DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 11/07/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-8 and 11-22 are pending. Claims 1-3, 11, 16, and 18-20 have been amended. Claims 9 and 10 are cancelled. new claims 21 and 22 are added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 and 11-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim et al. (US 20130167134) hereinafter Shim and AN et al (US 20190214009) hereinafter AN and further in view of XIAN et al. (CN 103984247 B) hereinafter XIAN.
Regarding claim 1, Shim teaches a home appliance (i.e. The electronic device 100 may be a home appliance, [0040]) comprising: a first circuit comprising a first memory and a first processor configured to perform a control based on data stored in the first memory (i.e. The home appliance module 130 connected via the interface unit 120, for example, may be hardware which performs a washing function, a cooking function, a cleaning function. In detail, the processing unit 180 may control the home appliance module 130 connected thereto via the interface unit 120 according to a control method included in an application program 160 stored in the memory 140, [0048], [0050], and [0052]); and a second circuit comprising a second memory to store data for a driving mode and a second processor configured to perform the driving mode based on the data stored in the second memory (i.e. the processing unit 180 may be implemented to include a plurality of controllers, and in this case, the plurality of operating systems may serve as operating systems for operations of the respective controllers, [0052], the memory 140 may be configured to store a plurality of operating systems in different areas. For example, the memory 140 may be divided into a first area for storing the first OS and a second area for storing the second OS. The first and second areas may be divided using physically different hardware, [0054], the management platform 170 may include a Device Management (DM) client 171. The DM client 171 may transmit and receive management messages for managing the electronic device 100 to and from the DM server, [0065], and The DM client 171 may manage the home appliance module 130 mounted in the electronic device 100, for example, performs functions, such as monitoring, diagnosis, upgrade, remote control and the like, with respect to the home appliance module 130, [0066]), wherein during a first operation in the driving mode, in response to data for a second operation after the first operation being updated and stored in the second memory as updated data (i.e. the electronic device 100 performs a download process based on the address information related to the update data, acquired by the firmware update command (S300). The update data received through the download process S300 may be stored in an area in an inactive state within the memory of the electronic device 100, [0101]), the second processor is configured to perform an updated second operation, based on the updated data for the updated second operation in the second memory, after the first operation in the driving mode is completed (i.e. The electronic device 100 then performs a firmware update process based on the downloaded update data (S400). The firmware update process S400 is to update a currently used firmware, and corresponds to a control process for performing an operating system or application program, which is to be updated within the update data. The electronic device 100 may store the operating system or application program in a specific area within the memory so as for the another controller to perform it, [0102] and the electronic device 100 then converts the waiting area into an active state such that the updated first operating system 151' included in the update data can be executable, [0127]).
However, Shim does not explicitly disclose performing a load control.
However, AN teaches performing a load control (i.e. The memory stores control data for controlling the operation of the laundry treating apparatus, input operation setting data, data on the operation time calculated according to the setting, data on the washing course, and data for determining whether an error has occurred, [0125] and if the laundry is overloaded, a guidance announcement such as ‘Laundry amount is too much. Please reduce laundry amount a little’. In case of the failure of a water supply valve, a guidance announcement such as ‘There is failure in water supply valve’ may be outputted, [0309]).
Based on Shim in view of AN, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of AN to the system of Shim in order to have a method capable of recognizing and processing natural language without restriction of system resources of a clothes control apparatus, and conveniently controlling the clothes control apparatus, (AN, [0012]).
However, Shim in view of AN do not explicitly disclose the second memory has a plurality of operation data according to the driving mode, wherein the plurality of operation data includes script data, and wherein in response to the script data being edited based on an input signal, the second memory is configured to store the edited script data.
However, XIAN teaches the second memory has a plurality of operation data according to the driving mode (i.e. the working process parameter in the second script database is searched for the corresponding work process data according to the parameter script language, page 2, paragraph 6), wherein the plurality of operation data includes script data (i.e. a second script database according to the input of user, and then the function script language and working process after integrating the data obtained by analyzing the binary script, so using script to control the household appliance, page 4, paragraph 6), and wherein in response to the script data being edited based on an input signal, the second memory is configured to store the edited script data (i.e. the computer displays user script definition interface (i.e. one for the user to modify the first operation interface) script database, the user can research personnel updated first script database is replaced by the first script database locally, so as to timely update the first script database so as to optimize or increase the control function of the plan, page 8, paragraph 11).
Based on Shim in view of AN and further in view of XIAN, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of XIAN to the system of Shim and AN in order to aiming at the new function development efficiency realized using script operation instruction to control the household appliance operation, improving appliance, shorten the development period and open the user personalized function customization function, and function expandability of the household appliance and good ductility, (XIAN, page 2, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 2, Shim does not explicitly disclose control a load or a valve.
However, AN teaches control a load or a valve (i.e. controlling opening and closing of valves, [0158]-[0159]).
However, Shim in view of AN do not explicitly disclose wherein the second processor is configured to: control a load or a valve to perform the first operation, based on the script data being the data stored in the second memory, and perform the second operation, based on the edited script data being the updated data, in response to the edited script data stored in the second memory being updated during the first operation.
However, XIAN teaches wherein the second processor is configured to: control to perform the first operation, based on the script data being the data stored in the second memory (i.e. a second script database for controlling household appliance working process, page 2, paragraph 6), and perform the second operation, based on the edited script data being the updated data, in response to the edited script data stored in the second memory being updated during the first operation (i.e. the computer displays user script definition interface (i.e. one for the user to modify the first operation interface) script database, the user can research personnel updated first script database is replaced by the first script database locally, so as to timely update the first script database so as to optimize or increase the control function of the plan, page 6, paragraph 13). Therefore, the limitations of claim 2 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 3, Shim teaches wherein in response to first application data being updated and stored in the second memory as updated first application data during an operation of the driving mode, the second processor is configured to update a first application, based on the updated first application data during the operation of the driving mode (i.e. the application program 160 may be varied according to a software update process. The software update process may be executed based on a management command that the terminal 500 transmits to the DM client 171 via the DM server. The management command for the software updating may be a command for requesting for execution of an upgrade function, [0063], The processing unit 180 may update the application program 160 to perform a management command received from the management server, [0078]).
Regarding claim 4, Shim teaches wherein the second memory further stores firmware data, and wherein in response to firmware update data being received and stored in the second memory during an operation of the driving mode, the second processor is configured to perform a firmware update, after the operation of the driving mode is completed (i.e. the electronic device 100 then performs a firmware update process based on the downloaded update data (S400). The firmware update process S400 is to update a currently used firmware, and corresponds to a control process for performing an operating system or application program, which is to be updated within the update data. The electronic device 100 may store the operating system or application program in a specific area within the memory so as for the another controller to perform it, [0102] and the electronic device 100 then converts the waiting area into an active state such that the updated first operating system 151' included in the update data can be executable, [0127]).
Regarding claim 5, Shim teaches wherein the first memory further stores firmware data, and wherein in response to firmware update data being received and stored in the first memory during an operation of the driving mode, the first processor is configured to perform a firmware update, after the operation of the driving mode is completed (i.e. the electronic device 100 performs a download process based on the address information related to the update data, acquired by the firmware update command (S300). The update data received through the download process S300 may be stored in an area in an inactive state within the memory of the electronic device 100, [0101] and the electronic device 100 then converts the waiting area into an active state such that the updated first operating system 151' included in the update data can be executable, [0127]).
Regarding claim 6, Shim does not explicitly disclose wherein the load control includes a turn-on control or a turn-off control of a load, or a turn-on control or a turn-off control of a valve, and wherein the data for the driving mode includes data for operation control of the load or the valve.
However, AN teaches wherein the load control includes a turn-on control or a turn-off control of a load, or a turn-on control or a turn-off control of a valve (i.e. controls a valve to be turned on/off, [0155], and wherein the data for the driving mode includes data for operation control of the load or the valve (i.e. The memory stores control data for controlling the operation of the laundry treating apparatus, input operation setting data, data on the operation time calculated according to the setting, data on the washing course, and data for determining whether an error has occurred, [0125] and controlling opening and closing of valves, [0158]-[0159])). Therefore, the limitations of claim 6 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 7, Shim teaches wherein the second processor is configured to receive sensing data from the first processor or a sensor device during operation of the driving mode, and perform the driving mode based on the sensing data (i.e. The monitoring function is to monitor a state of the home appliance module 130. The DM client 171 may execute the monitoring function so as to collect events or log data generated in the home appliance module 130. For example, when a hardware related to a washing function is mounted in the electronic device 100, the DM client 171 may allows the hardware related to the washing function to collect events or log data for items, which include an operating state, a remaining time, an initially set time, a washing course number, a rinsing level, a dehydration RPM, temperature or a scheduled washing time, [0067]).
Regarding claim 8, Shim does not explicitly disclose wherein the second processor is configured to: transmit a load-on-signal to the first processor in response to the driving mode starting, and transmit a load-off-signal to the first processor in response to the driving mode being terminated.
However, AN teaches wherein the second processor is configured to: transmit a load-on-signal to the first processor in response to the driving mode starting (i.e. when a voice command is inputted (S310), the laundry treating apparatus 201 transmits a voice command as voice data to the voice recognition system 100 to determine whether it is an operation command, [0211] and when a voice command such as “Wash in a standard washing course” is inputted, the laundry treating apparatus 201 receives a control signal according to the standard washing course setting through the voice recognition system 100 and the home appliance control server 130, and sets a standard washing course, [0221], and When the user inputs a voice command ‘Select mountain clothes/vinyl clothes’(529), a ‘functional clothing’ course may be selected, [0288]), and transmit a load-off-signal to the first processor in response to the driving mode being terminated (i.e. When the processing of the inputted voice command is completed, the laundry treating apparatus 201 is switched to a standby state (487). Since the voice recognition setting is maintained, the voice recognition icon 295 maintains the lighting state, [0258]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 8 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 11, Shim in view of AN do not explicitly disclose wherein a part of a plurality of script data including the script data includes complex condition data, variable data, and function call data related to the driving mode.
However, XIAN teaches wherein a part of a plurality of script data including the script data includes complex condition data, variable data, and function call data related to the driving mode (i.e. the preset first script database for controlling household appliance to perform corresponding functions and a second script database for controlling household appliance working process, page 5, paragraph 2). Therefore, the limitations of claim 11 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 12, Shim teaches wherein the second processor is configured to control the driving mode based on an operating system (i.e. The electronic device may further include a second controller configured to execute a second operating system for controlling a home appliance function, [0014]), and perform update or upgrade, based on update data received from an external server or a mobile terminal (i.e. receiving address information related to update data from a management server through a device management session, receiving the update data based on the address information, storing the update data in a storage area present in an inactive state, converting the storage area into an active state, [0015]).
Regarding claim 13, Shim teaches wherein the second processor is configured to execute the operating system (i.e. the electronic device may include a memory which is divided into an area where a currently executed operating system is stored, [0020]), execute a framework on the operating system (i.e. The management platform 170 refers to a management program executed on the operating system 150, [0064]), and execute a system application (i.e. the processing unit 180 may control the home appliance module 130 connected thereto via the interface unit 120 according to a control method included in an application program 160 stored in the memory 140, [0048]), data related to the driving mode (i.e. the control signals for managing the cooking module may be processed according to the application program, which indicates a cooking method based on a driving mode, a cooking course or a recipe, [0060]), or a download application on the framework.
Regarding claim 14, Shim teaches wherein a part of the operating system and the framework corresponds to a common platform (i.e. the second OS may be a common OS to provide an environment for executing a general application program of supporting an operation of a user interface or the communication unit 110 of the electronic device 100, [0053] and the management platform 170 is a part of the electronic device 100, [0065]).
Regarding claim 15, Shim teaches wherein during the first operation in the driving mode, in response the data for the second operation after the first operation not being updated and stored in the second memory, the second processor is configured to perform the second operation without an update, after the first operation in the driving mode is completed (i.e. The remote control function is to control the electronic device 100 from a remote place. The DM client 171 may execute the remote control function so as to control an operation of the home appliance module 130. For example, when a hardware related to a storing function is mounted in the electronic device 100, the DM client 171 may instruct the hardware related to the storing function to perform a temperature control of a refrigerating chamber, a freezing chamber or the like, or perform a function such as an express freezing or the like, [0070]).
Regarding claim 21, Shim in view of AN do not explicitly disclose wherein the second processor includes an interpreter configured to interpret the script data and an editor configured to edit the script data.
However, XIAN teaches wherein the second processor includes an interpreter configured to interpret the script data (i.e. the binary script can use parser for the analysis, the analysis script obtaining household device can identify and output the analyzed binary script to a household appliance for home appliance analyzes the binary script, and realizing the control function of household appliance, page 5, paragraph 10) and an editor configured to edit the script data (i.e. adjusting module 800 for adjusting the preset first script database by the script definition interface, page 8, paragraph 10). Therefore, the limitations of claim 21 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claims 16-20 and 22, the limitations of claims 16-20 and 22 are similar to the limitations of claims 1, 6, 15 and 21. Therefore, the limitations of claims 16-20 and 22 are rejected in the analysis of claims 1, 6, 15 and 21 above, and the claims are rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AW/
AYELE F. WOLDEMARIAM
Examiner
Art Unit 2447
1/13/2025
/SURAJ M JOSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447