Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 5-8, filed 8/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMASHITA et al. (Hereinafter, “Yamashita”) in the US patent application Publication Number US 20160028198 A1 in view of TODA in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20200099175 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 6-7, of the remarks, filed on 8/24/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMASHITA et al. (Hereinafter, “Yamashita”) in the US patent application Publication Number US 20160028198 A1 in view of TODA in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20200099175 A1, that “That is, in view of the above description and Figs. 17, 23, and 24 of Yamashita et al, it is apparent that, under the connection state where the connector 100 and the mating connector 300 are connected with each other while each of the lock portions 140A locks the corresponding mating lock portion 360A, the lock portion 140A ("lock portion") is simply accommodated in the end part accommodation portion 332A, while the lock portion 140A is not in contact with the mating lock portion 360A ("conductive exposed portion") in the lateral direction.(Remarks-Page 6).
Further, it is respectfully submitted that even if the shell contact portion 370A of Yamashita et al is interpreted as corresponding to the "protruding portion" recited in amended claim 1, Yamashita et al does not disclose or suggest a portion equivalent to the "third exposed portion" recited in amended claim 1 (e.g., see Figs. 23, 24, 27, and 28 of Yamashita et al).
It is respectfully submitted, moreover, that Toda also fails to disclose or suggest an equivalent of the "third exposed portion" recited in amended claim 1.
Still further, it is respectfully submitted that even if the shell holding portion 326A of Yamashita et al is interpreted as corresponding to the "protruding portion" recited in amended claim 1, Yamashita et al fails to disclose or suggest a reasonable equivalent of the "second exposed portion" recited in amended claim 1 (e.g., see Fig. 25 and paragraph [0068] of Yamashita et al, which teaches that the "mating housing 320A is made of insulator").
It is respectfully submitted, moreover, that Toda also fails to disclose or suggest an equivalent of the "second exposed portion" recited in amended claim 1.
Accordingly, it is respectfully submitted that even if Yamashita et al and Toda were combined, this combination would still fail to achieve or render obvious all of the features recited in amended independent claim 1.
In view of the foregoing, it is respectfully submitted that amended independent claim 1, and claims 2-5 depending therefrom, clearly patentably distinguish over Yamashita et al and Toda, even in combination, under 35 USC 103 (Remarks-Page 7).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 6-7, of the remarks, filed on 8/24/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMASHITA et al. (Hereinafter, “Yamashita”) in the US patent application Publication Number US 20160028198 A1 in view of TODA in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20200099175 A1, as applied to the Final office Action mailed on 6/23/2026 have been fully considered and is partially persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 6 of the remarks that, “the lock portion 140A ("lock portion") is simply accommodated in the end part accommodation portion 332A, while the lock portion 140A is not in contact with the mating lock portion 360A ("conductive exposed portion") in the lateral direction” which is not persuasive. Because Figure 17 shows that the lock portion 104 is in contact with the lock portion. YAMASHITA also mentioned in paragraph 57, “At that time, the lock portion 140 is positioned in the opening 365 while locking the mating lock portion 360 so that the connection state of the connector 100 and the mating connector 300 is maintained.” Claim does not recite any specific process of locking which can differentiate the present invention from prior art reference. Therefore, applicant’s argument that the lock portion 140A is not in contact with the mating lock portion 360A is not persuasive.
Applicant argues in page 7 of the remarks, “Still further, it is respectfully submitted that even if the shell holding portion 326A of Yamashita et al is interpreted as corresponding to the "protruding portion" recited in amended claim 1, Yamashita et al fails to disclose or suggest a reasonable equivalent of the "second exposed portion" recited in amended claim 1” which is persuasive. However, applicant has amended the claim and therefore Yamashita is reapplied to meet the protruding portion and Scheer is added to modify the combination of Yamashita and Toda to disclose the second exposed portion. Applicant has amended the claims and added the limitation in claim 1, “ the main portion has two protruding portions; the protruding portions are positioned at opposite ends, respectively, of the main portion in the lateral direction; each of the protruding portions protrudes outward in the lateral direction; the main portion comprises a multilayer wiring substrate;…… each of the conductive exposed portions has a second exposed portion and a third exposed portion; the second exposed portion is exposed to the outside of the connector at the protruding portion; the third exposed portion faces outward in the lateral direction; the third exposed portion is positioned rearward of the protruding portion in the front-rear direction; in the lateral direction, an outer surface of the third exposed portion of each of the conductive exposed portions is configured to be brought into contact with an inner end of the lock portion of its corresponding hook; each of the conductive exposed portions has a thickness greater than a thickness of the lock portion of the corresponding hook of the mating connector; and the inner end of the lock portion of each of the hooks is brought into contact with the outer surface of the third exposed portion of its corresponding conductive exposed portion when the lock portions lock a mated state where the mating connector and the connector are mated with each other” which overcomes the present rejection of independent claim 1. Therefore, present amendment overcomes the present rejection of Claim(s) 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMASHITA et al. (Hereinafter, “Yamashita”) in the US patent application Publication Number US 20160028198 A1 in view of TODA in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20200099175 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 1/29/2026. Applicant has amended the claim and added the limitation which changes the scope of the claim and therefore YAMASHITA et al. (Hereinafter, “Yamashita”) in the US patent application Publication Number US 20160028198 A1 is reapplied to meet at least some of the amended limitation of claim 1. Figure 26: Modified Figure 26 of Yamashita below shows the main portion has two protruding portions. Yamashita is reapplied to meet the amended limitation, “protruding portion”. Scheer et al. (Hereinafter, “Scheer” in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210351545 A1 is applied to meet at least the other amended limitation of claim 1. Therefore, the rejection of Claim(s) 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMASHITA et al. (Hereinafter, “Yamashita”) in the US patent application Publication Number US 20160028198 A1 in view of TODA in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20200099175 A1, as applied to the Final Office action mailed on 6/23/2026 has been withdrawn. Claim(s) 1-5 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMASHITA et al. (Hereinafter, “Yamashita”) in the US patent application Publication Number US 20160028198 A1 in view of TODA in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20200099175 A1 and further in view of Scheer et al. (Hereinafter, “Scheer”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210351545 A1, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of the newly combination of references.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-5 set forth in the amendment submitted 8/24/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line 31-32 recites “each of the conductive exposed portions has a second exposed portion and a third exposed portion.” The meaning of the language “a second exposed portion and a third exposed portion” is unclear. Because claim never recites, “a first exposed portion”. Therefore, it is not clear which portion is the second and third portion and where the first portion is and how it is situated with the second and third portion. Without the first portion how the second and third portion is arranged. Therefore, the claim language is not clear
For purposes of the present examination the limitation “the second portion “and “the third portion” is construed to mean as the first portion and the second portion. Clarification is required so that the scope of the claim is clear.
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite by virtue of their dependence from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMASHITA et al. (Hereinafter, “Yamashita”) in the US patent application Publication Number US 20160028198 A1 in view of TODA in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20200099175 A1 and further in view of Scheer et al. (Hereinafter, “Scheer” in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210351545 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Yamashita teaches a connector [300A] (As understood from FIGS. 23 and 24, the mating connector 300A comprises a mating contact 310, a mating housing 320A and a mating shell 350A; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-3) mateable with a mating connector [100 A] in a front-rear direction (a connector attached to a cable which has a center conductor and a shield. The connector is mateable with a mating connector along a front-rear direction; Paragraph [0005] Line 1-4; FIGS. 17 to 19, a connector assembly 10A according to a second embodiment of the present invention comprises a connector 100A and a mating connector 300A; Paragraph [0040] Line 1-4), wherein:
the mating connector [100A] comprises two hooks [130A] (front portion 130A as the hooks) (As shown in FIGS. 27 and 28, the mating shell 350A is provided with two press-fit portions 380A and two mating lock portions 360A; Paragraph [0070] Line 1-3) and a mating contact [110] (As shown in FIGS. 20 to 22, the connector 100A comprises a first member 110 and a second member 120A; Paragraph [0061] Line 1-2);
Figure 22: Modified Figure 22 Yamashita
the hooks [130A] (front portion 130A as the hook) (As shown in FIGS. 20 to 22, the front portion 130A is provided with spring portions 132A and lock portions 140A; Paragraph [0065] Line 1-3) are positioned away from each other in a lateral direction (Figure 22: Modified Figure 22 Yamashita above shows the hooks [130A] (front portion 130A as the hook) are positioned away from each other in a lateral direction) perpendicular to the front-rear direction (each of the mating lock portions 360A is positioned outward of the corresponding end part accommodation portion 332A in the lateral direction; Paragraph [0070] Line 8-11; F Figure 22: Modified Figure 22 Yamashita above shows the hooks [130A] are positioned away from each other in a lateral direction perpendicular to the front-rear direction);
each of the hooks [130A] extends in the front-rear direction (Figure 22 (1): Modified Figure 22 Yamashita below shows each of the hooks [360A] extends in the front-rear direction);
each of the hooks [130A] has a lock portion [140A] (lock portion 140A as the lock portion) (As shown in FIGS. 20 to 22, the front portion 130A is provided with spring portions 132A and lock portions 140A; Paragraph [0065] Line 1-3);
the lock portion [140A] faces inward in the lateral direction (Figure 22 (1): Modified Figure 22 Yamashita below shows the lock portion [370A] faces inward in the lateral direction);
Figure 22 (1): Modified Figure 22 of Yamashita
the connector [300A] has a main portion [320A] (As understood from FIGS. 23 and 24, the mating connector 300A comprises a mating contact 310, a mating housing 320A and a mating shell 350A; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-3));
the main portion [320A] has opposite side surfaces in the lateral direction (Figure 23: Modified Figure 23 of Yamashita below shows the main portion has opposite side surfaces in the lateral direction);
the hooks [130A] correspond to the opposite side surfaces, respectively, of the main
portion [320A] (Figure 18 shows the hooks correspond to the opposite side surfaces, respectively, of the main portion);
Figure 23: Modified Figure 23 of Yamashita
the main portion [320A] has two protruding portions [326A] (shell holding portion 326A as the protruding portion as it protrudes outward) (As shown in FIGS. 25 and 26, the mating housing 320A is further formed with two shell holding portions 326A; Paragraph [0069] Line 9-11);
the protruding portions [326A] are positioned at opposite ends, respectively, of the main portion [320A] in the lateral direction (Figure 26: Modified Figure 26 of Yamashita below shows the protruding portions [326A] are positioned at opposite ends, respectively, of the main portion [320A] in the lateral direction);
Figure 26: Modified Figure 26 of Yamashita
each of the protruding portions [326A] protrudes outward in the lateral direction (Figure 26: Modified Figure 26 of Yamashita above shows each of the protruding portions [326A] protrudes outward in the lateral direction);
the main portion [320A] includes a first metal conductive layer [310] (a mating contact 310 as the first metal layer in Figure 24: Modified Figure 24 of Yamashita below) and a second metal conductive layer [350A] (a mating shell 350A as the second metal layer) (As understood from FIGS. 23 and 24, the mating connector 300A comprises a mating contact 310, a mating housing 320A and a mating shell 350A. The mating contact 310 is made of conductor. The mating housing 320A is made of insulator. The mating shell 350A is made of metal; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-5; Figure 23: Modified Figure 23 of Yamashita above shows a mating shell 350A as the second metal layer);
the first metal conductive layer [310] and the second metal conductive layer [350A] are insulated from each other [320A] (320A as the insulator in between the first metal conductive layer [310] and the second metal conductive layer [350A]) (As understood from FIGS. 23 and 24, the mating connector 300A comprises a mating contact 310, a mating housing 320A and a mating shell 350A. The mating contact 310 is made of conductor. The mating housing 320A is made of insulator. The mating shell 350A is made of metal; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-5);
the second metal conductive layer [350A] has two conductive exposed portions [360A] (Figure 23: Modified Figure 23 of Yamashita above shows the second metal conductive layer [350A] has two conductive exposed portions [360A]) (As shown in FIGS. 27 and 28, the mating shell 350A is provided with two press-fit portions 380A and two mating lock portions 360A; Paragraph [0070] Line 1-3; Figure 24: Modified Figure 24 of Yamashita below shows the second metal conductive layer [350A] has two conductive exposed portions [360A]);
the conductive exposed portions [360A] are exposed to the outside of the connector [300A] at the opposite side surfaces, respectively, of the main portion [3A] (Figure 23: Modified Figure 23 of Yamashita above shows the conductive exposed portions [360A] are exposed to the outside of the connector [300A] at the opposite side surfaces, respectively, of the main portion [320A]);
Figure 24: Modified Figure 24 of Yamashita
the conductive exposed portions [360A] correspond to the hooks [130A], respectively (Figure 18 shows the conductive exposed portions [360A] correspond to the hooks [130A], respectively; When the connector 100A is to be released from the mating connector 300A in this state, the lock portions 140A abut against the mating lock portions 360A, respectively. Specifically, each of the lock portions 140A locks the corresponding mating lock portion 360A so that the connector 100A and the mating connector 300A are maintained in the connection state of the connector 100A and the mating connector 300A; Paragraph [0070] Line 18-25);
in the lateral direction, an outer surface of each of the conductive exposed portions [360A] is configured to be brought into contact with an inner end of the lock portion [140A] of its corresponding hook [130A] (Figure 17: Modified portion of Figure 17 of Yamashita below shows in the lateral direction, an outer surface of each of the conductive exposed portions is configured to be brought into contact with an inner end of the lock portion of its corresponding hook);
each of the conductive exposed portions [360A] has a thickness greater than a thickness of the lock portion [140A] of the corresponding hook [130A] of the mating connector [100A] (Figure 17: Modified portion of Figure 17 of Yamashita shows each of the conductive exposed portions 360A has a thickness greater than a thickness of the lock portion 140A of the corresponding hook of the mating connector); and
Figure 17: Modified portion of Figure 17 of Yamashita
the inner end of the lock portion [140A] of each of the hooks [130A] is brought into contact with the outer surface of its corresponding conductive exposed portion [130A] when the lock portions [370A] lock a mated state where the mating connector [300A] and the connector [100A] are mated with each other (Figure 17: Modified portion of Figure 17 of Yamashita above and Figure 18 shows the lock portion [140A] of each of the hooks [130A] is brought into contact with the corresponding conductive exposed portion [360A] when the lock portions [140A] lock a mated state where the mating connector [100A]and the connector [300A] are mated with each other).
Yamashita fails to teach that the main portion which has a tongue-like shape; the main portion is formed of a multilayer wiring substrate; the main portion comprises a plurality of contacts; each of the contacts is formed on the first metal conductive layer; each of the contacts is, at least in part, exposed to an outside of the connector; the contact is contactable with the mating contact in an up-down direction perpendicular to both the front-rear direction and the lateral direction; each of the conductive exposed portions has a second exposed portion and a third exposed portion; the second exposed portion is exposed to the outside of the connector at the protruding portion; the third exposed portion faces outward in the lateral direction; the third exposed portion is positioned rearward of the protruding portion in the front-rear direction.
Toda teaches a connector having a main portion formed as a part of a circuit board, a device provided with the connector and a method of manufacturing the connector (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3), wherein
the main portion [24] which has a tongue-like shape (As understood from FIGS. 7 to 9, the connector main portion 24 has a tongue shape. In other words, the connector 15 (see FIG. 2) is provided with the connector main portion 24 formed as a part of the multilayer wiring board 20 and having the tongue shape; Paragraph [0042] Line 1-5);
the main portion [24] is formed of a multilayer wiring substrate [20] (In other words, the connector 15 (see FIG. 2) is provided with the connector main portion 24 formed as a part of the multilayer wiring board 20 and having the tongue shape; Paragraph [0042] Line 1-5);
the main portion comprises a plurality of contacts [412] in Figure 12 (Referring to FIG. 12, the second conductive layer 282 is provided with a plurality of contacts 412 as some of the conductive patterns. The contacts 412 are formed to be included in the connector main portion 24 (see FIG. 7); Paragraph [0048] Line 1-5);
each of the contacts [412] is formed on the first metal conductive layer [282] (the second conductive layer (the inner conductive layer) 282 as the first metal conductive layer) (Referring to FIG. 12, the second conductive layer 282 is provided with a plurality of contacts 412 as some of the conductive patterns. The contacts 412 are formed to be included in the connector main portion 24 (see FIG. 7). Thus, the connector main portion 24 is provided with the contacts 412 formed in the second conductive layer (the inner conductive layer) 282. An arrangement of the contacts 412 is symmetrical with respect to an imaginary plane perpendicular to the lateral direction; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-9);
each of the contacts [412] is, at least in part, exposed to an outside of the connector (Figure 9) (As understood from FIG. 9, the first insulation layer 264 has an end portion 266 adjacent to the exposed portion 252. The exposed portion 252 is located forward of the end portion 266 of the first conductive layer 262 in the front-rear direction and exposed outward in the up-down direction. In the exposed portion 252, each of the contacts 412 is exposed at least in part; Paragraph [0057] Line 1-7);
the contact [412] is contactable with the mating contact in an up-down direction perpendicular to both the front-rear direction and the lateral direction (As understood from FIG. 9, the first insulation layer 264 has an end portion 266 adjacent to the exposed portion 252. The exposed portion 252 is located forward of the end portion 266 of the first conductive layer 262 in the front-rear direction and exposed outward in the up-down direction. In the exposed portion 252, each of the contacts 412 is exposed at least in part. Moreover, in the exposed portion 252, the second insulation layer 284 is exposed in part. In the present embodiment, upper surfaces of the contacts 412 exposed in the exposed portion 252 and an upper surface of the second insulation layer 284 are flush with each other. As understood from FIG. 9, when the end portion 266 of the first insulation layer 264 is viewed along the front-rear direction through a space which is located in front thereof, the second conductive layer 282 is not embedded in the first insulation layer 264. In this structure, the contacts 412 are contactable in the up-down direction; Paragraph [0057] Line 1-17). The purpose of doing so is to provide a connector having a structure capable of possessing desired electric characteristics with high accuracy (Paragraph [0006]).
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the main portion of the connector of Yamashita in view of the main portion of the connector disclosed by Toda, because Toda teaches to modify the main portion of the connector provides a connector having a structure capable of possessing desired electric characteristics with high accuracy (Paragraph [0006]).
Yamashita in view of Toda discloses the conductive exposed portion [360A].
However, the combination of Yamashita and Toda fails to teach each of the conductive exposed portions has a second exposed portion and a third exposed portion; the second exposed portion is exposed to the outside of the connector at the protruding portion; the third exposed portion faces outward in the lateral direction; the third exposed portion is positioned rearward of the protruding portion in the front-rear direction.
Scheer teaches a plug connector pluggable with a mating connector in a connecting direction has a locking spring. The locking spring exerts a force on a pressure chamfer of the mating connector acting in the connecting direction when the plug connector is fully plugged together with the mating connector (Paragraph [0004] Line 1-6), wherein
each of the conductive exposed portions [2110] (FIG. 4 shows a schematic sectional side view of a plug connector system 30; Paragraph [0042] Line 1-2; The plug connector system 30 comprises a plug connector 2100 and a mating connector 2200, as shown in FIG. 4; paragraph [0043] Line 1-3) has a second exposed portion [2111] and a third exposed portion [2115] (In the plug connector system 30, the plug connector 2100 also has a locking spring 2140. The locking spring 2140 is arranged on a lateral surface 2111 of the contact pin 2110. To this end, the lateral surface 2111 of the contact pin 2110 can have a circumferential groove 2115 in which the locking spring 2140 is held; Paragraph [0045] Line 1-6). Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 of Scheer below shows each of the conductive exposed portions [2110] has a second exposed portion [2111] and a third exposed portion [2115]);
the second exposed portion [2111] is exposed to the outside of the connector at the protruding portion (Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 of Scheer below shows the second exposed portion is exposed to the outside of the connector at the protruding portion); the third exposed portion [2115] faces outward in the lateral direction (Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 of Scheer below shows the third exposed portion faces outward in the lateral direction);
the third exposed portion [2115] is positioned rearward of the protruding portion in the front-rear direction (Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 of Scheer below shows the third exposed portion is positioned rearward of the protruding portion in the front-rear direction). The purpose of doing so is to securely hold the mating connector on the plug connector against vibration and to provide an electrically conductive contact point between the mating connector and the plug and to provide an additional electrical contact point between the plug connector and the mating connector.
Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 of Scheer
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the conductive exposed portion of Yamashita and Toda in view of conductive exposed portion disclosed by Scheer, because Scheer teaches to include a second exposed portion and a third exposed portion securely holds the mating connector on the plug connector against vibration, provides an electrically conductive contact point between the mating connector and the plug connector (Paragraph [0027]) and provides an additional electrical contact point between the plug connector and the mating connector (Paragraph [0028).
Regarding claim 2, Yamashita teaches a connector, wherein:
when the mating connector [100A] is mated with the connector [300A], the lock portion [140A] of each of the hooks [130A] is slid on a corresponding one of the opposite side surfaces of the main portion over a predetermined area (Figure 18 shows when the mating connector [100A] is mated with the connector [300A], the lock portion [140A] of each of the hooks [130A] is slid on a corresponding one of the opposite side surfaces of the main portion over a predetermined area (The place where lock portion is slid on the side surface which is the predetermined area as shown in Figure 18)); and
each of the conductive exposed portions [360A] extends over an entire length of the predetermined area of the corresponding one of the opposite side surfaces in the front-rear direction (Figure 18 shows each of the conductive exposed portions [360A] extends over an entire length of the predetermined area of the corresponding one of the opposite side surfaces in the front-rear direction).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yamashita and Scheer fails to teach a connector, wherein: the multilayer wiring substrate further comprises two resin insulating layers; the second metal conductive layer has opposite sides in the up-down direction; and the resin insulating layers are positioned at the opposite sides, respectively, of the second metal conductive layer.
Toda teaches a connector having a main portion formed as a part of a circuit board, a device provided with the connector and a method of manufacturing the connector (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3), wherein
the multilayer wiring substrate [20] in Figure 9 further comprises two resin insulating layers [264, 284]; the second metal conductive layer [262] has opposite sides in the up-down direction; and the resin insulating layers are positioned at the opposite sides, respectively, of the second metal conductive layer ([0043] As shown in FIG. 10, the multilayer wiring board 20 (see FIG. 9) is formed by conductive layers and insulation layers which are laminated alternatively. In detail, the multilayer wiring board 20 is provided with a first conductive layer (a surface conductive layer) 262, a first insulation layer 264, a second conductive layer (an inner conductive layer) 282, a second insulation layer 284, a third conductive layer 302, a third insulation layer 304, a fourth conductive layer 322, a fourth insulation layer 344, a fifth conductive layer 342, a fifth insulation layer 364, a sixth conductive layer (an additional inner conductive layer) 362, a sixth insulation layer 384 and a seventh conductive layer (an additional surface conductive layer) 382, which are positioned from top to bottom in this order; Paragraph [0043] Line 1-14). The purpose of doing so is to provide a connector having a structure capable of possessing desired electric characteristics with high accuracy (Paragraph [0006]).
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yamashita and Scheer in view of Toda, because Toda teaches to include two resin insulating layers; the second metal conductive layer has opposite sides in the up-down direction provides a connector having a structure capable of possessing desired electric characteristics with high accuracy (Paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 4, Yamashita teaches a connector, wherein:
each of the hooks [130A] is made of metal (The mating shell is provided with a mating lock portion and a shell contact portion; Paragraph [0005] Line 6-8; As shown in FIGS. 20 to 22, the connector 100A comprises a first member 110 and a second member 120A. The first member 110 is made of conductor. The second member 120A is made of conductor; Paragraph [0061] Line 1-4; therefore, each of the hooks [130A] is made of metal);
the second metal conductive layer [360A] is an outside layer (the second metal conductive layer [350A]) (As understood from FIGS. 23 and 24, the mating connector 300A comprises a mating contact 310, a mating housing 320A and a mating shell 350A. The mating contact 310 is made of conductor. The mating housing 320A is made of insulator. The mating shell 350A is made of metal; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-5); Figure 23 shows that the second conductive layer 350A is outside and therefore functions as an outside layer as the layer is outside the mating connector); and
the lock portion [140A] of each of the hooks [130A] is electrically connected with the corresponding conductive exposed portion [360A] (Figure 18 shows the conductive the lock portion [140A] of each of the hooks [130A] is electrically connected with the corresponding conductive exposed portion [360A]; When the connector 100A is to be released from the mating connector 300A in this state, the lock portions 140A abut against the mating lock portions 360A, respectively. Specifically, each of the lock portions 140A locks the corresponding mating lock portion 360A so that the connector 100A and the mating connector 300A are maintained in the connection state of the connector 100A and the mating connector 300A; Paragraph [0070] Line 18-25).
The combination of Yamashita and Scheer fails to teach that the second metal conductive layer is a ground layer.
Toda teaches a connector having a main portion formed as a part of a circuit board, a device provided with the connector and a method of manufacturing the connector (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3), wherein
the second metal conductive layer [262] (first conductive layer as the second metal conductive layer) is a ground layer [402] in Figure 11 (Referring to FIG. 11, the first conductive layer 262 is formed with a grounding plate 402 as one of the conductive patterns. The grounding plate 402 is formed to be included in the connector main portion 24 (see FIG. 7). Thus, the connector main portion 24 is provided with the grounding plate 402 formed in the first conductive layer (the surface conductive layer) 262; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-7). aThe purpose of doing so is to provide a connector having a structure capable of possessing desired electric characteristics with high accuracy.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the second metal conductive layer of Yamashita and Scheer in view of the second metal conductive layer disclosed by Toda, because Toda teaches to modify the second metal conductive layer as a ground layer provides a connector having a structure capable of possessing desired electric characteristics with high accuracy (Paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 5, Yamashita teaches a test fixture for evaluating transmission characteristics of the mating connector (a connector attached to a cable which has a center conductor and a shield. The connector is mateable with a mating connector along a front-rear direction; Paragraph [0005] Line 1-4; The limitation, “for evaluating transmission characteristics of the mating connector” is not required by the claim as the limitation is the preamble of the claim and it does not differentiate the reference from the present invention. Because: The recitation that “for evaluating transmission characteristics of the mating connector” has not been given patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause, Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951)),
wherein the test fixture comprises the connector as recited in claim 4 (See rejection of claim 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
OOSAKA (US 20200313360 A1) discloses, “CONNECTOR-[0006] It is therefore an object of the present invention to provide a connector which can reduce abrasion of lock protrusions thereof and improve transmission characteristics thereof. [0028] Referring to FIGS. 2, 4 and 5, the connector body 20 is provided with a holding member 100, a plurality of contacts 200 and a mid-plate 400. [0029] The holding member 100 is made of insulator and has a plate-like portion 110 having an approximately plate-like shape or a tongue-like shape. [0030] Each of the contacts 200 is made of a conductive material and has a contact portion 210 and a fixed portion 250. Referring to FIGS. 1, 2, 10 and 11, the contact portion 210 is a part to be in contact with the mating contact 710 of the mating connector 700 in a state that the connector 10 and the mating connector 700 are mated with each other. Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, the fixed portion 250 is a part to be fixed on a circuit board (not shown) when the connector 10 is mounted on the circuit board. As understood from FIG. 2, the circuit board (not shown) is a substrate parallel to a Y-Z plane. Accordingly, in the present embodiment, the mating direction of the connector 10 is perpendicular to the circuit board. However, the present invention is not limited thereto. The mating direction of the connector 10 may extend in a direction parallel to the circuit board, for example. [0031] The plurality of the contacts 200 includes contacts 205 forming at least two differential pairs. The contacts 200 of the present embodiment include the contacts 205 forming two differential pairs for low-speed signal transmission and four differential pairs for high-speed signal transmission-However OOSAKA does not disclose the main portion comprises a multilayer wiring substrate; the multilayer wiring substrate includes a first metal conductive layer and a second metal conductive layer; the first metal conductive layer and the second metal conductive layer are insulated from each other.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858