DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 5-7 and 12 are rejected under 35 USC § 102 Rejection.
Claims 2-4, 8-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 103 Rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Utter (US Pub.20060220813A1), hereinafter Utter.
Regarding Claim 1, Utter discloses a tire pressure monitoring system (para [0005], where system is provided for monitoring tire pressure) comprising:
a pressure sensing component associated with a tire of a vehicle (Fig. 3, para [0020] where system is provided for monitoring tire pressure);
a motion sensing component associated with the tire of the vehicle (para [0022], where the speed can be calculated from an operating parameter of the vehicle measured by the speed sensor 140, or calculated from multiple operating parameters of the vehicle as measured by the speed sensor 140 or one or more sensors other than the speed sensor 140. For example, the vehicle speed can be calculated from the rotational speed of a drive shaft (not illustrated) as measured by a drive shaft sensor (not illustrated) according to conventional techniques);
a transmitter (the transmitter 216 para [0020]); and
a controller, the controller (para [0023], where the speed can be calculated from an operating parameter of the vehicle measured by the speed sensor 140, or calculated from multiple operating parameters of the vehicle as measured by the speed sensor 140 or one or more sensors other than the speed sensor 140. For example, the vehicle speed can be calculated from the rotational speed of a drive shaft (not illustrated) as measured by a drive shaft sensor (not illustrated) according to conventional techniques) being configured to perform actions comprising:
determining, based at least in part on motion data from the motion sensing component, that the vehicle is stationary (para [0040], where the system exits the alert stationary mode if the monitor receiver 130 learns from sender that a time measured by timer 310 coupled to the receiver 130 exceeds a predetermined time threshold, vehicle speed is greater than a predetermined speed threshold, power mode is in accessory mode or the sender has not completed learn mode (760). The predetermined time threshold may be any length of time that may provide an indication that the driver is not inflating or deflating the tire. For example, the predetermined time threshold may be between thirty and sixty seconds. As previously mentioned, the predetermined speed threshold may be any range of speed indicating a stationary vehicle, and may be, for example, between 0 and 5 kph);
adjusting, based at least in part on the vehicle being stationary, a pressure sampling rate associated with the pressure sensing component to a non-zero sampling rate (para [0030], [0031], where During alert stationary mode (530), tire pressure measurements are obtained once every second. Measurements are repeated (532) until no pressure change is detected (534). If no pressure change is detected (534), the system reverts back to normal stationary mode (520). If, while in normal stationary mode (520), the vehicle begins to move (526), the system automatically shifts to a normal rolling mode (540). Similar to normal stationary (520), tire pressure is measured every thirty seconds);
receiving, at the non-zero sampling rate, pressure data from the pressure sensing component (para [0033], where during alert stationary mode (520), the system can automatically begin to detect whether a tire pressure measurement …of sensors 212, 222, 232, 242 or any other device capable of communicating tire pressure data to monitor receiver 130);
determining that the pressure data corresponds to an unacceptable tire pressure (para [0033], where During alert stationary mode (520), the system can automatically begin to detect whether a tire pressure measurement is greater than a predetermined pressure range, within the predetermined pressure range, or less than the pressure range (420)); and
sending, via the transmitter, data associated with the unacceptable tire pressure(para [0020], and [0033], steps (420), where Each tire pressure detector 202, 102, 122, and 222 includes a tire pressure sensor 212, 222, 232, and 242, respectively; a processor 214, 224, 234, and 244, respectively; and a transmitter 216, 226, 236, and 246, respectively… Each processor 214, 224, 234, and 244 is configured to detect changes in tire pressure and to control the respective transmitter 216, 226, 236, and 246 to responsively transmit data and the unique identification code to receiver 250 in monitor receiver 130).
Regarding claim 5, Utter discloses the tire pressure monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the determining that the pressure data corresponds to an unacceptable tire pressure comprises comparing the pressure data to a threshold tire pressure (para [0035], where the newly measured tire pressure is compared to a predetermined high pressure threshold, wherein the predetermined high pressure threshold is the pressure difference threshold that indicates the pressure is higher than desired).
Regarding claim 6, Utter discloses the tire pressure monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the data associated with the unacceptable tire pressure comprises a wake signal to wake a vehicle computing system (para [0023], and [0034], where monitor receiver 130 is in a disabled mode (600) until it receives a signal from sender that causes it to automatically enter an enable mode (610). The signal may be any one of numerous trigger signals, and may be based, in part, upon several factors, such as whether the vehicle speed is below a certain threshold speed, or whether the pressure change is above a predetermined pressure change threshold. Monitor receiver 130 further includes one or more I/O devices 280 coupled to the processor 260 for interaction with a user or other automotive subsystems, such as a vehicle horn 290 and an external vehicle light 300).
Regarding claim 7, Utter discloses the tire pressure monitoring system of claim 6, wherein the vehicle computing system is configured to at least one of:
cause the vehicle to provide a visual display associated with the unacceptable tire pressure on a display device of the vehicle; or transmit the data associated with the unacceptable tire pressure to a remote computing device associated with a person associated with the vehicle (Fig. 4, para [0023],and [0036] where monitor receiver 130 further includes one or more I/O devices 280 coupled to the processor 260 for interaction with a user or other automotive subsystems, such as a vehicle horn 290 and an external vehicle light 300). Returning to FIG. 4, after the classification is made, an indication external to the vehicle is provided communicating the determined classification (430). In one exemplary embodiment, the monitor receiver 130 causes either a horn to chirp or an external vehicle light to flash to indicate whether the tire pressure classification is a high, normal or low value).
Regarding claim 12, Utter discloses a method comprising:
determining, based at least in part on motion data from a motion sensor associated with a tire on a vehicle, that the vehicle is stationary (para [0040], where system exits the alert stationary mode if the monitor receiver 130 learns from sender that a time measured by timer 310 coupled to the receiver 130 exceeds a predetermined time threshold,… the predetermined time threshold may be any length of time that may provide an indication that the driver is not inflating or deflating the tire. For example, the predetermined time threshold may be between thirty and sixty seconds. As previously mentioned, the predetermined speed threshold may be any range of speed indicating a stationary vehicle, and may be, for example, between 0 and 5 kph);
in response to determining that the vehicle is stationary, setting a non-zero pressure sampling rate of a pressure sensor associated with the tire (para [0030], [0031], where during alert stationary mode (530), tire pressure measurements are obtained once every second. Measurements are repeated (532) until no pressure change is detected (534). If no pressure change is detected (534), the system reverts back to normal stationary mode (520). If, while in normal stationary mode (520), the vehicle begins to move (526), the system automatically shifts to a normal rolling mode (540). Similar to normal stationary (520), tire pressure is measured every thirty seconds);
determining, at the non-zero pressure sampling rate, a series of pressure measurements for the tire (para [0030], and [0031], where measurements are repeated (532) until no pressure change is detected (534));
determining that a pressure measurement of the series of pressure measurements corresponds to an unacceptable tire pressure (para [0033], where during alert stationary mode (520), the system can automatically begin to detect whether a tire pressure measurement is greater than a predetermined pressure range, within the predetermined pressure range, or less than the pressure range (420)); and
transmitting an alert associated with the unacceptable tire pressure (para [0036], where (para [0033], where during alert stationary mode (520), the system can automatically begin to detect whether a tire pressure measurement …of sensors 212, 222, 232, 242 or any other device capable of communicating tire pressure data to monitor receiver 130)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 8, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Utter (US Pub.20060220813A1), hereinafter Utter in view of Huard et al., (US Pub.20180361802A1), hereinafter Huard.
Regarding claim 2, Utter discloses the tire pressure monitoring system of claim 1.
Utter does not disclose adjusting a motion sampling rate associated with the motion sensing component based at least in part on the first pressure data corresponding to the unacceptable tire pressure.
Huard disclose adjusting a motion sampling rate associated with the motion sensing component based at least in part on the first pressure data corresponding to the unacceptable tire pressure (para [0061-0062], where strategy for the acquisition of the measurements of the radial acceleration by the wheel sensor then switches from the “sleep” mode to the “awake” mode. The radial acceleration is then measured according to a period of significantly shorter duration in “awake” mode than in “sleep” mode. The radial acceleration is measured at the instants 103′, 104′, 105′ by the acceleration sensors 22 at a periodicity T3 referred to as “short”, for example of the order of a few seconds. For example, the radial acceleration is measured every 16 seconds. For preference, the radial acceleration is measured every 4 seconds).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to adjusting a motion sampling rate as taught by Huard into Utter in order to provide more rapidly alert the driver of the vehicle in the event of a low tire pressure upon detecting that the vehicle has started to move.
Regarding claim 3, Utter and Huard disclose the tire pressure monitoring system of claim 2, Utter does not disclose wherein the adjusting the motion sampling rate comprises increasing the motion sampling rate to an increased motion sampling rate, the actions further comprising:
sampling the motion sensing component at the increased motion sampling rate;
determining, based on the sampling, motion of the vehicle; and transmitting the data associated with the unacceptable tire pressure upon determining the motion of the vehicle.
Huard discloses the adjusting the motion sampling rate comprises increasing the motion sampling rate to an increased motion sampling rate, the actions further comprising:
sampling the motion sensing component at the increased motion sampling rate(para [0051, [0061], where During this “sleep” mode, the radial acceleration is measured at the instants 101, 102, 103 by the acceleration sensors 22 at a periodicity T1 referred to as “long”, for example of the order of one minute. For example, the radial acceleration is measured every 64 seconds… acquisition of the measurements of the radial acceleration by the wheel sensor then switches from the “sleep” mode to the “awake” mode. The radial acceleration is then measured according to a period of significantly shorter duration in “awake” mode than in “sleep” mode);
determining, based on the sampling, motion of the vehicle (para [0063], where according to this “awake” acquisition mode of the “non-running” mode, the recurrence of detection of the motion of the vehicle is rapid which means that the start of vehicle movement is detected at the very latest after a time TMotion corresponding at maximum to the value of the “short” periodicity T3 (i.e. here 4 seconds)); and
transmitting the data associated with the unacceptable tire pressure upon determining the motion of the vehicle (After the vehicle has actually begun to moves, and also the first data report from the wheel unit 1 that is received by the central processing unit is received at the very lates 4 seconds after the vehicle have begun to move para [0036] and [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to adjusting the motion sampling rate as taught by Huard into Utter in order to provide more rapidly alert the driver of the vehicle in the event of a low tire pressure upon detecting that the vehicle has started to move.
Regarding claim 4, Utter and Huard disclose the tire pressure monitoring system of claim 3, Utter does not disclose wherein the increased motion
sampling rate is equal to or less than one second per sample.
Huard discloses the increased motion sampling rate is equal to or less than one second per sample (para [0064], where In order to allow the driver to be alerted to a tire pressure problem even more promptly, a periodicity T3 of the order of one second during the “awake” mode is envisioned. Thus, the driver is informed of a tire pressure problem instantly, as soon as the vehicle starts).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to the increased motion sampling rate is equal to or less than one second per sample as taught by Huard into Utter in order to detect that the vehicle had started to move as quickly as possible and alert the driver to the low tire pressure.
Regarding claim 8, Utter and Huard disclose the tire pressure monitoring system of claim 1, Utter further discloses the actions further comprising:
determining a location of the tire on the vehicle(para [0023], where Memory 270 stores predetermined tire pressure values, measured tire pressure values, and vehicle speed threshold values. Memory 270 may also be capable of storing the associations between the unique identification codes and the tire locations, enabling the processor 260 to immediately associate pressure data received from a particular transmitter 216, 226, 236, or 246 with a tire location 110, 112, 114, or 116, respectively).
Utter does not disclose generating, based at least in part on determining that the vehicle is stationary and using the motion sensing component, a reference motion reading associated with the tire; and
generating, based at least in part on the determining that the pressure data corresponds to the unacceptable tire pressure, an updated motion reading associated with the tire.
Huard discloses generating, based at least in part on determining that the vehicle is stationary and using the motion sensing component, a reference motion reading associated with the tire (para [0055], where when the vehicle is in a so-called “non-running” (stationary) phase, namely when the signal 300 for the movement of the vehicle is in the low state, the acceleration sensors 22 of each wheel unit are in a so-called “sleep” acquisition mode. As described previously, during this “sleep” mode, the radial acceleration is measured at the instants 101′, 102′ by the acceleration sensors 22); and
generating, based at least in part on the determining that the pressure data corresponds to the unacceptable tire pressure, an updated motion reading associated with the tire (para [0056]-[0061], where In this configuration, while the vehicle is stationary, a pressure event is detected at the instant 201 which means that the pressure event detection signal 200 switches from a low state to a high state. Such a pressure event is a significant variation in the pressure of one tire of the vehicle, as measured by the pressure sensor 21… during the acquisition of the acceleration measurement at the instant 102′, the state of the pressure event detection signal 200 has changed by comparison with the last acquisition (at the instant 101′). The strategy for the acquisition of the measurements of the radial acceleration by the wheel sensor then switches from the “sleep” mode to the “awake” mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to adjusting the motion sampling rate as taught by Huard into Utter in order to detecting motion of the vehicle by the divergence from the reference acceleration value of zero for the stationary vehicle, and the system could more quickly alert the driver in the event of an undesirable pressure reading.
Regarding claim 13, Utter discloses the method of claim 12.
Utter does not disclose adjusting, based at least in part on the pressure measurement corresponding to the unacceptable tire pressure, an increased sampling rate associated with the motion sensor.
Huard disclose adjusting, based at least in part on the pressure measurement corresponding to the unacceptable tire pressure, an increased sampling rate associated with the motion sensor (after a pressure event is detected, the collection of radial acceleration measurement enters “awake” mode, where the sampling period is shorter that in the previous “sleep” mode. During “awake” mode, the recurrence of detection of the motion of the vehicle is rapid which means that the start of vehicle movement is detected at the very latest after a time T Motion corresponding at maximum to the value of the “short” periodicity T3 , see para [0061], [0062] , Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide the unacceptable tire pressure, increased sampling rate associated with the motion sensor, as taught by Huard into Utter in order to more rapidly alert, the driver of the vehicle in the event of a low tire pressure upon detecting that the vehicle has started to move.
Regarding Claim 14, Utter and Huard disclose the method of claim 13.
Utter does not disclose determining, based at least in part on second motion data associated with the increased sampling rate, that the tire is moving;
causing, based at least in part on the tire moving, a display to an operator of the
vehicle indicative of the alert.
Huard discloses determining, based at least in part on second motion data associated with the increased sampling rate, that the tire is moving (after a pressure event is detected, the collection of radial acceleration measurement enters “awake” mode, where the sampling period is shorter that in the previous “sleep” mode. During “awake” mode, the recurrence of detection of the motion of the vehicle is rapid which means that the start of vehicle movement is detected at the very latest after a time T Motion corresponding at maximum to the value of the “short” periodicity T3, see para [0061], [0062] , Abstract); and
causing, based at least in part on the tire moving, a display to an operator of the
vehicle indicative of the alert (after the vehicle has actually begun to move, and also the first data report from the wheel unit 1 that is received by central processing unit is receive at the very latest 4 seconds after the vehicle hag begun to move, this allowing the driver to be alerted to a tire pressure problem as promptly as possible, for example by displaying a warning message on the instruction panel, via an icon and/or an audible signa, see para [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to determining, based at least in part on second motion data associated with the increased sampling rate, that the tire is moving causing, based at least in part on the tire moving, a display to an operator of the vehicle indicative of the alert as taught by Huard into Utter in order to communicate to the driver vehicle that the tire pressure is outside of a normal range when they are beginning to use the vehicle, so they can fix the tire before driving at high speed.
Regarding Claim 15, Utter discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising:
determining, prior to determining that the vehicle is stationary, a location of the tire on the vehicle (para [0023], where memory 270 may also be capable of storing the associations between the unique identification codes and the tire locations, enabling the processor 260 to immediately associate pressure data received from a particular transmitter 216, 226, 236, or 246 with a tire location 110, 112, 114, or 116, respectively);
Utter does not disclose determining, based at least in part on determining that the vehicle is stationary, a reference motion reading for the tire; and
determining, based at least in part on determining that the pressure measurement corresponds to an unacceptable tire pressure, an updated motion reading for the tire.
Huard disclose determining, based at least in part on determining that the vehicle is stationary, a reference motion reading for the tire (para [0055], where when vehicle is in a so-called “non-running” (stationary) phase, namely when the signal 300 for the movement of the vehicle is in the low state, the acceleration sensors 22 of each wheel unit are in a so-called “sleep” acquisition mode. As described previously, during this “sleep” mode, the radial acceleration is measured at the instants 101′, 102′ by the acceleration sensors 22); and
determining, based at least in part on determining that the pressure measurement corresponds to an unacceptable tire pressure, an updated motion reading for the tire (para [0056]-[0061], where In this configuration, while the vehicle is stationary, a pressure event is detected at the instant 201 which means that the pressure event detection signal 200 switches from a low state to a high state. Such a pressure event is a significant variation in the pressure of one tire of the vehicle, as measured by the pressure sensor 21; Thus, during the acquisition of the acceleration measurement at the instant 102′, the state of the pressure event detection signal 200 has changed by comparison with the last acquisition (at the instant 101′). The strategy for the acquisition of the measurements of the radial acceleration by the wheel sensor then switches from the “sleep” mode to the “awake” mode. The radial acceleration is then measured according to a period of significantly shorter duration in “awake” mode than in “sleep” mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to determining that the vehicle is stationary, a
reference motion reading for the tire, determining that the pressure measurement
corresponds to an unacceptable tire pressure, an updated motion reading for the tire as taught by Huard into Utter in order to detected the motion of the vehicle by the divergence from the reference acceleration value of zero for the stationary vehicle, and the system could more quickly alert the driver in the event of an undesirable pressure reading.
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Utter in view of Huard, as applied above and further in view of Stewart (WO2005070707A1), hereinafter Stewart.
Regarding claim 9, Utter and Huard disclose the tire pressure monitoring system of claim 8.
Utter and Huard do not disclose confirming, based at least in part on the updated motion reading corresponding to the reference motion reading, the location of the tire on the vehicle, wherein the data further identifies the location of the tire on the vehicle.
Stewart disclose confirming, based at least in part on the updated motion reading corresponding to the reference motion reading, the location of the tire on the vehicle, wherein the data further identifies the location of the tire on the vehicle (para [0132], where the control circuit estimates the direction of rotation or the side of the vehicle on which the tire monitor is mounted. At block 1820, the control circuit tests the value of the variable LHScount. If LHScount is greater than 1, at block 1822 the output of the procedure is set to return the value LHS, indicating that the procedure has determined the tire monitor is located on the left hand side of the vehicle. If LHScount is not greater than 1, at block 1824 the control circuit tests the variable RHScount. If RHScount has a value greater than 1, at block 1826 the output of the procedure is set to return the value RHS, indicating that the procedure has determined the tire monitor is located on the right hand side of the vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to confirming the location of the tire on the vehicle, wherein the data further identifies the location of the tire on the vehicle as taught by Stewart in combination of Utter and Huard in order to more easy determine location of the tire having an undesirable pressure could be communicated to the driver so that the driver can immediately know the location of the affected tire, without having to check the pressures of each tire.
Regarding Claim 11, Utter and Huard disclose the tire pressure monitoring system of claim 8.
Utter does not disclose determining, based at least in part on the updated motion reading not corresponding to the reference motion reading, that the location of the tire on the vehicle is unknown.
Stewart discloses determining, based at least in part on the updated motion reading not corresponding to the reference motion reading, that the location of the tire on the vehicle is unknown (para [0132], where the control circuit estimates the direction of rotation or the side of the vehicle on which the tire monitor is mounted. At block 1820, the control circuit tests the value of the variable LHS count. If LHS count is greater than 1, at block 1822 the output of the procedure is set to return the value LHS, indicating that the procedure has determined the tire monitor is located on the left hand side of the vehicle. If LHS count is not greater than 1, at block 1824 the control circuit tests the variable RHS count. If RHS count has a value greater than 1, at block 1826 the output of the procedure is set to return the value RHS, indicating that the procedure has determined the tire monitor is located on the right hand side of the vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to determining, based at least in part on the updated motion reading not corresponding to the reference motion reading, that the location of the tire on the vehicle is unknown, as taught by Stewart in combination of Utter and Huard in order to monitoring system could still operate for the remaining tires of one of the tires was replaced or a sensor was lost.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Utter in view of Huard and Stewart, as applied above and further in view of Nantz et al., (US Pub.20030164031A1), hereinafter Nantz.
Regarding Claim 10, Utter and Huard and Stewart disclose the tire pressure monitoring system of claim 9, wherein the tire is a first tire.
Utter and Huard do not disclose receiving supplemental wheel location data associated with a second tire; and
verifying, based at least in part on the supplemental wheel location data, the location of the tire on the vehicle.
Nantz discloses receiving supplemental wheel location data associated with a second tire; and
verifying, based at least in part on the supplemental wheel location data, the location of the tire on the vehicle (when the tire 14 is replaced, the system re-programmed of ensure that the tire pressure monitoring system continues to operate properly by conveying accurate information, including tire location, the vehicle operator. In program model and while the vehicle is stationary, each transmitter 19 in the tire 14 to transmit a tire pressure signal 20 to the controller 24; Each pressure sensor 17 and/or transmitter 18 has a unique identification code associated therewith, that is transmitted with the tire pressure signal 20. Using such identification codes, and by following the preselected sequence for activating transmitters 18, the controller 24 associates each tire pressure signal 20 received with a particular tire location (e.g., front left (FL), front right (FR) , rear left( RL), rear right (RR)), see para [0032]-[0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to an receiving supplemental wheel location, verifying, based at least in part on the supplemental wheel location data, the location of the tire on the vehicle as taught by Nantz in combination of Utter and Huard and Stewart in order to verify the positions of the tires with respect to each other, whose locations may have been changed as a result of a tire rotation.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Utter in view of Huard, as applied above and further in view of Nantz et al., (US Pub.20030164031A1), hereinafter Nantz.
Regarding Claim 16, Utter and Huard disclose the method of claim 15.
Utter and Huard do not disclose comparing the updated motion reading to the reference motion reading wherein the alert comprises one of:
an indication of the location of the tire on the vehicle, in response to the comparing indicating that the updated motion reading corresponds to the reference motion reading; or an indication that a position of the tire on the vehicle is unknown, in response to the comparing indicating that the updated motion reading does not correspond to the reference motion reading.
Nantz discloses comparing the updated motion reading (para [0031], where rotation sensors (28) are provided for use in determining if the vehicle is stationary by sensing whether or not the associated tire (14) is rotating), to the reference motion reading, wherein the alert comprises one of:
an indication of the location of the tire on the vehicle, in response to the comparing indicating that the updated motion reading corresponds to the reference motion reading(para [0031]-[0038], where Impact sensor (26) senses an impact to the associated tire (14), and, provided the vehicle is stationary (i.e., rotation sensor (28) provides an indication to impact sensor (26) that tire (14) is not rotating), causes the associated transmitter (18) to transmit a tire pressure signal (20). The system (10) may further include a display unit (30) for mounting inside the vehicle, the display unit (30) for use by the controller (24) in conveying information, such as at least tire pressure, and preferably location, to the vehicle operator… to convey such confirmatory information, controller (24) is for use in generating an audible and/or visual signal, such as activation of the vehicle horn or a vehicle light (not shown)); or an indication that a position of the tire on the vehicle is unknown, in response to the comparing indicating that the updated motion reading does not correspond to the reference motion reading.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to an indication of the location of the tire on the vehicle, as taught by Nantz in combination of Utter and Huard in order to determine if the vehicle is stationary or moving by comparing the rotation to a zero value, and to alert the driver of the vehicle that the tire pressure is undesirable while also providing information about which tire needs attention.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Utter in view of Nantz et al., (US Pub.20030164031A1), hereinafter Nantz.
Regarding Claim 17, Utter disclose a vehicle comprising:
a plurality of tires (Claim 23, where “tire pressure monitor system for a vehicle having a plurality of tires”; para [0019], where “Tire pressure detectors 202, 102, 122, and 222 correspond to the left-front tire location 110, the right-front tire location 112, the right-rear tire location 114, and the left-rear tire location 116, respectively”); and
a tire pressure monitoring system (Claim 23, where tire pressure monitor system for a vehicle having a plurality of tires) comprising:
a pressure sensor associated with one of the plurality of tires (Fig. 3, para [0020] where system is provided for monitoring tire pressure; Each tire pressure detector 202, 102, 122, and 222 includes a tire pressure sensor 212, 222, 232, and 242, respectively);
a motion sensor configured to determine motion of the vehicle (para [0022], where Speed sensor 140 determines vehicle speed and transmits the vehicle speed data to processor 260 for evaluation. Speed sensor 140 can also have any number of configurations and utilize any number of techniques to determine the speed of the vehicle); and
a controller configured to perform actions (para [0023], where monitor receiver 130 includes receiver 250, processor 260, and memory 270) comprising:
determining a first location of a first tire of the plurality of tires on the vehicle(para [0023], where Memory 270 may also be capable of storing the associations between the unique identification codes and the tire locations, enabling the processor 260 to immediately associate pressure data received from a particular transmitter 216, 226, 236, or 246 with a tire location 110, 112, 114, or 116, respectively);
determining, based at least in part on motion data from the motion sensor, that the vehicle is stationary (para [0040], where the system exits the alert stationary mode if the monitor receiver 130 learns from sender that a time measured by timer 310 coupled to the receiver 130 exceeds a predetermined time threshold, vehicle speed is greater than a predetermined speed threshold, power mode is in accessory mode or the sender has not completed learn mode (760). The predetermined time threshold may be any length of time that may provide an indication that the driver is not inflating or deflating the tire. For example, the predetermined time threshold may be between thirty and sixty seconds. As previously mentioned, the predetermined speed threshold may be any range of speed indicating a stationary vehicle, and may be, for example, between 0 and 5 kph);
determining, with the vehicle stationary and based at least in part on pressure data from the pressure sensor, that a tire pressure of the first tire is unacceptable (para [0033], where During alert stationary mode (520), the system can automatically begin to detect whether a tire pressure measurement is greater than a predetermined pressure range, within the predetermined pressure range, or less than the pressure range (420). This step (420) may be implemented in any one of numerous fashions, one of which is depicted in FIG. 6, and may be implemented into any of the processors used in tire pressure monitoring system, however, the step is more preferably employed in a sender, which may be one of sensors 212, 222, 232, 242 or any other device capable of communicating tire pressure data to monitor receiver 130).
Utter does not disclose determining, using the motion sensor and based at least in part on determining that the vehicle is stationary, a reference motion reading associated with a first tire of the plurality of tires; determining, based at least in part in response to determining that the tire pressure of the first tire is unacceptable, an updated motion reading associated with the first tire; and determining, based on the updated motion reading associated with the first tire corresponding to the reference motion reading, that the first tire is at the first location.
Nantz discloses determining, using the motion sensor and based at least in part on determining that the vehicle is stationary, a reference motion reading associated with a first tire of the plurality of tires (para [0031], where Rotation sensors (28) are provided for use in determining if the vehicle is stationary by sensing whether or not the associated tire (14) is rotating. Impact sensor (26) senses an impact to the associated tire (14), and, provided the vehicle is stationary (i.e., rotation sensor (28) provides an indication to impact sensor (26) that tire (14) is not rotating));
determining, based at least in part in response to determining that the tire pressure of the first tire is unacceptable, an updated motion reading associated with the first tire (para [0037], where More particularly, to identify a tire location associated with a general low tire pressure indication conveyed by the controller (24), at least one tire (14) is struck, thumped, kicked or hit when the vehicle (12) is stationary so that the associated impact sensor (26) actuates the associated transmitter (18) and, if the associated tire pressure signal (20) transmitted represents a low tire pressure, the controller (24) conveys confirmatory information that the at least one tire (14) struck has low pressure); and determining, based on the updated motion reading associated with the first tire corresponding to the reference motion reading, that the first tire is at the first location (para [0037], where in particular, after providing a general indication, such as via display unit (30), to an operator that a tire (14) is outside appropriate operating parameters, the present invention provides for identifying the particular location of that tire via an audible or visual signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to determining that the vehicle is stationary, a reference motion reading associated with a first tire of the plurality of tires, as taught by Nantz into Utter in order to identify the location of the tire that has an undesirable pressure reading so that the affected tire can be more easily addressed.
Regarding Claim 18, Utter and Nantz disclose the vehicle of claim 17, further Utter disclose the actions further comprising: generating an alert indicating that the first tire, at the first location on the vehicle, has an unacceptable pressure (para [0035], where a determination is made as to whether the tire is being inflated or deflated and whether a newly measured tire pressure should be classified as high, normal, or low in relation to a predetermined placard value); and
causing the alert to be at least one of:
displayed on a display of the vehicle; or
transmitted to a computer device associated with a person associated with the vehicle (para [0036], where after the classification is made, an indication external to the vehicle is provided communicating the determined classification (430)).
Regarding Claim 19, Utter and Nantz disclose the vehicle of claim 17, the actions further Utter disclose comprising:
transmitting a wake-up signal to a computing system associated with the vehicle(para [0034],[0023], where Initially, monitor receiver 130 is in a disabled mode (600) until it receives a signal from sender that causes it to automatically enter an enable mode (610). The signal may be any one of numerous trigger signals, and may be based, in part, upon several factors, such as whether the vehicle speed is below a certain threshold speed; Monitor receiver 130 further includes one or more I/O devices 280 coupled to the processor 260 for interaction with a user or other automotive subsystems, such as a vehicle horn 290 and an external vehicle light 300).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Utter in view of Nantz as applied above and further in view of Huard.
Regarding Claim 20, Utter and Nantz disclose the vehicle of claim 17.
Utter does not disclose the actions further comprising: at least in part in response to determining that a tire pressure of the first tire is unacceptable, increasing a sampling rate of the motion sensor.
Huard disclose at least in part in response to determining that a tire pressure of the first tire is unacceptable, increasing a sampling rate of the motion sensor(after a pressure event is detected, the collection of radial acceleration measurement enters “awake” mode, where the sampling period is shorter that in the previous “sleep” mode. During “awake” mode, the recurrence of detection of the motion of the vehicle is rapid which means that the start of vehicle movement is detected at the very latest after a time T Motion corresponding at maximum to the value of the “short” periodicity T3 , see para [0061], [0062], Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to an detecting a tire pressure of the first tire is unacceptable, increasing a sampling rate of the motion sensor, as taught by Huard in combination of Utter and Nantz in order to more rapidly alert, the driver of the vehicle in the event of a low tire pressure upon detecting that the vehicle has started to move.
Conclusion
/KALERIA KNOX/
Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ANDREW SCHECHTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857