DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 04/23/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1, and 13-31 are currently pending. Claims 2-12 are cancelled.
Claims 21-31 are new.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 04/23/2026.
Additionally, claim 1 is withdrawn as it is directed to a non-elected invention.
Newly submitted claims 22-31 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: the washer and dryer appliances can perform other methods such as being used for storage.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 22-31 withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 refers to a fault condition, but provides no further clarity as to what a fault condition is. For the purpose of examination, Examiner is determining that a fault condition of a dryer appliance is whether or not a dryer appliance is running an operation.
Claims 14-21 are rejected under 112(b) due to dependency on claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. U.S. Publication 2022/0186419 (henceforth referred to as Choi).
As to claim 13, (Original) Choi teaches a computer-implemented method for operating a washer appliance, the method comprising:
determining, at a dryer appliance, a fault condition at the dryer appliance (FIG. 4 paragraphs [0084] and [0091] At step S151, the operation states of the upper treatment device 100 (being the drying machine) is determined);
transmitting, from the dryer appliance to the washer appliance, a communications signal corresponding to the fault condition at the dryer appliance (paragraph [0090] the step S150 of determining the washing course according to the operation states of the upper treatment device 100 may be classified into a first step S151. Since the washing course is dependent upon the operational state of the dryer, there is information being transmitted between the dryer appliance and the washer appliance.); and
adjusting, at the washer appliance, a washer mode based on the communications signal (FIGS. 4-7 paragraphs [0098]-[0100] and [0111] and [0122] when the lower controller 272 determines that the drying course of the upper treatment device 100 and the washing course of the lower treatment device 200 overlap each other in operation, the setting of the washing course can be changed. Excluding the use of a tub heater, delaying a washing course until steam setting is stopped, and/or operating power-saving mode of the driver all read on the claimed adjusting of a washer mode).
As to claim 15, (Original) Choi further teaches determining the fault condition at the dryer appliance comprises determining an operational state at a heater system (FIGS. 5-7 paragraphs [0106]-[0108] and [0119]-[0122] It can be determined whether or not the steam generator 190 or the heat exchanger 150 is operating during the drying course).
As to claim 19, (Original) Choi further teaches adjusting, at the dryer appliance, a dryer mode based on transmitting the communications signal to the washer appliance (paragraph [0153] the upper treatment device 100 (the drying machine), may switch the operation of the heat exchanger 150 to a power-saving drying course during the drying course. Changing the operation of the heat exchanger during the drying course reads on the claimed adjusting a dryer mode).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. U.S. Publication 2022/0186419 (henceforth referred to as Choi) in view of Wang et al. CN104674501 (henceforth referred to as Wang).
As to claim 14, (Original) Choi differs from the instant claim in failing to teach communicatively coupling the dryer appliance to the washer appliance, wherein communicatively coupling the dryer appliance to the washer appliance comprises communicatively coupling the first communications device of the washer appliance to the second communications device of the dryer appliance.
Wang teaches a washer and dryer appliance (FIG. 1 paragraph [0034] washing subsystem 10 and drying subsystem 20). Wang teaches communicatively coupling the dryer appliance to the washer appliance, wherein communicatively coupling the dryer appliance to the washer appliance comprises communicatively coupling the first communications device of the washer appliance to the second communications device of the dryer appliance (FIG. 1 paragraphs [0034]-[0035] the washing subsystem 10 has a first wireless communication module 101 and the drying subsystem 20 has a second wireless communication module 201. The first wireless communication module 101 and the second communication module 201 can communicate with each other.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as taught by Choi with communication devices as taught by Wang. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use communication devices in order to send/receive relevant information about the items to be washed as it would allow for the dryer to use the information to set parameters to improve the drying efficiency of the drying subsystem (paragraphs [0010]-[0011]).
As to claim 21, (New) Wang further teaches communicatively coupling the dryer appliance to the washer appliance comprises communicatively coupling the first communications device of the washer appliance to the second communications device of the dryer appliance via a short range communications device configured to permit direct wireless communication between one another (paragraph [0035] the wireless communication modules communicate with each other through wireless transmission technologies such as Bluetooth and infrared).
As to claim 20, (Original) Choi differs from the instant claim in failing to teach adjusting the dryer mode comprises adjusting a period of time of a tumble cycle at the dryer appliance.
Wang teaches a washer and dryer appliance (FIG. 1 paragraph [0034] washing subsystem 10 and drying subsystem 20). Wang teaches adjusting the dryer mode comprises adjusting a period of time of a tumble cycle at the dryer appliance (paragraph [0037] the computer version of the clothes dryer intelligently adjusts the time parameters of the clothes drying program to perform the clothes drying action).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as taught by Choi with way to adjust the period of time of a tumble cycle as taught by Wang as it can improve the drying efficiency as well as the energy efficiency of the drying subsystem (paragraph [0047]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. U.S. Publication 2022/0186419 (henceforth referred to as Choi) in view of Green et al. U.S. Publication 2004/0261286 (henceforth referred to as Green).
As to claim 16, (Original) Choi differs from the instant claim in failing to teach determining the operational state at the heater system comprises determining a temperature after commanding heat generation at the heater system.
Green teaches a dryer apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0025] clothes dryer appliance). Green teaches determining the operational state at the heater system comprises determining a temperature after commanding heat generation at the heater system (FIG. 11 paragraph [0049] The heater monitor process 110 works with the dry process 100 to monitor the temperature when the heater is turned on to determine whether the heater is working or the heater control thermostat has tripped.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as taught by Choi with a way to determine the operational state of the heater system as taught by Green. It is known in the art to monitor the heater system to determine whether the heater is working (paragraph [0049]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. U.S. Publication 2022/0186419 (henceforth referred to as Choi) in view of Yoo KR20050114785 (henceforth referred to as Yoo).
As to claim 17, (Original) Choi differs from the instant claim in failing to teach determining the operational state at the heater system comprises determining an ignition status after commanding heat generation at the heater system.
Yoo teaches a dryer apparatus (FIG. 1 page 6 drying device). Yoo teaches determining the operational state at the heater system comprises determining an ignition status after commanding heat generation at the heater system (page 8 a first step of igniting to drive the heater, a second step of detecting the ignition state to see if ignition has occurred after a predetermined time has elapsed since ignition, a third step of reconfirming the ignition state to determine whether an error has occurred).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as taught by Choi with a way to determine the ignition status as taught by Yoo as it can help prevent gas leaks by stopping operation of the dryer (page 7).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. U.S. Publication 2022/0186419 (henceforth referred to as Choi) in view of Kim et al. U.S. Publication 2012/0192450 (henceforth referred to as Kim).
As to claim 18, (Original) Choi differs from the instant claim in failing to teach adjusting the washer mode based on the communications signal comprises one or more of adjusting a period of time of a spin cycle, limiting a load size at the washer appliance, or limiting a wash cycle type at the washer appliance.
Kim teaches a washing machine (paragraph [0067] a power management apparatus including a washing machine). Kim teaches adjusting the washer mode based on the communications signal comprises one or more of adjusting a period of time of a spin cycle (paragraphs [0155]-[0159] the washing machine 400 will determine a drying operation execution time, and confirm the power rates corresponding to the drying operation execution time (605). If the drying operation execution time includes a time period corresponding to power rates higher than the standard power rates (606), the washing machine 400 may adjust the final spinning mode algorithm. FIG. 4 Paragraph [0030] adjusting the final spinning mode algorithm may include extending a final spinning time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as taught by Choi with a way to adjust a period of time of a spin cycle as taught by Kim. By extending the predetermined time, more water can be discharged from the washed clothes (paragraph [0163]) which would put less of a load on the dryer.
Conclusion
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711