DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a first office action in response to the application filed on 19, May 2024.
Claims 1-11 have been elected by applicant in the response to election received 20 April 2026.
Claims 12-20 have been non-elected by application in the response to election received 20 April 2026 and thus have been withdrawn.
Claims 1-11 are currently pending and have been considered by the examiner
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an interface module configured to accept…” in claim 1.
“a data storage module configured to store…” in claim 1.
“a song graph module configured to generate…” in claim 1.
“a display module configured to display…” in claim 1.
“a filtering module configured to…” in claim 2.
“an update mechanism configured to…” in claim 3.
“a notification module configured to…” in claim 4.
“a data validation module configured to…” in claim 5.
“a conflict analysis module… configured to…” in claim 6.
“a resolution module configured to…” in claim 8.
“a historical resolution module configured to…” in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim limitations outlined in the above claim interpretation section above invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Specifically, the specification does not disclose an explicit corresponding structure material, or acts for performing the functions claimed in the limitations listed above. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In the instant case, claims 1-11 are directed to a system/apparatus. Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention.
Claim 1 recites the following:
A system for managing music rights comprising:
an interface module configured to accept one or more song attributes regarding one or more musical works;
a data storage module configured to store one or more song attributes regarding the one or more musical works;
a song graph module configured to generate one or more song graphs of the one or more musical works, wherein:
one or more entities related to the musical works are represented as one or more nodes within a song graph;
relationships between the one or more entities are represented as edges between the nodes of the song graph, wherein attributes of each relationship are stored as edge attributes within the song graph;
a display module configured to display one or more song attributes of the one or more song graphs.
Regarding Step 2A Prong One, the claims recite the abstract idea of a mental process. Specifically, the claims recite the limitations underlined above which recite steps which can reasonably be performed by the human mind with pen and paper which is grouped within the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See MPEP § 2106.04) because the claims involve the process of performing steps which can be reasonably be performed by the human mind with pen and paper. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea (See pages 7, 10, Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., US Supreme Court, No. 13-298, June 19, 2014; 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 53-54 (January 7, 2019)).
Regarding Step 2A Prong Two, the recited abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See MPEP § 2106.04(d)), the additional element(s) of the claim(s) such as a “module” merely use(s) a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Specifically, the “module” perform(s) the steps or functions underlined above. The use of a processor/computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea. The additional elements do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)), the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (Vanda Memo), the claims do not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)), the claims do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)), and the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo). Therefore, the claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of a computer. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See MPEP § 2106.05), the additional element(s) of a “module” amounts to no more than using a computer or processor to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. As discussed above, taking the claim elements separately, the “module” perform(s) the steps or functions underlined above. These functions correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recite the abstract idea. Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ the computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-11 further describe the recited abstract idea. The dependent claims do not include additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or that provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Specifically:
Claims 2-6, 8, 10 recite additional limitations which are also directed towards the recited abstract idea.
Claim 7 merely further describes the recited steps directed towards the recited abstract idea.
Claim 9, 11 recites the additional element of a user interface which does not place the recited abstract idea into practical application nor amount to significantly more.
Therefore, as the dependent claims do not include additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor provide significantly more than the abstract idea, the dependent claims are also not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mennicken et al. (US 20200159761 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Mennicken discloses:
A system for managing music rights comprising:
an interface module configured to accept one or more song attributes regarding one or more musical works (See Mennicken: Para. [0143] – “The media content metadata 236 provides various information (also referred to herein as attribute(s)) associated with the media content items 234”; See Mennicken: Para. [0140] – “The media application interface 224 can receive requests or other communication from media playback devices or other systems, such as the media playback device 102, to retrieve media content items from the media content server 200.”);
a data storage module configured to store one or more song attributes regarding the one or more musical works (See Mennicken: Para. [0141] – “In some embodiments, the media data store 226 stores media content items 234, media content metadata 236, media contexts 238, user accounts 240, and taste profiles 242. The media data store 226 may comprise one or more databases and file systems. Other embodiments are possible as well.”);
a song graph module configured to generate one or more song graphs of the one or more musical works (See Mennicken: Para. [0078] – “In an example embodiment, story generation engine 400 accesses from music metadata database 402 metadata about songs, artists, and albums, etc., appearing in a playlist. In turn, story generation engine 400 searches for all the matching segues in the segue library for every two consecutive songs which results in a list of segue options for each such position. For the entire playlist, a list of these segue options is obtained, which is referred to as a story possibility space. Each item in the list corresponds to a position in the story possibility space graph. Given that the choice of a segue at each position in this space is independent of other positions, the story possibility space forms a graph and a search problem for finding a sequence of augmentations. The technical problem thus becomes that of finding the best path in this graph. To do so, story generation engine 400 uses a set of heuristics and preferences which are reflected in a weighting function illustrated below as equation 1. Scores are assigned as weights to the edges that represent transitions in the graph. FIG. 5C represents an example story possibility space of a given playlist and a step of assigning scores assigned as weights 504 to the edges, according to an example embodiment of the present invention.”), wherein:
one or more entities related to the musical works are represented as one or more nodes within a song graph (See Mennicken: Para. [0016] – “Another implementation provides a system for augmenting a group of media content items, comprising: one or more processors and one or more storage devices storing instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more processors, to cause the one or more processors to: form a graph including a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges, where each node represents a segue option at a position in the graph and each edge represents a connection between a first node in the graph at a first position and a second node in the graph at a second position; and find a path in the graph.”);
relationships between the one or more entities are represented as edges between the nodes of the song graph, wherein attributes of each relationship are stored as edge attributes within the song graph (See Mennicken: Para. [0012] – “In an example implementation, there is provided a method of augmenting a group of media content items, comprising: forming a graph including a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges, where each node represents a segue option at a position in the graph and each edge represents a connection between a first node in the graph at a first position and a second node in the graph at a second position; and finding a path in the graph.”);
a display module configured to display one or more song attributes of the one or more song graphs (See Mennicken: Para. [0122] – “the display device 132 operates to display information to a user. Examples of such information include media content playback information, notifications, and other information. In some embodiments, the display device 132 is configured as a touch sensitive display and includes the manual input device 160 of the user input device 130 for receiving the manual input 154 from a selector (e.g., a finger, stylus etc.) controlled by the user (e.g., user U of FIG. 1). In some embodiments, therefore, the display device 132 operates as both a display device and a user input device. The touch sensitive display device 132 operates to detect inputs based on one or both of touches and near-touches. In some embodiments, the display device 132 displays a graphical user interface for interacting with the media playback device 102. Other embodiments of the display device 132 do not include a touch sensitive display screen. Some embodiments include a display device and one or more separate user interface devices. Further, some embodiments do not include a display device.”).
Regarding Claim 2, Mennicken discloses:
further comprising a filtering module configured to selectively include or exclude nodes and edges from the one or more song graphs based on predefined criteria such as the presence of royalty information, specific contractual roles, or other relevant attributes (See Mennicken: Para. [0042] – “Generally, a graph is used to represent a possibility space. A probabilistic approach is then taken to address the problem of searching for the most appropriate information. Particularly, a probability approach is taken, where the existence of certain nodes in the path make the selection of other nodes more or less likely. In some embodiments, augmentation material is generated initially in textual form. The textualized augmentation material is, in turn, output via synthesized speech along with a set of tracks (e.g., of songs, videos, etc.).”).
Regarding Claim 4, Mennicken discloses:
further comprising a notification module configured to alert users to changes in one or more song graphs due updates in data including but not limited to song attributes, entities and relationships (See Mennicken: Para. [0112] – “Referring still to FIG. 3, the display device 132 operates to display information to a user. Examples of such information include media content playback information, notifications, and other information.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mennicken in view of Behar et al. (US 20150082443 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Mennicken discloses the system of claim 1 but fails to explicitly disclose but Behar discloses:
further comprising an update mechanism configured to automatically integrate additional data into existing graph structures without necessitating a complete reconfiguration of the graph (See Behar: Para. [0005] – “These and other embodiments can optionally include one or more of the following features: the step of generating a dependency graph for a software product's package may include creating nodes only for software packages upon which run-time code depends; a dependency graph may include at least one directed edge from a package node to the package's predecessor; the step of propagating software package content license lists through the generated dependency graph may include each node in the graph sending its license list to its predecessors; license lists may specify pairs of package names and license files in the form: <package-name, license-file>; each node may receive one update message along an incoming edge that includes a license list from its descendent on that edge; license lists may be merged as they propagate upward; each node may send an update message when the node has received messages from all incoming edges associated with the node; and the directed edge may be annotated with a propagation cause.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Mennicken to include the updating functionality disclosed by Behar yielding the predictable result of an increase in the efficiency of the invention by enabling the graph to update without having to be recreated.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mennicken in view of Wang et al. (US 20240184925 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Mennicken discloses the system of claim 1 but fails to explicitly disclose but Wang disloses:
further comprising a data validation module configured to assess the completeness and accuracy of the data being represented in the graph, said data validation module further configured to prompt users for verification or additional data when necessary to ensure the reliability of the graph representation (See Wang: Para. [0059] – “A workflow specification 240 can be instantiated into a particular workflow 250 by the workflow management engine 215, and the same workflow specification 240 can be instantiated multiple times into multiple workflows 250, e.g., for multiple content platforms—i.e., workflow management engine 215 can execute workflows 250 instantiated from a single workflow specification 240 for each of multiple content platforms. Each content platform can provide customizations 255 that provide implementations for stages 252 of the workflow 250 executed by the secure distribution system 120 on their behalf. As described further below, to provide privacy of user data, in some implementations, each stage 252 of a workflow 250 can be executed in a separate virtual machine instance 222, and in some implementations, all stages of a workflow 250 executed on behalf of a content platform are executed in a single virtual machine instance 222. The workflow specification 240 can use any appropriate technique for defining a workflow structure. For example, a workflow can be described as a graph where nodes of the graph are stages 252 of the workflow, and edges in the graph show inputs and outputs to stages 252. In some workflows, outputs from one stage become inputs to another stage 252, or to multiple other stages 252, and stages 252 can also obtain inputs for sources other than another stage 252. In addition, output from a stage 252 can be processed before it becomes input to another stage 252. For example, output can be validated before it is passed to another stage 252, as described further below.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Mennicken to include the validation functionality disclosed by Wang yielding the predictable result of an increase in the security of the invention by ensuring that the validity of the information presented in the graph.
Claim(s) 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mennicken in view of Coutinho (US 202301219966 A1)
Regarding Claim 6, Mennicken discloses the system of claim 1 but fails to explicitly disclose but Coutinho discloses:
a conflict analysis module, said conflict analysis module configured to: overlay partial or complete graph representations of different sets of music rights and ownership data; automatically identify potential conflicts in music rights and ownership from overlapping nodes and edges within the combined graph representations; provide notice of one or more conflicts, including: overlapping claims to royalties; contradictory recording rights; contradictory publishing rights; and, discrepancies in contractual obligations between entities represented within the graph (See Wang: Para. [0022] – “Having defined the graph structure, with a hierarchy of nodes associated with entities and various sub-notes connected via edges to those entities, the system can run an interference analysis and provide the results as recommendations, insights, or alerts to the respective entities. For example, once the graph is defined, the system can identify if any sub-node has a relationship with two or more entities which are respectively linked by a “competitor” edge. Preferably, this recommendation/insight takes the form of a graphic illustrating the relationships in question, and where the conflict is occurring. The system can also provide an (almost) just-in-time warning triggered as soon as the violation describes above occurs, or as soon as the violation is detected. In some configurations, the system can include other calculations to provide information regarding the strength of the relationship between entities. For example, the system can calculate a strength of an employee's relationship with a given company. The system can also help to prioritize conflict of interest detection, and can help improve the process of identifying such conflicts when detected by determining where conflicts continue to arise, then recommending additional conflict checks with those respective entities.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Mennicken to include the conflict resolution functionality disclosed by Coutinho yielding the predictable result of an increase in the security of the invention by ensuring that conflicting information present in the graph is automatically handled.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination discloses:
wherein said conflict analysis module is further configured to: prioritize conflicts based on the severity and impact of the conflict on one or more interested parties (See Wang: Para. [0022] – “Having defined the graph structure, with a hierarchy of nodes associated with entities and various sub-notes connected via edges to those entities, the system can run an interference analysis and provide the results as recommendations, insights, or alerts to the respective entities. For example, once the graph is defined, the system can identify if any sub-node has a relationship with two or more entities which are respectively linked by a “competitor” edge. Preferably, this recommendation/insight takes the form of a graphic illustrating the relationships in question, and where the conflict is occurring. The system can also provide an (almost) just-in-time warning triggered as soon as the violation describes above occurs, or as soon as the violation is detected. In some configurations, the system can include other calculations to provide information regarding the strength of the relationship between entities. For example, the system can calculate a strength of an employee's relationship with a given company. The system can also help to prioritize conflict of interest detection, and can help improve the process of identifying such conflicts when detected by determining where conflicts continue to arise, then recommending additional conflict checks with those respective entities.”).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination discloses:
further comprising: a resolution module configured to offer one or more of the following resolution strategies: suggesting possible amendments to agreements; reallocation of rights; and, remedial action to resolve identified conflicts (See Wang: Para. [0022] – “Having defined the graph structure, with a hierarchy of nodes associated with entities and various sub-notes connected via edges to those entities, the system can run an interference analysis and provide the results as recommendations, insights, or alerts to the respective entities. For example, once the graph is defined, the system can identify if any sub-node has a relationship with two or more entities which are respectively linked by a “competitor” edge. Preferably, this recommendation/insight takes the form of a graphic illustrating the relationships in question, and where the conflict is occurring. The system can also provide an (almost) just-in-time warning triggered as soon as the violation describes above occurs, or as soon as the violation is detected. In some configurations, the system can include other calculations to provide information regarding the strength of the relationship between entities. For example, the system can calculate a strength of an employee's relationship with a given company. The system can also help to prioritize conflict of interest detection, and can help improve the process of identifying such conflicts when detected by determining where conflicts continue to arise, then recommending additional conflict checks with those respective entities.”).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination discloses:
further comprising a user interface that enables users to simulate various resolution scenarios within the graph to evaluate the outcomes and effectiveness of different conflict resolution strategies (See Mennicken: Para. [0112] – “Referring still to FIG. 3, the display device 132 operates to display information to a user. Examples of such information include media content playback information, notifications, and other information. In some embodiments, the display device 132 is configured as a touch sensitive display and includes the manual input device 160 of the user input device 130 for receiving the manual input 154 from a selector (e.g., a finger, stylus etc.) controlled by the user (e.g., user U of FIG. 1). In some embodiments, therefore, the display device 132 operates as both a display device and a user input device. The touch sensitive display device 132 operates to detect inputs based on one or both of touches and near-touches. In some embodiments, the display device 132 displays a graphical user interface for interacting with the media playback device 102. Other embodiments of the display device 132 do not include a touch sensitive display screen. Some embodiments include a display device and one or more separate user interface devices. Further, some embodiments do not include a display device.”).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination discloses:
further comprising a historical resolution module configured to integrate historical data and precedents in music rights management to aid in the resolution process, thereby providing users with evidence-based recommendations for conflict resolution (See Wang: Para. [0022] – “Having defined the graph structure, with a hierarchy of nodes associated with entities and various sub-notes connected via edges to those entities, the system can run an interference analysis and provide the results as recommendations, insights, or alerts to the respective entities. For example, once the graph is defined, the system can identify if any sub-node has a relationship with two or more entities which are respectively linked by a “competitor” edge. Preferably, this recommendation/insight takes the form of a graphic illustrating the relationships in question, and where the conflict is occurring. The system can also provide an (almost) just-in-time warning triggered as soon as the violation describes above occurs, or as soon as the violation is detected. In some configurations, the system can include other calculations to provide information regarding the strength of the relationship between entities. For example, the system can calculate a strength of an employee's relationship with a given company. The system can also help to prioritize conflict of interest detection, and can help improve the process of identifying such conflicts when detected by determining where conflicts continue to arise, then recommending additional conflict checks with those respective entities.”).
Regarding Claim 11, Mennicken discloses:
comprising a user interface that shares conflict analyses and resolution proposals securely, ensuring that all parties are informed and can participate in the resolution process (See Mennicken: Para. [0112] – “Referring still to FIG. 3, the display device 132 operates to display information to a user. Examples of such information include media content playback information, notifications, and other information. In some embodiments, the display device 132 is configured as a touch sensitive display and includes the manual input device 160 of the user input device 130 for receiving the manual input 154 from a selector (e.g., a finger, stylus etc.) controlled by the user (e.g., user U of FIG. 1). In some embodiments, therefore, the display device 132 operates as both a display device and a user input device. The touch sensitive display device 132 operates to detect inputs based on one or both of touches and near-touches. In some embodiments, the display device 132 displays a graphical user interface for interacting with the media playback device 102. Other embodiments of the display device 132 do not include a touch sensitive display screen. Some embodiments include a display device and one or more separate user interface devices. Further, some embodiments do not include a display device.”).
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS K PHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3699
/NEHA PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3699