DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication(s) filed on June 30, 2026.
Claims 1, 3-5 and 11-12 have been amended.
Claim 13 is newly added for consideration.
Claims 1-13 are currently pending.
The objection to “TITILE” is withdrawn in view of amendment with a new title.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ooba (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0181664 A1), and further in view of Hosomizo (U.S. Pub. No. 202/0168850 A1).
With regard to claim 1, the claim is drawn to a printing control device (see Ooba, i.e. in fig. 1, para 38 and etc, disclose the print control apparatus 102) comprising:
an operation information obtainment unit that obtains operation information on a printing device (see Ooba, i.e. in fig. 1, para. 38 and etc., disclose that “…The print control apparatus 102 and the image forming apparatus 101 are connected via a video cable 107 and a control cable 108”);
a selection unit that selects, as a candidate, a parameter set that can be implemented in a current state of the printing device and in which an amount of an operation necessary for performing printing is small from a plurality of parameter sets registered with the printing device based on the operation information on the printing device (see Ooba, i.e. in fig. 3, para. 40 and etc., disclose that “… The user operates an operation button 112 of the print control apparatus 102 to operate the information displayed on the display unit 111. The information displayed on the display unit 111 is used to display the minimum information (a power supply operation, an IP address confirmation, or the like) required to operate the print control apparatus 102. An external display unit 113 of the print control apparatus 102 is a display unit such as a liquid crystal monitor. The print control apparatus 102 is connected to a keyboard 114 and a pointing device 115 as user interfaces”; also see the teachings of Hosomizo supplemented below); and
a display control unit that displays the selected candidate on a display screen to select a parameter set (see Ooba, i.e. in fig. 1, disclose display unit 111 and an external display unit 113, and in para. 40, disclose that “[0040] A display unit 111 of the print control apparatus 102 displays information on the print control apparatus 102. The user operates an operation button 112 of the print control apparatus 102 to operate the information displayed on the display unit 111. The information displayed on the display unit 111 is used to display the minimum information (a power supply operation, an IP address confirmation, or the like) required to operate the print control apparatus 102. An external display unit 113 of the print control apparatus 102 is a display unit such as a liquid crystal monitor. The print control apparatus 102 is connected to a keyboard 114 and a pointing device 115 as user interfaces.”; in addition, in fig. 4A, 4B, 7, 8, para. 46-56 and etc., disclose that “[0046] FIGS. 4A and 4B depict views each showing an example of a screen displayed by a sheet management application that operates on the print control apparatus 102 according to the first embodiment. FIG. 4A shows the example of the screen on which information on a sheet feed source (sheet feed unit) of the image forming apparatus 101 is displayed. FIG. 4B shows the example of the screen on which buttons capable of executing various adjustment settings of the image forming apparatus 101 are displayed. [0047] A top screen of the sheet management application draws image data in its video memory in accordance with an instruction from the CPU 301, and is output/displayed to/on the display unit 113 by using the image data drawn in the video memory as a video signal. [0048] A top screen 401 of the sheet management application shown in FIG. 4A includes a display area 402 capable of controlling tabs. FIG. 4A shows a screen in a state in which a device tab 403 is pressed, and sheet feed source information of the image forming apparatus 101 is displayed in the display area 402. [0049] On the other hand, if an adjustment tab 404 is pressed, a screen in a state in which the buttons capable of executing the various adjustment settings are displayed in the display area 402 can be displayed, as shown in FIG. 4B…”).
The teachings of Ooba merely lacks in explicitly disclose the aspect relating to selects, as a candidate, a parameter set that can be implemented in a current state of the printing device and in which an amount of an operation necessary for performing printing is small from a plurality of parameter sets registered with the printing device based on the operation information on the printing device.
However, Hosomizo discloses an analogous invention relates to provide a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a support program and a printing system capable of obtaining a desired print quality while suppressing an increase in cost, even in a case where driverless printing is performed with executing a general-purpose printing program. More specifically, in Hosomizo, i.e. in fig. 3A-3C, 5, para. 37, 43-44, 47 and etc., disclose that “[0037] However, the resolution is difficult for a user to understand, and it is difficult to determine which resolution to select depending on the user. In addition, a quality of printing is not determined only by the resolution. In contrast, the auxiliary program 123 of the present embodiment is configured to cause the user to arbitrarily select and set which print quality based on the printing capability information acquired from the printer 200 is used for performing sheet printing. As a specific example, with respect to a plurality of models of the printers 200 that can be supported by the auxiliary program 123, it is assumed that each model can perform printing with any one of the resolutions 1200, 600, 400, 300, 200 and 150 (dpi) as the printing capability information. As shown in FIGS. 3A to 3C, the auxiliary program 123 stores a capability setting correlation table, in which level names of print quality settings of “HIGH”, “NORMAL”, and “DRAFT” [or as claimed “…. a parameter set that can be implemented in a current state of the printing device and in which an amount of an operation necessary for performing printing is small from a plurality of parameter sets registered with the printing device based on the operation information on the printing device”] are assigned to the resolutions included in the printing capability information acquired from the printer 200, in the storage device 120 in association with the printer 200. Note that, the capability setting correlation table is an example of the correlation between the printing capability information and the print quality setting that can be received in the receiving of the input of the print quality setting, and the storage device 120 is an example of the storage unit. [0043] Thereby, in ST130, the auxiliary program 123 refers to the capability setting correlation table corresponding to the resolution and the like included in the printing capability information acquired in ST10, and displays a print quality setting screen in which the level names of the print quality setting of “HIGH”, “NORMAL” and “DRAFT” are listed, as a detailed setting screen. Note that, the procedure of ST130 is an example of the displaying of the print quality setting. In addition, the procedures of ST5 and ST10 for the auxiliary program 123 to acquire the printing capability information of the printer 200 are not limited to the timing immediately after the connection of the printer 200 as described above, but may be performed at the time when the detailed setting request in ST125 is received. [0044] Thereby, the user can make the print quality setting regarding the resolution and the like in sheet printing by selecting the level name of the print quality setting from “HIGH”, “NORMAL”, and “DRAFT” on the print quality setting screen in ST135. In addition, at this time, the resolution and the like corresponding to the level name selected by the user are determined as a data correction manner at the time of correcting bitmap data in rasterization processing, which will be described later. Note that, the procedure of ST135 is an example of the receiving of the input of the print quality setting and the determining of the corresponding data correction manner. [0047] Upon receiving this, the auxiliary program 123 performs rasterization processing on the intermediate print data, which is PDL data in vector format, thereby converting the intermediate print data to bitmap data in raster format in ST170. At the time of the rasterization processing, the intermediate print data is corrected with the resolution corresponding to the content of the received print quality setting information, and is thus made as corrected intermediate print data. Specifically, with reference to the capability setting correlation table selected in ST130, the auxiliary program 123 performs rasterization processing of the bitmap data for correction with the resolution corresponding to any one of the level names of “HIGH”, “NORMAL”, and “DRAFT” selected by the user in ST135, or the like. Note that, the procedure of ST170 is an example of the correcting of the intermediate print data.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ooba to include the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Hosomizo, with the aspect(s) discussed above, as the cited prior arts are at least considered to be analogous arts if not also in the same field of endeavor relating to image and/or document processing arts. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ooba by the teachings of Hosomizo, and to incorporate the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Hosomizo, thereby having “… a printing system capable of obtaining a desired print quality while suppressing an increase in cost, even in a case where driverless printing is performed with executing a general-purpose printing program” (see Hosomizo, i.e. para. 6 and etc.).
With regard to claim 2, the claim is drawn to the printing control device according to claim 1, wherein the operation information includes information associated with a printing job, a consumption state of a printing medium or a printing material, a printing quality state of a deliverable, or a maintenance state (see Ooba, i.e. in fig. 4A, 4B, fig. 7, 8, para. 46-56 and etc., disclose that “[0046] FIGS. 4A and 4B depict views each showing an example of a screen displayed by a sheet management application that operates on the print control apparatus 102 according to the first embodiment. FIG. 4A shows the example of the screen on which information on a sheet feed source (sheet feed unit) of the image forming apparatus 101 is displayed. FIG. 4B shows the example of the screen on which buttons capable of executing various adjustment settings of the image forming apparatus 101 are displayed. [0047] A top screen of the sheet management application draws image data in its video memory in accordance with an instruction from the CPU 301, and is output/displayed to/on the display unit 113 by using the image data drawn in the video memory as a video signal. [0048] A top screen 401 of the sheet management application shown in FIG. 4A includes a display area 402 capable of controlling tabs. FIG. 4A shows a screen in a state in which a device tab 403 is pressed, and sheet feed source information of the image forming apparatus 101 is displayed in the display area 402. [0049] On the other hand, if an adjustment tab 404 is pressed, a screen in a state in which the buttons capable of executing the various adjustment settings are displayed in the display area 402 can be displayed, as shown in FIG. 4B. [0050] A display area 405 of FIG. 4A displays the current connection states of the hardware options of the image forming apparatus 101 connected to the print control apparatus 102. When the sheet management application is activated, it obtains information on the hardware options from the image forming apparatus 101 and displays the connection states of the hardware options in accordance with this option information. FIG. 4A represents a state in which POD decks are multilinked, and a finisher is connected. Sheet feed source buttons 406 to 413 are operation buttons corresponding to respective sheet feed sources. These sheet feed source buttons 406 to 413 are created and arranged based on the sheet feed source information of the image forming apparatus 101 obtained when the sheet management application is activated. Sheet information 414 displays information on sheets that can be loaded in the sheet feed sources of the image forming apparatus 101. Attribute information of a sheet and the grammage of the sheet are displayed in each row of the sheet information 414. If the user wants to scroll the displayed sheet attribute information, he/she can display the information by operating a slider bar 415. If the user wants to display sheet information other than the displayed sheet information, he/she can display other sheet information by operating a slider bar 416…”).
With regard to claim 3, the claim is drawn to the printing control device according to claim 1, wherein in a case where the printing job in a state before printing exists, regarding printing medium information set to the printing job in the state before printing, the selection unit counts a number of associations with the printing job in the state before printing for each type of printing medium, and selects the candidate based on a result of the counting (see Ooba, i.e. in fig. 11, 13A, 13B and etc., disclose depicts a view showing an example of a sheet list screen displayed by the print control apparatus according to the first embodiment; further in Hosomizo, i.e. in para. 43-44 and etc., disclose that “[0043] Thereby, in ST130, the auxiliary program 123 refers to the capability setting correlation table corresponding to the resolution and the like included in the printing capability information acquired in ST10, and displays a print quality setting screen in which the level names of the print quality setting of “HIGH”, “NORMAL” and “DRAFT” are listed, as a detailed setting screen. Note that, the procedure of ST130 is an example of the displaying of the print quality setting. In addition, the procedures of ST5 and ST10 for the auxiliary program 123 to acquire the printing capability information of the printer 200 are not limited to the timing immediately after the connection of the printer 200 as described above, but may be performed at the time when the detailed setting request in ST125 is received.
[0044] Thereby, the user can make the print quality setting regarding the resolution and the like in sheet printing by selecting the level name of the print quality setting from “HIGH”, “NORMAL”, and “DRAFT” on the print quality setting screen in ST135. In addition, at this time, the resolution and the like corresponding to the level name selected by the user are determined as a data correction manner at the time of correcting bitmap data in rasterization processing, which will be described later. Note that, the procedure of ST135 is an example of the receiving of the input of the print quality setting and the determining of the corresponding data correction manner…”).
With regard to claim 4, the claim is drawn to the printing control device according to claim 2, wherein the selection unit selects the candidate based on a match between the printing medium mounted in the printing device and the printing medium set to the parameter set (see Ooba, i.e. in fig. 11, disclose the sheet name 1102, and in para. 82 and etc., disclose that “[0082] A top screen 1101 of the sheet list screen is shown here. A table 1102 displays a sheet list in which the type of sheet is displayed in each row, and sheet attribute information is displayed in each column. If the user wants to display sheet attribute information other than the sheet attribute information displayed here, he/she can display it by operating a slider bar 1103. In addition, if the user wants to display a sheet other than the displayed sheets, he/she can display it by operating a slider bar 1104. Sheets 1105 to 1115 indicate the types of sheets that are currently displayed in the table 1102 of the sheet list. Out of these, the sheets 1105 to 1108 are selected and highlighted so as to be seen that they are selected, as compared with a case in which the sheets are not selected. The sheets 1109 to 1115 are not selected. If an OK button 1116 is pressed in this state, the secondary transfer voltage adjustment values saved in step S1003 are reflected on the selected sheets. If a cancel button 1117 is pressed, the setting of this screen is canceled…”).
With regard to claim 5, the claim is drawn to the printing control device according to claim 2, wherein the selection unit selects the candidate based on the printing material mounted in the printing device (in addition to the discussions of claim 4 above, specifically in fig. 11, sixth column, illustrates the “surface property” of the print medium; additionally, in para. 142 and etc., disclose that “[0142] When plain paper, coated paper, or the like is used, glossiness of an output image is adjusted by adjusting the temperature of the fixing device 7. [+] is pressed when glossiness is to be increased with respect to the coated paper or the like, and [−] is pressed when glossiness is to be decreased. In addition, [+] is pressed when the grade of a clock is to be increased (graininess is to be removed) with respect to the plain paper or the like…”).
With regard to claim 6, the claim is drawn to the printing control device according to claim 1, wherein the displaying of the candidate by the display control unit is performed in a case where a transition to the display screen is made from another screen or a case where filter setting to select the candidate is not performed (see Ooba, i.e. in fig. 7, para. 68, and etc., disclose that “[0068] The sheet list display area 703 will now be described. In a table 727 where the sheet list is displayed, sheet attribute information is displayed in each column, and a sheet name is displayed in each row. If the user wants to display sheet attribute information other than the sheet attribute information displayed here, it can be displayed by operating a slider bar 728. In addition, if the user wants to display a sheet other than the displayed sheets, it can be displayed by operating a slider bar 729. A sheet 730 indicates a sheet displayed in the sheet information display area 702 and is highlighted so as to be seen that it is selected. Sheets 731 to 733 indicate sheets that are not displayed in the sheet information display area 702. If one of the unselected sheets 731 to 733 is selected in this table 727, information on a newly selected sheet is displayed in the sheet information display area 702. By pressing the assignment button 704 in this state, it is possible to assign the newly selected sheet to selected sheet feed source 1. If the screen is ended without any change, the close button 706 is pressed…”; additionally, i.e. fig. 13B, para. 93 and etc.).
With regard to claim 7, the claim is drawn to the printing control device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a filter setting information obtainment unit that obtains filter setting information to select the candidate (see Ooba, i.e. in fig. 18, para. 31, 92-94, 99-103 and etc. disclose that “[0031] FIG. 18 depicts a view showing an example of a screen when glossiness/black grade adjustment is performed on a sheet list of FIG. 13A, and narrowing-down display is performed displayed by the print control apparatus according to the fourth embodiment;”), wherein
in a case where the filter setting information obtainment unit obtains the filter setting information, the display control unit displays, on the display screen, a parameter set that includes a greater number of parameters that each exactly match or partially match a setting value indicated by the obtained filter setting information as the candidate (see Ooba, i.e. in fig. 15B, para. 99 and etc., disclose that “[0099] FIG. 15A shows a view illustrating a displayed initial state in which none of sheets on a sheet list screen 1501 has not been selected yet. A narrowing-down element selection list box 1502 can select a sheet attribute shown in each column of the sheet list screen 1501. With an attribute selected from this list, it becomes also possible to perform narrowing-down display again by a selected sheet…”).
With regard to claim 8, the claim is drawn to the printing control device according to claim 7, wherein the display control unit further displays the parameter set, as the candidate, based on a priority that is set to the parameters that each exactly match or partially match the setting value indicated by the filter setting information (see Ooba, i.e.in fig. 9, para. 75 and etc., disclose that “[0075] On this screen 901, the image of the image forming apparatus 101 and a screen on which sheet feed source buttons are arranged are displayed. Reference numeral 902 denotes the current connection states of the hardware options of the image forming apparatus 101 connected to the print control apparatus 102. The user can select a sheet feed source on which a secondary transfer voltage adjustment test is to be executed among sheet feed source buttons 903 to 910 and perform test print on a sheet fed from the selected sheet feed source. For example, if the button 903 of sheet feed source 1 is selected now, the sheet management application transmits, to the image forming apparatus 101, the secondary transfer voltage adjustment values set in the text boxes 802 and 803 of FIG. 8, and test print execution information. The image forming apparatus 101 executes test print based on these data.” [or broadly as “…based on a priority”]). .
With regard to claim 9, the claim is drawn to the printing control device according to claim 1, wherein the parameter set includes a paper ID, a paper type, a paper width, time of last use, or whether to perform white printing (see Ooba, i.e. illustrations in fig. 4A, 4B, 7, 8 and etc.).
With regard to claim 10, the claim is drawn to the printing control device according to claim 1, wherein the display control unit displays a pre-set number of the candidates on the display screen (see Ooba, i.e. fig. 4A, para. 54, disclose that “[0054] Next, the process advances to step S503 in which the CPU 301 discriminates sheet feed sources connected to the image forming apparatus 101 serving as the sheet management target and specifies the number of connected sheet feed sources. [or broadly as “a pre-set number of the candidates”] Next, the process advances to step S504 in which the CPU 301 communicates with the image forming apparatus 101 and obtains sheet information set in each of the connected sheet feed sources. Then, the process advances to step S505 in which the CPU 301 creates information on, for example, the sheet feed source buttons 406 to 413 displayed on the top screen 401 shown in FIG. 4A. Then, the process advances to step S506 in which the CPU 301 communicates with the image forming apparatus 101, and obtains a sheet list displayed in the sheet information 414 of FIGS. 4A and 4B. Next, the process advances to step S507 in which the CPU 301 creates information on, for example, the sheet information 414 displayed as in FIGS. 4A and 4B, and the process advances to step S508…”).
With regard to claim 11, the claim is drawn to a method of controlling a printing control device (see Ooba, i.e. in abstract, para. 2 and etc., disclose “a method of setting a parameter in the image forming apparatus.”), comprising:
obtaining operation information on a printing device (see Ooba, i.e. in fig. 1, para. 38 and etc., disclose that “…The print control apparatus 102 and the image forming apparatus 101 are connected via a video cable 107 and a control cable 108”);
selecting, as a candidate, a parameter set that can be implemented in a current state of the printing device and in which an amount of an operation necessary for performing printing is small from a plurality of parameter sets registered with the printing device based on the operation information on the printing device (see Ooba, i.e. in fig. 3, para. 40 and etc., disclose that “… The user operates an operation button 112 of the print control apparatus 102 to operate the information displayed on the display unit 111. The information displayed on the display unit 111 is used to display the minimum information (a power supply operation, an IP address confirmation, or the like) required to operate the print control apparatus 102. An external display unit 113 of the print control apparatus 102 is a display unit such as a liquid crystal monitor. The print control apparatus 102 is connected to a keyboard 114 and a pointing device 115 as user interfaces”; also see the teachings of Hosomizo supplemented below); and
displaying the selected candidate on a display screen to select a parameter set (see Ooba, i.e. in fig. 1, disclose display unit 111 and an external display unit 113, and in para. 40, disclose that “[0040] A display unit 111 of the print control apparatus 102 displays information on the print control apparatus 102. The user operates an operation button 112 of the print control apparatus 102 to operate the information displayed on the display unit 111. The information displayed on the display unit 111 is used to display the minimum information (a power supply operation, an IP address confirmation, or the like) required to operate the print control apparatus 102. An external display unit 113 of the print control apparatus 102 is a display unit such as a liquid crystal monitor. The print control apparatus 102 is connected to a keyboard 114 and a pointing device 115 as user interfaces.”; in addition, in fig. 4A, 4B, 7, 8, para. 46-56 and etc., disclose that “[0046] FIGS. 4A and 4B depict views each showing an example of a screen displayed by a sheet management application that operates on the print control apparatus 102 according to the first embodiment. FIG. 4A shows the example of the screen on which information on a sheet feed source (sheet feed unit) of the image forming apparatus 101 is displayed. FIG. 4B shows the example of the screen on which buttons capable of executing various adjustment settings of the image forming apparatus 101 are displayed. [0047] A top screen of the sheet management application draws image data in its video memory in accordance with an instruction from the CPU 301, and is output/displayed to/on the display unit 113 by using the image data drawn in the video memory as a video signal.
[0048] A top screen 401 of the sheet management application shown in FIG. 4A includes a display area 402 capable of controlling tabs. FIG. 4A shows a screen in a state in which a device tab 403 is pressed, and sheet feed source information of the image forming apparatus 101 is displayed in the display area 402. [0049] On the other hand, if an adjustment tab 404 is pressed, a screen in a state in which the buttons capable of executing the various adjustment settings are displayed in the display area 402 can be displayed, as shown in FIG. 4B…”).
The teachings of Ooba merely lacks in explicitly disclose the aspect relating to “selecting, as a candidate, a parameter set that can be implemented in a current state of the printing device and in which an amount of an operation necessary for performing printing is small from a plurality of parameter sets registered with the printing device based on the operation information on the printing device”.
However, Hosomizo discloses an analogous invention relates to provide a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a support program and a printing system capable of obtaining a desired print quality while suppressing an increase in cost, even in a case where driverless printing is performed with executing a general-purpose printing program. More specifically, in Hosomizo, i.e. in fig. 3A-3C, 5, para. 37, 43-44, 47 and etc., disclose that “[0037] However, the resolution is difficult for a user to understand, and it is difficult to determine which resolution to select depending on the user. In addition, a quality of printing is not determined only by the resolution. In contrast, the auxiliary program 123 of the present embodiment is configured to cause the user to arbitrarily select and set which print quality based on the printing capability information acquired from the printer 200 is used for performing sheet printing. As a specific example, with respect to a plurality of models of the printers 200 that can be supported by the auxiliary program 123, it is assumed that each model can perform printing with any one of the resolutions 1200, 600, 400, 300, 200 and 150 (dpi) as the printing capability information. As shown in FIGS. 3A to 3C, the auxiliary program 123 stores a capability setting correlation table, in which level names of print quality settings of “HIGH”, “NORMAL”, and “DRAFT” [or as claimed “…. a parameter set that can be implemented in a current state of the printing device and in which an amount of an operation necessary for performing printing is small from a plurality of parameter sets registered with the printing device based on the operation information on the printing device”] are assigned to the resolutions included in the printing capability information acquired from the printer 200, in the storage device 120 in association with the printer 200. Note that, the capability setting correlation table is an example of the correlation between the printing capability information and the print quality setting that can be received in the receiving of the input of the print quality setting, and the storage device 120 is an example of the storage unit. [0043] Thereby, in ST130, the auxiliary program 123 refers to the capability setting correlation table corresponding to the resolution and the like included in the printing capability information acquired in ST10, and displays a print quality setting screen in which the level names of the print quality setting of “HIGH”, “NORMAL” and “DRAFT” are listed, as a detailed setting screen. Note that, the procedure of ST130 is an example of the displaying of the print quality setting. In addition, the procedures of ST5 and ST10 for the auxiliary program 123 to acquire the printing capability information of the printer 200 are not limited to the timing immediately after the connection of the printer 200 as described above, but may be performed at the time when the detailed setting request in ST125 is received. [0044] Thereby, the user can make the print quality setting regarding the resolution and the like in sheet printing by selecting the level name of the print quality setting from “HIGH”, “NORMAL”, and “DRAFT” on the print quality setting screen in ST135. In addition, at this time, the resolution and the like corresponding to the level name selected by the user are determined as a data correction manner at the time of correcting bitmap data in rasterization processing, which will be described later. Note that, the procedure of ST135 is an example of the receiving of the input of the print quality setting and the determining of the corresponding data correction manner. [0047] Upon receiving this, the auxiliary program 123 performs rasterization processing on the intermediate print data, which is PDL data in vector format, thereby converting the intermediate print data to bitmap data in raster format in ST170. At the time of the rasterization processing, the intermediate print data is corrected with the resolution corresponding to the content of the received print quality setting information, and is thus made as corrected intermediate print data. Specifically, with reference to the capability setting correlation table selected in ST130, the auxiliary program 123 performs rasterization processing of the bitmap data for correction with the resolution corresponding to any one of the level names of “HIGH”, “NORMAL”, and “DRAFT” selected by the user in ST135, or the like. Note that, the procedure of ST170 is an example of the correcting of the intermediate print data.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ooba to include the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Hosomizo, with the aspect(s) discussed above, as the cited prior arts are at least considered to be analogous arts if not also in the same field of endeavor relating to image and/or document processing arts. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ooba by the teachings of Hosomizo, and to incorporate the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Hosomizo, thereby having “… a printing system capable of obtaining a desired print quality while suppressing an increase in cost, even in a case where driverless printing is performed with executing a general-purpose printing program” (see Hosomizo, i.e. para. 6 and etc.).
With regard to claim 12, the claim is drawn to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program which functions in a printing control device and causes the printing control device to function (see Ooba, i.e. in para. 153, disclose that “[0153] Embodiments of the present invention can also be realized by a computer of a system or apparatus that reads out and executes computer executable instructions (e.g., one or more programs) recorded on a storage medium (which may also be referred to more fully as a ‘non-transitory computer-readable storage medium’) to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s) and/or that includes one or more circuits (e.g., application specific integrated circuit (ASIC)) for performing the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s), and by a method performed by the computer of the system or apparatus by, for example, reading out and executing the computer executable instructions from the storage medium to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiments and/or controlling the one or more circuits to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiments…”) as:
an operation information obtainment unit that obtains operation information on a printing device (see Ooba, i.e. in fig. 1, para. 38 and etc., disclose that “…The print control apparatus 102 and the image forming apparatus 101 are connected via a video cable 107 and a control cable 108”);
a selection unit that selects, as a candidate, a parameter set that can be implemented in a current state of the printing device and in which an amount of an operation necessary for performing printing is small from a plurality of parameter sets registered with the printing device based on the operation information on the printing device (see Ooba, i.e. in fig. 3, para. 40 and etc., disclose that “… The user operates an operation button 112 of the print control apparatus 102 to operate the information displayed on the display unit 111. The information displayed on the display unit 111 is used to display the minimum information (a power supply operation, an IP address confirmation, or the like) required to operate the print control apparatus 102. An external display unit 113 of the print control apparatus 102 is a display unit such as a liquid crystal monitor. The print control apparatus 102 is connected to a keyboard 114 and a pointing device 115 as user interfaces”; also see the teachings of Hosomizo supplemented below); and
a display control unit that displays, on a display screen to select a parameter set, a candidate selected from a plurality of parameter sets registered with the printing device based on the operation information on the printing device (see Ooba, i.e. in fig. 1, disclose display unit 111 and an external display unit 113, and in para. 40, disclose that “[0040] A display unit 111 of the print control apparatus 102 displays information on the print control apparatus 102. The user operates an operation button 112 of the print control apparatus 102 to operate the information displayed on the display unit 111. The information displayed on the display unit 111 is used to display the minimum information (a power supply operation, an IP address confirmation, or the like) required to operate the print control apparatus 102. An external display unit 113 of the print control apparatus 102 is a display unit such as a liquid crystal monitor. The print control apparatus 102 is connected to a keyboard 114 and a pointing device 115 as user interfaces.”; in addition, in fig. 4A, 4B, 7, 8, para. 46-56 and etc., disclose that “[0046] FIGS. 4A and 4B depict views each showing an example of a screen displayed by a sheet management application that operates on the print control apparatus 102 according to the first embodiment. FIG. 4A shows the example of the screen on which information on a sheet feed source (sheet feed unit) of the image forming apparatus 101 is displayed. FIG. 4B shows the example of the screen on which buttons capable of executing various adjustment settings of the image forming apparatus 101 are displayed. [0047] A top screen of the sheet management application draws image data in its video memory in accordance with an instruction from the CPU 301, and is output/displayed to/on the display unit 113 by using the image data drawn in the video memory as a video signal.
[0048] A top screen 401 of the sheet management application shown in FIG. 4A includes a display area 402 capable of controlling tabs. FIG. 4A shows a screen in a state in which a device tab 403 is pressed, and sheet feed source information of the image forming apparatus 101 is displayed in the display area 402. [0049] On the other hand, if an adjustment tab 404 is pressed, a screen in a state in which the buttons capable of executing the various adjustment settings are displayed in the display area 402 can be displayed, as shown in FIG. 4B…”).
The teachings of Ooba merely lacks in explicitly disclose the aspect relating to selects, as a candidate, a parameter set that can be implemented in a current state of the printing device and in which an amount of an operation necessary for performing printing is small from a plurality of parameter sets registered with the printing device based on the operation information on the printing device.
However, Hosomizo discloses an analogous invention relates to provide a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a support program and a printing system capable of obtaining a desired print quality while suppressing an increase in cost, even in a case where driverless printing is performed with executing a general-purpose printing program. More specifically, in Hosomizo, i.e. in fig. 3A-3C, 5, para. 37, 43-44, 47 and etc., disclose that “[0037] However, the resolution is difficult for a user to understand, and it is difficult to determine which resolution to select depending on the user. In addition, a quality of printing is not determined only by the resolution. In contrast, the auxiliary program 123 of the present embodiment is configured to cause the user to arbitrarily select and set which print quality based on the printing capability information acquired from the printer 200 is used for performing sheet printing. As a specific example, with respect to a plurality of models of the printers 200 that can be supported by the auxiliary program 123, it is assumed that each model can perform printing with any one of the resolutions 1200, 600, 400, 300, 200 and 150 (dpi) as the printing capability information. As shown in FIGS. 3A to 3C, the auxiliary program 123 stores a capability setting correlation table, in which level names of print quality settings of “HIGH”, “NORMAL”, and “DRAFT” [or as claimed “…. a parameter set that can be implemented in a current state of the printing device and in which an amount of an operation necessary for performing printing is small from a plurality of parameter sets registered with the printing device based on the operation information on the printing device”] are assigned to the resolutions included in the printing capability information acquired from the printer 200, in the storage device 120 in association with the printer 200. Note that, the capability setting correlation table is an example of the correlation between the printing capability information and the print quality setting that can be received in the receiving of the input of the print quality setting, and the storage device 120 is an example of the storage unit. [0043] Thereby, in ST130, the auxiliary program 123 refers to the capability setting correlation table corresponding to the resolution and the like included in the printing capability information acquired in ST10, and displays a print quality setting screen in which the level names of the print quality setting of “HIGH”, “NORMAL” and “DRAFT” are listed, as a detailed setting screen. Note that, the procedure of ST130 is an example of the displaying of the print quality setting. In addition, the procedures of ST5 and ST10 for the auxiliary program 123 to acquire the printing capability information of the printer 200 are not limited to the timing immediately after the connection of the printer 200 as described above, but may be performed at the time when the detailed setting request in ST125 is received. [0044] Thereby, the user can make the print quality setting regarding the resolution and the like in sheet printing by selecting the level name of the print quality setting from “HIGH”, “NORMAL”, and “DRAFT” on the print quality setting screen in ST135. In addition, at this time, the resolution and the like corresponding to the level name selected by the user are determined as a data correction manner at the time of correcting bitmap data in rasterization processing, which will be described later. Note that, the procedure of ST135 is an example of the receiving of the input of the print quality setting and the determining of the corresponding data correction manner. [0047] Upon receiving this, the auxiliary program 123 performs rasterization processing on the intermediate print data, which is PDL data in vector format, thereby converting the intermediate print data to bitmap data in raster format in ST170. At the time of the rasterization processing, the intermediate print data is corrected with the resolution corresponding to the content of the received print quality setting information, and is thus made as corrected intermediate print data. Specifically, with reference to the capability setting correlation table selected in ST130, the auxiliary program 123 performs rasterization processing of the bitmap data for correction with the resolution corresponding to any one of the level names of “HIGH”, “NORMAL”, and “DRAFT” selected by the user in ST135, or the like. Note that, the procedure of ST170 is an example of the correcting of the intermediate print data.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ooba to include the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Hosomizo, with the aspect(s) discussed above, as the cited prior arts are at least considered to be analogous arts if not also in the same field of endeavor relating to image and/or document processing arts. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ooba by the teachings of Hosomizo, and to incorporate the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Hosomizo, thereby having “… a printing system capable of obtaining a desired print quality while suppressing an increase in cost, even in a case where driverless printing is performed with executing a general-purpose printing program” (see Hosomizo, i.e. para. 6 and etc.).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ooba and Hosomizo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kohama (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0091324 A1).
With regard to claim 13, the claim is drawn to the printing control device according to claim 3, further comprising:
a filter setting information obtainment unit that obtains filter setting information to select the candidate, wherein in a case where the filter setting information obtainment unit does not obtain the filter setting information, the display control unit ranks and displays the candidate based on at least one of a priority based on a match with the printing medium mounted in the printing device and a priority based on a number of associations with the printing job in the state before printing.
The teachings of Ooba and Hosomizo do not explicitly disclose the aspect(s) relating to “a filter setting information obtainment unit that obtains filter setting information to select the candidate, wherein in a case where the filter setting information obtainment unit does not obtain the filter setting information, the display control unit ranks and displays the candidate based on at least one of a priority based on a match with the printing medium mounted in the printing device and a priority based on a number of associations with the printing job in the state before printing…”.
However, Kohama discloses an analogous invention relates to a technique for determining print setting (see Kohama, i.e. para 3 and etc.). More specifically, in Kohama, i.e. in fig. 3, para. 12-13, 32-44 and etc., disclose that “[0012] In a configuration in which the print settings made in the classification units such as the print job data of the XPS are applied in a specific order, the classification unit may be expressed. For example, a filtering processing function of applying the print settings to the printing targets with reference to the print job data may be used. In this configuration, print setting application completion information representing the result obtained by applying the print settings to the printing targets can be acquired by the filtering processing function. Therefore, by allowing the display unit to display the print setting application completion information to show the print settings in each classification unit, it is possible to supply a user with an image formed upon actual application of the print settings. [0013] When an XPS printer driver permits printing on the basis of the print job data of the XPS, the XPS printer driver applies the plurality of print settings to the printing targets in a predetermined order. Therefore, in the filtering processing function, it is preferable that the same print settings as the plurality of print settings applied by the XPS printer driver are applied.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Ooba and Hosomizo to include the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Kohama, with the aspect(s) discussed above, as the cited prior arts are at least considered to be analogous arts if not also in the same field of endeavor relating to print management arts. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Ooba and Hosomizo by the teachings of Kohama, and to incorporate the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Kohama, thereby “... the print settings corresponding to the printing targets can be recognized easily and precisely” (see Kohama, i.e. para. 8 and etc.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-13 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKY X ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681