DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yeh (US 2024/0017430).
Regarding claim 1, Yeh teaches a magnetic blade holder (100)(Figure 1A), comprising:
a frame having a base and a cover (130, 110) and a blade (120) housed within the frame (Figure 1A; Paragraph 0036);
a first magnet (112) attached to an inner side of the base and a second magnet (131) attached to an inner side of the cover, wherein the cover is attached to the base when the first magnetic becomes magnetically attracted to the second magnet, and wherein the blade is housed within the frame between the base and the cover (Figures 1A-1D; Paragraphs 0044-0045);
wherein the cover includes a central aperture extending from the inner side of the cover to an outer side of the cover (Figures 1A, 1B and 1C noting the spacing between the handle portions allowing for the blade to move in and out of the handle; Examiner notes that the blade extends/slides outside the housing (Figure 1A), and also is withdrawn entirely within the housing (See Figure 1C) and there must be a central spacing/aperture to allow for the blade to slide in and out of the handle (110,130). As such, there is a central aperture, that extends from within the inner side of the cover (See blade positioning in Figure 1C) to an outer side of the cover noting the blade extending out of the handle (110,130)).
Regarding claim 3, Yeh teaches the magnetic blade holder of claim 1, wherein the central aperture facilitates removal of the cover from the base (Paragraph 0048; Examiner notes the central aperture where the blade is located may be used to facilitate removal of the two handle portions 110 and 130 respectively).
Regarding claim 4, Yeh teaches the magnetic blade holder of claim 1, wherein the blade is moveable through the central aperture (Figures 1A and 1C).
Regarding claim 5, Yeh teaches the magnetic blade holder of claim 1, wherein the base includes a rib configured to secure the blade (Figure1B; Paragraph 0041; Ribs B1-B4).
Regarding claim 6, Yeh teaches the magnetic blade holder of claim 5, wherein the frame comprises an opening between the base and the cover (Figures 1A-1D).
Regarding claim 7, Yeh teaches the magnetic blade holder of claim 6, wherein the blade moves vertically along the rib (Figures 1A-1B; Paragraph 0041 noting the hole LH within the blade and the ribs B1-B4 that engage the blade).
Regarding claim 8, Yeh teaches the magnetic blade holder of claim 7, wherein the blade passes along the rib through an opening of the frame to at least one extended position (Figures 1A-1D noting the blade movement and ribs B1-B4 extending though the blade into grooves AG)
Regarding claim 9, Yeh teaches the magnetic blade holder of claim 8, wherein the blade is moved from the at least one extended position to a retracted position (Figure 1C; Paragraph 0036 noting a storage state “retracted position”).
Regarding claim 10, Yeh teaches the magnetic blade holder of claim 1, wherein the blade is a disposable razor blade (Figure 1; Examiner notes the blade is capable of being removed, thus disposable, and capable of being used as a razor).
Regarding claim 11, Yeh teaches the magnetic blade holder of claim 1, wherein the blade is a double-edged blade (Figure 1A noting the two distinct edges of the blade 120).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
-Applicant’s arguments concerning the groove AG of Yeh is noted but moot as the rejection above did not utilize the recited structure. Applicant further argues “Likewise, open space between separate handle portions is not a central aperture formed in and extending through the claimed cover”. Examiner disagrees and has provided clarification in the rejection above. Yeh specifically notes there are two distinct handle portions (110,130) that are held together via magnets, and there is a blade (120) disposed between the two handle portions. As the blade is capable of sliding between a use position (Figure 1A and noting the blade extending out of the handle portions) and a non-use position (Figure 1C noting the blade withdrawn entirely into the handle portions) there must be a central aperture extending between the two handle portions to allow for movement of the blade. As currently claimed, the prior art of Yeh provides an opening central to the handle portions and reads upon the current claim language.
-Applicants arguments concerning the term disposable in claim 10 are noted but not persuasive. The term disposable provides the article be used once or until no longer useful, then thrown away. As the blade of Yeh is capable of being removed and replaced with a sharper blade or type as desired, the blade is capable of being disposable. Applicant’s arguments concerning the function of “razor blade” are also unclear. Examiner notes as shown in the Figures of the Application and the prior art of Yeh the blade appears to be similar, thus capable of performing the intended functions as claimed.
-Applicants arguments concerning the term double edged blade in claim 11 are noted but not persuasive. Similar to the blades in the application, the blade as shown as two distinct edges, thus providing for a “double edged blade” as currently claimed (See annotated Figure 1 A of Yeh below and Figure 1 of the application).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD D CROSBY JR/ 10/22/2026Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/GHASSEM ALIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724 10/22/2026