Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Instant Application
Patent No. 12,022,545
1. (Currently Amended) A method comprising: receiving, by a user plane function (UPF) a session initiation protocol (SIP) register message a user equipment (UE); appending, by the UPF, a policy charging function (PCF) node identifier to the SIP register message to obtain an appended SIP register message, the SIP register message excluding the PCF node identifier when received from the UE; and
sending, by the UPF, the appended SIP register message to a proxy-call session control function (P-CSCF) node without passing the appended SIP register message through the UE, wherein the appended SIP register message prompts the P-CSCF node to select a PCF node for the UE based on the PCF node identifier of the appended SIP register message
1. A method of initiating a network session for a user equipment (UE) on a network, the method comprising: receiving a session initiation protocol (SIP) register message at a first session management function (SMF) node; appending, by the SMF node, to the SIP register message, an identification of a policy charging function (PCF) node; passing, by the SMF node, the appended SIP register message from the SMF node to a proxy-call session control function (P-CSCF) node, without passing the appended SIP register message through the UE; extracting, by the P-CSCF node, the identification of the PCF node from the appended SIP register message; selecting, by the P-CSCF node, the identified PCF node in accordance with the extracted identification of the PCF node; and based at least upon selecting the identified PCF node, initiating the network session for the UE.
8. (Currently Amended) A comprising: a processor; and a computer-readable medium storing instructions that, are-operative upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to: receive, by a user plane function (UPF) a session initiation protocol (SIP) register message from a user equipment (UE); append, by the UPF a policy charging function (PCF) node identifier to the SIP register message to obtain an appended SIP register message; the SIP register message excluding the PCF node identifier when received from the UE
and send, by the UPF, the appended SIP register message to a proxy-call session control function (P-CSCF) node without passing the appended SIP register message through the VE, wherein the appended SIP register message prompts the P-CSCEF node to select. a PCF node for the UE based on the PCF node identifier of the appended SIP register message
9. A system for initiating a network session for a user equipment (UE) on a network, the system comprising: a processor; and a computer-readable medium storing instructions that are operative upon execution by the processor to: receive a session initiation protocol (SIP) register message at a session management function (SMF) node; append, by the SMF node, to the SIP register message, an identification of a policy charging function (PCF) node; pass, by the SMF node, the appended SIP register message from the SMF node to a proxy-call session control function (P-CSCF) node, without passing the appended SIP register message through the UE; extract, by the P-CSCF node, the identification of the PCF node from the appended SIP register message; select, by the P-CSCF node, the identified PCF node in accordance with the extracted identification of the PCF node; and based at least upon selecting the identified PCF node, initiate the network session for the UE.
15. (Currently Amended) One or more computer storage devices having computer-executable instructions stored thereon, which, upon execution by a processor, cause the processor to perform the following operations receiving by a user plane function (UPF) a Session initiation protocol (SIP) register message from a user equipment (UE); appending, by the UPF, a policy charging function (PCF) node identifier to the SIP register message to obtain an appended SIP register message; the SIP register message excluding the PCF node identifier when received from the UE and sending, by the UPF, the appended SIP register message to a proxy-call session control function (P-CSCF) node[[,]] without passing the appended SIP register message through the UE, wherein the appended SIP register message prompts the P-CSCF node to select a PCF node to initiate the network session for the UE based on the PCF node identifier of the appended SIP register message
17. One or more computer storage devices having computer-executable instructions stored thereon for initiating a network session for a user equipment (UE) on a network, which, on execution by a computer, cause the computer to perform operations comprising: receiving a session initiation protocol (SIP) register message at a session management function (SMF) node; appending, by the SMF node, to the SIP register message, and identification of a poly charging function (PCT) node; passing, by the SMF node, the appended SIP register message from the SMF node to a proxy-call session control function (P-CSCF) node, without passing the appended SIP register message through the UE; extracting, by the P-CSCF node, the identification of the PCF node from the appended SIP register message; selecting, by the P-CSCF node, the identified PCF node in accordance with the extracted identification of the PCF node; and based at least upon selecting the identified PCF node, initiating the network session for the UE.
Claims 1, 8, 15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,022,545 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are regarding session initiation protocol (SIP) register message and modifying the message by a specific node to initiate a network session for the UE. Even though the node that are modifying the message are different the claims are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 8, 9, 13, 15, 16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ahmadi et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0358909 A1)
1, Ahmadi teaches a method of comprising: receiving by a user plane function (UPF) a session initiation protocol (SIP) register message from a user equipment (UE) [fig 9 par 0018, 0094, a 5G network may have multiple SMF devices, multiple IMS AF devices configured as CSCFs, and/or multiple PCF devices. During the initiation of an IMS call, UE device 110 may send a SIP REGISTER message to CSCF 280 via PGW 240 (in a 4G core network 130) or UPF 330 controlled by SMF 340 (in a 5G core network) (signals 920 and 922). Upon receiving the SIP REGISTER message, CSCF 280 may send a Server Assignment Request (SAR) to HSS 270 and may receive a Server Assignment Answer (SAA) (signals 930 and 932). Figure shows the UE send the SIP register to a session node PGW/SMF, according to applicant specification para 0004, 0012 and fig 1, the network node comprising a PGW or SMF and the appending function of the UPF receives the session initiation message],
appending, by the UPF a policy charging function (PCF) node identifier to the SIP register message to obtain an appended SIP register message[par 0017, 0093, 0091, 0095, 0096, a Policy Control Function (PCF) may act as the policy device, a User Plane Function (UPF) device may act as a gateway device, and a CSCF device. The PCF may respond with an AAR message to the P-CSCF and may perform session binding between the Rx session and a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with the VoLTE call and install policies over an NG7 session to a Session Management Function (SMF) managing the UPF device that is associated with the VoLTE call. FIG. 9, signal flow 900 may include UE device 110 performing an attachment procedure to establish a connection with either PGW 240 or UPF 330. During the attachment procedure, PGW 240 (in a 4G core network 130) or SMF 340 controlling UPF 330 (in a 5G core network 130) may send an IP-CAN session establishment message to either PCRF 260 (in a 4G core network 130) or PCF 354 (in a 5G core network 130) via DRA 410 (signals 912 and 914). CSCF 280 may then send a Diameter AAR to DRA 410 using a Diameter Rx interface to be delivered to a policy device (e.g., PCRF 260 or PCF 354) (signal 940). DRA 410 may select a policy device based on the subscription type associated with UE device 110 (block 942). The selected policy device may then perform session binding to associate the existing session with the gateway device for the IMS call with the policy device session also associated with the IMS call (block 950).
The paragraph show the cscf functioning as a UPF perform session binding]
the SIP register message excluding the PCF node identifier when received from the UE[par 0091,0095, For example, DRA 410 may forward the AAR to the particular PCF 354 associated with the gateway device ID. If it is determined that the gateway device ID is not associated with 5G PCF (block 850—NO), a 4G PCRF device may be selected for the IMS call (block 870). CSCF 280 may then send a Diameter AAR to DRA 410 using a Diameter Rx interface to be delivered to a policy device (e.g., PCRF 260 or PCF 354) (signal 940). DRA 410 may select a policy device based on the subscription type associated with UE device 110 (block 942). If the Subscription-Type AVP indicates that UE device 110 is not associated with a 5G subscriber, DRA 410 may select PCRF 260. The CSCF determines whether or not to bind the PCF node If it is determined that the gateway device ID is not associated with 5G PCF the PCF information is excluded],
sending, by the UPF, the appended SIP register message to a proxy-call session control function (P-CSCF) node without passing the appended SIP register message through the UE[par 0096, DRA 410 may then forward the AAR to the selected policy device and may receive an AAA and forward the received AAA to CSCF 280 (signals 944, 946, 948). The selected policy device may then perform session binding to associate the existing session with the gateway device for the IMS call with the policy device session also associated with the IMS call. For example, in a 4G core network 130, PCRF 260 may associate the Rx session with CSCF 280 with the Gx session established with PGW 240],
wherein the appended SIP register message prompts the P-CSCF node to select a PCF node for the UE based on the PCF node identifier of the appended SIP register message [par 0091, the mapping table may be used to identify a policy device associated with the retrieved gateway device ID (block 840), and a determination may be made as to whether the gateway device ID is associated with a 5G PCF (block 850). If it is determined that the gateway device ID is associated with 5G PCF (block 850—YES), a 5G PCF device may be selected for the IMS call (block 860). For example, DRA 410 may forward the AAR to the particular PCF 354 associated with the gateway device ID. If it is determined that the gateway device ID is not associated with 5G PCF (block 850—NO), a 4G PCRF device may be selected for the IMS call (block 870). For example, DRA 410 may forward the AAR to the particular PCRF 260 associated with the gateway device ID]
2, Ahmadi disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: extracting, by the P-CSCF node, the PCF node identifier from the appended SIP register message [par 0091, 0092 the retrieved gateway device ID (block 840), and a determination may be made as to whether the gateway device ID is associated with a 5G PCF (block 850). If it is determined that the gateway device ID is associated with 5G PCF (block 850—YES), a 5G PCF device may be selected for the IMS call (block 860). For example, DRA 410 may forward the AAR to the particular PCF 354 associated with the gateway device ID. If it is determined that the gateway device ID is not associated with 5G PCF (block 850—NO), a 4G PCRF device may be selected for the IMS call (block 870). For example, DRA 410 may forward the AAR to the particular PCRF 260 associated with the gateway device ID. For example, the PCRF 260 or PCF 354 may perform session binding to associate the Rx session with CSCF 280 with an existing Gx session (in a 4G network) or an existing PDU session (in a 5G network) that is associated with the IMS call (e.g., via which the IMS call was originated or terminated). The CSCF determines whether or not to bind the PCF node If it is determined that the gateway device ID is not associated with 5G PCF the PCF information is excluded].
6, Ahmadi illustrates the method of claim 1, wherein the P-CSCF sends an automated alternate routing (AAR) message to the PCF node, the AAR message prompting the PCF node to initiate a network session for the UE [par 0016, 0017, a Proxy Call Session Control Function (P-CSCF) may send an Authentication Authorization Request (AAR) request over a Diameter Rx interface to the PCRF. The IMS AF, configured as the P-CSCF, may send an AAR message over an Rx interface to the PCF. The PCF may respond with an AAR message to the P-CSCF and may perform session binding between the Rx session and a Protocol Data Unit (PDU)].
8. Ahmadi teaches a system comprising: a processor; and a computer-readable medium storing instructions that, upon execution by the processor [par 0070, Bus 510 may include a path that permits communication among the components of device 500. Processor 520 may include any type of single-core processor, multi-core processor, microprocessor, latch-based processor, and/or processing logic (or families of processors, microprocessors, and/or processing logics) that interprets and executes instructions]
cause the processor to: receive by a user plane function (UPF) a session initiation protocol (SIP) register message from a user equipment (UE) [fig 9 par 0018, 0094, a 5G network may have multiple SMF devices, multiple IMS AF devices configured as CSCFs, and/or multiple PCF devices. During the initiation of an IMS call, UE device 110 may send a SIP REGISTER message to CSCF 280 via PGW 240 (in a 4G core network 130) or UPF 330 controlled by SMF 340 (in a 5G core network) (signals 920 and 922). Upon receiving the SIP REGISTER message, CSCF 280 may send a Server Assignment Request (SAR) to HSS 270 and may receive a Server Assignment Answer (SAA) (signals 930 and 932). Figure shows the UE send the SIP register to a session node PGW/SMF, according to applicant specification para 0004, 0012 and fig 1, the network node comprising a PGW or SMF and the appending function of the UPF receives the session initiation message],
append, by the UPF a policy charging function (PCF) node identifier to the SIP register message to obtain an appended SIP register message[par 0017, 0093, 0091, 0095, 0096, a Policy Control Function (PCF) may act as the policy device, a User Plane Function (UPF) device may act as a gateway device, and a CSCF device. The PCF may respond with an AAR message to the P-CSCF and may perform session binding between the Rx session and a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with the VoLTE call and install policies over an NG7 session to a Session Management Function (SMF) managing the UPF device that is associated with the VoLTE call. FIG. 9, signal flow 900 may include UE device 110 performing an attachment procedure to establish a connection with either PGW 240 or UPF 330. During the attachment procedure, PGW 240 (in a 4G core network 130) or SMF 340 controlling UPF 330 (in a 5G core network 130) may send an IP-CAN session establishment message to either PCRF 260 (in a 4G core network 130) or PCF 354 (in a 5G core network 130) via DRA 410 (signals 912 and 914). CSCF 280 may then send a Diameter AAR to DRA 410 using a Diameter Rx interface to be delivered to a policy device (e.g., PCRF 260 or PCF 354) (signal 940). DRA 410 may select a policy device based on the subscription type associated with UE device 110 (block 942). The selected policy device may then perform session binding to associate the existing session with the gateway device for the IMS call with the policy device session also associated with the IMS call (block 950). The paragraph show the cscf functioning as a UPF perform session binding],
the SIP register message excluding the PCF node identifier when received from the UE[par 0091,0095, For example, DRA 410 may forward the AAR to the particular PCF 354 associated with the gateway device ID. If it is determined that the gateway device ID is not associated with 5G PCF (block 850—NO), a 4G PCRF device may be selected for the IMS call (block 870). CSCF 280 may then send a Diameter AAR to DRA 410 using a Diameter Rx interface to be delivered to a policy device (e.g., PCRF 260 or PCF 354) (signal 940). DRA 410 may select a policy device based on the subscription type associated with UE device 110 (block 942). If the Subscription-Type AVP indicates that UE device 110 is not associated with a 5G subscriber, DRA 410 may select PCRF 260. The CSCF determines whether or not to bind the PCF node If it is determined that the gateway device ID is not associated with 5G PCF the PCF information is excluded],
send, by the UPF, the appended SIP register message to a proxy-call session control function (P-CSCF) node without passing the appended SIP register message through the UE[par 0096, DRA 410 may then forward the AAR to the selected policy device and may receive an AAA and forward the received AAA to CSCF 280 (signals 944, 946, 948). The selected policy device may then perform session binding to associate the existing session with the gateway device for the IMS call with the policy device session also associated with the IMS call. For example, in a 4G core network 130, PCRF 260 may associate the Rx session with CSCF 280 with the Gx session established with PGW 240],
wherein the appended SIP register message prompts the P-CSCF node to select a PCF node to for the UE based on the PCF node identifier of the appended SIP register message [par 0091, the mapping table may be used to identify a policy device associated with the retrieved gateway device ID (block 840), and a determination may be made as to whether the gateway device ID is associated with a 5G PCF (block 850). If it is determined that the gateway device ID is associated with 5G PCF (block 850—YES), a 5G PCF device may be selected for the IMS call (block 860). For example, DRA 410 may forward the AAR to the particular PCF 354 associated with the gateway device ID. If it is determined that the gateway device ID is not associated with 5G PCF (block 850—NO), a 4G PCRF device may be selected for the IMS call (block 870). For example, DRA 410 may forward the AAR to the particular PCRF 260 associated with the gateway device ID]
9, Ahmadi disclose the system of claim 8, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to extract, by the P-CSCF node, the PCF node identifier from the appended SIP register message [par 0091, 0092 the retrieved gateway device ID (block 840), and a determination may be made as to whether the gateway device ID is associated with a 5G PCF (block 850). If it is determined that the gateway device ID is associated with 5G PCF (block 850—YES), a 5G PCF device may be selected for the IMS call (block 860). For example, DRA 410 may forward the AAR to the particular PCF 354 associated with the gateway device ID. If it is determined that the gateway device ID is not associated with 5G PCF (block 850—NO), a 4G PCRF device may be selected for the IMS call (block 870). For example, DRA 410 may forward the AAR to the particular PCRF 260 associated with the gateway device ID. For example, the PCRF 260 or PCF 354 may perform session binding to associate the Rx session with CSCF 280 with an existing Gx session (in a 4G network) or an existing PDU session (in a 5G network) that is associated with the IMS call (e.g., via which the IMS call was originated or terminated). The CSCF determines whether or not to bind the PCF node If it is determined that the gateway device ID is not associated with 5G PCF the PCF information is excluded].
13, Ahmadi defines the system of claim 8, wherein the P-CSCF sends an automated alternate routing (AAR) message to the PCF node, the AAR message prompting the PCF node to initiate a network session for the UE [par 0016, 0017, a Proxy Call Session Control Function (P-CSCF) may send an Authentication Authorization Request (AAR) request over a Diameter Rx interface to the PCRF. The IMS AF, configured as the P-CSCF, may send an AAR message over an Rx interface to the PCF. The PCF may respond with an AAR message to the P-CSCF and may perform session binding between the Rx session and a Protocol Data Unit (PDU)].
15. Ahmadi disclose one or more computer storage devices having computer-executable instructions stored thereon which upon execution by a processor [par 0070, Bus 510 may include a path that permits communication among the components of device 500. Processor 520 may include any type of single-core processor, multi-core processor, microprocessor, latch-based processor, and/or processing logic (or families of processors, microprocessors, and/or processing logics) that interprets and executes instructions]
cause the processor to perform the following operations receiving by a user plane function (UPF) a Session initiation protocol (SIP) register message a user equipment (UE) [fig 9 par 0018, 0094, a 5G network may have multiple SMF devices, multiple IMS AF devices configured as CSCFs, and/or multiple PCF devices. During the initiation of an IMS call, UE device 110 may send a SIP REGISTER message to CSCF 280 via PGW 240 (in a 4G core network 130) or UPF 330 controlled by SMF 340 (in a 5G core network) (signals 920 and 922). Upon receiving the SIP REGISTER message, CSCF 280 may send a Server Assignment Request (SAR) to HSS 270 and may receive a Server Assignment Answer (SAA) (signals 930 and 932). Figure shows the UE send the SIP register to a session node PGW/SMF, according to applicant specification para 0004, 0012 and fig 1, the network node comprising a PGW or SMF and the appending function of the UPF receives the session initiation message],
appending, by the UPF, to the SIP register message, an identification of a policy charging function (PCF) node identifier to the SIP register message to obtain an appended SIP register message[par 0017, 0093, 0091, 0095, 0096, a Policy Control Function (PCF) may act as the policy device, a User Plane Function (UPF) device may act as a gateway device, and a CSCF device. The PCF may respond with an AAR message to the P-CSCF and may perform session binding between the Rx session and a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session associated with the VoLTE call and install policies over an NG7 session to a Session Management Function (SMF) managing the UPF device that is associated with the VoLTE call. FIG. 9, signal flow 900 may include UE device 110 performing an attachment procedure to establish a connection with either PGW 240 or UPF 330. During the attachment procedure, PGW 240 (in a 4G core network 130) or SMF 340 controlling UPF 330 (in a 5G core network 130) may send an IP-CAN session establishment message to either PCRF 260 (in a 4G core network 130) or PCF 354 (in a 5G core network 130) via DRA 410 (signals 912 and 914). CSCF 280 may then send a Diameter AAR to DRA 410 using a Diameter Rx interface to be delivered to a policy device (e.g., PCRF 260 or PCF 354) (signal 940). DRA 410 may select a policy device based on the subscription type associated with UE device 110 (block 942). The selected policy device may then perform session binding to associate the existing session with the gateway device for the IMS call with the policy device session also associated with the IMS call (block 950). The paragraph show the cscf functioning as a UPF perform session binding]
the SIP register message excluding the PCF node identifier when received from the UE[par 0091,0095, For example, DRA 410 may forward the AAR to the particular PCF 354 associated with the gateway device ID. If it is determined that the gateway device ID is not associated with 5G PCF (block 850—NO), a 4G PCRF device may be selected for the IMS call (block 870). CSCF 280 may then send a Diameter AAR to DRA 410 using a Diameter Rx interface to be delivered to a policy device (e.g., PCRF 260 or PCF 354) (signal 940). DRA 410 may select a policy device based on the subscription type associated with UE device 110 (block 942). If the Subscription-Type AVP indicates that UE device 110 is not associated with a 5G subscriber, DRA 410 may select PCRF 260. The CSCF determines whether or not to bind the PCF node If it is determined that the gateway device ID is not associated with 5G PCF the PCF information is excluded],
and sending passing, by the UPF, the appended SIP register message from-the-UPF node to a proxy-call session control function (P-CSCF) node without passing the appended SIP register message through the UE[par 0096, DRA 410 may then forward the AAR to the selected policy device and may receive an AAA and forward the received AAA to CSCF 280 (signals 944, 946, 948). The selected policy device may then perform session binding to associate the existing session with the gateway device for the IMS call with the policy device session also associated with the IMS call. For example, in a 4G core network 130, PCRF 260 may associate the Rx session with CSCF 280 with the Gx session established with PGW 240],
wherein the appended SIP register message prompts the P-CSCF node to select a PCF node to initiate the network session for the UE based on the PCF node identifier of the appended SIP register message[par 0091, the mapping table may be used to identify a policy device associated with the retrieved gateway device ID (block 840), and a determination may be made as to whether the gateway device ID is associated with a 5G PCF (block 850). If it is determined that the gateway device ID is associated with 5G PCF (block 850—YES), a 5G PCF device may be selected for the IMS call (block 860). For example, DRA 410 may forward the AAR to the particular PCF 354 associated with the gateway device ID. If it is determined that the gateway device ID is not associated with 5G PCF (block 850—NO), a 4G PCRF device may be selected for the IMS call (block 870). For example, DRA 410 may forward the AAR to the particular PCRF 260 associated with the gateway device ID]
16, Ahmadi disclose the one or more computer storage devices of claim 15, wherein the operations further include comprising: extracting, by the P-CSCF node, the identification-of PEF node PCF node identifier from the appended SIP register message[par 0091, 0092 the retrieved gateway device ID (block 840), and a determination may be made as to whether the gateway device ID is associated with a 5G PCF (block 850). If it is determined that the gateway device ID is associated with 5G PCF (block 850—YES), a 5G PCF device may be selected for the IMS call (block 860). For example, DRA 410 may forward the AAR to the particular PCF 354 associated with the gateway device ID. If it is determined that the gateway device ID is not associated with 5G PCF (block 850—NO), a 4G PCRF device may be selected for the IMS call (block 870). For example, DRA 410 may forward the AAR to the particular PCRF 260 associated with the gateway device ID. For example, the PCRF 260 or PCF 354 may perform session binding to associate the Rx session with CSCF 280 with an existing Gx session (in a 4G network) or an existing PDU session (in a 5G network) that is associated with the IMS call (e.g., via which the IMS call was originated or terminated). The CSCF determines whether or not to bind the PCF node If it is determined that the gateway device ID is not associated with 5G PCF the PCF information is excluded].
19, Ahmadi creates the one or more computer storage devices of claim 15, wherein the P-CSCF sends an automated alternate routing (AAR) message to the PCF node, the AAR message prompting the PCF node to initiate a network session for the UE [par 0016, 0017, a Proxy Call Session Control Function (P-CSCF) may send an Authentication Authorization Request (AAR) request over a Diameter Rx interface to the PCRF. The IMS AF, configured as the P-CSCF, may send an AAR message over an Rx interface to the PCF. The PCF may respond with an AAR message to the P-CSCF and may perform session binding between the Rx session and a Protocol Data Unit (PDU)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 10, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmadi et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0358909 A1) in view of Berba et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,785,622 B1).
3, Ahmadi disclose the method of claim 1, Ahmadi fail to show wherein the PCF node identifier of the appended SIP register message comprises an IP address of the PCF node.
In an analogous art Berba show wherein the PCF node identifier of the appended SIP register message comprises an IP address of the PCF node [abstract, claim 8, As an example, the policy node identifiers can be configurable and can comprise a hostname of the policy nodes, address data associated with the policy nodes, or a defined numerical value that maps to the hostname of the policy nodes. wherein the identifier data comprises address data indicative of an address of the policy node device].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Ahmadi and Berba because this provide an easy-to-deploy solution that provides an efficient way to find the correct PCRF (e.g., host PCRF for a session) while minimizing service impact to end-user or application.[Breda, col 6, 17-21]
10. Ahmadi creates the system of claim 8, Ahmadi fail to show wherein the PCF node identifier of the appended SIP register message comprises an IP address of the PCF node
In an analogous art Berba show wherein the PCF node identifier of the appended SIP register message comprises an IP address of the PCF node[abstract, claim 8, As an example, the policy node identifiers can be configurable and can comprise a hostname of the policy nodes, address data associated with the policy nodes, or a defined numerical value that maps to the hostname of the policy nodes. wherein the identifier data comprises address data indicative of an address of the policy node device].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Ahmadi and Berba because this provide an easy-to-deploy solution that provides an efficient way to find the correct PCRF (e.g., host PCRF for a session) while minimizing service impact to end-user or application.[Breda, col 6, 17-21]
Claim(s) 4, 7, 11, 14, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmadi et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0358909 A1) in view of Trossen et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0266254 A1).
4. Ahmadi describe the method of claim 1, Ahmadi fail to show wherein the PCF node identifier of the appended SIP register message comprises a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) associated with the PCF node.
In an analogous art Trossen show wherein the PCF node identifier of the appended SIP register message comprises a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) associated with the PCF node [Trossen, par 0103, The PCE, upon receiving the service registration request, may store the received service identifier (e.g., the FQDN) together with the UPF and UEMAC information included in the payload (see above) and general frame format. With that, the PCE is able to maintain a mapping between registered FQDN and UPF/UEMAC information where the service is being provided].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ahmadi and Trossen because packet format and forwarding operation that overcomes scalability limitations and provides true end-to-end Layer 2 forwarding from one 5G UE to another, thereby allowing for benefits of path-based forwarding without at least some of the drawbacks.
7. Ahmadi disclose the method of claim 1, Ahmadi fail to show wherein the PCF node identifier is inserted into a header of the SIP register message.
In an analogous art Trossen show wherein the PCF node identifier is inserted into a header of the SIP register message [claim 1, an address of a first forwarder node as destination address, an identifier describing a path between the first forwarder node and a second forwarder node, and an end destination address, wherein the identifier is included in header fields for Internet Protocol (IP) addresses in the Ethernet frame]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ahmadi and Trossen because packet format and forwarding operation that overcomes scalability limitations and provides true end-to-end Layer 2 forwarding from one 5G UE to another, thereby allowing for benefits of path-based forwarding without at least some of the drawbacks.
11, Ahmadi describe the system of claim 8, Ahmadi fail to show wherein the PCF node identifier of the appended SIP register message comprises a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) associated with the PCF node.
In an analogous art Trossen show wherein the PCF node identifier of the appended SIP register message comprises a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) associated with the PCF node[Trossen, par 0103, The PCE, upon receiving the service registration request, may store the received service identifier (e.g., the FQDN) together with the UPF and UEMAC information included in the payload (see above) and general frame format. With that, the PCE is able to maintain a mapping between registered FQDN and UPF/UEMAC information where the service is being provided].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ahmadi and Trossen because packet format and forwarding operation that overcomes scalability limitations and provides true end-to-end Layer 2 forwarding from one 5G UE to another, thereby allowing for benefits of path-based forwarding without at least some of the drawbacks.
14. Ahmadi defines the system of claim 8, Ahmadi fail to show wherein the PCF node identifier identification-of PCF node is inserted into a header of the SIP register message.
In an analogous art Trossen show wherein the PCF node identifier identification-of PCF node is inserted into a header of the SIP register message[claim 1, an address of a first forwarder node as destination address, an identifier describing a path between the first forwarder node and a second forwarder node, and an end destination address, wherein the identifier is included in header fields for Internet Protocol (IP) addresses in the Ethernet frame]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ahmadi and Trossen because packet format and forwarding operation that overcomes scalability limitations and provides true end-to-end Layer 2 forwarding from one 5G UE to another, thereby allowing for benefits of path-based forwarding without at least some of the drawbacks.
17. Ahmadi provide the one or more computer storage devices of claim 15, Ahmadi fail to show wherein the PCF node identifier of the appended SIP register comprises a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) associated with the PCF node.
In an analogous art Trossen show wherein the PCF node identifier of the appended SIP register comprises a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) associated with the PCF node[Trossen, par 0103, The PCE, upon receiving the service registration request, may store the received service identifier (e.g., the FQDN) together with the UPF and UEMAC information included in the payload (see above) and general frame format. With that, the PCE is able to maintain a mapping between registered FQDN and UPF/UEMAC information where the service is being provided].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ahmadi and Trossen because packet format and forwarding operation that overcomes scalability limitations and provides true end-to-end Layer 2 forwarding from one 5G UE to another, thereby allowing for benefits of path-based forwarding without at least some of the drawbacks.
20, Ahmadi demonstrate the one or more computer storage devices of claim 15, Ahmadi fail to show wherein the PCF node identifier is inserted into a header of the SIP register message.
In an analogous art Trossen show wherein the PCF node identifier is inserted into a header of the SIP register message[claim 1, an address of a first forwarder node as destination address, an identifier describing a path between the first forwarder node and a second forwarder node, and an end destination address, wherein the identifier is included in header fields for Internet Protocol (IP) addresses in the Ethernet frame]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings Ahmadi and Trossen because packet format and forwarding operation that overcomes scalability limitations and provides true end-to-end Layer 2 forwarding from one 5G UE to another, thereby allowing for benefits of path-based forwarding without at least some of the drawbacks.
Response to Arguments
Applicant notes that nothing in Qiao's disclosure suggests that message the UPF appends a PCF ID (or anything else for that matter) to the SIP register message communicated from the UE to the P-CSCF. As such, Qiao would not have motivated a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) to modify Berba's disclosure such that a UPF (rather than a UE) appends the PCF ID to an SIP register message as recited by amended claim 1.
As such, amended claim 1 is allowable over the cited prior art. Independent claims 8 and 15 recite limitations similar to those discussed above with respect to claim 1 and are therefore nonobvious over the cited prior art. The remaining claims depend from and further limit independent claims 1, 8, and 15 and are therefore allowable at least for depending from allowable base claims, as well as for including additional features. Accordingly, the Applicant respectfully requests the § 103 rejections be withdrawn.
The applicant arguments are moot in view of newly rejected claims.
Conclusion
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468