DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 1 – 23 are pending.
Claims 1, 14, and 22 are amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 03/10/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments in the amendments, filed 04/23/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive. A new ground of rejection is presented based on the applicant’s amendments and arguments for independent claims 1, 14, and 22. The previous rejection for dependent claims 2, 3, and 4 have been withdrawn based on the applicant’s arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10, 12, 14, and 21 – 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (US 20240045639).
As per claim 1, a method, comprising:
providing, by a first device directly to a second device and without passing through a server, an invitation to a collaborative session associated with the first device (The push collaboration module is configured to support the electronic device in actively requesting another device to collaborate with the electronic device. For example, the push collaboration module of a device A is configured to support the device A in actively requesting a device B to collaboratively display an application interface displayed on the device A, where the device A may be referred to as a primary device, and the device B may be referred to as a secondary device, See ¶148);
receiving, by the first device from the second device in response to the invitation, a request to join the collaborative session (The first device sends a push collaboration request to the second device, where the push collaboration request carries application information of the first application, and the application information of the first application is used by the second device to determine that the first application is installed on the second device; in response to receiving a channel establishment request of the second device, the first device and the second device establishes a communication channel for collaborative display, See ¶21);
providing, from the first device to the second device over a network, an authorization for the second device to control the collaborative session (The device connection verification module is configured to provide security verification such as device verification. For example, the device connection verification module may provide a device verification code (for example, a PIN code), for example, PIN code information is hidden in a collaboration QR code, so that another device performs device verification when establishing a collaboration connection, See ¶164); and
modifying, by the first device, an output of the first device based on a control command from the second device (The second device may run the first application collaboratively with the first device in a manner of collaboratively displaying a control interface, where the first device displays the interface of the first application, and the second device displays a control interface of the first application, See ¶204).
As per claim 10, the method of claim 1, wherein the collaborative session comprises outputting media content, by the first device, via a third device that is separate from the first device, and wherein the control command from the second device comprises a selection of the media content (An embodiment of this application provides a distributed cross-device collaboration method. The method may be applied to a multi-screen collaboration (multi-screen collaboration) scenario. The multi-screen collaboration means that a cross-device multi-screen collaboration interaction function is implemented between devices (for example, a first device and a second device) by using a communication channel that is established for collaborative display, See ¶83).
As per claim 12, the method of claim 1, wherein the collaborative session comprises a data sharing session (The multi-screen collaboration scenario may be a scenario in which a plurality of devices collaboratively participate in an e-classroom. For example, a teacher may push, by using an established communication channel, a Word document, a PPT presentation, an Excel sheet, a video, or a picture displayed on a notebook computer to a smartphone of each student, so that the smartphone of each student may electronically display the Word document, the PPT presentation, the Excel sheet, the video, or the picture synchronously with the teacher's notebook computer, See ¶88).
As per claim 14, a method, comprising:
receiving, by a first device directly from a second device and without passing through a server, an invitation to a collaborative session associated with the second device (The push collaboration module is configured to support the electronic device in actively requesting another device to collaborate with the electronic device. For example, the push collaboration module of a device A is configured to support the device A in actively requesting a device B to collaboratively display an application interface displayed on the device A, where the device A may be referred to as a primary device, and the device B may be referred to as a secondary device, See ¶148);
providing, by the first device to the second device in response to the invitation, a request to join the collaborative session (The first device sends a push collaboration request to the second device, where the push collaboration request carries application information of the first application, and the application information of the first application is used by the second device to determine that the first application is installed on the second device; in response to receiving a channel establishment request of the second device, the first device and the second device establishes a communication channel for collaborative display, See ¶21);
receiving, at the first device from the second device over a network, an authorization for the first device to control the collaborative session (The device connection verification module is configured to provide security verification such as device verification. For example, the device connection verification module may provide a device verification code (for example, a PIN code), for example, PIN code information is hidden in a collaboration QR code, so that another device performs device verification when establishing a collaboration connection, See ¶164); and
providing, by the first device, a control command for controlling an output of the second device via the collaborative session (The second device may run the first application collaboratively with the first device in a manner of collaboratively displaying a control interface, where the first device displays the interface of the first application, and the second device displays a control interface of the first application, See ¶204).
As per claim 21, the method of claim 14, wherein the collaborative session comprises at least one of: a media output session, a document editing session, a data sharing session, a mapping session, or a group communications session (The multi-screen collaboration scenario may be a scenario in which a plurality of devices collaboratively participate in an e-classroom. For example, a teacher may push, by using an established communication channel, a Word document, a PPT presentation, an Excel sheet, a video, or a picture displayed on a notebook computer to a smartphone of each student, so that the smartphone of each student may electronically display the Word document, the PPT presentation, the Excel sheet, the video, or the picture synchronously with the teacher's notebook computer, See ¶88).
As per claim 22, a device, comprising:
a memory; and
one or more processors configured to:
provide, directly to a second device and without passing through a server, an invitation to a collaborative session associated with the device (The push collaboration module is configured to support the electronic device in actively requesting another device to collaborate with the electronic device. For example, the push collaboration module of a device A is configured to support the device A in actively requesting a device B to collaboratively display an application interface displayed on the device A, where the device A may be referred to as a primary device, and the device B may be referred to as a secondary device, See ¶148);
receive, from the second device in response to the invitation, a request to join the collaborative session (The first device sends a push collaboration request to the second device, where the push collaboration request carries application information of the first application, and the application information of the first application is used by the second device to determine that the first application is installed on the second device; in response to receiving a channel establishment request of the second device, the first device and the second device establishes a communication channel for collaborative display, See ¶21);
provide, to the second device over a network, an authorization for the second device to control the collaborative session (The device connection verification module is configured to provide security verification such as device verification. For example, the device connection verification module may provide a device verification code (for example, a PIN code), for example, PIN code information is hidden in a collaboration QR code, so that another device performs device verification when establishing a collaboration connection, See ¶164); and
modify an output of the device based on a control command from the second device (The second device may run the first application collaboratively with the first device in a manner of collaboratively displaying a control interface, where the first device displays the interface of the first application, and the second device displays a control interface of the first application, See ¶204).
As per claim 23, the device of claim 22, wherein the collaborative session comprises output of media content, by the device, via a third device that is separate from the device, and wherein the control command from the second device comprises a selection of the media content (An embodiment of this application provides a distributed cross-device collaboration method. The method may be applied to a multi-screen collaboration (multi-screen collaboration) scenario. The multi-screen collaboration means that a cross-device multi-screen collaboration interaction function is implemented between devices (for example, a first device and a second device) by using a communication channel that is established for collaborative display, See ¶83).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 11, 13, and 15 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 20240045639) and in view of Leavy (US 10778432).
As per claim 5, Yang discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Yang however does not expressly disclose:
wherein the encrypted invitation comprises a hash of connection information for the collaborative session and the key device.
Leavy discloses:
the method of claim 2, wherein the encrypted invitation comprises a hash of connection information for the collaborative session and the key device (Leavy, Communications transmitted and received by the secure collaboration application, including a message identifier, a hash of the sender's username, a hash of the sender's application identifier, a hash of the receiver's username, a hash of the receiver's application identifier, the communication encryption key, and a timestamp of each communication may be stored in database, See Col. 9, Line 39 – Col. 10, Line 22).
It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the Applicant's effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Leavy’s teaching of a hash of connection information, along with providing an invitation to a collaborative session to improve Yang’s system. Both Yang and Leavy discloses systems for conducting a group collaboration session. Leavy’s system includes using a hash value to determine connection information such as sender and receiver identifiers. The combination is an improvement upon the existing system because an invitation to a collaborative session can be provided, as taught by Yang, where the invitation can include a hash of connection information for the collaborative session, as taught by Leavy, to allow transmission of the secure collaborative communications between devices.
As per claim 11, the method of claim 1, wherein the collaborative session comprises a document editing session (Leavy, Secure communication platform 120 may be configured to facilitate the exchange of messages and communications for users of a secure collaboration application. As used herein, “messages” include … documents, audiovisual files, … and the like. Further, “communications” may include … application data transmitted as part of application sharing or screen sharing function, See Col. 6, Line 63 – Col. 7, Line 18).
As per claim 13, the method of claim 1, wherein the collaborative session comprises a group communications session (Leavy, Encrypted communications may include direct communications (e.g., one-to-one communications between a sender and receiver), group chats, or secure chat room communications, See Col. 9, Line 39 – Col. 10, Line 22).
As per claim 15, the method of claim 14, further comprising: identifying, by the first device and based on the invitation, a contact stored at the first device for the second device (Leavy, User directory may include a corporate directory that include employees' first and last names, usernames, email address, phone numbers, department information, etc. Alternatively, user directory 106 may be a database or table to maintain user information for users of secure communication platform 120, See Col. 6, Lines 30 - 47).
As per claim 16, the method of claim 15, wherein the invitation comprises a value and the value hashed with a key, and wherein identifying the contact comprises:
generating a plurality of local hash values at the first device by hashing the value with each of a plurality of respective keys stored at the first device in connection with a plurality of respective contacts, including the contact, stored at the first device (Leavy, Communications transmitted and received by the secure collaboration application, including a message identifier, a hash of the sender's username, a hash of the sender's application identifier, a hash of the receiver's username, a hash of the receiver's application identifier, the communication encryption key, and a timestamp of each communication may be stored in database 234, See Col. 9, Line 39 – Col. 10, Line 22); and
identifying the contact by identifying one of the local hash values that matches the value hashed with the key from the invitation (Leavy, User directory 106 may serve as a secure directory that includes a table of hashed usernames, a table of application identifiers, and a table of device identifiers for secure collaboration application. Accordingly, user directory 106 may be used to share information about users, systems, networks, services and applications, See Col. 6, Lines 30 - 47).
As per claim 17, the method of claim 16, wherein providing the request to join the collaborative session comprises:
obtaining an identifier of the contact stored at the first device (Leavy, If this is the first time the sending device and the receiving device have communicated, the first device may obtain information about the second device from the secure communication platform, such as the application identifier, the username, and user profile information of the sending device. The first device may store this information in database 234 for subsequent communication exchanges, See Col. 13, Lines 20 - 39); and
providing the request to join the collaborative session to a server along with the obtained identifier (Leavy, A secure collaboration application initializes a secure communication session by generating a meeting identifier and a first token. The secure collaboration application may initialize the secure communication session in response to receiving an input from a user. For example, a user in a one-to-one communication or a group chat may select an icon, such as a telephone icon or a video camera icon, to initiate the secure communication session, See Col. 14, Lines 11 - 32).
As per claim 18, the method of claim 14, wherein providing the control command for controlling the output of the second device comprises providing, from the first device to the second device, a selection of media content for output by the second device (Leavy, Application 224 may be a secure collaboration application that provides users with the ability to participate in voice and video calls, share encrypted content, exchange encrypted communications, and share application data, See Col. 9, Line 39 – Col. 10, Line 22).
As per claim 19, the method of claim 14, wherein providing the control command to the second device over the network comprises providing the request to a server for the collaborative session, for forwarding to the second device by the server (Leavy, In the context of streaming data—such as during voice or video calls and application sharing, management module 232 may be configured to register streams of data with the server, See Col. 9, Line 39 – Col. 10, Line 22).
As per claim 20, the method of claim 14, wherein providing the request to the second device comprises providing the request directly to the second device from the first device (Leavy, Encrypted communications may include direct communications (e.g., one-to-one communications between a sender and receiver), group chats, or secure chat room communications, See Col. 9, Line 39 – Col. 10, Line 22).
Claim(s) 6 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 20240045639) and in view of Yen (US 11651407).
As per claim 6, Yang discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Yang however does not expressly disclose:
wherein providing the invitation comprises broadcasting an unencrypted invitation responsive to a user request to invite all nearby devices to the collaborative session.
Yen discloses:
the method of claim 1, wherein providing the invitation comprises broadcasting an unencrypted invitation responsive to a user request to invite all nearby devices to the collaborative session (The ARS may identify that the traveler's mobile device is proximal to the ARS. For instance, the traveler may be standing stationary at a distance of ten feet from the ARS. The ARS may send a request including at least one of a push notification (invitation), a short message service (SMS) message, a multimedia messaging service (MMS) message, a text-message, or electronic mail (E-mail) message to connect to the mobile device. In some instances, the ARS may periodically broadcast a beacon indicating a presence of the ARS, See Col. 5, Lines 28 - 57).
It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the Applicant's effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yen teaching of broadcasting an unencrypted invitation to invite all nearby devices to the collaborative session, along with providing an invitation to a collaborative session to improve Yang’s system. Both Yang and Yen disclose systems for providing invitations to users. Yen’s system includes sending notifications to users in proximity of the device. The combination is an improvement upon the existing system because an invitation to a collaborative session can be provided, as taught by Yang, where the invitation can be unencrypted for broadcasting the invite to all nearby devices to the collaborative session, as taught by Yen, to allow transmission of the secure collaborative communications between devices.
As per claim 7, the method of claim 1, wherein providing the invitation comprises providing the invitation based on a determination, by the first device that the second device has been within a proximal range of the first device for at least a predetermined period of time (Yen, The ARS may identify a mobile device using a proximity component that identifies electronic device below a physical distance threshold of the ARS (e.g., within 15 feet of the ARS) and/or above a time threshold. (e.g., a mobile device that is proximal to the ARS for at least ten seconds), See Col. 5, Lines 28 - 57).
As per claim 8, the method of claim 7, further comprising, prior to providing the invitation, determining, by the first device that the second device has been within the proximal range of the first device for at least the predetermined period of time by:
broadcasting, by the first device responsive to a user request to invite all proximal devices to the collaborative session, a first advertisement that does not include information for requesting to join the collaborative session (Yen, In some instances, the ARS may send a request to connect via a mobile application associated with a cellular service provider. In some instances, the request may include an invitation and/or hyperlink to download the mobile application associated with a cellular service provider, See Col. 5, Lines 28 - 57); and
determining, based on a signal strength associated with the first advertisement, that the second device has been within the proximal range of the first device for at least the predetermined period of time (Yen, In some instances, a cellular signal strength threshold may be used to determine a proximity of the UE to the ARS. In various embodiments, the ARS will not authorize and/or send a connection request from or to electronic devices that do not satisfy the distance and/or time thresholds, See Col. 5, Lines 28 - 57).
As per claim 9, the method of claim 8, wherein the invitation comprises a second advertisement that includes the information for requesting to join the collaborative session (Yen, In some instances, the ARS may send a request to connect via a mobile application associated with a cellular service provider. In some instances, the request may include an invitation and/or hyperlink to download the mobile application associated with a cellular service provider, See Col. 5, Lines 28 - 57).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 – 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NAZIA NAOREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458