Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 2, line 4, the phrase “the input holes” lacks proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the phrase “the plurality of input holes” is assumed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeder (US 2,889,805) in view of Yamada (US 2019/0240607A1).
Freeder teaches a flocking processing device (Figs 1-2 and 5) which is capable of separating fibers remaining after use so as not to be clumped during a task of coating the fibers onto a surface of a processing object (article A, see column 1, lines 43-46 and column 5, lines 39-44), and then resupplies the fibers, comprising: a processing unit (conveying means 15) in which a jig holding (base member 88) the processing object (A) is stored, and a plurality of injection means (46, 47) is installed around the processing object (A) to inject the fibers to the processing object (A); a dust collection unit (14) having an inlet (compartment 53 connected to intake 52) into which the fibers which remain after use in the processing unit are introduced, which is installed on one side, and including a dust collection tank (14) of which a lower portion is opened; a supply unit configured by a supply means (blower 44) in which a discharge means installed in a lower portion of the dust collection unit (14) and rotated by a first motor (motor 35) makes the fibers discharged from the dust collection unit (14) be introduced into a supply tank (hopper 13), and an agitation means (screws 34) which is rotatable is installed inside the supply tank (13) to separate the fibers input into the supply tank and input the separated fibers with lead-movement of a supply member which rotates by a second motor (48). Freeder lacks teaching a separation unit in which a separation means which scatters the fibers while passing through a filter installed on an outer surface of a separation tank, and a distribution unit in which a plurality of distribution members is installed below a plurality of partitioned distribution pipes in the lower portion of the collection tank as claimed. However, Yamada teaches (see Fig 1-3) a separation unit in which a separation means (see Fig 3 for a dust collector 27) which scatters the fibers while passing through a filter (240) installed on an outer surface of a separation tank (housing 241) accommodating the fibers input through a supply unit (the drum 41 connected to a blower 28) and capable of being rotated by a motor (see para [0057]) is accommodated in the collection tank (14); and a distribution unit (see Fig 3) in which a plurality of distribution members (openings 305b) installed below a plurality of partitioned distribution pipes (306) in the lower portion of the collection tank (241), and air is input (air input 308) into the respective distribution members (305b) capable of evenly supplying the fibers to the plurality of injection means (conduit 23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a separation unit in which a separation means which scatters the fibers while passing through a filter and a distribution unit in which a plurality of distribution members is installed below a plurality of partitioned distribution pipes as claimed in Freeder to capture screened material and clean the dust collector or collection tank by using a filter and a high pressure air current as taught by Yamada (see Abstract and para [0017]).
Claim 2 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 2, Yamada or Freeder does not teach or suggest a plurality of partitioned inlet holes formed in the lower portion of the collection tank, a distribution pipe in which a plurality of input holes is penetrated is formed in the distribution pipe and a plurality of brushes, which is formed in the distribution pipe rotating to evenly supply the fibers into the plurality of input holes. Actually, Yamada teaches a brush (not shown in the figure) that wipes fiber and particles from the mesh belt 72 is taught (see para [0066]). Freeder also teaches a transversely extending partition 36 located in the hopper 13 above one end of the feed screw 34, but a plurality of partitioned inlet holes, a distribution pipe in which a plurality of input holes penetrated formed in the distribution pipe, plurality of distribution members installed in a lower portion of the distribution pipe to be spaced apart from each other, and a plurality of brushes formed in the distribution the distribution unit are not taught in Freeder. Instead, the feed screw 34 extending through the hopper 13, and the movement of the fibers or flock downwardly past the edge of the partition 36 and horizontally through the lower portion of the hopper effected by action of the stirring means and feed screw 34 is taught in Freeder (see Fig 7 and column 5, lines 9-15). Prior art of record does not disclose or suggest a flocking processing device coating the fibers onto a surface of a processing object, comprising, among others (see claim 1), a processing unit in which a jig holding the processing object, a dust collection unit, a supply unit configured by a supply means in which a discharge means installed in a lower portion of the dust collection unit, a separation unit in which a separation means which scatters the fibers while passing through a filter installed on an outer surface of a separation tank the distribution unit, a plurality of partitioned inlet holes formed in the lower portion of the collection tank, and a distribution pipe in which a plurality of input holes is penetrated installed in the distribution unit, a brush shaft with a plurality of brushes, which is formed in the distribution pipe rotates to evenly supply the fibers into the input holes, and a plurality of distribution members installed in a lower portion of the distribution pipe to be spaced apart from each other, and air is input into an injection pipe installed on a side surface of the distribution member to be in communication with the side surface of the distribution member (as to claim 2); and wherein in the separation means, the one or more filters are installed on the outer surface of the separation tank which rotates around a rotary shaft which rotates by receiving a rotary force of the third motor (as to claims 3-6).
YEWEBDAR T. TADESSE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717
/YEWEBDAR T TADESSE/