DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has complied with all of the conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e).
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 05/17/2024 and 04/23/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 05/17/2024 were reviewed and are acceptable.
Specification
The specification is objected to due to an inconsistency between the description of the drawings and the drawings. On page 15, lines 1-4, the specification refers to positive electrode tabs 114a and 115. However, the corresponding positive electrode tabs identified in Figure 4 refer to both electrode tabs as 114a.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the negative electrode plate overlap the thickness direction” should be replaced with --the negative electrode plate overlap in the thickness direction--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitations “the start end…of the positive electrode plate” and “the start end…of the negative electrode plate”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eo et al. (US 2020/0044225 A1; hereinafter “Eo”) in view of Seino et al. (US 2020/0028127 A1; hereinafter “Seino”).
Regarding claim 1, Eo discloses a battery (secondary battery, Title) comprising:
an electrode assembly (110) comprising a first separator (pair of separators 113), a negative electrode plate (anode plate 111) on the first separator (as shown in Fig 3), a second separator (pair of separators 113) on the negative electrode plate (as shown in Fig 3), and a positive electrode plate (cathode plate 112) on the second separator (as shown in Fig 3), the electrode assembly wound in a jelly-roll shape having a winding start end and a winding finishing end (as shown in Fig 3, winding start end is the internal end and winding finish end is the external end), and having a flat portion (middle portion), and curved portions respectively at one side of the flat portion and at another side of the flat portion (left and right portions, as shown in Fig 3); and
wherein the positive electrode plate covers an outer surface of the electrode assembly wound in the jelly-roll shape (as shown in Fig 3), and has a finish end terminating on the flat portion (as shown in Fig 3).
Eo does not explicitly disclose a finishing tape attached to the winding finish end of the electrode assembly wound in the jelly-roll shape.
Seino teaches a battery (secondary battery, Title). Seino teaches a substantially similar battery to that of Eo (as shown in Fig 1). Seino teaches that a finishing tape (130) can be attached to a winding finish end of an electrode assembly wound in a jelly-roll shape (as shown in Fig 1) in order to prevent or substantially reduce movement of the electrode assembly inside the pouch case ([0042]).
Eo and Seino are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely secondary batteries wound in a jelly-roll shape.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include a finishing tape on the winding finish end of the battery of Eo, with the reasonable expectation that doing so would prevent or substantially reduce movement of the electrode assembly inside the pouch case, as suggested by Seino.
Regarding claim 2, modified Eo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Modified Eo further discloses that the finish end of the positive electrode plate, a finish end of the negative electrode plate, a finish end of the first separator, and a finish end of the second separator are on the flat portion (Eo: as shown in Fig 3).
Regarding claim 3, modified Eo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Modified Eo further discloses that the positive electrode plate covers an entirety of outermost sides of the negative electrode plate, the first separator, and the second separator (Eo: as shown in Fig 3).
Regarding claim 4, modified Eo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Modified Eo further discloses that the finish end of the positive electrode plate, a finish end of the negative electrode plate, a finish end of the first separator, and a finish end of the second separator are on the flat portion (Eo: as shown in Fig 3).
Regarding claim 5, modified Eo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Modified Eo further discloses that the finish end of the first separator and the finish end of the second separator extend in a winding direction further than the finish end of the negative electrode plate (Eo: as shown in Fig 3); and
wherein the finish end of the positive electrode plate extends further in the winding direction than the finish end of the first separator and the finish end of the second separator (Eo: as shown in Fig 3).
Regarding claim 6, modified Eo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Modified Eo further discloses that the positive electrode plate sequentially and repeatedly wraps the curved portion at the one side of the flat portion and the curved portion at the other side of the flat portion (Eo: as shown in Fig 3), the positive electrode plate covering and extending beyond a central portion of the flat portion (Eo: as shown in Fig 3, the positive electrode covers and extends beyond the center of the electrode assembly at the top of the Fig) such that the finish end of the positive electrode plate is between one of the curved portions and the central portion (Eo: as shown in Fig 3, the positive electrode terminates between the left curved side and the center of the electrode assembly at the bottom of the Fig).
Regarding claim 8, modified Eo discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Modified Eo further discloses that [a] start end and the finish end of the positive electrode plate overlap in a thickness direction of the electrode assembly (Eo: as shown in Fig 3), and
wherein [a] start end and [a] finish end of the negative electrode plate overlap [in] the thickness direction of the electrode assembly (Eo: as shown in Fig 3).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eo et al. (US 2020/0044225 A1; hereinafter “Eo”) in view of Seino (US 2020/0028127 A1; hereinafter Seino), as applied to claim 4 above, in further view of Yamada et al. (US 2023/0104632 A1; hereinafter “Yamada”) and Tang et al. (2023/0119014 A1; hereinafter Tang).
Regarding claim 7, Eo in view of Seino discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Eo in view of Seino does not explicitly teach a battery wherein positive and negative electrode tabs are at the start and finish end of the positive and negative electrode plates respectively, wherein the finish end of the positive electrode plate extends in a winding direction further than the finish end of the negative electrode plate by 30 mm or more.
Yamada teaches a battery (secondary battery, Title). Yamada teaches a similar battery to that of Eo. Yamada teaches a battery wherein negative electrode tabs are respectively at a start end of a negative electrode plate and a finish end of the negative electrode plate, wherein positive electrode tabs are respectively at a start end of the positive electrode plate and the finish end of the positive electrode plate (as shown in Fig 4, 5, and 11). Yamada further teaches that including additional electrode tabs at the ends of the positive and negative electrode plates prevents or reduces possible short-circuits in the battery ([0039]).
Tang teaches a battery (secondary battery, Title). Tang teaches a similar battery to that of Eo. Tang teaches a battery wherein the thickness of the electrode assembly is greater than 30 mm ([0023]).
Yamada and Tang are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely secondary batteries and electrode assemblies.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to routinely include electrode tabs at both respective ends of the positive and negative electrode plate, with the reasonable expectation that doing so would prevent or reduce possible short-circuits in the battery, as suggested by Yamada.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date that the battery of modified Eo would necessarily have some thickness, and this find a thickness of 30 mm obvious, as suggested by Tang, and accordingly have a winding length exceeding 30 mm based on the disclosed battery thickness and winding geometry, i.e. a length of a curved portion is necessarily longer than a straight line, i.e. the thickness, through the same points.
Conclusion
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 10/16/2026