DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–11 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0413493 A1.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 20 May 2024 and 22 September 2025 were filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submissions comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description: 111 (e.g., FIGS. 1 and 17). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: SECONDARY BATTERY INCLUDING ELECTRODE TERMINAL DISPOSED TOWARD EDGE OF SEALING PLATE.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The following reference character is not mentioned in the description: 111 (e.g., FIGS. 1 and 17).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "an end portion of the electrode assembly" in line 12. Claim 1 recites the limitation "an end portion of the electrode assembly" in lines 9–10, which provides antecedent basis for the term "end portion of the electrode assembly." It is unclear if "an end portion of the electrode assembly" in line 12 is further limiting or referencing "an end portion of the electrode assembly" in lines 9–10 because the second instance of "end portion of the electrode assembly" does not include "the" or "said" indicating the term is further limiting or referencing the term that has antecedent basis.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the second end portion side" in lines 23–24. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first end portion side" in line 28. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "an end portion of the case main body." Claim 1, which claim 2 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "an end portion of the case main body," which provides antecedent basis for the term "end portion of the case main body." It is unclear if "an end portion of the case main body" in claim 2 is further limiting or referencing "an end portion of the electrode assembly" in claim 1 because the term "end portion of the electrode assembly" in claim 2 does not include "the" or "said" indicating the term is further limiting or referencing the term recited in claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the third end portion side" in line 20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the fourth end portion side" in line 22. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the same end portion side" in lines 2–3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 is directly dependent from claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 4 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 is directly dependent from claim 2, is indirectly dependent from claim 1, and includes all the limitations of claims 1 and 2. Therefore, claim 5 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 is directly dependent from claim 3, is indirectly dependent from claims 1 and 2, and includes all the limitations of claims 1–3. Therefore, claim 6 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 is indirectly dependent from claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 7 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is indirectly dependent from claims 1 and 2 and includes all the limitations of claims 1 and 2. Therefore, claim 8 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 is indirectly dependent from claims 1–3 and includes all the limitations of claims 1–3. Therefore, claim 9 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 is directly dependent from claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 10 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 is directly dependent from claim 2, is indirectly dependent from claim 1, and includes all the limitations of claims 1 and 2. Therefore, claim 11 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 2022/0302533 A1, hereinafter Choi).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a secondary battery (1, [0039]) comprising:
an electrode assembly (10) including a first electrode (11a) and a second electrode (13a) having a polarity different from a polarity of the first electrode (11a, [0041]);
a case (30) that accommodates the electrode assembly (10, [0040]); and
a first electrode terminal (520) electrically connected to the first electrode (11a) and provided in the case (30, [0042]),
wherein the electrode assembly (10) includes a first electrode tab group (11b) and a second electrode tab group (13b, [0044]),
the first electrode tab group (11b) being electrically connected to the first electrode (11a, [0042]),
the first electrode tab group (11b) being located at an end portion of the electrode assembly (10) on a first side in a first direction (FIG. 3, [0044]),
the second electrode tab group (13b) being electrically connected to the second electrode (13a, [0043]),
the second electrode tab group (13b) being located at an end portion of the electrode assembly (10) on a second side opposite to the first side in the first direction (FIG. 3, [0044]),
the case (30) includes a case main body (30) provided with a first opening located at an end portion of the case main body (30) on the first side in the first direction (FIG. 3, [0040]), and
a first sealing plate (510) that seals the first opening (FIG. 4A, [0050]),
the first sealing plate (510) has a first end portion and a second end portion located opposite to each other in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (FIG. 3, [0049]),
the first electrode tab group (11b) has a first bent portion that is collectively bent, and a first tip side region located on a tip side of the first electrode tab group (11b) with respect to the first bent portion (FIG. 4A, [0056]),
the first electrode tab group (11b) is bent at the first bent portion such that the tip side of the first electrode tab group with respect to the first bent portion is directed to the second end portion side (FIG. 4A, [0056]),
the first tip side region is electrically connected to the first electrode terminal (520, [0056]),
the first sealing plate (510) is provided with a first through hole in which the first electrode terminal (520) is inserted in the first direction (FIG. 4A, [0055]),
the first bent portion is located on the first end portion side with respect to a center of the first sealing plate (510) in the second direction (FIG. 4A, [0056]), and
a center of the first through hole is located on the second end portion side with respect to the center of the first sealing plate (510) in the second direction (FIG. 3, [0056]).
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a secondary battery, further comprising:
a second electrode terminal (620) electrically connected to the second electrode (13a) and provided in the case (30, [0043]),
wherein the case (30) includes a second sealing plate (610, [0062]),
the case main body (30) is provided with a second opening located at an end portion of the case main body (30) on the second side in the first direction (FIG. 3, [0040]),
the second sealing plate (610) seals the second opening (FIG. 5A, [0062]),
the second sealing plate (610) has a third end portion and a fourth end portion located opposite to each other in the second direction (FIG. 3, [0062]),
the second electrode tab group (13b) has a second bent portion that is collectively bent, and a second tip side region located on a tip side of the second electrode tab group (13b) with respect to the second bent portion (FIG. 5A, [0065]),
the second electrode tab group (13b) is bent at the second bent portion such that the tip side of the second electrode tab group (13b) with respect to the second bent portion is directed to the second end portion side (FIG. 5A, [0065]),
the second tip side region is electrically connected to the second electrode terminal (620, [0043]),
the second sealing plate (610) is provided with a second through hole in which the second electrode terminal (620) is inserted in the first direction (FIG. 5A, [0064]),
the second bent portion is located on the third end portion side with respect to a center of the second sealing plate (610) in the second direction (FIG. 5A, [0064]), and
a center of the second through hole is located on the fourth end portion side with respect to the center of the second sealing plate (610) in the second direction (FIG. 3, [0064]).
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a secondary battery:
wherein in the second direction, the first end portion and the third end portion are located on the same end portion side (FIG. 3, [0038]).
Regarding claims 4–6, Choi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a secondary battery, further comprising:
a first current collector member (530) that electrically connects the first electrode terminal (520) and the first electrode tab group (11b, [0056]),
wherein the first current collector member (530) includes a first component (534) and a second component (532, [0057]),
the second component (532) is connected to the first electrode terminal (520, [0056]),
the first component (534) has a first region connected to the second component (532) and a second region connected to the first electrode tab group (11b, [0057]),
a stepped portion is provided between the first region and the second region such that positions of the first region and the second region in the first direction are different from each other (FIG. 4A, [0057]), and
the stepped portion extends along a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction (FIG. 4A, [0057]).
Regarding claims 7–9, Choi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a secondary battery:
wherein the second region of the first component is disposed along the first sealing plate (510, [0057]).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Choi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a secondary battery, further comprising:
a resin member (526) disposed between the first electrode terminal (520) and the first sealing plate (510, [0049]),
wherein the first sealing plate (510) further has a covering portion that covers, in the first direction, the end portion of the case main body (30) on the first side (FIG. 4A, [0050]), and
the covering portion and the case main body (30) are joined by welding (FIG. 4A, [0050]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Okuyama (WO 2022/163520 A1; see English language equivalent, US 2024/0429503 A1) discloses a secondary battery (10, [0037]) comprising an electrode assembly (700) including a first electrode (740) and a second electrode (750) having a polarity different from a polarity of the first electrode (740, [0052]); a case (100) that accommodates the electrode assembly (700, [0045]); and a first electrode terminal (310) electrically connected to the first electrode (740) and provided in the case (100, [0047]), wherein the electrode assembly (700) includes a first electrode tab group (721) and a second electrode tab group (722, [0050]), the first electrode tab group (721) being electrically connected to the first electrode (740, [0058]), the first electrode tab group (721) being located at an end portion of the electrode assembly (700) on a first side in a first direction (FIG. 2, [0050]), the second electrode tab group (722) being electrically connected to the second electrode (750, [0059]), the second electrode tab group (722) being located at an end portion of the electrode assembly (700) on a second side opposite to the first side in the first direction (FIG. 2, [0050]), the case (100) includes a case main body (110) provided with a first opening located at an end portion of the case main body (110) on the first side in the first direction (FIG. 2, [0042]), and a first sealing plate (120) that seals the first opening (FIG. 2, [0042]), the first sealing plate (120) has a first end portion and a second end portion located opposite to each other in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (FIG. 2, [0042]), the first electrode tab group (721) has a first bent portion that is collectively bent, and a first tip side region located on a tip side of the first electrode tab group (721) with respect to the first bent portion (FIG. 2, [0047]), the first electrode tab group (721) is bent at the first bent portion such that the tip side of the first electrode tab group with respect to the first bent portion is directed to the second end portion side (FIG. 2, [0047]), the first tip side region is electrically connected to the first electrode terminal (310, [0047]), the first sealing plate (101) is provided with a first through hole in which the first electrode terminal (310) is inserted in the first direction (FIG. 2, [0047]), the first bent portion is located on the first end portion side with respect to a center of the first sealing plate (101) in the second direction (FIG. 2, [0048]), and a center of the first through hole is located on the second end portion side with respect to the center of the first sealing plate (101) in the second direction (FIG. 2, [0047]).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725