DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 10 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claimed limitation, "the second predetermined temperature value" lacks antecedent basis in the claims. The above mentioned claims should recite the limitation as ‘-- a second predetermined temperature value --’ Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chamoun (US 2017/0276422 A1) and in view of Aoki (US 2009/0266093 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Chamoun teaches a system for passive/active hybrid defrosting of a heat pump (see figs. 1-5 and abstract), comprising: a controller (controller 100) in communication with a heat pump (see figs. 1); and a memory (memory, see paragraph 24) storing control logic executed by the controller (see figs. 1-5 and paragraph 24), the control logic causing the controller to: determine a temperature of an evaporator coil of the heat pump (temperature sensor 50 to determine temperature of evaporator coil, see paragraphs 29, 31);
operate the heat pump in a passive defrost mode (operating heat pump in first/free defrost operation, paragraphs 26-28 and figs. 2-5) if the temperature of the evaporator coil indicates predetermined level of frost (see first/free defrost operation based on air temperature at the evaporator coil, paragraphs 29-30 and figs. 2-5); and
operate the heat pump in an active defrost mode if the temperature of the evaporator coil remains below the first predetermined temperature value and a first time period has expired (see second/positive defrost operation when the sensed temperature is below the predetermined temperature for a predetermined time, claim 9 and figs. 2-5).
However, Chamoun does not explicitly teach that frost is indicated by temperature of coil being less than or equal to a first value.
Aoki discloses a defrosting system of a heat pump (see fig. 2 and abstract), comprising: a controller (control unit 12) in communication with a heat pump (see paragraph 46); and the controller configured to determine a temperature of an evaporator coil of the heat pump (determine temperature of the outdoor pipe of the evaporator coil 11, see figs. 1-2 and paragraph 43); operate the heat pump in a defrost mode (start defrost at step S5, see fig. 2) if the temperature of the evaporator coil is less than or equal to a first predetermined temperature value (if the outdoor pipe temperature is less than or equal to the set value at step S3, see fig. 2 and paragraph 59).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Chamoun to determine the evaporator coil temperature and operate the heat pump in a passive defrost mode if the temperature of the evaporator coil is less than or equal to a first predetermined temperature value based on the teachings of Aoki in order to accurately determine the amount of frost accumulated on the evaporator coil because reducing temperature of the evaporator coil below zero is a direct indication of the increasing amount of frost formed on the outdoor evaporator heat exchanger (see paragraph 59, Aoki).
In regards to claim 2, Chamoun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the controller to operate the heat pump in the passive defrost mode for the first time period (free defrost mode operated within a short period, see paragraph 30; wherein, free defrost mode operated independent of second defrost operation, see figs. 2-5).
In regards to claim 3, Chamoun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 2 and further discloses that the controller to stop operation of the passive defrost mode when the first time period has elapsed and the temperature of the evaporator coil remains below the first predetermined temperature value (free defrost mode stopped after short period of time irrespective of the coil temperature rising above a predetermine temperature, see paragraph 30). In addition, Chamoun does not teach stopping operation of the passive defrost mode when the temperature of the evaporator coil rises above the first predetermined temperature value in the passive mode. Also, Aoki teaches starting and continuing the passive defrost mode based on temperature of the evaporator coil remaining below the first predetermined temperature value (see fig. 2). Therefore, the combination teaches stopping the passive defrost mode when the first time period has elapsed while the and the temperature of the evaporator coil remains below the first predetermined temperature value because the passive defrost mode is stopped based on the first time period and not the coil temperature change within the free defrost mode.
In regards to claim 4, Chamoun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the control logic causes the controller of the heat pump to stop operation of the active defrost mode when the temperature of the evaporator coil is greater than a second predetermined temperature value (controller 100 terminates defrost cycle when coil temperature reaches predetermined increased temperature, see paragraphs 31, and 36-38).
In regards to claim 5, Chamoun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the control logic causes the controller to operate the heat pump in the active defrost mode for a second time period (controller 100 operates heat pump in active defrost mode for a second time period, see below annotated fig. 4 and paragraphs 40-41).
In regards to claim 6, Chamoun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 5 and further discloses that the control logic causes the controller to stop operation of the active defrost mode if the temperature of the evaporator coil is greater than the second predetermined temperature value (controller 100 terminates defrost cycle when coil temperature reaches predetermined increased temperature, see paragraphs 31, and 36-38).
In regards to claim 7, Chamoun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the control logic causes the controller to stop operation of the passive defrost mode or the active defrost mode upon expiration of time (free defrost mode stopped after short period of time irrespective of the coil temperature rising above a predetermine temperature, see paragraph 30; Also see figs. 4-5, where active/positive defrost mode ends after a time period). In addition, Aoki teaches that the controller (controller 12) is configured to end the defrost operation upon expiration of a timeout timer (defrost ends after expiration of adjustable defrosting time, see fig. 4 and paragraphs 59-60, 64-65).
In regards to claims 8 and 9, Chamoun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and Aoki further discloses that the first predetermined temperature value is 29 degrees Fahrenheit or the first predetermined temperature value falls in a range of 22-32 degrees Fahrenheit (controller 12 is configured to set the first predetermined temperature set value to -2 (negative) degree Celsius or below, which is equivalent to 28.4 degrees Fahrenheit, see S3, fig. 2 and paragraphs 64-65).
It would have been for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Chamoun to set the first predetermine temperature at 29 degrees Fahrenheit (-1.67 degree Celsius) based on the teachings of Aoki because Aoki teaches setting the first predetermine temperature at 28.4 degrees Fahrenheit (-2 degree Celsius), which is very close the claimed 29 degrees Fahrenheit, and because it is a known technique to set the first predetermined temperature near or just below zero degree Celsius to prevent frost accumulation or protect efficiency of the heat pump by employing defrost methods as the frost starts to accumulate on the evaporator coil to obtain a predictable result of improved efficiency of the heat pump. In addition, applicant has not assigned any significance to the exact value of 29 degrees Fahrenheit, which improves the efficiency of the claimed heat pump in any particular way, rather the disclosure requires the first predetermine temperature to be less than or equal to 29 degrees Fahrenheit (see paragraph 12, specification).
In regards to claim 11, Chamoun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and Aoki further discloses that the second predetermined temperature value falls in a range of 40-50 degrees Fahrenheit (see 8 degrees Celsius for stopping defrost operation, at step S7, fig. 2; which is 46.4 degrees Fahrenheit, paragraph 59).
In regards to claim 12, Chamoun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the heat pump is operated in the passive defrost mode by turning off a compressor of the heat pump and turning on a fan of the heat pump (see defrost operation by activating outdoor heat exchanger fan 48 and turning off compressor 20, paragraphs 27-28).
In regards to claim 13, Chamoun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the heat pump is operated in the active defrost mode by turning off a fan of the heat pump and turning on a compressor of the heat pump (see defrost operation by turning on compressor 20 without turning on the outdoor heat exchanger fan 48, paragraphs 31 and 38).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chamoun in view of Aoki as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Wellman (US 2002/0184900 A1).
In regards to claim 10, Chamoun as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and Aoki further discloses that the second predetermined temperature value is 46.4 degrees Fahrenheit (see step S7, fig. 2); however, Chamoun does not teach the second value to be 42 degrees Fahrenheit.
Wellman teaches stopping the defrost cycle at the second predetermined temperature value between 40 and 50 degrees Fahrenheit, which includes 42 degrees Fahrenheit (see paragraphs 44, 56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Chamoun to set the second predetermined temperature value at 42 degrees Fahrenheit based on the teachings of Aoki in order to conserve energy by terminating the defrost operation before overheating the evaporator coil and restarting the cooling operation of the heat pump with a greater temperature difference.
Conclusion
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763