DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/arguments 7/24/2026 for
response of the office action mailed on 4/30/2026. Claims 1-46 remain pending in the application.
to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 18-25) filed on 7/24/2026 has been entered.
Regarding remarks in page 20 with respect to claims 1, 9, 17, 21, 25, 32, 39, and 43 have been fully considered and they are persuasive Examiner has withdrawn the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) to the claims previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 4/30/2026.
Regarding remarks in page 23 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that there is no notion of a communications management server managing multiple terminals or networks in Dillon; rather, the decision is per-terminal, per-link, and local. Ravishankar et al., however, centrally uses core-network entities, gateways, and traffic management entities, as well as a multi-mode terminal and 5G-core-style subscription/QoS servers, to select RATs, perform dual connectivity, and steer traffic among GEO/MEO/LEO/terrestrial paths.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Dillon (US5511079A) discloses (In the typical VSAT communication system, a large earth station known as the hub broadcasts a continuous carrier to hundreds or thousands of smaller VSAT earth stations via a satellite transponder. The hub station outbound carrier signal contains packets of digital data addressed to the individual VSAT stations of the system. Communication in these systems is two-way, and the smaller VSAT stations typically generate transmission bursts on an inbound carrier signal via the satellite transponder back to the hub earth station. The plurality of VSAT stations typically share one or more carriers, using multiple access techniques, such as slotted aloha and time division multiple access TDMA multiplexing to forward their data packets to the earth station, Dillon: Col. 1 Lines 11-23. the use of the forward error correction technique reduces the data packet throughput from VSAT to the hub earth station as additional bandwidth is used to send the error correcting bits along with the packet bits, Dillon: Col. 3 Lines 27-36. In employing the forward error correction FEC encoder, error correction is accomplished at a rate which will permit a predetermined bit error rate to be achieved at the receiving hub earth station for a given received signal level, Dillon: Col. 4 Lines 1-4). RAVISHANKAR et al. (US 2021/0092640 Al) discloses (The system further includes a subscription server configured to provide functionality similar to the Unified Data Management (UDM) of the 5G core. a management server configured to provide functionality similar to the Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) and Session Management Function (SMF). The 5G core network further transmits and receives information to and from the server using an IP network. the hybrid communication system allows the UT to independently select the most appropriate system for sending and receiving application data. For example, a UT can send delay sensitive data via terrestrial system, if available, and send other data to the satellite system. According to various embodiments, digital transponders, on-board switching, and inter-constellation links can be selectively utilized across GEO, MEO, and LEO orbits optimize throughput, delivery, and security, Ravishankar: Fig. 4, [0052]-[0054], [0066]. the gateway is configured to transmit control signals to the terminal in order to indicate when the terminal should switch from one satellite to another. The link capacity is dependent on the current environmental conditions that create variability in the instantaneous network capacity for transporting traffic from the ingress to the egress nodes. Analytical expressions can be determined to quantify spectral efficiency of a selected modulation and coding scheme and a target BER. The total operational cost depends on link and node (both ingress and egress) unit costs, multiplied with respective usage and aggregated over all QoS types. packet flows from/to the UT can be routed to either terrestrial, LEO, MEO or GEO depending on the characteristic of the flow. For example, a flow that requires a stringent delay specification will be routed via terrestrial system if available or via LEO system. On the other hand, a flow that is not delay sensitive will be routed via GEO system, Ravishankar: Fig. 13, [0084], [0118], [0126]-[0127], [0143]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAVISHANKAR et al. (US
2021/0092640 Al, hereinafter “Ravishankar”) in view of Dillon (US5511079A, hereinafter “Dillon”).
Regarding claim 1, Ravishankar discloses:
A maritime communications system comprising (communication links can be established with GEO satellites for coverage over continents and LEO satellites for coverage over both continents and oceans, Ravishankar: [0048]):
a first satellite communications network having a first current operating capacity and first cost associated therewith (Satellite service providers continually seek to utilize the most capacity available, while also attempting to increase overall system capacity. The capacity of a link is governed by the environmental conditions and use of a specific mod-cod scheme, while the current usage uu( q) depends on traffic routing decisions made at the nodes to optimize a specific objective. reducing the overall cost that is a function of current usage uij(q) of a traffic class q carried over respective links and nodes. The total operational cost depends on link and node (both ingress and egress) unit costs, multiplied with respective usage and aggregated over all QoS types, and nodes. when throughput aggregation is done through a terrestrial RAT in addition to the Satellite System Radio Access Technology (SSRAT) or another SSRAT (i.e., a secondary satellite) in the UT coverage. Ravishankar: [0002], [0122], [0126]-[0127], [0140]);
a second satellite communications network having a second current operating capacity and a second cost associated therewith (Satellite service providers continually seek to utilize the most capacity available, while also attempting to increase overall system capacity. The capacity of a link is governed by the environmental conditions and use of a specific mod-cod scheme, while the current usage uu( q) depends on traffic routing decisions made at the nodes to optimize a specific objective. reducing the overall cost that is a function of current usage uij(q) of a traffic class q carried over respective links and nodes. The total operational cost depends on link and node (both ingress and egress) unit costs, multiplied with respective usage and aggregated over all QoS types, and nodes. when throughput aggregation is done through a terrestrial RAT in addition to the Satellite System Radio Access Technology (SSRAT) or another SSRAT (i.e., a secondary satellite) in the UT coverage. Ravishankar: [0002], [0122], [0126]-[0127], [0140]);
a maritime communications terminal operable over the first satellite communications network and the second satellite communications network (Use case 230 illustrates an embodiment for maritime platforms, such as a cruise liner. According to such embodiments, the UT can be configured to communicate with terrestrial wireless services near shore and transition to satellite access as it moves off-shore, thereby optimizing service costs irrespective of location. when throughput aggregation is done through a terrestrial RAT in addition to the Satellite System Radio Access Technology (SSRAT) or another SSRAT (i.e., a secondary satellite) in the UT coverage, Ravishankar: Fig. 2 #230, [0047]-[0048], [0140]); and
a communications management server configured to (The system further includes a subscription server configured to provide functionality similar to the Unified Data Management (UDM) of the 5G core. a management server configured to provide functionality similar to the Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) and Session Management Function (SMF). The 5G core network further transmits and receives information to and from the server using an IP network. the hybrid communication system allows the UT to independently select the most appropriate system for sending and receiving application data. For example, a UT can send delay sensitive data via terrestrial system, if available, and send other data to the satellite system. According to various embodiments, digital transponders, on-board switching, and inter-constellation links can be selectively utilized across GEO, MEO, and LEO orbits optimize throughput, delivery, and security, Ravishankar: Fig. 4, [0052]-[0054], [0066])
distribute data communications between the first and second satellite communications networks based upon the variable correction rate, and the first and second current operating capacities and associated first and second costs (the gateway is configured to transmit control signals to the terminal in order to indicate when the terminal should switch from one satellite to another. The link capacity is dependent on the current environmental conditions that create variability in the instantaneous network capacity for transporting traffic from the ingress to the egress nodes. Analytical expressions can be determined to quantify spectral efficiency of a selected modulation and coding scheme and a target BER. The total operational cost depends on link and node (both ingress and egress) unit costs, multiplied with respective usage and aggregated over all QoS types. packet flows from/to the UT can be routed to either terrestrial, LEO, MEO or GEO depending on the characteristic of the flow. For example, a flow that requires a stringent delay specification will be routed via terrestrial system if available or via LEO system. On the other hand, a flow that is not delay sensitive will be routed via GEO system, Ravishankar: Fig. 13, [0084], [0118], [0126]-[0127], [0143]).
Ravishankar does not explicitly disclose:
apply forward error correction (FEC) to data communications from the maritime communications terminal at a variable correction rate based upon an error rate, and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dillon teaches:
apply forward error correction (FEC) to data communications from the maritime communications terminal at a variable correction rate based upon an error rate (In the typical VSAT communication system, a large earth station known as the hub broadcasts a continuous carrier to hundreds or thousands of smaller VSAT earth stations via a satellite transponder. The hub station outbound carrier signal contains packets of digital data addressed to the individual VSAT stations of the system. Communication in these systems is two-way, and the smaller VSAT stations typically generate transmission bursts on an inbound carrier signal via the satellite transponder back to the hub earth station. The plurality of VSAT stations typically share one or more carriers, using multiple access techniques, such as slotted aloha and time division multiple access TDMA multiplexing to forward their data packets to the earth station. the use of the forward error correction technique reduces the data packet throughput from VSAT to the hub earth station as additional bandwidth is used to send the error correcting bits along with the packet bits. In employing the forward error correction FEC encoder, error correction is accomplished at a rate which will permit a predetermined bit error rate to be achieved at the receiving hub earth station for a given received signal level, Dillon: Col. 1 Lines 11-23, Col. 3 Lines 27-36. Col. 4 Lines 1-4), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ravishankar in view of Dillon in order to further modify applying forward error correction (FEC) to data communications from the maritime communications terminal at a variable correction rate based upon an error rate from the teachings of Dillon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to add to each data packet the number of additional bits which will permit the reliable decoding and error correction of the data packets at the receiving hub earth station FEC decoder (Dillon: Col. 4 Lines 56-67).
Regarding claim 9, Ravishankar discloses:
A communications management server comprising (The system further includes a subscription server configured to provide functionality similar to the Unified Data Management (UDM) of the 5G core. a management server configured to provide functionality similar to the Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) and Session Management Function (SMF). The 5G core network further transmits and receives information to and from the server using an IP network. the hybrid communication system allows the UT to independently select the most appropriate system for sending and receiving application data. For example, a UT can send delay sensitive data via terrestrial system, if available, and send other data to the satellite system. According to various embodiments, digital transponders, on-board switching, and inter-constellation links can be selectively utilized across GEO, MEO, and LEO orbits optimize throughput, delivery, and security, Ravishankar: Fig. 4, [0052]-[0054], [0066]):
a processor and an associated memory configured to (computer system includes a bus or other communication mechanism for communicating information and a processor coupled to the bus for processing information. The computer system also includes main memory, Ravishankar: [0192], [0197])
the maritime communications terminal operable over a first satellite communications network having a first current operating capacity and first cost associated therewith (Use case 230 illustrates an embodiment for maritime platforms, such as a cruise liner. According to such embodiments, the UT can be configured to communicate with terrestrial wireless services near shore and transition to satellite access as it moves off-shore, thereby optimizing service costs irrespective of location. when throughput aggregation is done through a terrestrial RAT in addition to the Satellite System Radio Access Technology (SSRAT) or another SSRAT (i.e., a secondary satellite) in the UT coverage, Ravishankar: Fig. 2 #230, [0048], [0140]), and
a second satellite communications network having a second current operating capacity and a second cost associated therewith (Satellite service providers continually seek to utilize the most capacity available, while also attempting to increase overall system capacity. The capacity of a link is governed by the environmental conditions and use of a specific mod-cod scheme, while the current usage uij(q) depends on traffic routing decisions made at the nodes to optimize a specific objective. reducing the overall cost that is a function of current usage uij(q) of a traffic class q carried over respective links and nodes. The total operational cost depends on link and node (both ingress and egress) unit costs, multiplied with respective usage and aggregated over all QoS types, and nodes. when throughput aggregation is done through a terrestrial RAT in addition to the Satellite System Radio Access Technology (SSRAT) or another SSRAT (i.e., a secondary satellite) in the UT coverage. Ravishankar: [0002], [0122], [0126]-[0127], [0140]), and
distribute data communications between the first and second satellite communications networks based upon the variable correction rate, and the first and second capacities and associated first and second costs (the gateway is configured to transmit control signals to the terminal in order to indicate when the terminal should switch from one satellite to another. The link capacity is dependent on the current environmental conditions that create variability in the instantaneous network capacity for transporting traffic from the ingress to the egress nodes. Analytical expressions can be determined to quantify spectral efficiency of a selected modulation and coding scheme and a target BER. The total operational cost depends on link and node (both ingress and egress) unit costs, multiplied with respective usage and aggregated over all QoS types. packet flows from/to the UT can be routed to either terrestrial, LEO, MEO or GEO depending on the characteristic of the flow. For example, a flow that requires a stringent delay specification will be routed via terrestrial system if available or via LEO system. On the other hand, a flow that is not delay sensitive will be routed via GEO system, Ravishankar: Fig. 13, [0084], [0118], [0126]-[0127], [0143]).
Ravishankar does not explicitly disclose:
apply forward error correction (FEC) to data communications from a maritime communications terminal at a variable correction rate based upon an error rate,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dillon teaches:
apply forward error correction (FEC) to data communications from a maritime communications terminal at a variable correction rate based upon an error rate (In the typical VSAT communication system, a large earth station known as the hub broadcasts a continuous carrier to hundreds or thousands of smaller VSAT earth stations via a satellite transponder. The hub station outbound carrier signal contains packets of digital data addressed to the individual VSAT stations of the system. Communication in these systems is two-way, and the smaller VSAT stations typically generate transmission bursts on an inbound carrier signal via the satellite transponder back to the hub earth station. The plurality of VSAT stations typically share one or more carriers, using multiple access techniques, such as slotted aloha and time division multiple access TDMA multiplexing to forward their data packets to the earth station. the use of the forward error correction technique reduces the data packet throughput from VSAT to the hub earth station as additional bandwidth is used to send the error correcting bits along with the packet bits. In employing the forward error correction FEC encoder, error correction is accomplished at a rate which will permit a predetermined bit error rate to be achieved at the receiving hub earth station for a given received signal level, Dillon: Col. 1 Lines 11-23, Col. 3 Lines 27-36. Col. 4 Lines 1-4),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ravishankar in view of Dillon in order to further modify applying forward error correction (FEC) to data communications from the maritime communications terminal at a variable correction rate based upon an error rate from the teachings of Dillon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to add to each data packet the number of additional bits which will permit the reliable decoding and error correction of the data packets at the receiving hub earth station FEC decoder (Dillon: Col. 4 Lines 56-67).
Regarding claim 17, Ravishankar discloses:
A method of managing communications comprising:
using a communications management server to (The system further includes a subscription server configured to provide functionality similar to the Unified Data Management (UDM) of the 5G core. a management server configured to provide functionality similar to the Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) and Session Management Function (SMF). The 5G core network further transmits and receives information to and from the server using an IP network. the hybrid communication system allows the UT to independently select the most appropriate system for sending and receiving application data. For example, a UT can send delay sensitive data via terrestrial system, if available, and send other data to the satellite system. According to various embodiments, digital transponders, on-board switching, and inter-constellation links can be selectively utilized across GEO, MEO, and LEO orbits optimize throughput, delivery, and security, Ravishankar: Fig. 4, [0052]-[0054], [0066]):
the maritime communications terminal operable over a first satellite communications network having a first current operating capacity and first cost associated therewith (Use case 230 illustrates an embodiment for maritime platforms, such as a cruise liner. According to such embodiments, the UT can be configured to communicate with terrestrial wireless services near shore and transition to satellite access as it moves off-shore, thereby optimizing service costs irrespective of location. when throughput aggregation is done through a terrestrial RAT in addition to the Satellite System Radio Access Technology (SSRAT) or another SSRAT (i.e., a secondary satellite) in the UT coverage, Ravishankar: Fig. 2 #230, [0048], [0140])
a second satellite communications network having a second current operating capacity and a second cost associated therewith (Satellite service providers continually seek to utilize the most capacity available, while also attempting to increase overall system capacity. The capacity of a link is governed by the environmental conditions and use of a specific mod-cod scheme, while the current usage uij(q) depends on traffic routing decisions made at the nodes to optimize a specific objective. reducing the overall cost that is a function of current usage uij(q) of a traffic class q carried over respective links and nodes. The total operational cost depends on link and node (both ingress and egress) unit costs, multiplied with respective usage and aggregated over all QoS types, and nodes. when throughput aggregation is done through a terrestrial RAT in addition to the Satellite System Radio Access Technology (SSRAT) or another SSRAT (i.e., a secondary satellite) in the UT coverage. Ravishankar: [0002], [0122], [0126]-[0127], [0140]), and
distribute data communications between the first and second satellite communications networks based upon the variable correction rate, and the first and second capacities and associated first and second costs (the gateway is configured to transmit control signals to the terminal in order to indicate when the terminal should switch from one satellite to another. The link capacity is dependent on the current environmental conditions that create variability in the instantaneous network capacity for transporting traffic from the ingress to the egress nodes. Analytical expressions can be determined to quantify spectral efficiency of a selected modulation and coding scheme and a target BER. The total operational cost depends on link and node (both ingress and egress) unit costs, multiplied with respective usage and aggregated over all QoS types. packet flows from/to the UT can be routed to either terrestrial, LEO, MEO or GEO depending on the characteristic of the flow. For example, a flow that requires a stringent delay specification will be routed via terrestrial system if available or via LEO system. On the other hand, a flow that is not delay sensitive will be routed via GEO system, Ravishankar: Fig. 13, [0084], [0118], [0126]-[0127], [0143]).
Ravishankar does not explicitly disclose:
apply forward error correction (FEC) to data communications from a maritime communications terminal at a variable correction rate based upon an error rate,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dillon teaches:
apply forward error correction (FEC) to data communications from a maritime communications terminal at a variable correction rate based upon an error rate (In the typical VSAT communication system, a large earth station known as the hub broadcasts a continuous carrier to hundreds or thousands of smaller VSAT earth stations via a satellite transponder. The hub station outbound carrier signal contains packets of digital data addressed to the individual VSAT stations of the system. Communication in these systems is two-way, and the smaller VSAT stations typically generate transmission bursts on an inbound carrier signal via the satellite transponder back to the hub earth station. The plurality of VSAT stations typically share one or more carriers, using multiple access techniques, such as slotted aloha and time division multiple access TDMA multiplexing to forward their data packets to the earth station. the use of the forward error correction technique reduces the data packet throughput from VSAT to the hub earth station as additional bandwidth is used to send the error correcting bits along with the packet bits. In employing the forward error correction FEC encoder, error correction is accomplished at a rate which will permit a predetermined bit error rate to be achieved at the receiving hub earth station for a given received signal level, Dillon: Col. 1 Lines 11-23, Col. 3 Lines 27-36. Col. 4 Lines 1-4),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ravishankar in view of Dillon in order to further modify applying forward error correction (FEC) to data communications from the maritime communications terminal at a variable correction rate based upon an error rate from the teachings of Dillon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to add to each data packet the number of additional bits which will permit the reliable decoding and error correction of the data packets at the receiving hub earth station FEC decoder (Dillon: Col. 4 Lines 56-67).
Regarding claim 21, Ravishankar discloses:
A non-transitory computer readable medium for managing communications (The term "computer-readable medium" as used herein refers to any medium that participates in providing instructions to the processor for execution, Ravishankar: [0198]),
the non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer executable instructions that when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform operations comprising (the processes described herein are performed by the computer system, in response to the processor executing an arrangement of instructions contained in main memory. The term "computer-readable medium" as used herein refers to any medium that participates in providing instructions to the processor for execution, Ravishankar: [0192]. [0194], [0198]):
the maritime communications terminal operable over a first satellite communications network having a first current operating capacity and first cost associated therewith and (Use case 230 illustrates an embodiment for maritime platforms, such as a cruise liner. According to such embodiments, the UT can be configured to communicate with terrestrial wireless services near shore and transition to satellite access as it moves off-shore, thereby optimizing service costs irrespective of location. when throughput aggregation is done through a terrestrial RAT in addition to the Satellite System Radio Access Technology (SSRAT) or another SSRAT (i.e., a secondary satellite) in the UT coverage, Ravishankar: Fig. 2 #230, [0048], [0140])
a second satellite communications network having a second current operating capacity and a second cost associated therewith (Satellite service providers continually seek to utilize the most capacity available, while also attempting to increase overall system capacity. The capacity of a link is governed by the environmental conditions and use of a specific mod-cod scheme, while the current usage uij(q) depends on traffic routing decisions made at the nodes to optimize a specific objective. reducing the overall cost that is a function of current usage uij(q) of a traffic class q carried over respective links and nodes. The total operational cost depends on link and node (both ingress and egress) unit costs, multiplied with respective usage and aggregated over all QoS types, and nodes. when throughput aggregation is done through a terrestrial RAT in addition to the Satellite System Radio Access Technology (SSRAT) or another SSRAT (i.e., a secondary satellite) in the UT coverage. Ravishankar: [0002], [0122], [0126]-[0127], [0140]);
distributing data communications between the first and second satellite communications networks based upon the variable correction rate, and the first and second capacities and associated first and second costs (the gateway is configured to transmit control signals to the terminal in order to indicate when the terminal should switch from one satellite to another. The link capacity is dependent on the current environmental conditions that create variability in the instantaneous network capacity for transporting traffic from the ingress to the egress nodes. Analytical expressions can be determined to quantify spectral efficiency of a selected modulation and coding scheme and a target BER. The total operational cost depends on link and node (both ingress and egress) unit costs, multiplied with respective usage and aggregated over all QoS types. packet flows from/to the UT can be routed to either terrestrial, LEO, MEO or GEO depending on the characteristic of the flow. For example, a flow that requires a stringent delay specification will be routed via terrestrial system if available or via LEO system. On the other hand, a flow that is not delay sensitive will be routed via GEO system, Ravishankar: Fig. 13, [0084], [0118], [0126]-[0127], [0143]).
Ravishankar does not explicitly disclose:
applying forward error correction (FEC) to data communications from a maritime communications terminal at a variable correction rate based upon an error rate,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dillon teaches:
applying forward error correction (FEC) to data communications from a maritime communications terminal at a variable correction rate based upon an error rate (In the typical VSAT communication system, a large earth station known as the hub broadcasts a continuous carrier to hundreds or thousands of smaller VSAT earth stations via a satellite transponder. The hub station outbound carrier signal contains packets of digital data addressed to the individual VSAT stations of the system. Communication in these systems is two-way, and the smaller VSAT stations typically generate transmission bursts on an inbound carrier signal via the satellite transponder back to the hub earth station. The plurality of VSAT stations typically share one or more carriers, using multiple access techniques, such as slotted aloha and time division multiple access TDMA multiplexing to forward their data packets to the earth station. the use of the forward error correction technique reduces the data packet throughput from VSAT to the hub earth station as additional bandwidth is used to send the error correcting bits along with the packet bits. In employing the forward error correction FEC encoder, error correction is accomplished at a rate which will permit a predetermined bit error rate to be achieved at the receiving hub earth station for a given received signal level, Dillon: Col. 1 Lines 11-23, Col. 3 Lines 27-36. Col. 4 Lines 1-4),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ravishankar in view of Dillon in order to further modify applying forward error correction (FEC) to data communications from the maritime communications terminal at a variable correction rate based upon an error rate from the teachings of Dillon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to add to each data packet the number of additional bits which will permit the reliable decoding and error correction of the data packets at the receiving hub earth station FEC decoder (Dillon: Col. 4 Lines 56-67).
Regarding claim 25, Ravishankar discloses:
A communications system comprising:
a plurality of communications networks each having a variable operating performance associated therewith (the terminal can communicate with any combination of satellite and terrestrial network simultaneously, Ravishankar: Fig. 7, [0086], [0109]-[0110]),
at least one of the plurality of communications networks comprising a satellite communications network (the terminal can communicate with any combination of satellite and terrestrial network simultaneously, Ravishankar: Fig. 7, [0086], [0109]-[0110]);
a communications terminal operable over the plurality of communications networks (the terminal can communicate with any combination of satellite and terrestrial network simultaneously, Ravishankar: Fig. 7, [0086], [0109]-[0110]); and
communications management server configured to (The system further includes a subscription server configured to provide functionality similar to the Unified Data Management (UDM) of the 5G core. a management server configured to provide functionality similar to the Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) and Session Management Function (SMF). The 5G core network further transmits and receives information to and from the server using an IP network. the hybrid communication system allows the UT to independently select the most appropriate system for sending and receiving application data. For example, a UT can send delay sensitive data via terrestrial system, if available, and send other data to the satellite system. According to various embodiments, digital transponders, on-board switching, and inter-constellation links can be selectively utilized across GEO, MEO, and LEO orbits optimize throughput, delivery, and security, Ravishankar: Fig. 4, [0052]-[0054], [0066])
distribute data communications between the plurality of communications networks based upon the variable correction rate, and the variable operating performances (the gateway is configured to transmit control signals to the terminal in order to indicate when the terminal should switch from one satellite to another. The link capacity is dependent on the current environmental conditions that create variability in the instantaneous network capacity for transporting traffic from the ingress to the egress nodes. Analytical expressions can be determined to quantify spectral efficiency of a selected modulation and coding scheme and a target BER. The total operational cost depends on link and node (both ingress and egress) unit costs, multiplied with respective usage and aggregated over all QoS types. packet flows from/to the UT can be routed to either terrestrial, LEO, MEO or GEO depending on the characteristic of the flow. For example, a flow that requires a stringent delay specification will be routed via terrestrial system if available or via LEO system. On the other hand, a flow that is not delay sensitive will be routed via GEO system, Ravishankar: Fig. 13, [0084], [0118], [0126]-[0127], [0143]).
Ravishankar does not explicitly disclose:
apply forward error correction (FEC) to data communications from the communications terminal at a variable correction rate based upon an error rate, and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dillon teaches:
apply forward error correction (FEC) to data communications from the communications terminal at a variable correction rate based upon an error rate (In the typical VSAT communication system, a large earth station known as the hub broadcasts a continuous carrier to hundreds or thousands of smaller VSAT earth stations via a satellite transponder. The hub station outbound carrier signal contains packets of digital data addressed to the individual VSAT stations of the system. Communication in these systems is two-way, and the smaller VSAT stations typically generate transmission bursts on an inbound carrier signal via the satellite transponder back to the hub earth station. The plurality of VSAT stations typically share one or more carriers, using multiple access techniques, such as slotted aloha and time division multiple access TDMA multiplexing to forward their data packets to the earth station. the use of the forward error correction technique reduces the data packet throughput from VSAT to the hub earth station as additional bandwidth is used to send the error correcting bits along with the packet bits. In employing the forward error correction FEC encoder, error correction is accomplished at a rate which will permit a predetermined bit error rate to be achieved at the receiving hub earth station for a given received signal level, Dillon: Col. 1 Lines 11-23, Col. 3 Lines 27-36. Col. 4 Lines 1-4), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ravishankar in view of Dillon in order to further modify applying forward error correction (FEC) to data communications from the maritime communications terminal at a variable correction rate based upon an error rate from the teachings of Dillon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to add to each data packet the number of additional bits which will permit the reliable decoding and error correction of the data packets at the receiving hub earth station FEC decoder (Dillon: Col. 4 Lines 56-67).
Regarding claim 32, Ravishankar discloses:
A communications management server comprising (The system further includes a subscription server configured to provide functionality similar to the Unified Data Management (UDM) of the 5G core. a management server configured to provide functionality similar to the Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) and Session Management Function (SMF). The 5G core network further transmits and receives information to and from the server using an IP network. the hybrid communication system allows the UT to independently select the most appropriate system for sending and receiving application data. For example, a UT can send delay sensitive data via terrestrial system, if available, and send other data to the satellite system. According to various embodiments, digital transponders, on-board switching, and inter-constellation links can be selectively utilized across GEO, MEO, and LEO orbits optimize throughput, delivery, and security, Ravishankar: Fig. 4, [0052]-[0054], [0066]):
a processor and an associated memory configured to (computer system includes a bus or other communication mechanism for communicating information and a processor coupled to the bus for processing information. The computer system also includes main memory, Ravishankar: [0192], [0197])
the communications terminal operable over a plurality of communications networks each having a variable operating performance associated therewith (Use case 230 illustrates an embodiment for maritime platforms, such as a cruise liner. According to such embodiments, the UT can be configured to communicate with terrestrial wireless services near shore and transition to satellite access as it moves off-shore, thereby optimizing service costs irrespective of location. when throughput aggregation is done through a terrestrial RAT in addition to the Satellite System Radio Access Technology (SSRAT) or another SSRAT (i.e., a secondary satellite) in the UT coverage, Ravishankar: Fig. 2 #230, [0048], [0140]),
at least one of the plurality of communications networks comprising a satellite communications network (the terminal can communicate with any combination of satellite and terrestrial network simultaneously, Ravishankar: Fig. 7, [0086], [0109]-[0110]), and
distribute data communications between the plurality of communications networks based upon the variable correction rate, and the variable operating performances (the gateway is configured to transmit control signals to the terminal in order to indicate when the terminal should switch from one satellite to another. The link capacity is dependent on the current environmental conditions that create variability in the instantaneous network capacity for transporting traffic from the ingress to the egress nodes. Analytical expressions can be determined to quantify spectral efficiency of a selected modulation and coding scheme and a target BER. The total operational cost depends on link and node (both ingress and egress) unit costs, multiplied with respective usage and aggregated over all QoS types. packet flows from/to the UT can be routed to either terrestrial, LEO, MEO or GEO depending on the characteristic of the flow. For example, a flow that requires a stringent delay specification will be routed via terrestrial system if available or via LEO system. On the other hand, a flow that is not delay sensitive will be routed via GEO system, Ravishankar: Fig. 13, [0084], [0118], [0126]-[0127], [0143]).
Ravishankar does not explicitly disclose:
apply forward error correction (FEC) to data communications from a communications terminal at a variable correction rate based upon an error rate,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dillon teaches:
apply forward error correction (FEC) to data communications from a communications terminal at a variable correction rate based upon an error rate (In the typical VSAT communication system, a large earth station known as the hub broadcasts a continuous carrier to hundreds or thousands of smaller VSAT earth stations via a satellite transponder. The hub station outbound carrier signal contains packets of digital data addressed to the individual VSAT stations of the system. Communication in these systems is two-way, and the smaller VSAT stations typically generate transmission bursts on an inbound carrier signal via the satellite transponder back to the hub earth station. The plurality of VSAT stations typically share one or more carriers, using multiple access techniques, such as slotted aloha and time division multiple access TDMA multiplexing to forward their data packets to the earth station. the use of the forward error correction technique reduces the data packet throughput from VSAT to the hub earth station as additional bandwidth is used to send the error correcting bits along with the packet bits. In employing the forward error correction FEC encoder, error correction is accomplished at a rate which will permit a predetermined bit error rate to be achieved at the receiving hub earth station for a given received signal level, Dillon: Col. 1 Lines 11-23, Col. 3 Lines 27-36. Col. 4 Lines 1-4),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ravishankar in view of Dillon in order to further modify applying forward error correction (FEC) to data communications from the maritime communications terminal at a variable correction rate based upon an error rate from the teachings of Dillon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to add to each data packet the number of additional bits which will permit the reliable decoding and error correction of the data packets at the receiving hub earth station FEC decoder (Dillon: Col. 4 Lines 56-67).
Regarding claim 39, Ravishankar discloses:
A method of managing communications comprising:
using a communications management server to (The system further includes a subscription server configured to provide functionality similar to the Unified Data Management (UDM) of the 5G core. a management server configured to provide functionality similar to the Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) and Session Management Function (SMF). The 5G core network further transmits and receives information to and from the server using an IP network. the hybrid communication system allows the UT to independently select the most appropriate system for sending and receiving application data. For example, a UT can send delay sensitive data via terrestrial system, if available, and send other data to the satellite system. According to various embodiments, digital transponders, on-board switching, and inter-constellation links can be selectively utilized across GEO, MEO, and LEO orbits optimize throughput, delivery, and security, Ravishankar: Fig. 4, [0052]-[0054], [0066])
the communications terminal operable over a plurality of communications networks each having a variable operating performance associated therewith (Use case 230 illustrates an embodiment for maritime platforms, such as a cruise liner. According to such embodiments, the UT can be configured to communicate with terrestrial wireless services near shore and transition to satellite access as it moves off-shore, thereby optimizing service costs irrespective of location. when throughput aggregation is done through a terrestrial RAT in addition to the Satellite System Radio Access Technology (SSRAT) or another SSRAT (i.e., a secondary satellite) in the UT coverage, Ravishankar: Fig. 2 #230, [0048], [0140]),
at least one of the plurality of communications networks comprising a satellite communications network (the terminal can communicate with any combination of satellite and terrestrial network simultaneously, Ravishankar: Fig. 7, [0086], [0109]-[0110]), and
distribute data communications between the first and second satellite communications networks based upon the variable correction rate, and the first and second capacities and the variable operating performances (the gateway is configured to transmit control signals to the terminal in order to indicate when the terminal should switch from one satellite to another. The link capacity is dependent on the current environmental conditions that create variability in the instantaneous network capacity for transporting traffic from the ingress to the egress nodes. Analytical expressions can be determined to quantify spectral efficiency of a selected modulation and coding scheme and a target BER. The total operational cost depends on link and node (both ingress and egress) unit costs, multiplied with respective usage and aggregated over all QoS types. packet flows from/to the UT can be routed to either terrestrial, LEO, MEO or GEO depending on the characteristic of the flow. For example, a flow that requires a stringent delay specification will be routed via terrestrial system if available or via LEO system. On the other hand, a flow that is not delay sensitive will be routed via GEO system, Ravishankar: Fig. 13, [0084], [0118], [0126]-[0127], [0143]).
Ravishankar does not explicitly disclose:
apply forward error correction (FEC) to data communications from a communications terminal at a variable correction rate based upon an error rate,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dillon teaches:
apply forward error correction (FEC) to data communications from a communications terminal at a variable correction rate based upon an error rate (In the typical VSAT communication system, a large earth station known as the hub broadcasts a continuous carrier to hundreds or thousands of smaller VSAT earth stations via a satellite transponder. The hub station outbound carrier signal contains packets of digital data addressed to the individual VSAT stations of the system. Communication in these systems is two-way, and the smaller VSAT stations typically generate transmission bursts on an inbound carrier signal via the satellite transponder back to the hub earth station. The plurality of VSAT stations typically share one or more carriers, using multiple access techniques, such as slotted aloha and time division multiple access TDMA multiplexing to forward their data packets to the earth station. the use of the forward error correction technique reduces the data packet throughput from VSAT to the hub earth station as additional bandwidth is used to send the error correcting bits along with the packet bits. In employing the forward error correction FEC encoder, error correction is accomplished at a rate which will permit a predetermined bit error rate to be achieved at the receiving hub earth station for a given received signal level, Dillon: Col. 1 Lines 11-23, Col. 3 Lines 27-36. Col. 4 Lines 1-4),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ravishankar in view of Dillon in order to further modify applying forward error correction (FEC) to data communications from the maritime communications terminal at a variable correction rate based upon an error rate from the teachings of Dillon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to add to each data packet the number of additional bits which will permit the reliable decoding and error correction of the data packets at the receiving hub earth station FEC decoder (Dillon: Col. 4 Lines 56-67).
Regarding claim 43, Ravishankar discloses:
A non-transitory computer readable medium for managing communications (The term "computer-readable medium" as used herein refers to any medium that participates in providing instructions to the processor for execution, Ravishankar: [0198]),
the non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer executable instructions that when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform operations comprising (the processes described herein are performed by the computer system, in response to the processor executing an arrangement of instructions contained in main memory. The term "computer-readable medium" as used herein refers to any medium that participates in providing instructions to the processor for execution, Ravishankar: [0192]. [0194], [0198]):
the communications terminal operable over a plurality of communications networks each having a variable operating performance associated therewith (Use case 230 illustrates an embodiment for maritime platforms, such as a cruise liner. According to such embodiments, the UT can be configured to communicate with terrestrial wireless services near shore and transition to satellite access as it moves off-shore, thereby optimizing service costs irrespective of location. when throughput aggregation is done through a terrestrial RAT in addition to the Satellite System Radio Access Technology (SSRAT) or another SSRAT (i.e., a secondary satellite) in the UT coverage, Ravishankar: Fig. 2 #230, [0048], [0140]),
at least one of the plurality of communications networks comprising a satellite communications network (the terminal can communicate with any combination of satellite and terrestrial network simultaneously, Ravishankar: Fig. 7, [0086], [0109]-[0110]), and
distributing data communications between the first and second satellite communications networks based upon the variable correction rate, and the variable operating capacities (the gateway is configured to transmit control signals to the terminal in order to indicate when the terminal should switch from one satellite to another. The link capacity is dependent on the current environmental conditions that create variability in the instantaneous network capacity for transporting traffic from the ingress to the egress nodes. Analytical expressions can be determined to quantify spectral efficiency of a selected modulation and coding scheme and a target BER. The total operational cost depends on link and node (both ingress and egress) unit costs, multiplied with respective usage and aggregated over all QoS types. packet flows from/to the UT can be routed to either terrestrial, LEO, MEO or GEO depending on the characteristic of the flow. For example, a flow that requires a stringent delay specification will be routed via terrestrial system if available or via LEO system. On the other hand, a flow that is not delay sensitive will be routed via GEO system, Ravishankar: Fig. 13, [0084], [0118], [0126]-[0127], [0143]).
Ravishankar does not explicitly disclose:
applying forward error correction (FEC) to data communications from a communications terminal at a variable correction rate based upon an error rate,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dillon teaches:
applying forward error correction (FEC) to data communications from a communications terminal at a variable correction rate based upon an error rate (In the typical VSAT communication system, a large earth station known as the hub broadcasts a continuous carrier to hundreds or thousands of smaller VSAT earth stations via a satellite transponder. The hub station outbound carrier signal contains packets of digital data addressed to the individual VSAT stations of the system. Communication in these systems is two-way, and the smaller VSAT stations typically generate transmission bursts on an inbound carrier signal via the satellite transponder back to the hub earth station. The plurality of VSAT stations typically share one or more carriers, using multiple access techniques, such as slotted aloha and time division multiple access TDMA multiplexing to forward their data packets to the earth station. the use of the forward error correction technique reduces the data packet throughput from VSAT to the hub earth station as additional bandwidth is used to send the error correcting bits along with the packet bits. In employing the forward error correction FEC encoder, error correction is accomplished at a rate which will permit a predetermined bit error rate to be achieved at the receiving hub earth station for a given received signal level, Dillon: Col. 1 Lines 11-23, Col. 3 Lines 27-36. Col. 4 Lines 1-4),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ravishankar in view of Dillon in order to further modify applying forward error correction (FEC) to data communications from the maritime communications terminal at a variable correction rate based upon an error rate from the teachings of Dillon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to add to each data packet the number of additional bits which will permit the reliable decoding and error correction of the data packets at the receiving hub earth station FEC decoder (Dillon: Col. 4 Lines 56-67).
Regarding claims 2, 10, 18, 22, 26, 33, 40, and 44, Ravishankar in view of Dillon teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 1, 9, 17, 21, 25, 32, 39, and 43 above.
Ravishankar further discloses:
distribute the data communications based upon the cause of the increase in the variable correction rate (packet flows from/to the UT can be routed to either terrestrial, LEO, MEO or GEO depending on the characteristic of the flow, Ravishankar: [0143]).
Ravishankar does not explicitly disclose:
determine a cause of an increase in the variable correction rate based upon a time distribution of errors, and distribute the data communications based upon the cause of the increase in the variable correction rate. and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dillon teaches:
determine a cause of an increase in the variable correction rate based upon a time distribution of errors, and distribute the data communications based upon the cause of the increase in the variable correction rate (provide for variable forward error correction rate encoding of a digital data signal as a function of propagation conditions. forward error correction can be increased during those circumstances when rain fades are being experienced, either at the hub earth station or at the VSAT earth station location, Dillon: Col. 1 Lines 65-67, Col. 2 Lines 41-49), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ravishankar in view of Dillon in order to further modify determining a cause of an increase in the variable correction rate based upon a time distribution of errors, and distributing the data communications based upon the cause of the increase in the variable correction rate from the teachings of Dillon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to add to each data packet the number of additional bits which will permit the reliable decoding and error correction of the data packets at the receiving hub earth station FEC decoder (Dillon: Col. 4 Lines 56-67).
Regarding claims 3, 11, 19, 23, 27, 34, 41, and 45, Ravishankar in view of Dillon teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 2, 10, 18, 22, 26, 33, 40, and 44 above.
Ravishankar further discloses:
wherein the communications management server is configured to determine the cause of the increase in the variable correction rate based upon the time distribution of errors, and distribute the data communications based upon the cause of the increase in the variable correction rate based upon detection of the data packets being dropped (if the interference level is high, then more bits are required for coding the signal to protect the data in order to minimize the probability of error from the interference. the scheduler can be designed to take advantage of the non-uniform distribution of traffic in active co-channel beams to use modulation and coding schemes commensurate with expected C/I, Ravishankar: [0184]).
Regarding claims 4, 12, 20, 24, 28, 35, 42, and 46, Ravishankar in view of Dillon teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 2, 10, 18, 22, 26, 33, 40, and 44 above.
Ravishankar further discloses:
determine the increase in the variable correction rate based upon channel congestion, and distribute the data communications based upon the channel congestion (The link capacity is dependent on the current environmental conditions that create variability in the instantaneous network capacity for transporting traffic from the ingress to the egress nodes. Analytical expressions can be determined to quantify spectral efficiency of a selected modulation and coding scheme and a target BER. SGL can be used within the context of existing Ethernet 802.lQ standard which already supports user and provider network distinction, virtual LANs, QoS processing, and congestion control, Ravishankar: [0118]-[0119]).
Regarding claims 5, 13 29, and 36, Ravishankar in view of Dillon teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 1, 9, 25, and 32 above.
Ravishankar further discloses:
wherein the second satellite communications network comprises a geostationary satellite communications network (communication links can be established with GEO satellites for coverage over continents. one or more gateways can be provided for communicating with the GEO satellites using one or more gateway links, Ravishankar: [0118]-[0119]).
Regarding claims 6, 14, 30, and 37, Ravishankar in view of Dillon teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 1, 9, 25, and 32 above.
Ravishankar further discloses:
wherein the first satellite communications network comprises a low-Earth orbiting (LEO) satellite network (LEO satellites for coverage over both continents and oceans. one or more gateways can be provided for communicating with the LEO satellites over the gateway links, Ravishankar: [0048], [0065]).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Ravishankar in view of Dillon teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 1 and 9 above.
Ravishankar further discloses:
wherein the second currently operating capacity is greater than the first capacity (digital transponders, on-board switching, and inter-constellation links can be selectively utilized across GEO, MEO, and LEO orbits optimize throughput, delivery, and security. The routing model can include ISLs, GSLs and terrestrial gateways, each equipped with multiple antennas to concurrently provide feeder links to multiple LEO satellites visible from the gateway location. delay sensitive traffic may be routed over a LEO satellite constellation, while delay insensitive traffic is routed through a GEO satellite constellation. The link capacity is dependent on the current environmental conditions that create variability in the instantaneous network capacity for transporting traffic from the ingress to the egress nodes, Ravishankar: [0054], [0058], [0118]).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Ravishankar in view of Dillon teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 1 and 9 above.
Ravishankar further discloses:
wherein the first cost is less than the second cost (total operational cost depends on link and node (both ingress and egress) unit costs, multiplied with respective usage and aggregated over all QoS types, and nodes. y(q) can include cost of applying scarce satellite transmit power for ISLs and GSLs, Ravishankar: [0126]-[0127]).
Regarding claims 31 and 38, Ravishankar in view of Dillon teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 25 and 32 above.
Ravishankar further discloses:
wherein at least one of the plurality of communications networks comprises a terrestrial communications network (the terminal can communicate with any combination of satellite and terrestrial network simultaneously, Ravishankar: Fig. 7, [0086], [0109]-[0110]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension
of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
be directed to SANG C LEE whose telephone number is (703)756-1461. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00AM-5:00PM ET.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467