DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because fig. 2B features a lead line without a reference character.
The drawings are objected to because figs. 3 and 6 feature reference characters on surfaces without the underlining required by 37 CFR 1.84(q).
The drawings are objected to because fig. 4 features numerous reference characters without lead lines. See 37 CFR 1.84(q), “Lead lines are required for each reference character except for those which indicate the surface or cross section on which they are placed. Such a reference character must be underlined to make it clear that a lead line has not been left out by mistake.”
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the divergence in a fast axis and divergence in a slow axis casing light from adjacent laser diodes to overlap in both axes within the heating zone of claim 8, the optically absorptive material and optically reflective material of claim 17, and the coating of claim 22 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it uses a phrase which can be implied (“Embodiments include”). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
¶ 72 of the as-filed specification should be amended to recite “an arbitrarily large number of food items.”
Each of ¶¶ 118 and 119 of the as-filed specification should be amended to replace “controller 115” with “controller 155.”
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 recites “a one or more of the semiconductor light sources,” which is ungrammatical, and the initial “a” should be struck.
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 102
Claims 13–17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cochran et al. (US Pub. 2006/0280825).
Claim 13: Cochran discloses a method for heating a material (240), the method comprising:
modulating a plurality of semiconductor light sources (10, 100) to emit an incoherent field of diffuse light (radiance emitting diodes (REDs, see ¶¶ 61 and 173) inherently emit incoherent, diffuse light) onto the material to heat the material (¶ 177, “As the preforms 240 travel through the thermal monitoring and control system 210, they are subjected to radiant IR energy 170 emitted by a series of RED heater elements 100”);
wherein modulating the plurality of semiconductor light sources comprises varying an intensity of the semiconductor light sources and/or a duration of the semiconductor light sources to heat the material to a selected temperature (¶ 179, “By monitoring the temperature and thus the heat content of the incoming preforms 240 (or specific subsections of such performs), it is possible for a temperature monitoring and control system 280 to generate preform-specific (or subsection specific) heating requirements and then communicate these requirements in the form of drive signals to the individual RED heater elements 100”).
Claim 14: Cochran discloses measuring, using one or more sensors (270), a temperature of the material (see ¶¶ 179–180);
wherein modulating the plurality of semiconductor light sources comprises modulating using closed-loop control with the temperature of the material as an input to the closed-loop control (¶ 179, “By monitoring the temperature and thus the heat content of the incoming preforms 240 (or specific subsections of such performs), it is possible for a temperature monitoring and control system 280 to generate preform-specific (or subsection specific) heating requirements and then communicate these requirements in the form of drive signals to the individual RED heater elements 100”; this control is fairly characterized as closed-loop control).
Claim 15: Cochran discloses measuring the temperature of the material comprises measuring using a thermal camera or a plurality of non-contact temperature sensors (claim 50, “infrared camera”) to determine a thermal profile of the material comprising temperature data for multiple locations on the material (¶ 179, “monitoring the temperature and thus the heat content of the incoming preforms 240 (or specific subsections of such performs)”); and
modulating the plurality of semiconductor light sources comprises modulating a first subgroup of the plurality of semiconductor light sources differently than a second subgroup of the plurality of semiconductor light sources in response to the thermal profile (see ¶ 165), where each subgroup includes of one or more, but not all, of the semiconductor light sources (ibid.).
Claim 16: Cochran discloses that the plurality of semiconductor light sources comprises a first subgroup of semiconductor light sources configured to emit a first wavelength of photons and a second subgroup of semiconductor light sources configured to emit a second wavelength of photons that is different from the first wavelength (see ¶ 165), the method further comprising modulating the first subgroup to emit at a first intensity level and modulating the second subgroup to emit at a second intensity level that is different from the first intensity level (ibid.).
Claim 17: Cochran discloses applying an optically absorptive material to one or more portions of the material, the optically absorptive material being configured to absorb a wavelength of light emitted from one or more of the plurality of semiconductor light sources (¶ 142, “In this example, suppose that the parent material that is to be glued is very transmissive at a chosen infrared wavelength. The heat-cured glue that is to be employed might be very absorptive at that same wavelength. By irradiating the glue/laminate sandwich at this specific advantageous wavelength, the process is further optimized because the glue, and not the adjacent parent material, is heated”).
Claim 19: Cochran discloses moving the material relative to the semiconductor light sources (via 250) while varying the intensity of the semiconductor light sources (¶ 177, “As the preforms 240 travel through the thermal monitoring and control system 210, they are subjected to radiant IR energy 170 emitted by a series of RED heater elements 100”; ¶ 179, “The solid-state nature and associated fast response times of RED emitters 10 make them particularly suited to allow the electrical supply current or on-time to be modulated as a function of time or preform movement”).
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–7, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cochran et al. (US Pub. 2006/0280825).
Claim 1: Cochran discloses system for heating a material (240), the system comprising:
a plurality of semiconductor light sources (10, 100) positioned to emit photons (see ¶ 169, “electron-to-photon solid-state emitters for the purposes of radiant heating,” inter alia) toward a heating zone (240, 250);
a power supply (¶ 136, “power supply”) connected to the semiconductor light sources;
a controller (280) to modulate one or more of the semiconductor light sources to heat the material using light emitted from the semiconductor light sources (described in ¶ 180); and
a temperature sensor (270) configured to sense a temperature of the material (see ¶ 179), wherein the temperature sensor is connected to the controller and/or to a user interface configured to output the temperature of the material (see ¶¶ 179–180).
Cochran is silent regarding its controller being connected to the same power supply as its semiconductor light sources.
However, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to connect Cochran’s controller to the same power supply since a programmable logic controller needs a power supply to function.
Claim 2: Cochran discloses the controller is a digital controller (a PLC (¶ 180) is inherently a digital controller), and wherein the controller is programmed with instructions that, when executed, modulate one or more of the semiconductor light sources to heat the material using light emitted from the semiconductor light sources (¶ 179, “By monitoring the temperature and thus the heat content of the incoming preforms 240 (or specific subsections of such performs), it is possible for a temperature monitoring and control system 280 to generate preform-specific (or subsection specific) heating requirements and then communicate these requirements in the form of drive signals to the individual RED heater elements 100”).
Claim 3: Cochran discloses that the temperature sensor is connected to the controller, and wherein the controller is programmed with instructions that, when executed, perform closed-loop control of the temperature of the material (¶ 180, “A temperature control system 280 using the temperature information supplied by the temperature sensors 270 to generate a preferred control signal to be applied to the RED heater elements 100 (Step 330)”; ¶ 148, “closed loop monitoring”).
Claim 4: Cochran discloses that a first subgroup of the semiconductor light sources is configured to be modulated differently than a second subgroup of the semiconductor light sources (¶ 179, “subsections of the RED array may be controlled”).
Claim 5: Cochran discloses that the controller is a digital controller (a PLC (¶ 180) is inherently a digital controller), and wherein the system further comprises one or more sensors (270) positioned to observe the material to determine a thermal profile of the material (¶ 179, “By monitoring the temperature and thus the heat content of the incoming preforms 240 (or specific subsections of such performs), it is possible for a temperature monitoring and control system 280 to generate preform-specific (or subsection specific) heating requirements”), and wherein the controller is programmed with instructions that, when executed, modulate the first subgroup differently than the second subgroup in response to the thermal profile of the material (¶ 179, “subsections of the RED array may be controlled”).
Claim 6: Cochran discloses that the controller is a digital controller (a PLC (¶ 180) is inherently a digital controller);
the first subgroup emits a first wavelength of light (¶ 165, “By mixing RED elements that irradiate at different wavelengths, it is possible to further optimize a cooking result. Within such a multi-wavelength array, one element type would be chosen at a wavelength wherein the absorption of radiant energy is low, thus allowing deep-heat penetration to occur. A second element type would be chosen wherein the absorption of radiant energy is high thus facilitating surface heating to occur. Completing the array, a third RED element type could be conceived to be chosen at a wavelength intermediate to these two extremes in absorption. By controlling the relative radiant output level of the 3 types of RED emitters contained in such an array, it would be possible to optimize the important properties of prepared food items”)
the second subgroup emits a second wavelength of light different from the first wavelength of light (ibid.); and
the controller is programmed with instructions that, when executed, modulate the first subgroup differently than the second subgroup in response to the absorption spectrum information (ibid.).
Cochran is silent regarding that the system further comprises an absorption spectrum sensor positioned to collect absorption spectrum information for the material.
However, Cochran clearly teaches measuring absorption spectrum information for the material (¶ 137, “The percent of absorption at any given wavelength can be measured and charted for any specific material”), and teaches the relevance of wavelength to this (¶ 137, “Because each type of material has characteristic absorption or transmission properties at different wavelengths, for best thermal process optimization it is very valuable to know these material properties”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement an absorption spectrum sensor (required to perform the functions described in ¶ 137) into the system of Cochran to allow it to determine absorption spectrum information for the material to be heated to optimally control the semiconductor light sources to heat the material.
Claim 7: Cochran discloses that one or more of the semiconductor light sources is a laser diode (¶ 122 and claim 42, “laser diodes”).
Claim 9: Cochran discloses that one or more of the semiconductor light sources is a light-emitting diode (¶¶ 122 and 171, “LEDs”).
Claim 12: Cochran discloses that the semiconductor light sources include emitters arranged to provide a first wavelength of illumination to a first portion of the heating zone and a second wavelength of illumination to a second portion of the heating zone that is different from the first wavelength (¶ 165, “By mixing RED elements that irradiate at different wavelengths, it is possible to further optimize a cooking result. Within such a multi-wavelength array, one element type would be chosen at a wavelength wherein the absorption of radiant energy is low, thus allowing deep-heat penetration to occur. A second element type would be chosen wherein the absorption of radiant energy is high thus facilitating surface heating to occur. Completing the array, a third RED element type could be conceived to be chosen at a wavelength intermediate to these two extremes in absorption. By controlling the relative radiant output level of the 3 types of RED emitters contained in such an array, it would be possible to optimize the important properties of prepared food items”).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cochran as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Epmeier et al. (US Pub. 2020/0084893).
Cochran discloses that light from the one or more of the semiconductor light sources is in a visible spectrum and/or in an infrared spectrum (¶ 169, “longer wavelengths in the infrared or shorter wavelengths down through the visible region”).
Cochran is silent regarding that one or more of the semiconductor light sources includes a phosphor for wavelength conversion.
However, Epmeier teaches a semiconductor light source including a phosphor for wavelength conversion (¶ 50, “An LED package may comprise a wavelength conversion element (e.g. based on phosphor)”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the phosphor taught by Epmeier in the semiconductor light source of Cochran to achieve a desired wavelength for optimal heating (see ¶ 137 of Cochran).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cochran as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sakurai et al. (WO 2006/093264 A1, cited by the Office with translation provided).
Cochran discloses one or more optically transmissive elements positioned between the semiconductor light sources and the material (¶ 168, “it is possible to use various lensing or beam guiding devices to achieve the desired directionality of the irradiation energy”).
Cochran is silent regarding that the one or more optically transmissive elements comprises a beam-shaping lens.
However, Sakurai discloses a semiconductor light heating system that uses a beam-shaping lens (“the cylindrical lens can make the shape of the laser beam formed on the processed surface rectangular or the like”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a beam-shaping lens alike to that taught by Sakurai, with the semiconductor light source of Cochran, to more optimally shape the light to suit a material being heated.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cochran as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Sakurai and Sinkunas (US Pat. 6,284,998).
Cochran is silent regarding that the material comprises a circuit board and solder positioned on the circuit board, and the method further comprises: positioning a component on the solder before modulating the plurality of semiconductor light sources to emit photons toward the circuit board and the solder to melt the solder.
However, Sakurai discloses a similar semiconductor light heating system where a material comprises a circuit board (4) and solder (3) positioned on the circuit board that is melted.
Sakurai never mentions positioning a component on the solder. Sinkunas discloses a similar apparatus that uses a laser to solder components (10) onto a circuit board (14).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the system of Cochran to perform the solder melting taught by Sakurai, to join a component to the circuit board (as taught by Sinkunas, but which is also the ordinary reason why soldering on a circuit board is performed that is simply never mentioned in Sakurai), as an known and effective use of semiconductor light sources.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakurai et al. (WO 2006/093264 A1, cited by the Office with translation provided) in view of Sinkunas et al. (US Pat. 6,284,998).
Sakurai discloses a method of manufacturing printed circuit boards (4), the method comprising:
illuminating a printed circuit board assembly (4) with light from a plurality of semiconductor light sources (¶ 113, “In FIG. 15 (a), the laser emitting section includes two LD elements 40”; ¶ 77 explains that “LD” means “laser diode”), wherein the plurality of semiconductor light sources comprises a plurality of light-emitting diodes and/or a plurality of laser diodes (ibid.), and wherein illuminating the printed circuit board assembly with the light heats the printed circuit board assembly via absorption of photons emitted from the semiconductor light sources (this is the necessary and inherent effect of the laser diodes);
measuring a temperature of the printed circuit board assembly (¶ 36, “the laser heating apparatus includes a storage unit that stores in advance a relational expression of a calibration value (calibration value) between the level of the signal generated by the infrared sensor 9 and the measured temperature of the solder 3; A microcomputer is provided as a temperature measuring unit for calculating the temperature of the solder 3 based on the signal generated by the infrared sensor 9 and the relational expression”); and
modulating an intensity of the light from the semiconductor light sources at least partly in response to the temperature of the printed circuit board assembly (¶ 77, “the laser control device 27 for controlling the laser power so that the temperature of the object to be heated becomes a preset temperature Ts, the laser emitting unit 1, the object to be heated, Temperature level conversion circuit (temperature measurement unit) 28 that calculates the temperature, volume 29 for setting the set temperature Ts, and control unit 30 that controls the current supplied to the laser diode (LD element) included in the laser emission unit 1”);
wherein modulating the intensity of the light from the semiconductor light sources comprises using closed-loop temperature control of the printed circuit board assembly to melt the solder in the solder paste (the temperature control mentioned in ¶ 77 properly qualifies as closed-loop control).
Sakurai is silent regarding that the printed circuit board assembly comprises components and solder paste positioned on a board. Instead, Sakurai only discloses “the laser light from the laser emitting unit 1 and heats the solder 3 that is an object to be heated placed at the condensing position” (¶ 32).
However, Sinkunas discloses a similar apparatus that uses a laser to solder components (10) onto a circuit board (14). It employs a solder paste (26).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to conclude that a solder paste (like that taught by Sikunas) would have been a suitable type of solder for practicing Sakurai given how Sakura says that the solder is “placed”; and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that, although Sakurai is silent regarding components, that the purpose of the soldering taught therein would be used to couple components (alike to those taught by Sikunas) to the circuit board.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakurai in view of Sinkunas as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Nickut et al. (US Pub. 2012/0266461).
Sakurai is silent regarding applying one or more optically absorptive materials to one or more portions of the printed circuit board assembly to achieve different levels of heating on the printed circuit board assembly when illuminating the printed circuit board assembly.
However, Nickut teaches applying an optically absorptive material (¶ 26, “heat-absorbing layer”) to a substrate to achieve improved heating for soldering (¶ 34).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ an optically absorptive material alike to that taught by Nickut to improve the level of heating on the printed circuit board of Sakurai for improved soldering.
Double Patenting
Claims 1–3, 13, and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,426,022. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims disclose, or clearly render obvious, every limitation of the pending claims with one-way distinctness.
Pending Claims
Reference Claims
Claim 1: A system for heating a material, the system comprising:
a plurality of semiconductor light sources positioned to emit photons toward a heating zone;
a power supply connected to the semiconductor light sources;
a controller connected to the power supply to modulate one or more of the semiconductor light sources to heat the material using light emitted from the semiconductor light sources; and
a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature of the material, wherein the temperature sensor is connected to the controller and/or to a user interface configured to output the temperature of the material.
Claim 1: A system for cooking food, the system comprising:
an electrical conduction cooking system, the electrical conduction cooking system including a plurality of electrodes and a first power supply connected to the electrodes, wherein the electrodes are configured to connect the electrical conduction cooking system to the food to input electrical energy into the food by passing electric current through the food, wherein the electrical energy converts to thermal energy in the food to heat the food;
a searing system for searing an external surface of the food, wherein the searing system comprises a plurality of semiconductor light sources and a second power supply connected to the semiconductor light sources;
a temperature sensor positioned to receive temperature information about the food; and
one or more controllers programmed with instructions that, when executed;
receive the temperature information and perform closed-loop feedback control of the electrical conduction cooking system and/or the searing system to regulate a temperature of the food; and
modulate an output intensity of the semiconductor light sources.
Claim 2: The system of claim 1, wherein the controller is a digital controller, and wherein the controller is programmed with instructions that, when executed, modulate one or more of the semiconductor light sources to heat the material using light emitted from the semiconductor light sources.
The reference patent is silent regarding the controller being a digital controller.
However, given the electrical nature of the system (including the semiconductor light sources), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the controller be digital.
Further, the instructions for semiconductor light source modulation are included in reference claim 1.
Claim 3: The system of claim 2, wherein the temperature sensor is connected to the controller, and wherein the controller is programmed with instructions that, when executed, perform closed-loop control of the temperature of the material.
See reference claim 1 above.
Claim 13: A method for heating a material, the method comprising:
modulating a plurality of semiconductor light sources to emit an incoherent field of diffuse light onto the material to heat the material;
wherein modulating the plurality of semiconductor light sources comprises varying an intensity of the semiconductor light sources and/or a duration of the semiconductor light sources to heat the material to a selected temperature.
Claim 10: A method for cooking food, the method comprising:
inputting electrical energy into the food by passing electric current through the food, wherein the electrical energy converts to thermal energy in the food to heat the food;
sensing a characteristic of the food, wherein the characteristic includes an internal temperature of the food and/or an electrical characteristic of the food;
modulating the electric current in response to the characteristic of the food to achieve a selected internal temperature of the food; and
searing a surface of the food by directing photons at the surface of the food using a plurality of semiconductor light sources, wherein a wavelength of the photons matches an absorption wavelength of the food.
Claim 15: The method of claim 10, further comprising modulating an output intensity of the semiconductor light sources in response to a temperature of the food.
Claim 14: The method of claim 13, further comprising: measuring, using one or more sensors, a temperature of the material;
wherein modulating the plurality of semiconductor light sources comprises modulating using closed-loop control with the temperature of the material as an input to the closed-loop control.
See reference claim 10 above.
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,426,022 in view of Cochran.
Claim 7: The reference claims do not disclose that one or more of the semiconductor light sources is a laser diode.
However, Cochran discloses that a semiconductor light source may be a laser diode (¶ 122 and claim 42, “laser diodes”), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select such a semiconductor light source as known for heating.
Claim 9: The reference claims do not disclose that one or more of the semiconductor light sources is a light-emitting diode.
However, Cochran discloses that a semiconductor light source may be a light-emitting diode (¶¶ 122 and 171, “LEDs”), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select such a semiconductor light source as known for heating.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 22–24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, fast and slow axes are known in the art (see Cochran et al., US Pub. 2011/0002677, ¶ 182), but configuring them to cause axes of adjacent laser diodes to overlap is not. Furthermore, ¶ 182 of the 2011 Cochran reference suggests avoiding configuring divergence using this method since it causes energy loss.
Regarding claim 22, the prior art of record does not teach applying a coating to reduce semiconductor light source absorption in a system such as Sakurai’s.
Regarding claim 23, although the 2006 Cochran reference discloses such specifics, there is no straightforward reason to incorporate such specifics into a laser soldering application like Sakurai’s.
Regarding claim 24, this specific technique is not shown in the prior art. Sinkunas et al. (US Pat. 6,284,998) is relevant for disclosing heaters that heat a circuit board, and its solder paste thereon, on both sides of diode laser treatment of the solder.
The 2011 Cochran reference is also generally relevant for disclosing that “It may be desirable to incorporate an additive into some of the materials to artificially induce absorption peaks as required” (¶ 222).
Kao et al. (US Pub. 2009/0245762) is highly relevant for disclosing an oven with LED heaters.
Shintani et al. (JP 2020-093296 A, cited by the Office) is similar to Sakurai.
Parkhe (US Pub. 2018/0061684), Fukumoto et al. (US Pat. 5,580,471), Yamada et al. (JP 2006-281290 A, cited by the Office) are also cited as relevant prior art.
Conclusion
/JOHN J NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761