DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Regarding the status of the claims, Claims 1, 3-21 are pending. Claims 4-5, 7-12 and 17-20 have been withdrawn. Claim 21 is newly added. Claim 2 has been canceled.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Stevens et al. (US 20200025041, hereinafter: “Stevens”), the Applicant’s position is the Stevens does not disclose the structural member (98) is not an integral with the airfoil and disposed on an outer radial side of the airfoil and does not disclose an internal passage radially extending within the structural member. The Examiner has fully considered the Applicant’s position; however, respectfully disagrees. Stevens discloses that the vane ring 68, comprising airfoils 72, are connected to the engine case structure by the first vane support 98 [0037]. Therefore, the structure 98 and the airfoil 72 are integral parts of the assembly and the structure 98 is integral with the airfoil 72. An assembly can be composed of multiple parts which are connected directly or indirectly to each other and are integral parts of said assembly. The current presentation of the claim does not define that the structural member is integral to the airfoil such that they are one-piece component. Thus, the structure 98 of Stevens is integral with the airfoil 72 as claimed. In addition, the internal passage as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Stevens extends in radially within the structural member 98 as claimed. At least for the reasons as discussed above, Stevens discloses the current presentation of Claims 1 and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stevens et al. (US 20200025041, hereinafter: “Stevens”).
In reference to Claim 1
Stevens discloses:
A stator vane, comprising:
an airfoil (72); and
a structural member (98) integral with the airfoil and disposed on an outer radial side of the airfoil, the structural member having a forward surface (forward surface of 98, Fig. 2), an internal passage (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Stevens) radially extending within the structural member and in fluid communication with the airfoil, and a multi-access cooling air feed passage (114, 124);
wherein the multi-access cooling air feed passage includes a primary aperture (124) in fluid communication with the internal passage and a plurality of secondary passages (114) each configured to provide a fluid passage (passage of 114) into the primary aperture, wherein the primary aperture extends along a primary aperture centerline (“E”, Fig. 4), and each said secondary passage of the plurality of secondary passages extends in a direction that diverges from the primary aperture centerline (Fig. 4) [0030-0044] (Fig. 1-6).
In reference to Claim 3
Stevens discloses:
The stator vane of claim 1, wherein the primary aperture (124) includes a metering portion (MP) (see narrow portion of 124, Fig. 4) having a MP cross-sectional area (as shown in annotated Figure 4 of Stevens) disposed perpendicular to the primary aperture centerline, and a forward portion (FP) (as shown in annotated Figure 4 of Stevens) having a FP cross-sectional area disposed perpendicular to the primary aperture centerline, and each said secondary passage of the plurality of secondary passages has a cross-sectional area, and wherein a sum of the cross-sectional areas of the plurality of secondary passages and the FP cross-sectional area is greater than the MP cross-sectional area (Fig. 4; as shown in annotated Figure 4 of Stevens).
In reference to Claim 6
Stevens discloses:
The stator vane of claim 1, wherein the primary aperture includes a metering portion (as shown in annotated Figure 4 of Stevens) having a cross-sectional area disposed perpendicular to the primary aperture centerline, and each said secondary passage of the plurality of secondary passages has a cross-sectional area and a sum of the cross-sectional areas of the plurality of secondary passages is greater than the cross-sectional area of the metering portion (Fig. 4; as shown in annotated Figure 4 of Stevens).
In reference to Claim 13
Stevens discloses:
The stator vane of claim 1, further comprising:
an aperture (aperture of 98 which structure 110 is disposed in) disposed in the forward surface of the structural member (98), the aperture in fluid communication with the primary aperture; and a plug (110) received within the aperture, the plug having a body (112) and a cap (120) , wherein the body extends axially between a first axial end and a second axial end (as shown in annotated Figure 4 of Stevens), and includes an outer radial surface (outer surface of 110, Fig. 4), a central bore (central bore of 110) that extends axially, and a plurality of port apertures (114); wherein the plurality of port apertures extend between the outer radial surface of the plug and the central bore; and wherein the plug is disposed such that at least a portion of each port aperture of the plurality of port apertures extends beyond the forward surface;
wherein a number of the plurality of port apertures is four (114 as shown in Fig. 4; [0041]) and the plurality of port apertures are disposed circumferentially about the plug and spaced equidistant from each other (Fig. 3).
In reference to Claim 14
Stevens discloses:
The stator vane of claim 13, wherein the body of the plug has an outer radial surface (outer radial surface of 112) that is disposed at a plug body outer radial diameter (outer radial diameter of 112), and the cap (120) has an outer radial diameter (outer diameter of 120), and the cap outer radial diameter is greater than the plug body outer radial diameter (Fig. 4).
In reference to Claim 15
Stevens discloses:
The stator vane of claim 13, wherein the plurality of secondary passages (114) includes a first secondary passage (one passage 114) defined by a first port aperture of the plurality of port apertures, and a second secondary passage (second passage 114) defined by a second port aperture of the plurality of port apertures (Fig. 4).
In reference to Claim 16
Stevens discloses:
The stator vane of claim 15, wherein the primary aperture includes a metering portion (124; as shown in annotated Figure 4 of Stevens) having a cross-sectional area disposed perpendicular to the primary aperture centerline, the first port aperture has a first port aperture cross-sectional area (cross-section of 114), and the second port aperture has a second port aperture cross-sectional area (cross-section of a second 114), and a sum of the first port aperture cross-sectional area and the second port aperture cross-sectional area is greater than the cross-sectional area of the metering portion. (Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stevens et al. (US 20200025041, hereinafter: “Stevens”).
In reference to Claim 21
Stevens discloses:
A turbine section (28) of an aircraft system, the turbine section comprising: a blade outer air seal (BOAS) assembly (62, 64); and a stator vane (72) disposed –forward- of the BOAS assembly, stator vane (74) disposed aft of the BOAS assembly, the stator vane comprises: an airfoil (72 airfoil); and a structural member (98) attached to the airfoil, the structural member having a forward surface (forward surface of 98, Fig. 2), an internal passage (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Stevens) in fluid communication with the airfoil, and a multi-access cooling air feed passage (114, 124);
wherein the multi-access cooling air feed passage includes a primary aperture (124) in fluid communication with the internal passage and a plurality of secondary passages (114) each configured to provide a fluid passage (passage of 114) into the primary aperture, wherein the primary aperture extends along a primary aperture centerline (“E”, Fig. 4), and each said secondary passage of the plurality of secondary passages extends in a direction that diverges from the primary aperture centerline. (Fig. 4) [0030-0044] (Fig. 1-6).
Stevens also discloses that the structural member (98) and the associated components can be applied in any order [0047] and other engine sections [0034].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aft stator vane assembly (74, 99) located aft of the BOAS of Stevens by constructing it to have features of the aft support structure (98) and its associated components as taught by Stevens for the purpose of providing a metering flow apertures to separate debris.
Figure 1: Annotated Figure 2 of Stevens.
Figure 2: Annotated Figure 4 of Stevens.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AYE S HTAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745