DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claims 1-2 are pending for examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because: FIG. 1 is labeled as prior art, however paragraph [0012] of the specification as filed .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qu (CN 110923876)1 in view of Xu (CN 106963270)1.
With respect to claim 1, Qu teaches a flame-retardant modified polyester fiber comprising: modified polyester fiber and a composite fiber (paragraph [0008]). The composite fiber comprises silver fiber and composite yarn (paragraph [0008]) and the composite yarn comprises viscose fiber, long-staple cotton fiber, and graphene fiber (paragraph [0010]). Qu further teaches the cotton fiber has excellent moisture absorption (paragraph [0027]) providing the flame-retardant modified polyester fiber with good moisture absorption properties (paragraph [0007]).
Qu is silent as to the viscose fiber being bamboo viscose.
Xu teaches a towel comprising polyester fiber, graphite fiber, bamboo fibers, and cotton fiber (paragraph [0008]). Bamboo fiber and cotton fiber are selected to work together to enhance the water absorption capacity of the polyester (paragraph [0020]).
Since both Qu and Xu teach textiles comprising polyester, graphene, cotton, and viscose fibers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the viscose fiber of Qu to be bamboo viscose in order to increase the water absorption capacity of the resulting textile.
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (CN 107460579)2 in view of Xu (CN 106963270)1.
With respect to claim 1, Shen teaches a composite yarn composed of a polyester fiber, viscose fiber, and silver fiber (paragraph [0007]).
Shen is silent as to the viscose fiber being bamboo viscose and the composite yarn comprising graphene thread.
Xu teaches a towel comprising polyester fiber, graphite fiber, bamboo fibers, and cotton fiber (paragraph [0008]). Bamboo fibers enhance the water absorption capacity of the polyester (paragraphs [0020], [0004]). The blend of graphite fiber and polyester fiber improves the strength of the polyester fiber (paragraph [0020]).
Since both Shen and Xu teach textiles comprising polyester and viscose fibers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the viscose of Shen to be bamboo viscose in order to increase the water absorption capacity of the textile and to include graphite fibers in order to improve the strength of the polyester fiber.
With respect to claim 2, Shen in view of Xu teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Shen further teaches that by mass percentage, the polyester fiber accounts for 42-48% of the composite yarn, the viscose fiber accounts for 35-40% of the composite yarn, and the silver fiber accounts for 17-20% of the composite yarn (paragraph [0007]). Shen further teaches that by optimizing the structure of the composite yarn, it has excellent radiation resistance, as well as good strength and luster (paragraphs [0011], [0030]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the mass percentages of the components of the yarn of Shen in view of Xu to include the claimed values. One would have been motivated to provide a yarn with the desired moisture absorptivity from the bamboo viscose and strength from the polyester and graphite, as well as the desired radiation resistance and luster. It has been held that, wherein the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
You (CN 110106603)3 discloses a graphene antibacterial fabric (paragraph [0002]) comprising graphene composite fiber, bamboo charcoal fiber, PTT, cotton, and an antibacterial agent (paragraph [0011]).
Chen (CN 110820112)1 discloses a yarn comprising a first polyester yarn, a bamboo charcoal fiber yarn, a second polyester yarn, a cotton fiber yarn, and a silver fiber yarn (paragraph [0008]).
Eddings (US 2021/0145097) discloses antimicrobial garments and antimicrobial fabric products that include an antimicrobial fabric, wherein the antimicrobial fabric includes at least one synthetic silver fiber and at least one silver-free fiber, and methods of manufacturing the same (abstract). One benefit of the antimicrobial garments and antimicrobial fabric products disclosed herein can be the reduction or elimination of odor or infection causing microbes, including a bacteria, a fungi, and a virus, even after multiple washes (abstract).
LARISSA ROWE EMRICH
Examiner
Art Unit 1789
/LARISSA ROWE EMRICH/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
1 Machine translation used as reference
2 Machine translation used as reference
3 Machine translation used as reference