Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHI et al. (Pub NO. US 2021/0088574 A1; hereinafter Shi) in view of CHENG et al. (Pub NO. US 2022/0200178 A1; hereinafter Cheng).
Regarding Claim 1, Shi teaches a test socket for 224Gbps ultra-high-speed coaxial testing (See Fig. 1; See [0027]), wherein it includes
a test socket body made of metal and a test socket cover plate (cover plate 3 with socket body 2 in Fig. 1; See [0035]),
wherein the test socket body is provided with mounting holes (See the holes of body 2 in Fig. 1; See [0031]),
within which are set first polymer positioning parts that match the holes (first polymer positioning part of 1 that matches holes of 2 in Fig. 1; See [0027]-[0037]);
the first polymer positioning part is provided with first insertion hole, into which test probes are respectively inserted (See the insertion hole of 1 where test probe 4 is inserted in fig. 1; See [0029]);
the test socket cover plate is fixedly provided with a second polymer positioning part, which has a first positioning hole that matches the first polymer positioning part (cover plate 3 has second positioning part with holes that matches first polymer part 1 in Fig. 1; See [0027]-[0040]), and
a second positioning hole that is connected to the first positioning hole and matches the end of the test probe (3 has multiple positioning holes and matches test probe 4 in Fig. 1; See [0027]-[0040]);
the height of the first polymer positioning part is less than the length of the test probe (height of part 1 is less that height of probe 4 as probe goes through 1 in Fig. 1).
Shi is silent about first polymer positioning part is provided with second insertion hole.
Cheng teaches first polymer positioning part is provided with second insertion hole (a twinaxial or two probe design within a single casing/cover in Fig. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Shi by using second insertion hole as taught by Cheng in order to have a reduction in cross-talk (Cheng; [0046]).
Regarding Claim 2, Shi in view of Cheng teaches the test socket for 224Gbps ultra-high-speed coaxial testing according to claim 1. Cheng further teaches wherein the first polymer positioning part is formed by injection molding or extrusion (See [0029], [0036]).
Regarding Claim 3, Shi in view of Cheng teaches the test socket for 224Gbps ultra-high-speed coaxial testing according to claim 2. Shi further teaches wherein the first polymer positioning part is connected to the test socket body through stamping, plugging, or physical snap-fitting (all parts in Fig. 1 are connected by physical snap fitting).
Regarding Claim 4, Shi in view of Cheng teaches the test socket for 224Gbps ultra-high-speed coaxial testing according to claim 1. Shi further teaches wherein the second polymer positioning part is fixedly connected to the first positioning hole through a sequence of rolling, stamping, glue filling, and hole filling (See hole filling that connects all parts in Fig. 1; See [0031]).
Regarding Claim 6, Shi in view of Cheng teaches the test socket for 224Gbps ultra-high-speed coaxial testing according to claim 1. Shi further teaches wherein the mounting holes, the first polymer positioning part, and the first positioning hole are shaped (all parts in Fig. 1 are shaped), but Shi in view of Cheng is silent about waist-shaped.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use waist-shaped since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 7, Shi in view of Cheng teaches the test socket for 224Gbps ultra-high-speed coaxial testing according to claim 6. Cheng further teaches wherein the second positioning hole is a cylindrical stepped hole (See all holes in Fig. 5 are cylindrical stepped holes; See [0029]).
Regarding Claim 8, Shi in view of Cheng teaches the test socket for 224Gbps ultra-high-speed coaxial testing according to claim 1. Shi further teaches wherein the test socket body and the test socket cover plate are fixedly connected by fasteners (2 and 3 are connected by fastener in Fig. 1; See [0005]-[0006], [0016]).
Regarding Claim 9, Shi in view of Cheng teaches the test socket for 224Gbps ultra-high-speed coaxial testing according to claim 1. Shi further teaches wherein the test socket body includes a first body and a second body (See two parts of body 2 in Fig. 1), the first body is fixedly connected to the end of the test probe (body of 2 is connected to probe 4 in Fig. 1), the second body is fixedly connected to the first body (all body is 2 are fixedly connected to each other in Fig. 1), and the mounting hole is provided on the second body (mounting hole s provided all over of body 2 in Fig. 1).
Shi is silent about is provided with chip solder balls.
Cheng teaches and is provided with chip solder balls (See [0012]-[0016]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Shi by providing with chip solder balls as taught by Cheng in order to have a reduction in cross-talk (Cheng; [0046]).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi in view of Cheng further in view of HU et al. (Pub NO. US 2021/0122902 A1; hereinafter Hu).
Regarding Claim 5, Shi in view of Cheng teaches the test socket for 224Gbps ultra-high-speed coaxial testing according to claim 4. Shi in view of Cheng is silent about wherein the glue used for filling includes epoxy resin doped with Teflon particles and/or air particles.
Hu teaches wherein the glue used for filling includes epoxy resin doped with Teflon particles and/or air particles (See [0036]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Shi and Chen by using glue used for filling includes epoxy resin doped with Teflon particles as taught by Hu in order to achieve energy-efficient system (Hu; [0022]).
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi in view of Cheng further in view of Landing et al. (Pub NO. US 2020/0227020 A1; hereinafter Landing).
Regarding Claim 10, Shi in view of Cheng teaches the test socket for 224Gbps ultra-high-speed coaxial testing according to claim 1. Shi further teaches wherein the first polymer positioning part, and the second polymer positioning part (See two positioning part in Fig. 1).
Shi in view of Cheng is silent about an impedance matching polymer and insulating polymer.
Landing teaches an impedance matching polymer and insulating polymer (See [0076], [0161]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Shi and Chen by using an impedance matching polymer and insulating polymer. as taught by Landing in order to achieve improved attributes, including dynamic properties. (Landing; [0004]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CHEN et al. (Pub NO. US 2013/0293254 A1) discloses Test Device for testing a Pop Stacked Chip.
Davis et al. (Pub NO. US 2015/0241478 A1) discloses Package on Package Thermal Forcing Device.
/ZANNATUL FERDOUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858