DETAILED ACTION
Claim 2 has been cancelled. Claims 1, 3-4 have been amended and are pending for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/05/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1, 3-4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chien (US 20130003849 A1).
In rejecting claims 1, 3-4: Possos and Chien disclose teachings that further define motion vector resolution and are in the same art of video coding as BORDES.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/05/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 4 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BORDES (US 20190261018 A1) in view of Possos (US 20160127741 A1) further in view of Chien (US 20130003849 A1).
Regrading claim 1, BORDES teaches a method for decoding an image, the method comprising:
deriving motion vector resolution information of a current block ([0060] For a block to be decoded, the decoder checks whether adaptive motion vector resolution is enabled (410), for example, using a flag in the bitstream, or using the existing methods as described above. If adaptive motion vector resolution is enabled, the decoder generates MV predictor (MVP) at ¼-pel resolution (420));
deriving a motion vector difference of the current block based on the motion vector resolution information (The decoder then decodes MVD at ¼-pel resolution (430). [0060]); and
deriving a motion vector of the current block based on the motion vector difference (An initial motion vector can be obtained (440) as MV.sub.0=MVP+MVD. [0060]),
BORDES does not teach the following limitations, however, in an analogous art, Possos teaches wherein the motion vector resolution information represents one of a half unit or a one-sixteenth pixel unit ([0576] computing a first stage motion vector at half pixel resolution based at least in part on the final estimated motion range and the final p distance values; [0577] computing a second stage motion vector at half pixel resolution based at least in part on the first stage motion vector at half pixel resolution, the final estimated motion range, and the final p distance values; and [0578] computing a final stage motion vector at one fourth pixel resolution based at least in part on the second stage motion vector at half pixel resolution, the final estimated motion range, and the final p distance values to generate the high accuracy final motion vector at one-half pixel, one-fourth pixel or one-eighth pixel resolution.).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to take the teachings of Possos and apply them to BORDES. One would be motivated as such as to determine a high accuracy motion vector (Possos: [0575]).
BORDES in view of Possos does not explicitly teach wherein the motion vector resolution information is signaled in a bitstream.
However, in an analogous art, Chien teaches wherein the motion vector resolution information is signaled in a bitstream ([0117] Video encoder 20 may signal the motion resolution flag to indicate one of one-quarter, and one-eighth pixel motion vector resolution.).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to take the teachings of Chien and apply them to BORDES in view of Possos. One would be motivated as such as to reduce processing complexity.
Regrading claim 3, BORDES teaches a method for encoding an image, the method comprising:
deriving motion vector resolution information of a current block ([0060] For a block to be decoded, the decoder checks whether adaptive motion vector resolution is enabled (410), for example, using a flag in the bitstream, or using the existing methods as described above. If adaptive motion vector resolution is enabled, the decoder generates MV predictor (MVP) at ¼-pel resolution (420));
deriving a motion vector difference of the current block based on the motion vector resolution information (The decoder then decodes MVD at ¼-pel resolution (430). [0060]); and
deriving a motion vector of the current block based on the motion vector difference (An initial motion vector can be obtained (440) as MV.sub.0=MVP+MVD. [0060]).
BORDES does not teach the following limitations, however, in an analogous art, Possos teaches wherein the motion vector resolution information represents one of a half unit or a one-sixteenth pixel unit ([0576] computing a first stage motion vector at half pixel resolution based at least in part on the final estimated motion range and the final p distance values; [0577] computing a second stage motion vector at half pixel resolution based at least in part on the first stage motion vector at half pixel resolution, the final estimated motion range, and the final p distance values; and [0578] computing a final stage motion vector at one fourth pixel resolution based at least in part on the second stage motion vector at half pixel resolution, the final estimated motion range, and the final p distance values to generate the high accuracy final motion vector at one-half pixel, one-fourth pixel or one-eighth pixel resolution.).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to take the teachings of Possos and apply them to BORDES. One would be motivated as such as to determine a high accuracy motion vector (Possos: [0575]).
BORDES in view of Possos does not explicitly teach wherein the motion vector resolution information is signaled in a bitstream.
However, in an analogous art, Chien teaches wherein the motion vector resolution information is signaled in a bitstream ([0117] Video encoder 20 may signal the motion resolution flag to indicate one of one-quarter, and one-eighth pixel motion vector resolution.).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to take the teachings of Chien and apply them to BORDES in view of Possos. One would be motivated as such as to reduce processing complexity.
Regrading claim 4, BORDES teaches a method for transmitting a bitstream, the method comprising: ([0011] The present embodiments also provide a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions for performing any of the methods described above.), transmitting the bitstream generated by an encoding method, wherein the encoding method comprises::
deriving motion vector resolution information of a current block ([0060] For a block to be decoded, the decoder checks whether adaptive motion vector resolution is enabled (410), for example, using a flag in the bitstream, or using the existing methods as described above. If adaptive motion vector resolution is enabled, the decoder generates MV predictor (MVP) at ¼-pel resolution (420));
deriving a motion vector difference of the current block based on the motion vector resolution information (The decoder then decodes MVD at ¼-pel resolution (430). [0060]); and
deriving a motion vector of the current block based on the motion vector difference (An initial motion vector can be obtained (440) as MV.sub.0=MVP+MVD. [0060]).
BORDES does not teach the following limitations, however, in an analogous art, Possos teaches wherein the motion vector resolution information represents one of a half unit or a one-sixteenth pixel unit ([0576] computing a first stage motion vector at half pixel resolution based at least in part on the final estimated motion range and the final p distance values; [0577] computing a second stage motion vector at half pixel resolution based at least in part on the first stage motion vector at half pixel resolution, the final estimated motion range, and the final p distance values; and [0578] computing a final stage motion vector at one fourth pixel resolution based at least in part on the second stage motion vector at half pixel resolution, the final estimated motion range, and the final p distance values to generate the high accuracy final motion vector at one-half pixel, one-fourth pixel or one-eighth pixel resolution.).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to take the teachings of Possos and apply them to BORDES. One would be motivated as such as to determine a high accuracy motion vector (Possos: [0575]).
BORDES in view of Possos does not explicitly teach wherein the motion vector resolution information is signaled in a bitstream.
However, in an analogous art, Chien teaches wherein the motion vector resolution information is signaled in a bitstream ([0117] Video encoder 20 may signal the motion resolution flag to indicate one of one-quarter, and one-eighth pixel motion vector resolution.).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to take the teachings of Chien and apply them to BORDES in view of Possos. One would be motivated as such as to reduce processing complexity.
Conclusion
/HESHAM K ABOUZAHRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486