Detailed Action
2. Claims 1-9 are pending
Election/Restrictions
3. In response to the restriction made on 02/12/2026, applicant has elected Group I (Claims 1-9) without traverse. Therefore, examiner maintained the restriction made on 02/12/2026 and the restriction is final, and examine only claims 1-9as per applicant election.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al. (WO 2025212372 A1) hereinafter Hoang in view of Wang. et al. (US 20130150007 A1) hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 1, Hoang discloses baseband circuitry, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors configured to, when executing instructions stored in the memory (see Figs. 1A-B), cause the baseband circuitry to:
determine radio link control (RLC) sojourn time corresponding to at least one protocol data unit (PDU) in a data radio bearer (DRB) queue (para. [0236] the WTRU may start the timer based on the arrival of the data set. For example, the WTRU may start uplink enhancement timer for a PDU set upon arrival of the PDU set (e.g., upon the arrival of the first PDU, each PDU, a specific PDU, or the last PDU of the PDU set). The WTRU may trigger uplink enhancement for a data set if the data set stays in the buffer for a long time and has not been served /transmitted [i.e. [RLC sojourn time] [0238]-[0239] For example, the WTRU may trigger uplink enhancement for a PDU or PDU segment if the duration the PDU or PDU segment stays in the buffer is greater than a configured threshold… the reception status of a data set may be derived from HARQ feedback and/or RLC status reporting).
the at least one PDU corresponding to a logical channel (LCH) associated with a data flow (para.[0086], [0105], [0109] a WTRU may perform a UL enhancement procedure (e.g., RLC enhancement) for a data set PDU, a subset of a PDU set, a PDU set, and/or a data burst), e.g. as a function of the QoS of the data set, one or more configured parameters of logical channel (LCH) associated with the data set, and/or a configured triggering condition);
determine whether the RLC sojourn time is greater than an RLC sojourn threshold (para.[0236] The WTRU may trigger uplink enhancement for a data set if the data set stays in the buffer for a long time and has not been served /transmitted.
[0238]-[0239] the WTRU may trigger an uplink enhancement procedure for a data set based on the duration of that the data set in the buffer. For example, the WTRU may trigger uplink enhancement for a PDU or PDU segment if the duration the PDU or PDU segment stays in the buffer is greater than a configured threshold [i.e. RLC sojourn time is greater than an RLC sojourn threshold] …. The reception status of a data set may be derived from HARQ feedback and/or RLC status reporting);
Hoang disclose when the RLC sojourn time is greater than the RLC sojourn threshold ( (see para [0236], [00238]-[0239] ) as recited above. Hoang also discloses communicate the bit rate to an interface with an application processor associated with the LCH and the data flow ( para. [0108] the WTRU may receive a threshold associated with a parameter for the RLCH prioritized bit rate (PBR) parameter to trigger uplink enhancement. For example, the WTRU may receive a configuration of which LCH is enabled for uplink enhancement. [0264]…the threshold value associated with the parameter for at least of the LHC may include a parameter associated with a prioritized bit rate (PBR). The triggering condition described may be associated with receiving a number of Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) Negative Acknowledgements (NACKs) for an RLC PDU or a PDU segment).
Hoang may not explicitly disclose determine a bit rate adaption configured to address a difference between the RLC sojourn time and the RLC sojourn threshold, and communicate the bit rate adaption to an interface with an application processor.
However, Wang discloses when the RLC sojourn time is greater than the RLC sojourn threshold, determine a bit rate adaption configured to address a difference between the RLC sojourn time and the RLC sojourn threshold (para. [0080] after obtaining the cache occupancy rate of the buffer of the RLC layer, the media processing device may judge whether the cache occupancy rate of the buffer of the RLC layer is higher than a preset first threshold (such as 70%), and if the cache occupancy rate of the buffer of the RLC layer is higher than a preset first threshold, it indicates that a current air interface transmission rate is severely less than a bit rate of the service data, and if the service data is still transmitted at a current bit rate, data in a buffer of the user equipment may be unceasingly reduced, so as to finally cause a service pause, and therefore, the media processing device may reduce the bit rate of the service data, to reduce the cache occupancy rate of the buffer of the RLC layer ).
communicate the bit rate adaption to an interface with an application processor associated with the data flow (para. [0080] the media processing device may reduce the bit rate of the service data, to reduce the cache occupancy rate of the buffer of the RLC layer. [0083] a specific manner of reducing the bit rate of the service data may be: selecting and sending a fragment with a relatively low bit rate of the service data; correspondingly, a specific manner of increasing the bit rate of the service data may be: selecting and sending a fragment with a relatively high bit rate of the service data).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the teaching of Hoang and include determine a bit rate adaption configured to address a difference between the RLC sojourn time and the RLC sojourn threshold, and communicate the bit rate adaption to an interface with an application processor associated with the data flow using the teaching of Wang. One would have been motivated to make this modification to enable content adaptation and bit rate selection on the service data according to the obtained air interface resource information and transmission resource information, thereby improving the efficiency and responsiveness of data transmission under varying network condition.
Regarding claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated. Hoang further discloses baseband wherein the one or more processors is configured to cause the baseband circuitry to: continue monitoring RLC sojourn times corresponding to the LCH when the RLC sojourn time is not greater than the RLC sojourn threshold for a the corresponding duration of a PDU session (para. [0177] properties associated with the data set may include one or more of the QoS associated with the data set and PDU or PDU segment is is lower than (e.g., below) a preconfigured threshold. In some examples, the WTRU may multiplex the RLC PDU or PDU segment in the grant if the remaining PSDB of the PDU or PDU segment is smaller (e.g., below) than a configured threshold. [0223] If the priority of the RB/LCH is smaller (e.g., lower) than the configured threshold, the WTRU may skip performing (e.g., not perform) uplink enhancement for the data set from the RB/LCH).
Regarding claim 3, claim 1 is incorporated. Hoang discloses monitor for at least one other rate trigger associated with the LCH and communicate the other bit rate to an interface with an application processor associated with the LCH (see para.[0086], [0105], [0109], [0108] and [0264]. Hoang may not explicitly disclose monitor for at least one other rate adaptation trigger, generate, in response to detecting the at least one rate adaptation trigger, another bit rate adaptation configured to address the at least one rate adaptation trigger; and communicate the other bit rate adaptation to an interface. However, Wang discloses monitor for at least one other rate adaptation trigger, generate, in response to detecting the at least one rate adaptation trigger, another bit rate adaptation configured to address the at least one rate adaptation trigger; and communicate the other bit rate adaptation to an interface (0080] after obtaining the cache occupancy rate of the buffer of the RLC layer, the media processing device may judge whether the cache occupancy rate of the buffer of the RLC layer is higher than a preset first threshold (such as 70%), and if the cache occupancy rate of the buffer of the RLC layer is higher than a preset first threshold, it indicates that a current air interface transmission rate is severely less than a bit rate of the service data, and if the service data is still transmitted at a current bit rate, data in a buffer of the user equipment may be unceasingly reduced, so as to finally cause a service pause, and therefore, the media processing device may reduce the bit rate of the service data, to reduce the cache occupancy rate of the buffer of the RLC layer [0081, [0083 [0081] Meanwhile, the media processing device may further judge whether the cache occupancy rate of the buffer of the RLC layer is lower than a preset second threshold (such as 30%), and if the cache occupancy rate of the buffer of the RLC layer is lower than a preset second threshold, it indicates that the current air interface transmission rate is apparently greater than the bit rate of the service data, and in this case, the bit rate of the service data may be increased to improve user experience a specific manner of reducing the bit rate of the service data may be: selecting and sending a fragment with a relatively low bit rate of the service data; correspondingly, a specific manner of increasing the bit rate of the service data may be: selecting and sending a fragment with a relatively high bit rate of the service data)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the teaching of Hoang and include monitor for at least one other rate adaptation trigger, generate, in response to detecting the at least one rate adaptation trigger, another bit rate adaptation configured to address the at least one rate adaptation trigger; and communicate the other bit rate adaptation to an interface using the teaching of Wang. One would have been motivated to make this modification to enable content adaptation and bit rate selection on the service data according to the obtained air interface resource information and transmission resource information, thereby improving the efficiency and responsiveness of data transmission under varying network condition.
Regarding claim 4, claim 3 is incorporated. Hoang further discloses
wherein the at least one other rate adaptation trigger comprises at least one of: a measured queue flush rate exceeding a flush rate threshold; a measured a reference signal received power (RSRP) being below an RSRP threshold; and a measured RLC sojourn time exceeding an RLC sojourn time threshold (para.[0236] The WTRU may trigger uplink enhancement for a data set if the data set stays in the buffer for a long time and has not been served /transmitted. [0238]-[0239] the WTRU may trigger an uplink enhancement procedure for a data set based on the duration of that the data set in the buffer. For example, the WTRU may trigger uplink enhancement for a PDU or PDU segment if the duration the PDU or PDU segment stays in the buffer is greater than a configured threshold [i.e. RLC sojourn time is greater than an RLC sojourn threshold] …. The reception status of a data set may be derived from HARQ feedback and/or RLC status reporting) In addition, Wang discloses [0080], [0083] after obtaining the cache occupancy rate of the buffer of the RLC layer, the media processing device may judge whether the cache occupancy rate of the buffer of the RLC layer is higher than a preset first threshold (such as 70%), and if the cache occupancy rate of the buffer of the RLC layer is higher than a preset first threshold, it indicates that a current air interface transmission rate is severely less than a bit rate of the service data, and if the service data is still transmitted at a current bit rate, data in a buffer of the user equipment may be unceasingly reduced, so as to finally cause a service pause, and therefore, the media processing device may reduce the bit rate of the service data, to reduce the cache occupancy rate of the buffer of the RLC layer ).
Regarding claim 5, claim 1 is incorporated. Hoang further discloses
wherein: the at least one PDU comprises a plurality of PDUs; and the one or more processors is configured to cause the baseband circuitry to: determine a jitter associated with the DRB queue based on changes in the RLC sojourn times of the plurality of PDUs; and determine whether the RLC sojourn time is greater than an RLC sojourn threshold by determining whether the jitter associated with the DRB queue is greater than a jitter threshold. (see at least para [0100], [0236], [00238]-[0239])
Regarding claim 6, claim 1 is incorporated. Hoang may not explicitly disclose
wherein the bit rate adaptation comprises: an indication of an adaptation in a bit rate to be implemented by the application processor; and an indication of at least one of: a data flow; a PDU session; and the LCH. However, Wang discloses wherein the bit rate adaptation comprises: an indication of an adaptation in a bit rate to be implemented by the application processor; and an indication of at least one of: a data flow; a PDU session; and the LCH (see para. [0080])
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the teaching of Hoang and include wherein the bit rate adaptation comprises: an indication of an adaptation in a bit rate to be implemented by the application processor; and an indication of at least one of: a data flow; a PDU session; and the LCH using the teaching of Wang. One would have been motivated to make this modification to enable content adaptation and bit rate selection on the service data according to the obtained air interface resource information and transmission resource information, thereby improving the efficiency and responsiveness of data transmission under varying network condition.
Regarding claim 7, claim 1 is incorporated. Hoang discloses determine RLC sojourn times associated with each data flow of a plurality of LCHs (see para [0236]-[0239]; determine whether any of the RLC sojourn times is greater than the RLC sojourn threshold [para [0236]-[0239]). Hoang may not explicitly disclose determine bit rate adaptations for data flows with RLC sojourn times greater than the RLC sojourn threshold; and communicate, via the interface, the bit rate adaptations to application processors associated with the data flows with the RLC sojourn times greater than the RLC sojourn threshold. However, Wang discloses (see para. [0080]-[0083])
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the teaching of Hoang and include wherein determine bit rate adaptations for data flows with RLC sojourn times greater than the RLC sojourn threshold; and communicate, via the interface, the bit rate adaptations to application processors associated with the data flows with the RLC sojourn times greater than the RLC sojourn threshold using the teaching of Wang. One would have been motivated to make this modification to enable content adaptation and bit rate selection on the service data according to the obtained air interface resource information and transmission resource information, thereby improving the efficiency and responsiveness of data transmission under varying network condition.
Regarding claim 8, claim 1 is incorporated. Hoang may not explicitly disclose
wherein the bit rate adaptation comprises a change in a bit rate of the data flow However, Wang discloses wherein the bit rate adaptation comprises a change in a bit rate of the data flow (see para. [0080].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the teaching of Hoang and include wherein the bit rate adaptation comprises a change in a bit rate of the data flow using the teaching of Wang. One would have been motivated to make this modification to enable content adaptation and bit rate selection on the service data according to the obtained air interface resource information and transmission resource information, thereby improving the efficiency and responsiveness of data transmission under varying network condition.
7. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang in view of Wang and further in view of Lu et al. (US 20250330426 A1) hereinafter Lu.
Regarding claim 9, claim 1 is incorporated. Hoang in view of Wang may not explicitly disclose wherein the bit rate adaptation comprises a change in a prioritized bit rate (PBR) associated with the data flow. However, Lu discloses wherein the bit rate adaptation comprises a change in a prioritized bit rate (PBR) associated with the data flow wherein the bit rate adaptation comprises a change in a bit rate of the data flow (see para. [0025] when a quantity of tokens in a first token bucket corresponding to a logical channel in the at least two first logical channels is greater than or equal to a first threshold, adjusting a first PBR of each first logical channel in the at least two first logical channels based on the first indication information; or when a quantity of tokens in a token bucket corresponding to a logical channel in the at least two first logical channels is less than or equal to a second threshold, adjusting a first PBR of each first logical channel in the at least two first logical channels based on the first indication information; determining, based on an adjusted first PBR and the first BSD, the quantity of tokens in the at least one first token bucket corresponding to the at least two first logical channels; and determining, based on the quantity of tokens in the at least one token bucket and the priority of each logical channel in the at least two first logical channels, the transmission resources corresponding to the at least two first logical channels. [0209] hen a quantity of tokens in a first token bucket corresponding to a logical channel in the at least two first logical channels is greater than or equal to a first threshold for a first time period, the first PBR of each first logical channel in the at least two first logical channels is adjusted based on the first indication information; or when a quantity of tokens in a token bucket corresponding to a logical channel in the at least two first logical channels is less than or equal to a second threshold for a first time period, the first PBR of each first logical channel in the at least two first logical channels is adjusted based on the first indication information).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the teaching of Hoang in view of Wang and include wherein the bit rate adaptation comprises a change in a prioritized bit rate (PBR) associated with the data flow using the teaching of Wang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to ensure overall rate of the service is meet the expectations.
Conclusion
8. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Kidest Mendaye whose telephone number is (571)272-2603. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday 7:00 am-5:00pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
06/11/2026
/KIDEST MENDAYE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2457
/ARIO ETIENNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2457