DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed cup, bottom opening, base, seal, flanges in claims 1-2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinelli et al. (US 2018/0353011 A1) in view of Yano (JP 2001327588 A).
Pinelli et al. discloses a holder 10 comprising: a cup 12 having a generally frustoconical shape and an annular bottom opening 22; a removable bottom portion 30 having a base 30 and a seal 32, the seal 32 configured to be releasably secured in the annular bottom opening 22 via a friction fit. However, Pinelli et al. does not disclose the base comprises diatomaceous earth. Yano discloses a holder 1 for holding candle 7 comprising a cup 3 and a base 2. The base 2 comprises diatomaceous earth (translation, paragraph [0009], line 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the holder of Pinelli et al. to use diatomaceous earth as base material as taught by Yano in order to help remove stains, grease and grime from the surfaces of the holder
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinelli et al. (US 2018/0353011 A1) in view of Yano (JP 2001327588 A) as applied to claim 1 as above, and further in view of Yue (WO 2013/117060 A1).
With regard to claim 2, Pinelli et al. further discloses one or more flanges 32 that are displace or compressed when the seal 32 is releasably secured in the annular bottom opening (Fig. 1A). The holder of Pinelli et al. as above includes all that is recited in claim 2 except for seal comprises one or more silicone flanges. Yue teaches a concept of using a silicone flange 13 to seal the opening of a holder 4 (Fig. 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the holder of Pinelli et al. to include silicone flange as taught by Yue I order to provide a seal with exceptional durability, flexibility and resistance to extreme temperatures and chemicals.
Conclusion
/Jessica Yuen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3762
JY