DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 3, after the word “control”, the word “of” should be inserted to correct grammar and form. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 8, last line, the phrase “the notification unit notifies that the external storage is fully filled”. What or who is notified? The controller or the user, for example?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada (US 2022/0108580 A1) in view of Bruce et al (US 2015/0144455 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hamada teaches
a medium processing apparatus, i.e., medium handling device (1), as illustrated in figure 2, for example, that processes a valuable medium comprising
a banknote, as mentioned at paragraphs 85 and 86, for example, the medium processing apparatus (1) comprising:
an internal storage, i.e., storing units (31-35), as illustrated in figure 2, that is disposed inside a safe (13), as mentioned at paragraph 91 and as illustrated in figure 2, and stores the valuable medium/banknotes, as mentioned at paragraphs 93 and 105, for example;
an external storage (36) that is disposed outside the safe (13) and stores the valuable medium, as mentioned at paragraphs 127-130, for example;
a recognition circuitry, i.e., recognition unit (25), as mentioned at paragraph 92 and as illustrated in figure 2, that acquires recognition information from the valuable medium having been received by the medium processing apparatus (1) and recognizes the valuable medium based on the recognition information, as mentioned at paragraph 101; and
a controller (15), as mentioned at paragraphs 126, 132-134 and 159, for example, and as illustrated in figure 3, that performs control such that the valuable medium having been recognized as the banknote is stored in the external storage (36).
Regarding Claim 1, Hamada does not expressly teach
a medium processing apparatus, that processes a valuable medium comprising a check and a banknote.
Regarding Claim 1, Hamada does not expressly teach, but Bruce teaches
a medium processing apparatus, i.e., medium depository (10), as illustrated in figure 1, that processes a valuable medium comprising a check and a banknote, as mentioned at paragraphs 2 and 30-32, for example.
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a medium processing apparatus, that processes a valuable medium comprising a check and a banknote, as taught by Bruce, in Hamada’s medium processing apparatus for the purpose of processing cash in the form of checks, which are commonly used in commerce alongside banknotes.
Regarding Claim 2, Hamada teaches that recognition unit (25) includes an imaging device, as mentioned at paragraph 92.
Regarding Claim 2, Hamada does not expressly teach
wherein:
the recognition circuitry comprises an image sensor and a magnetic sensor, the image sensor acquiring an image of the valuable medium, the magnetic sensor acquiring magnetic ink character recognition (MICR) information of the check, the image and the MICR information being the recognition information, and
the controller performs control based on at least one of the image and/or the MICR information such that the check is stored in the external storage, the check being a check for which at least one of the image and/or the MICR information has been acquired.
Regarding Claim 2, Hamada does not expressly teach, but Bruce teaches
wherein:
the recognition circuitry comprises an image sensor, i.e., media item recognition and validation module (MIV) (16) and a magnetic sensor, i.e., magnetic ink character recognition (MICR) reader (18), as mentioned at paragraphs 31 and 34 and as illustrated in figures 1-4, for example, the image sensor (16) acquiring an image of the valuable medium, the magnetic sensor (18) acquiring magnetic ink character recognition (MICR) information of the check, the image and the MICR information being the recognition information, as mentioned at paragraphs 31, 34 and 44-46, and
the controller, as mentioned at paragraphs 40 and 41, for example, performs control based on at least one of the image and/or the MICR information, as taught by Bruce, such that the check is stored in the external storage, as taught by Hamada, the check being a check for which at least one of the image and/or the MICR information has been acquired, as mentioned at Bruce paragraphs 31-35, 40, 41, 44-46, 49 and 50, for example, which state as follows.
[0031] The media depository 10 comprises: an in/out port 12 for receiving media items (as a mixed bunch, as individual items, as a bunch of banknotes, or as a bunch of checks), an item separator/presenter module 14, a media item recognition and validation module (also known as a media item validator or MIV) 16, a MICR (magnetic ink character recognition) reader 18, a four-way diverter 20, an escrow 22 for temporarily storing deposited media items until the customer decides whether to complete or cancel a transaction involving those media items, a printer 24 located between the four-way diverter 20 and the escrow 22, and a rebuncher module 26.
[0032] Two storage modules (or bins) 30 are illustrated in FIG. 1. Each storage module 30 comprises a reject compartment 32 and a main storage compartment 34. One of these bins (for example, bin 30a) may be used to store checks, the other bin (for example, bin 30b) may be used to store banknotes. Alternatively, as in this embodiment, both bins 30 store banknotes, and checks are returned to the customer who deposited them at the end of each check deposit transaction.
[0033] A number of different pathways are provided within the media depository 10. Some of these are illustrated in FIGS. 2 to 4.
[0034] FIG. 2 illustrates a media item input path 40, in which a deposited media item bunch is transported from the in/out port 12 to the item separator/presenter module 14. This item separator/presenter module 14 strips individual media items from the received bunch. These individual media items are then transported, via the MIV 16 (which identifies the media item as a check or a banknote, and in the case of a banknote it authenticates the banknote), the MICR reader 18, and the four-way diverter 20, into the escrow 22.
[0035] FIG. 3 illustrates media item storage paths 42. Although only one reference numeral 42 is used, there are multiple distinct media item storage paths, as illustrated in FIG. 3. All of the media item storage paths start at the escrow 22 and lead to the four-way diverter 20. The four-way diverter 20 may divert the media item to the first storage bin 30a or the second storage bin 30b. Furthermore, the four-way diverter 20 may divert the media item to either the reject compartment 32 or the main compartment 34 of each storage bin 30.
[0040] A controller 54 is provided that selectively controls the print heads 50a,b and the ablation mechanisms 52a,b as necessary to endorse a rear side of a check and to ablate a MICR line from a front side of a check.
[0041] The printer 24 also includes a communications port 56 (in the form of a USB port) for communicating with a controller (not shown) in the media depository 10.
[0044] The individual media items are recognized by the MIV 16 (step 76) to ascertain if the media item is a banknote or a check (step 78).
[0045] If the media item is a banknote, it is authenticated. Authenticated banknotes are conveyed to the escrow 22 (step 80) via media item input path 40. Banknotes that are counterfeit may be returned to the customer or sent to the reject compartment 32 of one of the storage bins 30.
[0046] Checks are read by the MICR reader 18 (step 82) and then conveyed to the escrow 22 (step 84) via media item input path 40.
[0049] If the customer does want to complete the transaction then the banknotes are conveyed to one or both of the storage bins 30 (step 92) and the checks are endorsed and cancelled by the printer 24 (step 94). This cancellation step involves three sub-steps.
[0050] The first sub-step is for the controller 54 to receive information from the MIV 16 and MICR reader 18 about the orientation of the check. The second sub-step is for the controller 54 to identify the correct ablation mechanism 52a or 52b depending on the orientation of the check. The third sub-step is for the controller 54 to activate the identified ablation mechanism (for example, 52a) so that the MICR line printed on the check is ablated (that is, any visible and/or magnetic ink pre-printed on the check (typically what is referred to as the MICR line) is burned off so that the check can no longer be read by an optical or MICR reader). This ensures that the check cannot be automatically processed again.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 10, Hamada teaches
further comprising a holder, i.e, mounting unit (9), as illustrated in figures 1-3 and as mentioned at paragraph 198, for example, that is provided in a housing, i.e,. mounter (91, 93), as illustrated in figures 1-3, comprising at least the safe (13, 131) and holds the external storage (36) such that the external storage (36) is attachable to and detachable from an outer side of the housing (91, 93).
Regarding Claim 13, Hamada teaches
wherein the controller (15) performs control such that the valuable medium having been recognized as the banknote is stored in the internal storage (31-35), as illustrated in figures 2 and 3 and as mentioned at paragraph 105, for example.
Regarding Claim 14, Hamada teaches
further comprising a conveyor, i.e., transport unit (4), as illustrated in figure 2, that conveys the valuable medium having been received such that a long edge orientation of the valuable medium and a conveyance direction of the valuable medium are parallel, as mentioned at paragraph 108, for example, which mentions that the banknotes may be conveyed with either their short edges or their long edges facing forward, which includes where the short edge is perpendicular and the long edge is parallel to the direction of conveyance.
Regarding Claim 15, see the rejection of Claim 1, above.
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada (US 2022/0108580 A1) in view of Bruce et al (US 2015/0144455 A1) and further in view of Carpenter et al (US 8,695,873 B1).
Regarding Claims 3-6, Hamada teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 3, Hamada teaches
Regarding Claim 3, Hamada does not expressly teach
wherein the controller performs control such that the at least one of the image and/or the MICR information is transmitted to an external apparatus, the at least one of the image and/or the MICR information having been acquired from the check, the external apparatus approving a transaction involving the check.
Regarding Claim 3, Hamada does not expressly teach, but Carpenter teaches
wherein the controller, i.e., represented by terminal processor (32), as mentioned at col. 11, line 64-col. 12, line 26, and as illustrated in figure 2, and as represented by terminal control software (140) of the intelligent depository module (IDM) (140), as mentioned at col. 13, lines 5-20 and as illustrated at figure 3, for example, performs control such that the at least one of the image and/or the MICR information is transmitted to an external apparatus, i.e., clearing server (410), as illustrated in figure 61 and as mentioned at col. 58, line 65-col. 59, line 28, the at least one of the image and/or the MICR information having been acquired from the check, the external apparatus approving a transaction involving the check, as illustrated in figure 61 and as mentioned at col. 7, lines 19-49, col. 11, line 64-col. 12, lne 26, col. 13, lines 5-20, col. 21, line 55-col. 22, line 5, col. 58, line 65-col. 59, line 28, which state as follows.
(40) In an exemplary embodiment the ATM is programmed to correlate the transaction identification data with the image data related to the particular check received in the transaction. At a time after the ATM has generated data corresponding to an image of the check, an image message is generated by the ATM and sent to a remote computer. In the exemplary embodiment the image message includes the transaction identification data as well as the data representative of the front and back of the check in a single message. In the exemplary embodiment the image message is sent to an image server which is operative to receive and process the image and transaction data. The image server is operative to tabularize the transaction data related to machines operated by a particular entity and to make the information and images related to transactions conducted by ATMs associated with that entity available to authorized individuals. This may be done through password protection, digital certificates or other security methodologies. Further in other alternative embodiments the image server or other connected computers may be operative to send information included in the image message and/or image data to a clearing house or other institution for purposes of achieving settlement between an entity upon which the check is drawn and another entity holding an account for an entity to which the check is payable. Further the image data may be transmitted and processed in lieu of a paper check so as to return evidence related to the proper cashing and cancellation of the check through the institution on which the check is drawn, and eventually to the maker of the check. Of course these approaches are exemplary and in other embodiments other approaches may be used.
(68) FIG. 2 shows a schematic view of the computer architecture associated with ATM 10 and a first exemplary system in which it is used. The exemplary ATM includes one or more computers therein, which computers are alternatively referred to herein as a processor or processors. The one or more computers in the exemplary embodiment are schematically represented by a terminal processor 32. The terminal processor is in operative connection with one or more data stores schematically represented 34. The terminal processor may comprise one or more computers that operate to control transaction function devices 36 which are included in the ATM. In alternative embodiments the terminal processor may include one or more processors associated with operating the ATM that reside in another device either locally or remotely from the ATM. For example in some embodiments the ATM terminal processor may operate as part of a virtual machine in a remote server. The terminal processor of the virtual machine may operate to communicate with the transaction function devices located in the ATM and cause the operation thereof. The transaction function devices include devices which operate in the ATM to carry out transactions. Transaction function devices may include, for example, currency dispensing mechanisms, currency presenters, currency acceptors, currency validators, item dispensing devices, card readers, printers, depositories, other input and output devices and other devices. Transaction function devices may further include cameras, sensors, image capture devices and other items. The particular character of the transaction function devices depends on the particular capabilities for carrying out transactions to be provided by the ATM.
(71) In the exemplary embodiment the transaction function devices include a deposit accepting apparatus. The exemplary deposit accepting apparatus is capable of accepting deposited items such as envelopes as well as sheets and documents such as checks. This deposit accepting apparatus in alternative embodiments may be capable of accepting and analyzing other items such as papers, instruments, billing statements, invoices, vouchers, wagering slips, receipts, scrip, payment documents, driver's licenses, cards and items which may be moved in the deposit accepting device. Alternative embodiments may accept only selected ones of such items. The exemplary deposit accepting apparatus may alternatively be referred to herein as an "intelligent depository module," "depository module" or "IDM." The exemplary embodiment of the IDM is referred to herein as 44 and the exemplary mechanical components thereof shown in FIGS. 4-18.
(103) FIG. 3 shows schematically the relationship of the IDM 44 with exemplary software components which operate in the exemplary terminal processor 32. The terminal processor 32 has operating therein an operating system layer schematically indicated 138. The operating system layer 138 may include operating systems such as OS/2.RTM. from IBM, Windows NT.RTM. or Windows XP.RTM. from Microsoft, Linux or other suitable operating system. The operating system communicates with a terminal control software layer 140. The terminal control layer in the exemplary embodiment operates to control numerous aspects of the ATM functions including aspects of the transaction function devices. As schematically represented in FIG. 3 the terminal control software sends messages to and receives messages from devices associated with the IDM 44. The messages are generally operative to control mechanical components of the IDM as well as to receive inputs from sensors and other devices which operate in connection with the deposit accepting function.
(271) In addition as represented in FIG. 61, in some embodiments or situations the entity operating the ATM receives checks that are drawn on accounts for which the entity is not responsible. In such cases the checks may need to be processed through a clearing house. Such a clearing house processes the transactions to assure that the institutions are appropriately credited and debited with regard to check transactions. This is represented in FIG. 61 by a clearing house 410. In some exemplary embodiments the data available through the image server which includes the transaction data and the associated check images may be sent pursuant to the direction of an authorized user or automatically to an appropriate clearing house in an electronic format. The data associated with the check images may enable the clearing house to utilize the data to accomplish settlement electronically between the particular institution upon which the check has been drawn, schematically represented 412, and an institution holding the account of the entity to which the check is payable. This is represented by an institution 414. This may be done electronically through communications by the clearing house through one or more networks schematically represented 416.
(272) In addition the clearing house may be operative to forward electronically to the institution upon which the check is drawn, the electronic representation of the check which may serve as an electronic replacement document. The drawer institution in some embodiments may further provide the electronic replacement document comprising the image of the check to its customer either in hard copy or electronic format for purposes of enabling the maker of the check to balance their accounts.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 3, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein the controller performs control such that the at least one of the image and/or the MICR information is transmitted to an external apparatus, the at least one of the image and/or the MICR information having been acquired from the check, the external apparatus approving a transaction involving the check, as taught by Carpenter, in Hamada’s medium processing apparatus for the purpose of processing cash in the form of checks, which are commonly used in commerce alongside banknotes, so that they are properly cleared through a remote server of an appropriate institution, as is common in the banking industry.
Regarding Claim 4, Hamada does not expressly teach
further comprising a notification unit, wherein in a case where the transaction involving the check has not been approved by the external apparatus, the controller controls the notification unit such that the notification unit notifies that the transaction has not been approved.
Regarding Claim 4, Hamada does not expressly teach, but Carpenter teaches
further comprising a notification unit, i.e., display (22), as illustrated in figure 2 and as mentioned at col. 11, lines 20-34, col. 12, line 42-col. 13, line 4 and col. 25, lines 50-65, for example, wherein in a case where the transaction involving the check has not been approved by the external apparatus, the controller controls the notification unit such that the notification unit notifies that the transaction has not been approved, as illustrated in figures 58 and 59 and mentioned at col. 47, line 30-col. 49, line 18, for example.
Regarding Claim 5, Hamada teaches further comprising a
temporary storage, i.e., temporary storage unit (24) as illustrated in figure and as mentioned at paragraphs 92 and 100, for example, that temporarily stores the valuable medium having been received by the medium processing apparatus (1) before the valuable medium having been received by the medium processing apparatus (1) is stored in the internal storage (31-35) or the external storage (36), as mentioned in paragraph 100.
Regarding Claim 5, Hamada does not expressly teach further comprising a
wherein in a case where the valuable medium having been recognized as the check is temporarily stored in the temporary storage and then the transaction involving the check is approved by the external apparatus, the controller performs control such that the valuable medium having been stored in the temporary storage is stored in the external storage.
Regarding Claim 5, Hamada does not expressly teach, but Bruce teaches further comprising
wherein in a case where the valuable medium having been recognized as the check is temporarily stored in the temporary storage, i.e., escrow (22), as mentioned at paragraphs 31 and 45 and as illustrated in figure 1, and then the transaction involving the check is approved by the external apparatus, as taught by Carpenter, the controller performs control such that the valuable medium having been stored in the temporary storage (22) is stored in the external storage (30a), as mentioned at paragraph 32, for example.
Note also that Carpenter teaches printer (114) as illustrated in figure 18 as well as storing checks in the storage of the machine at col. 19, line 58-col. 20, line 7, for example.
Therefore, regarding Claim 5, it would have been obvious to have used Carpenter’s check clearing infrastructure and procedures in combination with Bruce’s check storage routines to store checks in Hamada's external storage since Carpenter’s, Bruce’s and Hamada’s devices have predictable structure and function and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the efficacy and synergy of the combination based upon the references' teachings as well as common sense, logic and reason.
Regarding Claim 6, Hamada teaches further comprising a
discharge port, i.e., dispensing unit (22) having outlet (221), as mentioned at paragraphs 92, 97, 114 and 140, for example, and as illustrated in figures 1 and 2, through which the valuable medium is discharged to outside of the medium processing apparatus (1).
Regarding Claim 6, Hamada does not expressly teach further comprising
wherein in a case where the valuable medium having been recognized as the check is temporarily stored in the temporary storage and then the transaction involving the check is not approved by the external apparatus, the controller performs control such that the valuable medium having been stored in the temporary storage is discharged through the discharge port.
Regarding Claim 6, see the rejection of Claims 1-5 above, noting again that Bruce teaches either storing the check in storage (30a) or returning the check through in/out port (12), as mentioned in paragraphs 31, 43 and 51, for example, and that Carpenter teaches the check clearance process and infrastructure for approving/clearing or disapproving the check at col. 19, line 58-col. 20, line 7, col. 30, line 50-col. 31, line 40 and in particular, col. 31, lines 5-11, and col. 51, line 54-col.52, line 7 and as illustrated in figures 57-61, for example.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada (US 2022/0108580 A1) in view of Bruce et al (US 2015/0144455 A1) and further in view of Kobayashi et al (US 2021/0383634 A1).
Regarding Claims 7 and 8, Hamada teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 7, Hamada teaches at paragraph 152, that “[i]f there is an empty storing unit, the transport unit 4 may transport the rejected banknote to the empty storing unit”.
Regarding Claim 7, Hamada does not expressly teach
wherein in a case where the external storage is fully filled, the controller performs control such that the valuable medium having been received by the medium processing apparatus is stored in the internal storage.
Regarding Claim 7, Hamada does not expressly teach, but Kobayashi teaches
wherein in a case where the external storage, i.e., collection container (140) and collection unit (141), as illustrated in figures 1a-1c, is fully filled, as illustrated in figure 1c, the controller, i.e., control unit (100), performs control such that the valuable medium having been received by the medium processing apparatus (1) is stored in the internal storage, i.e., one of the storage units (130, 130a, 130b), as mentioned at paragraphs 151-153, 157, 190, 259 and 260, for example.
[0151] In the banknote handling apparatus 1, even when the number of collection target banknotes exceeds the maximum number of banknotes storable in the collection container 140, the collection target banknotes can be stored inside the apparatus 1. The collection process includes a process in which, if the collection container 140 becomes full of banknotes in the middle of the collection process, the amount of collection target banknotes that cannot be transported from one or more storage units 130 to the collection container 140 is recorded as the proceeds from sales while these collection target banknotes are left in the storage units 130. In this case, the amount of the collection target banknotes stored in the collection container 140, the amount of the collection target banknotes left in the storage units 130 and regarded as the proceeds from sales, and information indicating the storage units 130 in which the collection target banknotes are left, are stored in the memory 110 as information on the proceeds from sales.
[0152] The collection process includes a process in which, if the collection container 140 is already full of banknotes before starting the collection process, the amount of collection target banknotes that are being stored in one or more storage units 130 is recorded as the proceeds from sales. In this case, the amount of the collection target banknotes regarded as the proceeds from sales, and information indicating the storage units 130 in which the collection target banknotes are being stored, are stored in the memory 110 as information on the proceeds from sales.
[0153] In the banknote handling apparatus 1, the information on the proceeds from sales is stored in the collection information 112 in the memory 110. Specifically, information indicating the storage places of the collection target banknotes, i.e., the banknotes equivalent to the amount recorded as the proceeds from sales, and information indicating the denominations of collection target banknotes stored in each storage place, the number of the banknotes for each denomination, and the total amount of the banknotes, are stored as the information on the proceeds from sales. The “storage place” is information indicating the place where the collection target banknotes, i.e., the banknotes whose information is registered in the collection information 112 in the memory 110, are stored. In the banknote handling apparatus 1, even after the collection container 140 has become full of the collection target banknotes, additional collection target banknotes can be stored and kept in the storage units 130. Therefore, the “storage place” may include only the collection container 140, or the collection container 140 and one or more storage units 130.
[0157] The counting result obtained by the control unit 100 is transmitted to the memory 110 and stored in the collection information 112. After the collection container 140 has become full of banknotes, the control unit 100 uses the storage units 130 for storing collection target banknotes. Hereinafter, three specific examples of the banknote handling process in which the storage units 130 are used for storage of collection target banknotes will be described.
[0190] After the business hours on the first day, the collection process is performed, and the business hours on the second day start in the state where all the banknotes from sales are stored in the collection container 140 while the banknotes for change are stored in the storage units 130c to 130h as in the case of FIG. 8C. During the business hours on the second day, the banknote handling process is performed as in the first day. After the business hours on the second day, the collection process is started. If the control unit 100 recognizes that not all the banknotes from sales on the second day can be stored in the collection container 140, the control unit 100 changes settings such that the two empty storage units 130a, 130b having been allocated to the inventory confirmation process are used for storing the banknotes from sales. That is, the usage of the storage units 130a, 130b is changed to banknote collection units. The control unit 100 stores the banknotes from sales on the second day into the collection container 140 and the storage units 130a, 130b set to be used as the banknote collection units.
[0259] In the above configuration, after an amount of proceeds from sales has been determined after business hours of a store, the control unit performs a process for transporting the collection target money, which constitutes the determined proceeds from sales, from the storage units to the collection container and storing the transported collection target money into the collection container. If the collection container becomes full of money while a part of the collection target money remains in the storage units, the control unit performs a process for changing a usage of at least one of the storage units to a usage as a collection unit and storing the remaining collection target money in the at least one storage unit to be used as the collection unit. During business hours on a next day, the dispensing process is performed by using money stored in storage units other than the at least one storage unit for which the usage has been changed.
[0260] In an exemplary embodiment, the money handling method includes: receiving money in a depositing unit; storing the money received in the depositing unit, in a plurality of storage units each of which is capable of feeding out the stored money; determining, by a control unit, collection target money to be collected to outside the apparatus; feeding out the collection target money from the storage units, and storing, by a collection unit, the collection target money into a collection container detachably mounted to the collection unit; and keeping at least a part of the collection target money, which remains in the storage units after the collection container becomes full of money, in the storage unit.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 7, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein in a case where the external storage is fully filled, the controller performs control such that the valuable medium having been received by the medium processing apparatus is stored in the internal storage, as taught by Kobayashi, in Hamada’s medium processing apparatus for the purpose of processing cash in the form of checks, which are commonly used in commerce alongside banknotes, so that they are alternatively collected in an internal storage unit with sufficient capacity when the external cassette/storage unit lacks sufficient storage capacity. Note that although collection container (140) and collection unit (141) are shown to be within the safe (151), it would have been obvious to and well within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Hamada’s system to have used the same overflow collection procedure when the external storage unit of Hamada is full so that other internally located storage units with available storage capacity can accommodate the overflow of collected checks and/or banknotes instead of the external cassette/storage unit.
Regarding Claim 8, Hamada does not expressly teach further comprising a
notification unit, wherein in a case where the external storage is fully filled, the controller performs control the notification unit such that the notification unit notifies that the external storage is fully filled.
Regarding Claim 8, Hamada does not expressly teach, but Kobayashi teaches further comprising a notification unit, i.e., operation unit (10), as mentioned at paragraph 35 and as illustrated in figure 1a, for example, wherein in a case where the external storage, i.e., collection container (140), is fully filled, as illustrated in figure 1c, the controller (100) performs control (of) the notification unit (10) such that the notification unit (10) notifies (the user through the notification/display/operation unit (10)) that the external storage (140) is fully filled, as illustrated in figures 1b, 1c, 8a-8d, 9-11b and 13a-16b, as mentioned at paragraphs 35, 87, 92, 95, 100,110, 208, 223 and 224, for example.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada (US 2022/0108580 A1) in view of Bruce et al (US 2015/0144455 A1) and further in view of Jones et al (US 2005/0163362 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Hamada teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 9, Hamada does not expressly teach
wherein:
the recognition circuitry recognizes whether the valuable medium is an on-us check or not, the on-us check being a check issued by a bank at which the medium processing apparatus is installed, and
the controller performs control such that the valuable medium having been recognized as the on-us check is stored in the external storage and the valuable medium having been recognized not as the on-us check is stored in the internal storage.
Regarding Claim 9, Hamada does not expressly teach, but Jones teaches
wherein:
the recognition circuitry, i.e., controller (110) and discrimination unit (114) as illustrated in figure 7, front end processor (6038), as mentioned at paragraph 92 and as illustrated in figure 9, full image scanner (112) as illustrated in figure 12, image data preprocessor (188), as mentioned at paragraph 108, image processor (190) as mentioned at paragraph 110 and scanheads (180, 182) as illustrated in figure 16, recognizes whether the valuable medium is an on-us check or not, the on-us check being a check issued by a bank at which the medium processing apparatus, i.e,. scanning devices (8a-8L) as illustrated in figure 2 and image extraction unit (62) as illustrated in figure 5 and as mentioned at paragraph 64, for example, is installed, as mentioned at paragraphs 45 and 46, mentioning the on-us checks are processed at a branch location of a bank or at an ATM, and
the controller (110) performs control such that the valuable medium having been recognized as the on-us check is stored in the external storage, i.e., on-us documents bin (54) as illustrated in figure 5, for example, and the valuable medium having been recognized not as the on-us check is stored in the internal storage, i.e., transit documents bin (56) as illustrated in figure 5.
Regarding Claim 9, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein:
the recognition circuitry recognizes whether the valuable medium is an on-us check or not, the on-us check being a check issued by a bank at which the medium processing apparatus is installed, and
the controller performs control such that the valuable medium having been recognized as the on-us check is stored in the external storage and the valuable medium having been recognized not as the on-us check is stored in the internal storage, as taught by Jones, in Hamada’s medium processing apparatus for the purpose of processing cash in the form of on-us checks. Note that since Hamada teaches the external unit, it would have been obvious to have separated and sent the on-us checks to the external unit versus the internal unit based upon the desire for such documents to be separated from inside the safe so as to be more easily accessed by unauthorized personnel.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada (US 2022/0108580 A1) in view of Bruce et al (US 2015/0144455 A1) and further in view of Hamada et al (US 2018/0268638 A1), a.k.a., Hamada ‘638.
Regarding Claims 11 and 12, Hamada teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 11, Hamada teaches
further comprising a reception port, i.e., inlet (211) as mentioned at paragraphs 87 and 96 and as illustrated in figures 1 and 2, through which the valuable medium is received.
Regarding Claim 11, Hamada does not expressly teach
wherein at a facility at which the medium processing apparatus is installed, one side of the housing is disposed on one side of a wall of the facility so as to be exposed, another side of the housing is disposed on another side of the wall so as to be exposed, the reception port is provided on the one side of the housing, and the holder is provided on the other side of the housing.
Regarding Claim 11, Hamada does not expressly teach, but Hamada ‘638 teaches
wherein at a facility at which the medium processing apparatus is installed, one side of the housing is disposed on one side of a wall (W) of the facility so as to be exposed, another side of the housing is disposed on another side of the wall (W) so as to be exposed, the reception port, i.e., deposit port (121), is provided on the one side of the housing, and the holder (4) that holds sheet housing section/cassette (3), is provided on the other side of the housing, as mentioned at paragraphs 59 and 60 and as illustrated in figure 5, for example.
Regarding Claim 11, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein at a facility at which the medium processing apparatus is installed, one side of the housing is disposed on one side of a wall of the facility so as to be exposed, another side of the housing is disposed on another side of the wall so as to be exposed, the reception port is provided on the one side of the housing, and the holder is provided on the other side of the housing, as taught by Hamada ‘638, in Hamada’s medium processing apparatus for the purpose of securely enabling service personnel from “guarded transport services” such as armored car transit personnel.
Regarding Claim 12, Hamada teaches
wherein the holder (91, 93) comprises a lock, i.e., first lock (901), second lock (902) and release switch (903) as illustrated in figure 3 and as mentioned at paragraphs 198 and 204, for example, that regulates detachment of the external storage (36) that has been attached, as illustrated in figures 1-3, for example.
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to contact the Examiner should there be any questions about this rejection or in an endeavor to explore potential amendments or potential allowable subject matter.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shibata ‘038 is cited as teaching an external cassette (39) as illustrated in figure 1, for example.
Nada ‘578 is cited as teaching an external cassette (4) as illustrated in figure 1, for example.
Jeong ‘134 is cited as teaching an external cassette (300) as illustrated in figure 1, for example.
Tagashira ‘502 is cited as teaching a display screen showing overflow of various denominations held within a document processing device, as illustrated in figure 5, for example.
Fukuda ‘292 is cited as teaching external cassette (35) and collection cassette (33), for example, as illustrated in figure 4.
Fujita ‘595 is cited as teaching a banknote handling device in the form of an ATM that is embedded within a wall (OP, WU, WL) as illustrated in figure 13 and as mentioned at paragraph 7, for example..
/JEFFREY A SHAPIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
September 27, 2026