DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12, 15-17, 19, 21-28, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABDELGHAFFAR et al (US 2024/0236857) in view of MALEKI et al (US 2024/0284233) further in view of OUCHI et al (US 2022/0132564)
Regarding claim 1, 15, ABDELGHAFFAR et al (US 2024/0236857) discloses a wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to:
receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating configuration parameters of:
a first number of channel state information (CSI) reference signals (CSI-RSs) of a cell (ABDELGHAFFAR: ¶85, ¶90, ¶94, ¶57, RRC messages is received by the UE to configure for a number of CSI-RSs);
during a network non-energy-saving state of the cell, receive via the cell:
the first number of the CSI-RSs (ABDELGHAFFAR: ¶85, ¶90, ¶94, ¶57, receiving, from the base station, and measuring the CSI-RSs as configured by the RRC configuration signal in a default mode, a non-reduced number (first number) of CSI-RSs);
receive a downlink control information (DCI) comprising an energy saving indication indicating a transition of the cell from a non-energy-saving state to an energy saving state (ABDELGHAFFAR: ¶85, ¶92, ¶90, ¶94, ¶57, ¶105, Fig 4, DCI is received, from the base station, with an indication that an energy saving mode is activated (mode is switched from default to energy saving state) in which a reduced number of CSI-RSs are transmitted at the base station/gNB (equivalent to a transition to an energy saving state of the base station (cell of the base station)));
based on receiving the control information and during the energy saving state:
stop receiving a second number of CSI-RSs of the first number of the CSI-RSs (ABDELGHAFFAR: ¶85, ¶92, ¶90, ¶94, ¶57, ¶126, base station stops transmitting and UE stops receiving a subset excluding the activated subset (equivalent second number) of antenna ports/CSI-RSs); and
receive a third number of CSI-RSs of the first number of the CSI-RSs (ABDELGHAFFAR: ¶83, ¶85, ¶92, ¶90, ¶94, ¶57, ¶126, only some (subset) of the total CSI-RS are activated at the base station/eNB and received by the UE saving power at both the UE and the cell/eNB); and
transmit a CSI report obtained based on the third number of CSI-RSs (ABDELGHAFFAR: ¶83, ¶85, ¶92, ¶90, ¶94, ¶57, ¶126, reporting to and received by, a base station, only a subset of periodic CSI-RSs).
ABDELGHAFFAR remains silent regarding one or more RRC messages comprises configuration parameters of one or more synchronization signal (SS) blocks (SSBs) of the cell; receiving the SSBs via the cell and during a network non-energy saving state of the cell; and during the network energy saving state, continuing to receive the SSBs.
However, MALEKI et al (US 2024/0284233) discloses one or more RRC messages comprises configuration parameters of one or more synchronization signal (SS) blocks (SSBs) of the cell (MALEKI: ¶169, ¶182, an RRC configuration indicating SSB time window for the UE/wireless device; this includes the configuration of the SSBs 60); receiving the SSBs via the cell and during a network non-energy saving state of the cell (MALEKI: ¶169, receiving SSBs 60 for the UE/wireless device in a default mode where all the ports are active); and during the network energy saving state, continuing to receive the SSBs (MALEKI: ¶169, receiving SSBs 60 for the UE/wireless device in an energy saving mode where all the ports are not active).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of ABDELGHAFFAR would have been motivated to use the teachings of MALEKI as it provides a way to reduce “…energy consumption associated with operating network equipment, such as network nodes…” (¶19) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of ABDELGHAFFAR with teachings of MALEKI in order to improve energy conservation in the network node.
ABDELGHAFFAR modified by MALEKI remains silent regarding the CSI-RS being P-CSI-RSs, and DCI format is received via type 3 common search space.
However, OUCHI et al US 2022/0132564 discloses the CSI-RS being P-CSI-RSs (OUCHI: ¶412,¶217, CSI-RS are periodic CSI-RSs) , and DCI format is received via type 3 common search space (OUCHI: ¶217, type 3 common search space may be used for a DCI transmission).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of ABDELGHAFFAR modified by MALEKI would have been motivated to use the teachings of OUCHI as it provides a way to use standard type of DCI improving signaling compatibility and a periodic CSI RS for more predictable schedule at both ends thereby reducing overhead signaling required between the gNB and UEs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of ABDELGHAFFAR modified by MALEKI with teachings of OUCHI in order to improve compatibility, standard compliance and resource conservation.
Regarding claim 8, ABDELGHAFFAR discloses a base station comprising:
one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the base station to:
transmit to a wireless device, one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating configuration parameters of a first number of channel state information (CSI) reference signals (CSI-RSs) of a cell (ABDELGHAFFAR: ¶85, ¶90, ¶94, ¶57, RRC messages is received by the UE to configure for a number of CSI-RSs; transmitting, by the base station, and measuring at the UE, the CSI-RSs as configured by the RRC configuration signal in a default mode, a non-reduced number (first number) of CSI-RSs);
transmit, to the wireless device via the cell, the CSI-RSs (ABDELGHAFFAR: ¶85, ¶90, ¶94, ¶57, receiving, from the base station at the UE, and the CSI-RSs as configured by the RRC configuration signal in a default mode, a non-reduced number (first number) of CSI-RSs):
transmit, to the wireless device, a control information comprising an energy saving indication indicating a transition of the cell from a non-energy-saving state to an energy saving state (ABDELGHAFFAR: ¶85, ¶92, ¶90, ¶94, ¶57, ¶113, ¶105, ¶118, ¶223, Fig. 4, control information is transmitted, from the base station, with an indication that not all of the antenna ports associated with the respective CSI-RSs are activated (equivalent to a transition to an energy saving state of the base station (cell of the base station)));
based on transmitting the control information and during the energy saving state:
stop transmitting, to the wireless device, a second number of CSI-RSs of the first number of the CSI-RSs (ABDELGHAFFAR: ¶85, ¶92, ¶90, ¶94, ¶57, ¶126, base station stops transmitting and UE stops receiving a subset excluding the activated subset (equivalent second number) of antenna ports/CSI-RSs); and
transmit, to the wireless device, a third number of CSI-RSs of the first number of the CSI-RSs (ABDELGHAFFAR: ¶83, ¶85, ¶92, ¶90, ¶94, ¶57, ¶126, only some (subset) of the total CSI-RS are activated at the base station/eNB i.e. transmitted by it, and received by the UE saving power at both the UE and the cell/eNB); and receive, from the wireless device, a CSI report obtained based on the third number of P-CSI-RSs (ABDELGHAFFAR: ¶83, ¶85, ¶92, ¶90, ¶94, ¶57, ¶126, reporting to and received by, a base station, only a subset of periodic CSI-RSs).
ABDELGHAFFAR remains silent regarding one or more RRC messages comprises configuration parameters of one or more synchronization signal (SS) blocks (SSBs) of the cell; transmitting the SSBs via the cell and during a network non-energy saving state of the cell; and during the network energy saving state, continuing to transmit the SSBs.
However, MALEKI et al (US 2024/0284233) discloses one or more RRC messages comprises configuration parameters of one or more synchronization signal (SS) blocks (SSBs) of the cell (MALEKI: ¶169, ¶182, an RRC configuration indicating SSB time window for the UE/wireless device; this includes the configuration of the SSBs 60); transmitting the SSBs via the cell and during a network non-energy saving state of the cell (MALEKI: ¶169, transmitting at the network node, SSBs 60 for the UE/wireless device in a default mode where all the ports of the network node are active); and during the network energy saving state, continuing to receive the SSBs (MALEKI: ¶169, transmitting SSBs 60 for the UE/wireless device in an energy saving mode where all the ports are not active).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of ABDELGHAFFAR would have been motivated to use the teachings of MALEKI as it provides a way to reduce “…energy consumption associated with operating network equipment, such as network nodes…” (¶19) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of ABDELGHAFFAR with teachings of MALEKI in order to improve energy conservation in the network node.
ABDELGHAFFAR modified by MALEKI remains silent regarding the CSI-RS being P-CSI-RSs, and DCI format is received via type 3 common search space.
However, OUCHI et al US 2022/0132564 discloses the CSI-RS being P-CSI-RSs (OUCHI: ¶412,¶217, CSI-RS are periodic CSI-RSs) , and DCI format is received via type 3 common search space (OUCHI: ¶217, type 3 common search space may be used for a DCI transmission).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of ABDELGHAFFAR modified by MALEKI would have been motivated to use the teachings of OUCHI as it provides a way to use standard type of DCI improving signaling compatibility and a periodic CSI RS for more predictable schedule at both ends thereby reducing overhead signaling required between the gNB and UEs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of ABDELGHAFFAR modified by MALEKI with teachings of OUCHI in order to improve compatibility, standard compliance and resource conservation.
Regarding claim 2, 9, 16, ABDELGHAFFAR modified by MALEKI modified by OUCHI discloses wireless device of claim 1/8/15, wherein the DCI indicates a second number of P-CSI-RSs are switched off from the first number of P-CSI-RSs (ABDELGHAFFAR: ¶88, the number of deactivated CSI-RSs and hence the periodic (OUCHI: ¶412,) CRI-RSs are indicated by the control information).
Regarding claim 3, 10, 17, ABDELGHAFFAR modified by MALEKI modified by OUCHI discloses wireless device of claim 1/8/15, wherein the third number of P-CSI-RSs does not comprise any RS resource of the second number of P-CSI-RSs (ABDELGHAFFAR: ¶88, ¶90, activated and deactivated CSI-RSs as two separate subsets i.e. a number of RS resources are “turned off”).
Regarding claim 5, 12, 19, ABDELGHAFFAR modified by MALEKI modified by OUCHI discloses wireless device of claim 1/8/15, wherein the one or more RRC messages configure the third number of P-CSI-RSs of the first number of P-CSI-RSs (ABDELGHAFFAR: ¶85, activated and deactivated CSI-RSs as two separate subsets and are configured by an RRC message).
Regarding claim 21, ABDELGHAFFAR modified by MALEKI modified by OUCHI discloses wireless device of claim 1, wherein:
the cell is a cell of a base station; and during the network energy saving state, the base station stops transmitting the second number of the P-CSI-RSs on the cell and transmits the third number of the P-CSI-RSs on the cell (ABDELGHAFFAR: ¶57, a cell of a base station; the CSI-RSs are transmitted and stopped transmitting on the cell).
Regarding claim 22, ABDELGHAFFAR modified by MALEKI modified by OUCHI discloses base station of claim 8, wherein: the transmitting the DCI is to a group of wireless devices in the cell; the group of wireless devices comprises the wireless device; and the DCI is a group common DCI (ABDELGHAFFAR: ¶99, group of specific UEs).
Regarding claim 23, ABDELGHAFFAR modified by MALEKI modified by OUCHI discloses non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein: the cell is a cell of a base station; and during the network energy saving state, the base station stops transmitting the second number of the P-CSI-RSs on the cell and transmits the third number of the P-CSI-RSs on the cell (ABDELGHAFFAR: ¶57, a cell of a base station; the CSI-RSs are transmitted and stopped transmitting on the cell).
Regarding claim 24, ABDELGHAFFAR modified by MALEKI modified by OUCHI discloses wireless device of claim 1, wherein: the one or more configuration parameters comprise transmission parameters of the SSBs; and the SSBs are received based on the same transmission parameters during the energy saving state and the network non-energy-saving state of the cell (MALEKI: Fig. 6 and ¶169, the minimum SSBs that are transmitted are SSBs 60s in the first set which are transmitted in lower power states and higher power states of the network node).
Regarding claim 25, ABDELGHAFFAR modified by MALEKI modified by OUCHI discloses wireless device of claim 24, wherein the transmission parameters indicate at least one of: a periodicity of the SSBs; a number of the SSBs; or transmission power of the SSBs (MALEKI: ¶182, periodicity is configured for the SSB).
Regarding claim 26, ABDELGHAFFAR modified by MALEKI modified by OUCHI discloses base station of claim 8, wherein: the one or more configuration parameters indicate transmission parameters of the SSBs; and the SSBs are transmitted based on the same transmission parameters during the energy saving state and the network non-energy-saving state of the cell (MALEKI: Fig. 6 and ¶169, the minimum SSBs that are transmitted are SSBs 60s in the first set which are transmitted in lower power states and higher power states of the network node).
Regarding claim 27, ABDELGHAFFAR modified by MALEKI modified by OUCHI discloses base station of claim 26, wherein the transmission parameters indicate at least one of: a periodicity of the SSBs; a number of the SSBs; or transmission power of the SSBs (MALEKI: ¶182, periodicity is configured for the SSB).
Regarding claim 28, ABDELGHAFFAR modified by MALEKI modified by OUCHI discloses non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein: the one or more configuration parameters indicate transmission parameters of the SSBs; and the SSBs are received based on the same transmission parameters during the energy saving state and the network non-energy-saving state of the cell (MALEKI: Fig. 6 and ¶169, the minimum SSBs that are transmitted are SSBs 60s in the first set which are transmitted in lower power states and higher power states of the network node).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/5/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue,
“
…
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above arguments. Applicants take a position that, “…during the network energy saving state: continue to receive the SSB”… Although ABDELGHAFFAR discloses the different energy states, it remains silent regarding one or more RRC messages comprises configuration parameters of one or more synchronization signal (SS) blocks (SSBs) of the cell; receiving the SSBs via the cell and during a network non-energy saving state of the cell; and during the network energy saving state, continuing to receive the SSBs.
However, newly cited reference, MALEKI et al (US 2024/0284233),discloses one or more RRC messages comprises configuration parameters of one or more synchronization signal (SS) blocks (SSBs) of the cell (MALEKI: ¶169, ¶182, an RRC configuration indicating SSB time window for the UE/wireless device; this includes the configuration of the SSBs 60); receiving the SSBs via the cell and during a network non-energy saving state of the cell (MALEKI: ¶169, receiving SSBs 60 for the UE/wireless device in a default mode where all the ports are active); and during the network energy saving state, continuing to receive the SSBs (MALEKI: ¶169, receiving SSBs 60 for the UE/wireless device in an energy saving mode where all the ports are not active).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of ABDELGHAFFAR would have been motivated to use the teachings of MALEKI as it provides a way to reduce “…energy consumption associated with operating network equipment, such as network nodes…” (¶19) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of ABDELGHAFFAR with teachings of MALEKI in order to improve energy conservation in the network node.
Applicants argue,
“
”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above arguments. ABDELGHAFFAR expressly discloses that a DCI is used to transmitted energy saving indication in at least ¶99.
[0099] In some cases, base station 105-a may transmit the message indicating the selected energy saving mode to a specific UE 115 (e.g., via a UE-specific message such as MAC-CE or DCI), or to multiple UEs 115, such as to each UE 115 served by base station 105-a, or to a group of specific UEs 115, such as a group of UEs 115 in a zone. Base station 105-a may transmit the energy mode indication via a broadcast message (e.g., SIB), or via a group-based message (e.g., group common (GC) DCI (GC-DCI).
OUCHI is not relied upon to teach this feature, and is relied upon to teach which format can DCI be sent in. OUCHI, in ¶217, discloses type 3 PDCCH common search space can be used to send the DCI.
[0217] The type 3 PDCCH common search space may be used for a DCI format that carries a CRC sequence scrambled with a Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI). The C-RNTI may be given based at least on the PDSCH (which may also be referred to as a random access message 4, message 4 (Msg4), or contention resolution) that is scheduled by the DCI format carrying the CRC sequence scrambled with the TC-RNTI. The type 3 PDCCH common search space may be a search space set given in a case that a higher layer parameter SearchSpaceType is set to ‘common’.
Also, OUCHI is not relied upon to teach that based on the energy saving state, stop receiving CSI-RSs. This is taught by ABDELGHAFFAR in the cited portions including ¶105:
[0105] Accordingly, a wireless network device may switch from a default energy saving mode (e.g., E0 with reference to FIG. 2) to a first energy saving mode (e.g., E1 with reference to FIG. 2). Accordingly, the wireless network device may reduce the number of antenna panels 305 the wireless network device is using from four to two antenna panels 305. For example, the wireless network device may deactivate antenna panels 305-c and 305-d. In accordance with the CSI configuration associated with the first energy saving mode, the wireless network device may reduce the number of CSI-RS ports from 32 to 16 based on reducing the number of antenna panels 305 from four to two. The wireless network device may indicate to one or more UEs that the wireless network device switched to the first energy saving mode, and in some cases, may indicate that panels 305-a and 305b>-b are active, and/or that panels 305-c and 305-d are inactive. Based on the indication of the activate (or inactive) panels, the one or more UEs may identify the CSI-RS ports and/or CSI-RS resources that are active for monitoring CSI-RSs and transmitting a feedback report. For example, a UE may determine that a first CSI-RS resource and a second CSI-RS resources are active based on panels 305-a and 305-b being active (e.g., CSI-RS set={CSI-RSID1, CIS-RSID2} may be mapped to panels 305-a, and 305-b, respectively).
ABDELGHAFFAR remain silent regarding the CSI-RS being periodic. For teaching this feature, OUCHI is relied upon.
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of ABDELGHAFFAR modified by MALEKI would have been motivated to use the teachings of OUCHI as it provides a way to use standard type of DCI improving signaling compatibility and a periodic CSI RS for more predictable schedule at both ends thereby reducing overhead signaling required between the gNB and UEs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of ABDELGHAFFAR modified by MALEKI with teachings of OUCHI in order to improve compatibility, standard compliance and resource conservation.
All remaining arguments are based on the arguments addressed above, and are fully responded to as above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMER S MIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461
OMER S. MIAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2461