DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-7,10-11, 13, 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 12,161,602 B1 to Fougnies et al .
Re. claim 1, Fougnies discloses a tub 10,12 (see figure 2) comprising an insulated (col. 4, line 3 and 34-40) tub basin sized to receive a portion of a person 12 (col. 3, lines 60-61; see figure 2) and comprising an inner tub sidewall 12 defining a reservoir 16 (see figure 2) for receiving fluid therein and sized to receive the portion of the person; an outer tub 18 sidewall surrounding the inner tub sidewall; and a seal 20 (see col. 4, lines 22-27) formed between the outer tub sidewall and the inner tub sidewall; and a tub lid 13 (see figure 1) removably covering an upper reservoir opening of the reservoir (see figure 1) .
Re. claim 5, Fougnies discloses a ceramic insulation material (see col. 4, lines 34-40) sealed and positioned between the inner tub sidewall and the outer tub sidewall, wherein the ceramic insulation material is positioned to thermally isolate a temperature of the inner tub sidewall from a temperature of the outer tub sidewall.
Re. claim 6, Fougnies further discloses at least one of the inner tub sidewall, the outer tub sidewall, and the tub lid comprises aluminum.
Re. claim 7, Fougnies further discloses a chiller 40-42, 44, 46 configured to regulate temperature of a fluid within the tub basin.
Re. claim 10, Fougnies discloses a tub comprising an insulated tub basin 10,12 sized to receive a portion of a person and comprising: an inner tub sidewall defining a reservoir for receiving fluid therein and sized to receive a portion of the person; an outer tub sidewall surrounding the inner tub sidewall; and ceramic insulation material (see col. 4, lines 34-40) between the outer tub sidewall and the inner tub sidewall; and a tub lid 13 (see figure 3) removably covering an upper reservoir opening of the reservoir.
Re. claim 11, Fougnies further discloses a drain filter 34, 36,38, 48 engaged with a tub opening, the drain filter comprising a plurality of filter holes configured to allow fluid to flow through from the reservoir into the tub opening and the drain filter.
Re. claim 13, Fougnies further discloses a pump 54, a cooler 40-41, and a heater 72, wherein the cooler and the heater maintain a temperature of fluid pumped through the pump to maintain a user-set temperature in the reservoir.
Re. claim 15, Fougnies further discloses the ceramic insulation material (col. 4, lines 34-40) is positioned to thermally isolate a temperature of the inner tub sidewall from a temperature of the outer tub sidewall.
Re. claim 16, Fougnies further discloses at least one of the inner tub sidewall, the outer tub sidewall, and the tub lid comprises aluminum.(col. 4, line 3 and 34-40).
Re. claim 17, Fougnies discloses a chiller 40-42, 44, 46 configured to regulate temperature of a fluid within the tub basin.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see USPTO Form 892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. More specifically, US D1,076,124 to Fischer is directed to the state of the art as a teaching of a cold plunge tub.
Claims 2-4, 8-9, 12, 14, 18-20 and objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Providing representative information in an Application Data Sheet (ADS) does not constitute a power of attorney. See 37 CFR 1.76(b)(4) and MPEP § 408. For information on appointing a power of attorney, see MPEP § 402.02 et seq.
/LORI L BAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754
Patents Application Assistance Center
Toll-Free:
1-888-786-0101
Local:
1-571-272-4000
Email: HelpAAU@uspto.gov
Patent Electronic Business Center (EBC) Customer Service Center
Toll-Free:
866-217-9197
Local:
571-272-4100
ebc@uspto.gov
PAIR https://ppair.uspto.gov/epatent/portal/home
For ordering issues or general questions please contact:
Customer service phone line
Hours: 8:30 am – 5 pm ET, Monday – Friday (except federal holidays)
Toll free: 1-800-972-6382 | Local number: 571-272-3150
For sign in and USPTO.gov account issues contact:
USPTO.gov account customer service
Hours: 8:30 am – 8 pm ET, Monday – Friday (except federal holidays)
Toll free: 1-800-786-9199 | Local number: 571-272-1000
TTY: 1-800-877-8339
Inventor and Entrepreneur Resources
https://www.uspto.gov/learning-and-resources/inventors-entrepreneurs-resources
Inventors Assistance Center (IAC)
The Inventors Assistance Center (IAC) provides patent information and services to the public. The IAC is staffed by former Supervisory Patent Examiners, experienced Primary Patent Examiners, various intellectual property specialists and attorneys who can answer general questions concerning patent examining policy and procedure.
The IAC is available Monday-Friday, 8:30AM to 8PM EDT, except for federal holidays or when the USPTO is otherwise closed.
Contact the IAC
Toll Free: 800-786-9199
Local: 571-272-1000
TTY: 800-877-8339
The MPEP can be accessed at the following web address: https://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/pac/mpep/index.html
Information about the Pro Se Assistance Program, which can aid inventors who file patent applications without the assistance of a registered attorney or agent, is available at the following web address:
hftps://www.uspto.gov/patents
COMMUNICATIONS VIA THE INTERNET AND AUTHORIZATION
Communications via Internet e-mail are at the discretion of the applicant.
Without a written authorization by applicant in place, the USPTO will not respond via Internet e-mail to any Internet correspondence which contains information subject to the confidentiality requirement as set forth in 35 U.S.C. 122. A paper copy of such correspondence will be placed in the appropriate patent application.
The following is a sample authorization form which may be used by applicant:
"Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with me concerning any subject matter of this application by electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file."
A written authorization may be withdrawn by filing a signed paper clearly identifying the original authorization. The following is a sample form which may be used by applicant to withdraw the authorization:
"The authorization given on______, to the USPTO to communicate with me via the Internet is hereby withdrawn. I understand that the withdrawal is effective when approved rather than when received."