DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 4-6 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claims 1, 2, 4-6 and 15, “user’s…” should be “a user’s…”. Also, in claim 2, it appears that “tactical” should be “tactile”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims contain several instances of indefinite language, including the following:
In claim 1, “buttons/knobs” is indefinite because it is not clear whether these elements are intended to be operable as buttons and knobs, or whether it is intended to recite elements which are buttons or knobs.
In claim 1, “the fidget” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 1, “those two buttons” lacks proper antecedent basis, because the claim previously recites “buttons/knobs”.
In claim 3, it is not clear whether “buttons” is a new limitation, or if it is intended to refer to the previously recited “buttons/knobs” (in which case it lacks proper antecedent basis).
In claim 4, it is not clear whether “button action” is a new structural limitation, or if it is intended to refer to the previously recited “buttons/knobs” (in which case it lacks proper antecedent basis).
In claim 5, the phrases “may be”, “any other”, “may have” and “other elements” are all indefinite.
In claim 6, the phrases “may be”, “any other”, “may have” and “other elements” are all indefinite.
In claim 7, “the shaft” lacks proper antecedent basis, because claim 1 recites “a shaft or a mechanism”.
In claim 7, the phrase “may or may not have” is indefinite.
In claim 8, “the buttons” and “the shaft” lack proper antecedent basis because claim 1 recites “buttons/knobs” and “a shaft or a mechanism”.
In claim 8, the phrase “any other elements” is indefinite.
In claim 9, “the shaft” lacks proper antecedent basis, because claim 1 recites “a shaft or a mechanism”.
In claim 9, the phrase “can be” is indefinite.
In claim 10, “one button” and “the shaft lacks proper antecedent basis, because claim 1 recites “buttons/knobs” and “a shaft or a mechanism”.
In claim 11, the phrases “any electronics” and “for any other purpose” are indefinite.
In claim 12, the phrase “any electronics” is indefinite.
In claim 13, the phrases “any electronics”. “any other device” and “such as” are indefinite.
In claim 14, the phrase “any batteries” is indefinite.
In claim 15, the phrase “any gears” is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DeStefano. As best shown in Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs [0037-40], DeStefano discloses a fidget device comprising two button/knob elements 10 and 20 attached to each other via a shaft element 70, such that elements 10 and 20 are rotatable.
With respect to claim 2, rotation of the elements inherently provides sensory/tactile feedback to the user’s fingers. With respect to claim 3, the button/knob elements of DeStefano are capable of being pressed or pushed. With respect to claim 4, actions taken with the button/knob elements of DeStefano inherently provide sensory/tactile feedback to the user’s fingers. With respect to claim 6, button/knob elements of DeStefano are shown in Figs. 1-3 as having different shapes. DeStefano also shows that various shapes can be provided (see Figs. 25-27), where various grooves, patterns or other elements may be provided. With respect to claim 9, the shaft of DeStefano is shown in the Figures as being smaller than the button/knob elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeStefano. The provision of button/knob elements having the same shape is considered to be an obvious change in shape having no new or unexpected results under MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Claims 7, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeStefano in view of Baumann. DeStefano discloses or suggests the claim limitations with the exception of the variable resistor or tension element as recited in the claims. This feature is known in the art, as taught for example by Baumann at Figs. 7-8 (see elastic band 150), and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the purpose of providing some resistance to rotation of the button/knob elements. With respect to claim 15, the elastic band of Baumann is a weight that accumulates energy during rotation.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeStefano in view of Madl. DeStefano discloses or suggests the claim limitations with the exception of the buttons overlapping each other as recited. This feature is known in the art, as taught for example by Madl at Fig. 2, and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious substitution of one known element for another to achieve predictable results and for the purpose of providing a desired appearance to the device.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeStefano in view of Brous. DeStefano discloses or suggests the claim limitations with the exception of the provision of electronic elements to count a device performance. This feature is known in the art, as taught for example by Brous at Fig. 25 and paragraph [0050], and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the purpose of providing an indication to the user relating to a motion of the device during use.
Claims 13, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeStefano in view of Schiraga. DeStefano discloses or suggests the claim limitations with the exception of the provision of electronic elements to wirelessly connect to another device. This feature is known in the art, as taught for example by Schiraga at paragraph [0063], and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the purpose of providing a communication element to the device for tracking and displaying information related to use of the device. With respect to claim 14, Schiraga also discloses a battery at paragraph [0063]. With respect to claim 16, the device of Schiraga is configured to wirelessly connect to a mobile device or computer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KURT FERNSTROM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715
January 21, 2026