DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the claims filed 06/23/26.
Claims 1, 4-6, 11, 14, 15 and 18 are amended.
Claims 2, 3, 7, 8, 12, 14, 16 and 17 are cancelled.
Claims 21-28 are new.
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-11, 14, 15, and 18-28 are pending.
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-11, 14, 15, and 18-28 have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
101
Applicant argues “that the claims, at least as amended, are directed to a technical improvement. One reason is that the claims are directed to a technical improvement of increasing security for data through the use a secure element that directly acquires data from a payment apparatus, and processes the data at a first security level and a second security level.” Examiner disagrees.
The limitations claim to “process” data at different security levels. First, it is unclear from the claims and the disclosure what function a computer is performing when it “processes” this data at different security levels. Processing data at first, second or third or hundredth level could constitute a wide range of “processes” including storing the data in a folder on a computer, which is an insignificant extra-solution activity of a generic computing device and which is not a technical improvement. The rejection is maintained.
103
Masaryk teaches wherein to acquire the data from the payment apparatus includes to directly control, by the secure element, the interface to directly acquire, from the interface, the data from the payment apparatus (Abstract; ¶ 12, 23-27, 31, 60-61; claim 24);
Masaryk – the attachment may contain an NFC antenna and secure element (SE). The SE may be a hardware chip specially designed to be tamper proof. In one embodiment, the SE may be used for digitally and physically secure storage of sensitive data, including payment data,… Input/output module 510 may comprise one module or multiple modules, and may be optionally combinable with one or both the secure element 508… In various embodiments, only one of near field communication radio 506 and secure element 508 may maintain a connection to the input/output module 510 to enhance security….The provisioning process may securely pass encrypted credit card details or other credentials to the secure element, such as the credit card account number, expiration date, and other track data. (¶ 21, 23, 60)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-11, 14, 15, and 18-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Subject Matter Eligibility Standard
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. § 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (101 Analysis: Step 1). Even if the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea) (101 Analysis: Step 2a(Prong 1), and if so, Identify whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s), and evaluate those additional elements to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. (101 Analysis: Step 2a (Prong 2). If additional elements does not integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception, claim still requires an evaluation of whether the claim recites additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception. If the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the exception itself (there is an inventive concept in the claim), the claim is eligible. If the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more (there is no inventive concept in the claim), the claim is ineligible. (101 Analysis: Step 2b).
The 2019 PEG explains that the abstract idea exception includes the following groupings of subject matter: a) Mathematical concepts b) Certain methods of organizing human activity and c) Mental processes
Analysis
In the instant case, claim 1 is directed to a machine, claim 11 is directed to a method and claim 18 is directed to an article of manufacture.
Step 2a.1– Identifying an Abstract Idea
The claims recite the steps of “receive, … a start transaction message … acquire, …data … process … data …. ; process, …the processed data… and provide the transactional data ….” The recited limitations fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract ideas, specifically, fundamental economic principles, for example, receiving and procession information for a transaction. Accordingly, the claims recites an abstract idea.
See MPEP 2106.
Step 2a.2 – Identifying a Practical Application
The claim does not currently recite any additional elements or combination of additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The claim recites the receipt of information, processing and providing transaction information. The claims recite insignificant extra-solution activity performed by a generic computing device.
Accordingly, even in combination, these elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components and limitations to a particular field of use or technological environment do not amount to practical applications. The claim in directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2b
The claim limitations recite “receive, … a start transaction message … acquire, …data … process … data …. ; process, …the processed data… and provide the transactional data ….” are not additional elements and they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. For the same reason these elements are not sufficient to provide an inventive concept. This is also determined to be well-understood, routine and conventional activity in the field. The Symantec, TLI, and OIP Techs, court decision cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicates that mere receipt or transmission of data over a network is a well-understood, routine and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner, as it is here. Therefore, when considering the additional elements alone, and in combination, there is no inventive concept in the claim and thus the claim is not eligible.
Viewed as a whole, instructions/method claims recite the concept of a fundamental economic practice as performed by a generic computer. The claims do not currently recite any additional elements or combination of additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The elements used to perform the claimed judicial exception amount to no more than mere instructions to implement the abstract idea in a network, and/or merely uses a network as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular environment.
Dependent claims 2-4, 6-8, 10, 12-17, 19 and 20 discuss functions in more descriptive detail of the steps geared toward the abstract idea. As such, these elements do not provide the significantly more to the underlying abstract idea necessary to render the invention patentable.
Claims 5, and 9 provide descriptive language surrounding the abstract idea. As such, these elements do not provide the significantly more to the underlying abstract idea necessary to render the invention patentable.
The claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Therefore, based on case law precedent, the claims are claiming subject matter similar to concepts already identified by the courts as dealing with abstract ideas. See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd., 573 U.S. 208 (citing Bilski v. Kappos, 561, U.S. 593, 611 (2010)).
The claims at issue amount to nothing significantly more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using some unspecified, generic computer. See Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd., 573 U.S. 208. Mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component and limitations to a particular field of use or technological environment cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Conclusion
The claim as a whole, does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. This is because the claim does not affect an improvement to another technology or technical filed; the claim does not amount to an improvement to the functioning of a computer system itself; and the claim does not move beyond a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, the Examiner concludes that there are no meaningful limitations in the claim that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Dependent claims do not resolve the deficiency of independent claims and accordingly stand rejected under 35 USC 101 based on the same rationale.
Dependent claims 4-6, 9, 10, 14, 15, and 19-28 are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-6, 10, 11, 14, 15, and 18-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 11 and 18 recite “wherein to acquire the data from the payment apparatus includes to directly control, by the secure element, the interface to directly acquire, from the interface, the data from the payment apparatus…” According to the disclosure(¶ 102-104), “The secure element 316 may directly control the NFC interface 319 so that information read from the NFC interface 319 is, at least partially, processed and encrypted by the secure element 316, independently of the CPU 420 before being transmitted to the financial server 910 through the networking resources of the device 320.”. The specification provides very specific definitions are functions of what “directly control” means based on the entity in direct control. For the secure element to “directly control” the interface, the information read from the interface is “at least partially, processed and encrypted by the secure element”. Additionally, the information does not need to be directly acquired for the secure element to process and encrypt it. The disclosure makes no mention of “directly control” of the interface by the secure element meaning “to directly acquire” data. The disclosure does not provide support for the recited limitation. Dependent claims 4-6, 9, 10, 14, 15, and 19-28 are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 9-11, 14, 15, 18-21, 23, 25, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moreton et al. (US 20130095754) (“Moreton”), and further in view of Masaryk et al., (US 20110053556) (“Masaryk”).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 18, Moreton discloses an interface to facilitate acquisition of data from payment apparatuses; an input/output controller to control a wireless connection between the add-on and a mobile device for performance of secured transactions; and a secure element, the secure element operating a transaction module at a first security level and an operating system (OS) at a second security level, the second security level different than the first security level, the secure element to (Abstract; ¶ 21-24, 60):
Moreton – The attachment may comprise an audio jack plug 502 and a housing 504. The housing 504 may be produced from plastic, metal alloy, or any other suitable substance. The housing 504 may contain a near field communication radio 506, a secure element 508, and an input/output module 510. In one embodiment, near field communication radio 506, secure element 508, and an input/output module 510 may all be combined into one chip, separated onto multiple chips or circuits, or any other possible combination. The near field communication radio 506 and secure element 508 may be connected in parallel, in series, or any other possible combination. (¶ 60)
receive, from a payment control application of the mobile device, a start transaction message for performance of a secured transaction ( ¶ 62-65; claim 25, 26);
Moreton – In block 602, a customer may initiate a request for a token. In various embodiments, a customer may “tap” the mobile device and attachment to a PoS device, for example to initiate the request for a token at the time of a transaction. ( ¶ 62):
acquire, via the interface, data from a payment apparatus based at least in part on the start transaction message; ( ¶ 21, 70-73);
Moreton – The provisioning process may securely pass encrypted credit card details or other credentials to the secure element, such as the credit card account number, expiration date, and other track data… a customer may initiate a payment. In various embodiments, a customer may utilize software on the mobile device to signal that a payment is to be made. For example, the customer may select an option to pay, or the customer may be presented with various options for payment, including, for example, the account the customer desires to use for the transaction, the type of transaction, the amount of the transaction, the time that the attachment should ‘wait’ for the transaction, and/or the merchant targeted in the transaction. ( ¶ 21, 70):
process, via the OS at the second security level, the processed data from the transaction module to produce transactional data; and ( ¶ 71-77);
Moreton – the attachment may send payment information to the PoS device via the near field communication techniques described above. In an exemplary embodiment, the payment information may comprise, encrypted information, information similar to that transmitted in a credit card swipe transaction, or a message the payment process is ongoing. The payment information may comprise a dynamic card verification value (CVV3) generated at the time of the transaction. For example, the system may transmit encrypted information representing a customer's account with a financial institution to the PoS device. The payment information transmitted to a PoS device may be a message stating that the transaction is processing, and the mobile device may communicate further information to either the PoS device or another party or device via a non-NFC connection. ( ¶ 71):
provide the transactional data for transmission to a remote server for completing the secured transaction( ¶ 47, 70-77);
Moreton– The attachment 104 may contain an embedded NFC chip that can send encrypted data a short distance (“near field”) to a reader 106 located, for instance, next to a Point of Sale (PoS) device or like retail cash register that enables contactless payments… In various exemplary embodiments, the hardware contained in the attachment 104 may be partially or wholly redundant with the hardware inside the mobile device 102. Reader 106 may then communicate or otherwise transfer the data to and from payment networks 108. ( ¶ 47):
Moreton does not disclose wherein to acquire the data from the payment apparatus includes to directly control, by the secure element, the interface to directly acquire, from the interface, the data from the payment apparatus; process, via the transaction module at the first security level, the data from the payment apparatus to produce processed data.
Masaryk teaches wherein to acquire the data from the payment apparatus includes to directly control, by the secure element, the interface to directly acquire, from the interface, the data from the payment apparatus (Abstract; ¶ 12, 23-27, 31, 60-61; claim 24);
Masaryk – the attachment may contain an NFC antenna and secure element (SE). The SE may be a hardware chip specially designed to be tamper proof. In one embodiment, the SE may be used for digitally and physically secure storage of sensitive data, including payment data,… Input/output module 510 may comprise one module or multiple modules, and may be optionally combinable with one or both the secure element 508… In various embodiments, only one of near field communication radio 506 and secure element 508 may maintain a connection to the input/output module 510 to enhance security….The provisioning process may securely pass encrypted credit card details or other credentials to the secure element, such as the credit card account number, expiration date, and other track data. (¶ 21, 23, 60):
process, via the transaction module at the first security level, the data from the payment apparatus to produce processed data (Abstract; ¶ 12, 23-26, 40, 41; claim 24);
Masaryk – During transmission, the data are processed in the secure element, which is placed in the computer mouse or which is connected to the computer mouse during transmission. The processing of the data within the secure element is based on the encryption and decryption of data… The secure element may be used for encryption of transferred data, ( ¶ 12, 25):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Moreton and Masaryk in order to provide secure communication in data transmissions for electronic payments (Masaryk; ¶ 1-4).
Regarding claims 4, 14 and 27, Moreton discloses wherein the secure element is further to encrypt the data from the payment apparatus, wherein the transactional data includes the encrypted data from the payment apparatus ( ¶ 21, 47, 71). Masaryk teaches wherein encryption of the encrypted data from the payment apparatus prevents malicious programs running in parallel with the payment control application from intercepting the data from the payment apparatus (Abstract; ¶ 12, 23-26; claim 24).
Regarding claim 5, Moreton discloses wherein the data from the payment apparatus is processed independently of data processed by a processor executing the payment control application (Abstract; ¶ 21-24, 60, 70-73).
Regarding claims 6, 15 and 28, Moreton discloses wherein to directly control the interface includes to: activate, by the secure element, a reader mode of the interface based at least in part on receipt of the start transaction message; and deactivate, by the secure element, the reader mode of the interface based at least in part on the data from the payment apparatus being obtained from the payment apparatus (¶ 21, 26, 27, 33, 80; claim 27).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Moreton discloses wherein the secure element is further to: send, to the remote server, a request to authorize the secured transaction via a secured communication channel, wherein the request includes the transactional data; process a response received from the remote server to determine a status of the secured transaction; and transmit a notification of the status to the payment control application of the mobile device ( ¶ 39-47, 60, 70-77).
Regarding claim 19, Moreton discloses wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the add-on, further cause the add-on to: establish, by the secure element, a secured communication channel with the remote server over a communication channel previously established by the payment control application using networking resources of the mobile device, and wherein to provide the transactional data for transmission to the remote server includes to provide the transactional data to the remote server via the secured communication channel ( ¶ 39-47, 70-77).
Regarding claims 21, 23 and 25, Masaryk teaches wherein the add-on comprises a housing, a case, a sleeve, or a cover for the mobile device ( ¶ 60, 76, 77).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moreton et al. (US 20130095754) (“Moreton”), in view of Masaryk et al., (US 20110053556) (“Masaryk”) and further in view of Li et al., (US 20140073375) (“Li”).
Regarding claim 9, neither Moreton nor Masaryk discloses wherein the second security level is higher than the first security level. Li teaches wherein the second security level is higher than the first security level. ( ¶ 57-59, 71, 74, 78). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Moreton, Masaryk and Li in order to control data access for secure communication (Li; ¶ 6-8).
Claim(s) 22, 24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moreton et al. (US 20130095754) (“Moreton”), in view of Masaryk et al., (US 20110053556) (“Masaryk”) and further in view of Saarisalo et al., (US 20110239304) (“Saarisalo”).
Regarding claims 22, 24 and 26, neither Moreton nor Masaryk discloses wherein the secure element is level 2 certified, wherein the payment control application is level 3 certified, and wherein level 2 certification provides a higher level of security than level 3 certification. Saarisalo teaches wherein the secure element is level 2 certified, wherein the payment control application is level 3 certified, and wherein level 2 certification provides a higher level of security than level 3 certification ( ¶ 5, 40-49). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Moreton, Masaryk and Saarisalo in order to control the levels of data security (Saarisalo; ¶ 45).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dolcino et al. (US 20140324698) (“Dolcino”) – 102, inventor
(US 20100306076)
Brands (US 9584958) teaches secure element processing data, NFC for secure transaction.
Dietze et al. (US 9900320) teaches security elements and levels of security.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ILSE I IMMANUEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3699