DETAILED ACTION
According to paper filed July 21st 2024, claims 1-40 are pending for examination with an August 6th 2012 priority date under 35 USC §120 and 35 USC §119(e). Claims 1-20 are canceled.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,989,802 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows: all elements in the independent claims are similar.
Most of all, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 804.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 24-29, 31-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Ramirez et al. (US 2009/0262130), hereinafter Ramirez, and further in view of Hsu (US 2012/0203371), hereinafter Hsu.
Claim 21
“providing a user interface comprising a color picker and a scheme picker” Ramirez [0008] teaches a graphical design application that allows a user to create and edit a graphical design including a color palette for users to select the colors (i.e., color picker) and change a color scheme (i.e., scheme picker);
“receiving a selection of a color scheme from said scheme picker, wherein said color scheme comprises principal colors and associated subordinate colors per principal color in a matrix format” Ramirez [0026] teaches selection … color scheme and [0033] teaches “a first color scheme variation and a second color scheme variation”, and [0035][0036] teaches “a subset of the color in the color scheme; Ramirez fails to spell out the colors “in a matrix format”, said feature is taught in Hsu [0060], a table (i.e., matrix form) with pairs of colors and their associated calculated metrics;
“modifying and processing said selected color scheme, said modifying and processing comprising: adjusting brightness and maintaining said adjusted brightness within said modified color scheme, and creating uniformity between said subordinate colors positioned in a same row but in different columns in said matrix” Ramirez [0029] teaches the HSL (hue, saturation, luminosity) model which represents the color of a pixel in terms of hue (pure color), saturation; (intensity of the color), and luminosity (brightness), and [0038] teaches “the color scheme variation control 200 will automatically update the color scheme;
“storing said processed color scheme in a database; and applying said processed color scheme to a document component” Hsu [0043] teaches a content database that stores content such as various layouts, pattern designs, and color schemes.
Ramirez and Hsu disclose analogous art. Hsu is analogous because it is in the field of converting an image to a color-reduced image suitable for embroidery and have colors mapped only to available embroidery thread colors. Ramirez does not spell out the colors “in a matrix format” as recited above. It is disclosed in Hsu. (Hsu [0060]: a table with pairs of colors and their associated calculated metrics). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time the present invention was made to incorporate said feature of Hsu into Ramirez to enhance its color assigning functions.
Claim 23
“adjusting brightness comprises calculating a perceived brightness value for colors in said color scheme” Ramirez [0029] discloses “the HSL (hue, saturation, luminosity) model which represents the color of a pixel in terms of hue (pure color), saturation; (intensity of the color), and luminosity (brightness)” and
[0038] discloses “the color scheme variation control 200 will automatically update the color scheme”.
Claim 24
“calculating said perceived brightness value uses different weights for different hues” Hsu [0035] teaches merge of two thread colors is ranked by a weighted combination of the metrics, the weight afforded to each metric can be tuned for the typical images expected to be processed.
Claim 25
“creating uniformity comprises adapting a target column to a base column by adjusting saturation and perceived brightness values of cells in said target column” Ramirez [0029] teaches “the HSL (hue, saturation, luminosity) model which represents the color of a pixel in terms of hue (pure color), saturation; (intensity of the color), and luminosity (brightness)” and [0038] discloses “the color scheme variation control 200 will automatically update the color scheme”.
Claim 26
“applying a subordinate color override to modify a subordinate color in said color scheme” Ramirez [0035] teaches “at least a subset of colors in the respective color scheme. The subset of colors selected for the displayed swatch may be selected according to any desired selection criteria” and Ramirez [0038] discloses “the color scheme variation control 200 will automatically update the color scheme”.
Claim 27
“said subordinate color override is a relative override that modifies saturation and lightness valued while keeping hue constant” Ramirez [0029] teaches “the HSL (hue, saturation, luminosity) model which represents the color of a pixel in terms of hue (pure color), saturation; (intensity of the color), and luminosity (brightness)” and [0038] discloses “the color scheme variation control 200 will automatically update the color scheme”. The “keeping hue constant” is construed as “without changing hue” and cited excerpts do not change the hue.
Claim 28
“said subordinate color override is an absolute override that selects a new color independently of a current color in a cell” Ramirez [0026] teaches selection … color scheme” and [0033] teaches “a first color scheme variation and a second color scheme variation”.
Claim 29
“applying a principal color override to modify a principal color and its associated subordinate colors in said color scheme” Ramirez [0033] teaches a first color scheme variation and a second color scheme variation, and Ramirez [0038] teaches the color scheme variation control 200 will automatically update the color scheme.
Claim 31
“a color processor configured to apply said processed color scheme to a document component” Ramirez [0045] teaches a processor executes the instructions of the graphical design application, and its graphical user interface and color scheme variation control.
Claim 31 is also rejected for the similar rationale given for claim 21.
Claims 33-39
Claims 33-39 are rejected for the rationale given for claims 23-29 respectively.
Claims 22 and 30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Ramirez et al. (US 2009/0262130), hereinafter Ramirez, and further in view of Rush et al. (US 2005/0240881), hereinafter Rush.
Claim 22
“inverting said selected color scheme by reversing a row order in each column while retaining an association of elements of said document to specific positions in said selected color scheme” Rush [0167] teaches “Invert (not shown) is a check box, that when checked inverts the color scheme order of bar graph 36 from red, yellow, green to green, yellow, red. Up to twenty progress indicators may be identified for each document or sub-document instance node”.
Ramirez, Hsu, and Rush disclose analogous art. Hsu is analogous because it is in the field of converting an image to a color-reduced image suitable for embroidery and have colors mapped only to available embroidery thread colors. Rush is analogous because it is in the field of software interface systems for providing quick and intuitive navigation to stored information normally available in different business documents. Ramirez does not spell out the colors “in a matrix format” as recited above. It is disclosed in Hsu. (Hsu [0060]: a table with pairs of colors and their associated calculated metrics). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time the present invention was made to incorporate said feature of Hsu into Ramirez to enhance its color assigning functions. Still, Ramirez does not spell out the colors “inverting selected color scheme” as recited above. It is disclosed in Rush. (Rush [0167]: when invert check box is checked inverts the color scheme order of bar graph 36 from red, yellow, green to green, yellow, red.). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time the present invention was made to incorporate said feature of Rush into Ramirez to enhance its color scheme selection manipulations.
Claim 30
“said principal color override applies a subordinate color column generation algorithm to create variations of said modified principal color having appropriate perceived brightness values” Ramirez [0026] teaches selection of color scheme and [0033] teaches a first color (i.e., principal color) scheme variation and a second color (i.e., subordinate color) scheme variation; Ramirez [0029] teaches the HSL (hue, saturation, luminosity) model which represents the color of a pixel in terms of hue (pure color), saturation; (intensity of the color), and luminosity (brightness); Ramirez fails to spell out the algorithm as claimed, it is taught in Hsu, Hsu Figures 7D-7E & [0027] depict color reduced down algorithm and teaches a mean-shift algorithm that smooths the image to continuous color tones.
Claims 32 & 40
Claims 32 and 40 are rejected for the rationale given for claims 22 and 30 respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
273-6088. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Friday 9am - 5pm.
/Ruay Ho/
Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2126