DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims recite that the second direction intersects the first direction but now also proceeds to recite that “the second direction corresponds to a direction…along which the first direction extends…” It would seem that the two recitations are at odds. That is, the claims to state that the first and second directions are both parallel and intersect. Clarification is required.
Because all other claims depend from claims 1 and 11, they are also rejected on this basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawasumi et al. (2023/0324848).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Kawasumi teaches an image forming apparatus, comprising:
a printer component (see fig. 1);
a scanning component (see fig. 1);
a copy component (see fig. 1);
an exposure device (fig. 31, item 24);
a housing (fig. 1, item 100) including a support member (fig. 31, item 31) that supports the exposure device (see fig. 14); and
a cooling device (fig. 34, item 40/62/63), configured to facilitate a refrigerant flow in a first direction (fig. 18, L/R) in a space between the exposure device and the support member (see figs. 34-38), wherein
the exposure device includes a first foot portion (fig. 31, portion of exposure device contacting item 33) and a second foot portion (fig. 31, portion of exposure device contacting item 32) aligned in the first direction and each protruding downward (see fig. 31), the support member includes, on a surface thereof facing a lower surface of the exposure device,
a first projection portion (fig. 31, item 33) extending in a second direction (fig. 31, into page, fig. 9, width direction of assembly) intersecting the first direction and aligned with the first foot portion in the second direction (see fig. 31, note that three dimensional objects can be said to “extend in” all directions), and
a second projection portion (fig. 31, item 32) extending in the second direction (fig. 31, into page, fig. 9, width direction of assembly), aligned with the second foot portion in the second direction see fig. 31, note that three dimensional objects can be said to “extend in” all directions), and including a plurality of portions spaced apart from each other in the second direction (see fig. 31, note that any component can be said to have “a plurality of portions spaced apart from each other in the second direction”), and
the second direction corresponds to a direction at which the exposure device is inserted from a side of the housing along which the first direction extends (see figs. 5-7, 31, 32),
the first foot portion and the second foot portion each protrude downward along a third direction (fig. 31, U direction) that extends transverse to each of the first direction and the second direction (see fig. 31, note that, as defined, the third direction is perpendicular to both of the first and second directions),
the first foot portion and the second foot portion are separated from the support member (see fig. 31).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Kawasumi teaches the image forming apparatus according to claims 1 and 11, respectively, wherein the support member further includes, on the surface facing lower surface of the exposure device, a recess portion (fig. 31, portion between projecting portions 32, 33) extending in the first direction so as to intersect the second projection portion (see fig. 31).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Kawasumi teaches the image forming apparatus according to claims 2 and 12, respectively, further comprising a seal member (figs. 29, 30, item 207) provided on a side surface of the recess portion (see figs. 29, 30).
Regarding claim 4 and 14, Kawasumi teaches the image forming apparatus according to claims 3 and 13, respectively, wherein an upper end of the seal member is in contact with a lower surface of the exposure device (see figs. 29, 30).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Kawasumi teaches the image forming apparatus according to claims 1 and 11, respectively, wherein the housing includes, on a side surface thereof, an insertion opening (fig. 5, note opening) for inserting and attaching the exposure device, and the support member is a plate-shaped member disposed substantially horizontally adjacent to the insertion opening (compare figs. 5, 31), and the support member configured to act as an insertion guide that guides the insertion of the exposure device by making the second foot portion in sliding-contact with the second projection portion while making the first foot portion in sliding-contact with the first projection portion when the exposure device is inserted into and attached to the housing in the second direction through the insertion opening (see figs. 5, 6, 7, 31 and 32).
Regarding claim 6 and 16, Kawasumi teaches the image forming apparatus according to claims 1 and 11, respectively, wherein the cooling device comprises a fan configured to send air below the exposure device through a duct (see figs. 34-38).
Regarding claim 7 and 17, Kawasumi teaches the image forming apparatus according to claims 1 and 11, respectively, image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the support member has a flat plate-shaped member formed of a sheet metal extending in the front-rear direction and the left-right direction (see fig. 31, note flat sheet shape of support member 31), and the support member is shorter than the exposure device in the left-right direction and wider than a lower surface of the exposure device (see fig. 31).
Regarding claim 8 and 18, Kawasumi teaches the image forming apparatus according to claims 1 and 11, respectively, wherein the support member is disposed substantially horizontally below the exposure device (see fig. 31).
Regarding claim 9 and 9, Kawasumi teaches the image forming apparatus according to claims 1 and 11, respectively, wherein the support member comprises a rail in sliding-contact with a lower surface of an insertion foot portion protruding from the lower surface of the exposure device when the exposure device is inserted into and attached to the housing (see fig. 31).
Regarding claim 10 and 20, Kawasumi teaches the image forming apparatus according to claims 1 and 11, respectively, wherein the support member partially forms a space through which air for cooling a polygon motor ([0126]) in the exposure device flows between the support member and a lower surface of the exposure device (see fig. 38).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The claims have been amended to further specify the structure of the device, but the amendments fail to distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. The rejections above have been updated to reflect the changes to the claims. Also, the added claim language has created new 112 issues. The standing prior art rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853