CTNF 18/668,003 CTNF 80845 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-2, 5-12, 15-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (US 2020/0245367) . Regarding claim 1, 20, Sun discloses an apparatus configured for wireless communications, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories ( Methods, systems, and devices for wireless communications are described. A user equipment (UE) may obtain a signal received over a wireless channel, the signal configuring one or more random access parameters for the wireless channel and An apparatus for wireless communication at a UE…may include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory , abstract and figure 9 and [0006] and [0176] and [0242] and figure 13) , the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to: obtain a first configuration for random access communications, wherein the first configuration includes a first explicit indication of a first mapping of a first subset of random access occasions of a plurality of random access occasions to a first synchronization signal block (SSB)( For example, the downlink control signal 605 may include an SSB bitmap that indicates which SSBs are associated with the triggered random access occasions 610 …In the example illustrated in timing diagram 600, the downlink control signal 605 may carry or convey an indication of a first subset of triggered random access occasions 610 that are associated with a first SSB (SSB-1) , and carry or convey an indication of a second subset of triggered random access occasions 610 that are associated with a second SSB (e.g., SSB-2) and the downlink control signal… explicit ly indicate the LBT behavior for the triggered random access occasions , [0133] and figure 6 and [0128] and [0105] and [0130]-[0134]) ; and send first signaling in at least one random access occasion of the first subset of random access occasions associated with the first SSB ( the UE may transmit or otherwise output a random access signal for transmission on the wireless channel during at least one of the triggered random access occasions 610 and according to the SSB bitmap. For example, the UE may transmit or otherwise output the random access signal according to the first SSB (e.g., for triggered random access occasions 610 associated with SSB-1) , and/or transmit or otherwise output the random access signal according to the second SSB (e.g., for triggered random access occasions 610 associated with SSB-2), [0134]) and figure 6 and [0105] and [0130]-[0134]) . Regarding claim 11, an apparatus configured for wireless communications, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories ( Methods, systems, and devices for wireless communications are described and An apparatus for wireless communication at a base station…may include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory , abstract and figure 9 and [0019] and [0184] and [0242] and figure 14-15) , the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to: send a first configuration for random access communications, wherein the first configuration includes a first explicit indication of a first mapping of a first subset of random access occasions of a plurality of random access occasions to a first synchronization signal block (SSB) ( For example, the downlink control signal 605 may include an SSB bitmap that indicates which SSBs are associated with the triggered random access occasions 610 …In the example illustrated in timing diagram 600, the downlink control signal 605 may carry or convey an indication of a first subset of triggered random access occasions 610 that are associated with a first SSB (SSB-1) , and carry or convey an indication of a second subset of triggered random access occasions 610 that are associated with a second SSB (e.g., SSB-2) and the downlink control signal…explicit ly indicate the LBT behavior for the triggered random access occasions , [0133] and figure 6 and [0128] and [0105] and [0130]-[0134]) ; and obtain first signaling in at least one random access occasion of the first subset of random access occasions associated with the first SSB ( the UE may transmit or otherwise output a random access signal for transmission on the wireless channel during at least one of the triggered random access occasions 610 and according to the SSB bitmap. For example, the UE may transmit or otherwise output the random access signal according to the first SSB (e.g., for triggered random access occasions 610 associated with SSB-1) , and/or transmit or otherwise output the random access signal according to the second SSB (e.g., for triggered random access occasions 610 associated with SSB-2)…The base station and UE may establish a connection based at least in part on the random access signal, [0134]) and figure 6 and [0105] and [0130]-[0134]) . Regarding claim 2, 12, Sun discloses wherein the first configuration includes a second explicit indication of a second mapping of a second subset of random access occasions of the plurality of random access occasions to a second SSB ( For example, the downlink control signal 605 may include an SSB bitmap that indicates which SSBs are associated with the triggered random access occasions 610…In the example illustrated in timing diagram 600, the downlink control signal 605 may carry or convey an indication of a first subset of triggered random access occasions 610 that are associated with a first SSB (SSB-1), and carry or convey an indication of a second subset of triggered random access occasions 610 that are associated with a second SSB (e.g., SSB-2) and the downlink control signal… explicit ly indicate the LBT behavior for the triggered random access occasions 510, [0133] and figure 6 and [0128] and [0105] and [0130]-[0134]) ;. Regarding claim 5, 15, Sun discloses wherein the first explicit indication includes a bitmap corresponding to the plurality of random access occasions that indicates the first subset of random access occasions ( the downlink control signal 605 may include an SSB bitmap that indicates which SSBs are associated with the triggered random access occasions 610, [0133]-[0134] and [0105] and figure 6) . Regarding claim 6, 16, Sun discloses wherein the first explicit indication includes an indication of a pattern within the plurality of random access occasions, the pattern corresponding to the first subset of random access occasions ( The base station may configure the UE with a time-frequency resource for the random access signal (e.g., time/frequency domain resources, such as how many triggered random access occasions in time and/or frequency). The base station may configure the UE with a repetition factor for a pattern of the random access occasions (e.g., this may include indicating the number of repetitions of a specific pattern of random access occasions, all of which may be triggered by a single DCI), [0094] and [0100] and [0116] and [0123] and [0199] and [0130]-[0134] and figure 6) . Regarding claim 7, 17, Sun discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: obtain, after obtaining the first configuration, a second configuration for random access communications, wherein the second configuration includes a second explicit indication of a second mapping of a second subset of random access occasions of the plurality of random access occasions to the first SSB, wherein the first subset of random access occasions is different from the second subset of random access occasions ( random access signal may be transmitted according to the random access parameters (as originally configured and/or as updat ed by the downlink control signal ) and/or the location of the triggered random access occasions 805 indicated in the downlink control signals and In some aspects, the configuration in the downlink control signal 605 may override or otherwise be used to updat e the configuration indicated in the configured random access parameters …In the example illustrated in timing diagram 600, the downlink control signal 605 may carry or convey an indication of a first subset of triggered random access occasions 610 that are associated with a first SSB (SSB-1), and carry or convey an indication of a second subset of triggered random access occasions 610 that are associated with a second SSB (e.g., SSB-2) and the random access signal may be transmitted according to the random access parameters (as originally configured and/or as updat ed by the downlink control signal 605 )(Examiner correlates downlink control signals that are used to update/override random access occasions that are associated with SSBs to correlates to a second configuration for random access communications), [0144] and [0133]-[0134] and [0139] and [0148]-[0150]) ; and send second signaling in at least one random access occasion of the second subset of random access occasions associated with the first SSB ( the UE may transmit or otherwise output a random access signal for transmission on the wireless channel during at least one of the triggered random access occasions 610 and according to the SSB bitmap, [0133]-[0134] and [0139] and [0144] and [0148]-[0150]) . Regarding claim 8, Sun discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to obtain an indication of a set of SSBs, including the first SSB, that has, for each SSB of the set of SSBs, an SSB-specific subset of random access occasions, wherein the respective SSB-specific subset of random access occasions for the first SSB includes the first subset of random access occasions ( For example, the downlink control signal 605 may include an SSB bitmap that indicates which SSBs are associated with the triggered random access occasions 610 …In the example illustrated in timing diagram 600, the downlink control signal 605 may carry or convey an indication of a first subset of triggered random access occasions 610 that are associated with a first SSB (SSB-1), and carry or convey an indication of a second subset of triggered random access occasions 610 that are associated with a second SSB (e.g., SSB-2) and the downlink control signal… explicit ly indicate the LBT behavior for the triggered random access occasions 510, [0133] and figure 6 and [0128] and [0105] and [0130]-[0134]) . Regarding claim 9, 19, Sun discloses wherein: the first configuration includes a second explicit indication of a set of mappings for a subset of SSBs of a plurality of SSBs; each mapping of the set of mappings includes an association between one or more random access occasions and at least one SSB of the subset of SSBs; the set of mappings includes the first mapping; and the second explicit indication includes the first explicit indication ( For example, the downlink control signal 605 may include an SSB bitmap that indicates which SSBs are associated with the triggered random access occasions 610 …In the example illustrated in timing diagram 600, the downlink control signal 605 may carry or convey an indication of a first subset of triggered random access occasions 610 that are associated with a first SSB (SSB-1), and carry or convey an indication of a second subset of triggered random access occasions 610 that are associated with a second SSB (e.g., SSB-2) and the downlink control signal… explicit ly indicate the LBT behavior for the triggered random access occasions 510, [0133] and figure 6 and [0128] and [0105] and [0130]-[0134]) . Regarding claim 10, Sun discloses wherein the first subset of random access occasions indicates one or more parameters for random access communications ( the random access signal may be transmitted according to the random access parameter s (as originally configured and/or as updated by the downlink control signal 605) and/or the location of the triggered random access occasions 610 indicated in the downlink control signal 605, [0133]-[0134]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al., in view of Zewail et al. (US 2022/0007421) Regarding claim 18, Sun fails to disclose obtain an indication of a second subset of random access occasions of the plurality of random access occasions for the first SSB. However in a similar field of endeavor, Zewail discloses obtain an indication of a second subset of random access occasions of the plurality of random access occasions for the first SSB ( The base station 110 may determine the SSB-to-RACH occasion mapping information for the RACH procedure by mapping RACH occasions included in the first set of RACH occasions to one or more SSBs and by mapping RACH occasions included in the second set of RACH occasions to one or more SSBs … the one or more SSBs mapped to the first set of RACH occasions may be the same one or more SSBs mapped to the second set of RACH occasions, [0094]-[0097] and [0099] and [0127]-[0128] and [0150]) . It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the concept of obtaining/determining an indication of a second subset of random access occasions associated with a SSB as disclosed by Zewail into the method for configuring random access parameters comprising an indication of which SSB(s) are associated with the triggered random access occasions as disclosed by Sun in order to improve the system and flexible determine random access parameters, such as a second set of RACH occasions, so that UE may flexibly utilize RACH occasions for different purposes . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 3, 4, 13, 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. He (US 2023/0403689) disclosing a terminal device determining a first random access occasion set; and the terminal device determining an association relationship between the first random access occasion set and a synchronization signal block (SSB)(abstract). Zhou et al. (US 2021/0029738) disclosing base station 105- b may configure a mapping of a set of SSBs to the subset of allowed random access occasions and a subset of forbidden SSBs (correlating to a second subset of random access occasions)…The set of SSBs may also indicate a mapping of the set of SSBs to the subset of the allowed RACH occasions and a subset of forbidden RACH occasions of the set of RACH occasions and Base station 105- b may identify, from the set of random access occasions indicated by the random access channel configuration, a subset of forbidden random access occasions in accordance with the forbidden mask, where the subset of allowed random access occasions is different from the subset of forbidden random access occasions ([0141]-[0142] and [0166]-[0167] and [0178] and [01822] and [0012]). Abedini et al. (US 2023/0029663) disclosing network node 705 may receive a first SSB bitmap to identify which SSBs are associated with FD ROs and a second SSB bitmap to identify which SSBs are associated with HD Ros ([0094]). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NGUYEN HOANG NGO whose telephone number is (571)272-8398. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kwang Yao can be reached at 571-272-3182. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NGUYEN H NGO/Examiner, Art Unit 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/668,003 Page 2 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/668,003 Page 3 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/668,003 Page 4 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/668,003 Page 5 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/668,003 Page 6 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/668,003 Page 7 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/668,003 Page 8 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/668,003 Page 9 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/668,003 Page 10 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/668,003 Page 11 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/668,003 Page 12 Art Unit: 2473 Application/Control Number: 18/668,003 Page 13 Art Unit: 2473