DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Examiner acknowledges applicants’ reply dated December 15, 2025, including arguments and amendments, such amendments including the cancellation of claims 8 and 10.
Claims 1 – 7, 9, and 11 – 20 are currently pending, of which claims 1, 9, and 17 are independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that claim 1 is in condition for allowance because it integrates the subject matter of cancelled claim 8.
Applicant correctly notes in their arguments that claim 8 had received an objection (Non-final Office action of September 30, 2025) for depending on a rejected base claim, but would have been allowable if rewritten in independent form. However, this was a typographical error, and claim 8 was not intended to be included in that list, where claim 6 was intended to be included. At the next page of the Non-final Office action, claim 8 is correctly included in the list of claims rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McConnell, and the detailed rejection of claim 8 is presented on the following page.
The rationale for which the other claims were indicated as allowable was that they claim the use of “read timestamps”, a feature not present in claim 8. In addition, the Office Action Summary (PTOL-326) and Index of Claims both indicate that claim 8 has been rejected, and that claim 6 has received an objection.
Because claim 8 was previously rejected as being anticipated by McConnell, and not actually allowable, the subject matter of that claim being integrated into claim 1 does not bring claim 1 into condition for allowance. The rejection of amended claim 1 is maintained.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 – 4, 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not adequately disclose “read timestamps” as they are used in the instant invention
Claims 9 and 11 – 16 are allowed. The prior art does not adequately disclose: “obtaining, from a cache associated with the key-value store, a read timestamp associated with the key; … determining that the upper bound write attempt timestamp is after the read timestamp; [or] determining, based on the upper bound write attempt timestamp being after the read time stamp, that a cache associated with the key-value store stores a stale value of the key,” as specifically recited in claim 9.
Claims 17 – 20 are allowed. The prior art does not disclose the generation of an upper bound write attempt timestamp as recited in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McConnell et al., U.S. Pat. No. 10,216,631 (hereafter, “McConnell”).
As to Claim 1, McConnell discloses: a method of reading a value of a key, the method comprising:
receiving, from a client, a read request for the value of the key (col. 4, lines 41 – 47, referring to a user sending a request to query a database);
obtaining, from a server, for every key in a key-value store, an upper bound write attempt timestamp associated with the key (col. 6, lines 26 – 33, referring to the determination of a database threshold, based on the age of the stored data), wherein the key-value store is a distributed key-value store storing data as key-value pairs in tables distributed across multiple nodes (Fig. 1, described at col. 3, line 66 through col. 4, line 11, showing environment 100, including database 108, which is described as being a distributed database);
determining, based on the upper bound write attempt timestamp associated with the key, whether a cache associated with the key-value store stores a stale value of the key (col. 5, lines 1 – 10, referring to the system determining whether the cache associated with the query is expired, stale or valid); and
responsive to determining that the cache stores a stale value of the key, retrieving the value of the key from the key-value store (col. 5, lines 24 – 35, referring to reading query data from the database in response to a determination that the cache is expired).
As to Claim 5, McConnell discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, from a client, a write request for a new value of the key and a write attempt timestamp associated with the write request; updating the server with the key and the write attempt timestamp; and updating the key-value store with the key and the new value (col. 5, lines 24 – 35, referring to the primary storage database performing updating write operations to save the data received in response to determining that the cache had contained expired data).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NIRAV K KHAKHAR/Examiner, Art Unit 2167
/TONY MAHMOUDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2163