Detailed Action
Status of Application
1. Applicants’ arguments/remarks filed 26 May 2026 are acknowledged. Claims 1-15 are currently pending. Claims 14-15 are newly added. Claims 1-3, 5, 7, and 10-13 are amended. Claims 1-15 are examined on the merits within.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
Applicants’ arguments, filed 26 May 2026, with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 7 has been withdrawn. The 35 U.S.C. 112(a) Rejections of claims 1-2 have been withdrawn in view of the claim amendments. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Rejections of claims 1-13 have been withdrawn.
New/Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 112(a) New Matter
4. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
5. Claim 1 recites “contacting a hydrogel comprising 5 weight % to 15 weight % of a molecule with formula (I) as depicted below or a pharmaceutical salt thereof and water to a wound in need of closure at a temperature lower than 40C.” There is no explicit support for contacting a wound at any temperature, including specifically lower than 40C. The temperature of 40C, in the specification, is directed to the gelation point with regards to a hydrogel that has a temperature lower than 40C for use as a medicament. The temperature of the hydrogel does not provide support for applying the hydrogel to a wound at any temperature below 40C. Thus there is no explicit written description for this amendment. Claim 2 is included in this rejection for the same deficiencies.
6. Claims 14-15 recite “combining the molecule with formula (I) or the pharmaceutical salt thereof and water to yield a solution, wherein the combining is at a temperature above the gelation temperature of the molecule at the concentration of the molecule in the solution; and cooling the solution to 20C. The specification states “For example the gelation point for the 2.5% Gly hydrogel was determined to be 40°C while the gelation point for the 5% Gly hydrogel was determined to be at 45°C (see Example 1 in this application). See page 9. There is no explicit support for formation of a homogenous hydrogel when the molecule is cooled to 20C. The only recitation of 20C is found in paragraph [0144] which recites “after cooling ,the sample was heated starting from 20C until 75 or 60C.” Thus there is no explicit support for cooling to 20C.
7. Claims 8-9 recite “wherein the hydrogel is stable at a temperature of at least 37C.” The specification however states that gelation can occur at values such as 37 and 40C. The specification also states, “It is essential that the degelation point of the hydrogel is higher than the body temperature of the mammal to be treated for a wound otherwise the hydrogel will become liquid when applied onto the wound.” See page 10. Thus, at certain temperatures, the hydrogel will turn back into liquid, i.e., unstable. Therefore, there is no explicit written description for stability at all temperatures of 37C or above.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Claims 2, 7, 9, 12-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
10. Claim 2 recites “contacting a hydrogel formed by gelation, the hydrogel consisting of 2.5 weight % to 15 weight % of a molecule with formula (I) as depicted below or a pharmaceutical salt thereof and water” which is directed to closed language wherein the hydrogel only consists of two components. However, claim 15 depends from claim 2 and recites that “the hydrogel is a product of a process comprising” which is open language. This open language referring to the product conflicts with the closed language of claim 2. Thus it is unclear if the product can contain more than the two ingredients of water and the molecule of formula 1. Clarification is requested. For examination purposes the claim is interpreted as the open language of comprising.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
12. Claim(s) 1-9 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwakiri et al. (EP3275447A1).
Regarding instant claims 1-9, Iwakiri et al. disclose a gel type local anesthetic agent consisting of a local anesthetic having a tertiary amine and glycyrrhizic acid. See abstract. The gel type local anesthetic is used for reducing pain in a wound area. See paragraph [0001]. The aqueous glycyrrhizic acid solution is a homogenous solution with a concentration of 200 mg/ml or less. See paragraph [0033]. This equates to 20% or less of glycyrrhizic acid in water. 20% or less of glycyrrhizic acid reads on values of 2.5% to 15% and 2.5% to 20%. Iwakiri et al. teach that mixing of a homogenous solution of glycyrrhizic acid with an aqueous solution of local anesthetic having an amine can be carried out at 0 to 60°C. Only by mixing the two liquids at room temperature a gel can be formed. See paragraph [0035]. Thus Iwakiri envisions water and glycyrrhizic acid at temperatures below 40°C. Since Iwakiri et al. teach the same two ingredients in the claimed amount, the resultant product should have the same viscosity, temperature, function in wound care, de-gelation point, and stability. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding instant claims 14-15, which recite product-by-process limitations, the Examiner notes “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Thus the instant claims are anticipated by Iwakiri et al.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
14. Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Iwakiri et al. (EP3275447A1) in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0053141).
Regarding instant claims 1-9, Iwakiri et al. teach a gel type local anesthetic agent consisting of a local anesthetic having a tertiary amine and glycyrrhizic acid. See abstract. The gel type local anesthetic is used for reducing pain in a wound area. See paragraph [0001]. The aqueous glycyrrhizic acid solution is a homogenous solution with a concentration of 200 mg/ml or less. See paragraph [0033]. This equates to 20% or less of glycyrrhizic acid in water. 20% or less of glycyrrhizic acid reads on values of 2.5% to 15% and 2.5% to 20%. Iwakiri et al. teach that mixing of a homogenous solution of glycyrrhizic acid with an aqueous solution of local anesthetic having an amine can be carried out at 0 to 60°C. Only by mixing the two liquids at room temperature a gel can be formed. See paragraph [0035]. Thus Iwakiri envisions water and glycyrrhizic acid at temperatures below 40°C. Since Iwakiri et al. teach the same two ingredients in the claimed amount, the resultant product should have the same viscosity, temperature, function in wound care, de-gelation point, and stability.
Regarding instant claims 10-13, isotopes should be naturally occurring and present. However, if applicants are referring to labelled isotopes, the prior art of Zhang et al. has been applied to make obvious this limitation.
Regarding instant claims 14-15, which recite product-by-process limitations, the Examiner notes “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Zhang et al. teach novel uses of glycyrrhizic acid comprising the compound of the invention and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. See abstract. Zhang et al. teach preparing radiolabeled isotopes of the compound of the invention to determine structures of metabolites. The isotopes include 14C and 3H (higher atomic mass). See paragraph [0062]. Liquorice (Glycyrrhiza glabra) has been used for dermatitis and peptic ulcers. Glycyrrhizic acid (also known as Glycyrrhizin) (GLA) has been approved for the treatment of chronic hepatitis and cirrhosis. Glycyrrhetinic acid (GA), a pentacyclic triterpenoid derivative that forms the functional motif of glycyrrhizic acid (GLA), has been used for the treatment of inflammation, peptic ulcer and infection. See paragraph [0006].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to use an isotope of R1 or R2 for analysis to determine metabolites of the compound. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to apply the hydrogel to a decubitus or chronic ulcer because Iwakiri et al. teach the effectiveness of the hydrogel in treating wounds and Zhang further specify the effectiveness in treating ulcers.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 26 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
15. Applicants argued, “The person of ordinary skill will understand that a hydrogel stable at a temperature of at least 37C does not mean the hydrogel is stable at all temperatures of at least 37C, but that the degelation point is at a temperature of at least 37C.”
In response to applicants’ argument, the specification states “It is essential that the degelation point of the hydrogel is higher than the body temperature of the mammal to be treated for a wound otherwise the hydrogel will become liquid when applied onto the wound.” See page 10. Thus, at certain temperatures, the hydrogel will turn back into liquid, i.e., unstable. Applicant argues the degelation point is at least 37C, meaning the hydrogel turns back into a liquid, i.e., unstable. Thus this conflicts with the claimed language of stable at a temperature of at least 37C. There is no explicit written description for stability at all temperatures of 37C or above.
Thus this rejection is maintained.
16. Applicants argued, “Without the amine-containing anesthetic no gel forms in Iwakiris’ system. The local anesthetic is required because glycyrrhizic acid cannot gel at concentrations of 0.5 wt.% to 3.9 wt.%. Iwakiri does not teach 5 to 15 wt.% of the compound of formula (I).”
In response to applicants’ arguments, the claims do not preclude the presence of an anesthetic. In addition, the aqueous glycyrrhizic acid solution is a homogenous solution with a concentration of 200 mg/ml or less. See paragraph [0033]. This equates to 20% or less of glycyrrhizic acid in water. 20% or less of glycyrrhizic acid reads on values of 2.5% to 15% and 2.5% to 20%.
Thus this rejection is maintained.
17. Applicants argued, “Claim 2 consists of the molecule of formula (I) and water. Without the amine-containing anesthetic no gel forms in Iwakiris’ system. The local anesthetic is required because glycyrrhizic acid cannot gel at concentrations of 0.5 wt.% to 3.9 wt.%. Iwakiri does not teach 5 to 15 wt.% of the compound of formula (I).”
In response to applicants’ arguments, it is noted that the open language of comprising in claim 15 creates ambiguity as cited in the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Rejection; thus claim 2 is interpreted as the open language of comprising. Since glycyrrhizic acid is known to treat ulcers and the prior art teaches the combination of the same amount of glycyrrhizic acid and water, it would have been obvious to use this combination without additional anesthetics to treat wounds. Regarding the hydrogel component, the same combination of ingredients should behave in the same manner.
Thus this rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
18. Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
19. No claims are allowed at this time.
/JESSICA WORSHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615