing unit 104 can detect the sheet size of the paper medium in the state where the paper medium is set. The printing unit 104 can detect the sheet type (plain paper or thick paper) of the paper medium when the paper medium is conveyed. The image forming apparatus 101 includes an operation unit 105. The operation unit 105 includes a user interface such as a key and a display panel and receives an operation request from the user. The image forming apparatus 101 includes a central processing unit (CPU) 106, a read-only memory (ROM) 107, and a storage unit 108, paragraph 21, figure 1), is received, to:
cause one of the plurality of light-emitters corresponding to the registered sheet type to emit light in a first light-emission mode (e.g., The sheet type detection sensor 709 includes an optical detection unit, and the sheet type detection sensor 709 emits light on the front side of the sheet to determine the surface property from a signal of the reflected light, paragraph 28), and
cause one of the plurality of light-emitters corresponding to a sheet type specified to be used for printing by the print instruction to emit light in a second light- emission mode different from the first light-emission mode (e.g., the sheet type detection sensor 709 includes an ultrasonic wave detection unit and applies ultrasonic waves from the front side of the sheet to determine the basis weight from a signal received on the back side of the sheet, paragraph 28).
Regarding claim 24, claim 24 is a control method for an image forming apparatus claim with limitations similar of limitations of claim 12. Therefore, claim 24 is rejected as set forth above as claim 12.
Regarding claim 25, claim 25 is a non-transitory computer-readable medium claim with limitations similar of limitations of claim 12. Therefore, claim 25 is rejected as set forth above as claim 12.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUANG N VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683